Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA V Anti Aliasing looks like CRAP no matter what?

114 replies to this topic
dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#1

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:18 PM

Even at 4K I still get those lines wtf?

 

I play with MSAAx2 and TXAA and the game is CARVING MY EYES OUT

 

gta5_2015_08_20_02_09gepmq.pnggta5_2015_08_20_02_1058qaq.pnggta5_2015_08_20_03_11xfpfz.png

 

It's like AA doesn't even work at all WTF even with nvidia inspector it looks like sh*t? I can't play like this what can I do?


Yorpie
  • Yorpie

    I fought the law and the law lost.

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2011
  • None

#2

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:22 PM

Which lines? Looks just fine to me. 


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#3

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:38 PM Edited by dxivilea, 20 August 2015 - 01:44 PM.

Which lines? Looks just fine to me. 

 

Look at the panels on the lambo in the first two pics, you can see the jaggies. Then look further to the parking lot and you can see the parking lot lines. Just look at how bad they look. The last image is taken at 4K and they still look bad. The game looks OK-ish at 4K but I barely get 25 fps that way.

 

It's ten times as noticeable in game.

 

6f3920daa7de55c8b4b066e0519cb033.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is this because Windows 10 because I remember the game looking WAY better when I used to play it on windows 7.


_MK_
  • _MK_

    46EEK572

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#4

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:47 PM Edited by _MK_, 20 August 2015 - 01:50 PM.

Ignore the trolls.

You definitely have a sh*tload of jaggies,looks like AA is disabled,did you change something in your system ?at what settings did you take these screenshots ?

  • BlackScout, PlayStation 4, Kampret and 1 other like this

dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#5

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:50 PM Edited by dxivilea, 20 August 2015 - 01:57 PM.

lol at that console peasant calling me a graphics whore when my screen is FULL of jaggies everywhere and thin lines 20 metres away aren't even full lines, but just parts of lines.

 

Ignore the trolls.

You definitely have a sh*tload of jaggies,the screenshots is what having AA disabled looks like,did you change something in your system ?

YES THANK YOU. I did some test and between AA off and 4xMSAA+TXAA there is little difference. I definitely think it's broken, I put it up to 4X (i play on 2X) and the car in front of me still has jaggies on the roof. It looks like there is no AA at all.

 

Yes, I updated to windows 10 and since the change it hasn't been the same. I had some problems with the Nvidia drivers but I used GeForce experienced and am running the latest drivers.


Saintdestroyer
  • Saintdestroyer

    ★★★★★★★★★

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

#6

Posted 20 August 2015 - 01:59 PM Edited by Saintdestroyer, 20 August 2015 - 01:59 PM.

Yeah I definitely think there is an issue here, my game doesn't look like that. Have you tried turning on AA in the control panel to see if that makes any difference?


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#7

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:03 PM

Yeah I definitely think there is an issue here, my game doesn't look like that. Have you tried turning on AA in the control panel to see if that makes any difference?

I have, no result.

 

If I use downsampling the image looks way smoother, if I use AA barely any difference. But downsampling eats more fps than MSAA does.


_MK_
  • _MK_

    46EEK572

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#8

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:13 PM Edited by _MK_, 20 August 2015 - 02:24 PM.

-Get rid of GeForce experience then delete the settings.xml file,run GTA5.exe as administrator and use the ingame settings.

-A fresh driver install ? (using Display Driver Uninstaller DDU).

 

Honestly have no idea what could be disabling your AA,but if i were to have this..that would be the first thing i'd do.


The7thOne
  • The7thOne

    Let It Happen

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2014
  • United-States

#9

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:16 PM

That's bad. As others have mentioned above, try reinstalling graphics drivers, maybe reinstalling GTA V, and delete the settings.xml file.

 

I don't understand how this could be happening. How long has this been going on? What are your specs?


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#10

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:18 PM

-Get rid of GeForce experience then delete the settings.xml file run GTA5.exe as administrator and use the ingame settings.

-A fresh driver install ? (using Display Driver Uninstaller DDU).

 

Honestly have no idea what could be disabling your AA,but if i were to have this..that would be the first thing i'd do.

Ok man thanks I will try. Which settings.xml file are you talking about?

 

8xMSAA

gta5_2015_08_20_17_10x4otg.png

2xMSAA

gta5_2015_08_20_17_1069oyk.png

4K

gta5_2015_08_20_17_10ocoq7.png


_MK_
  • _MK_

    46EEK572

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#11

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:20 PM

Located at C:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V

  • dxivilea likes this

Nick930930
  • Nick930930

    the Godfather

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2014
  • United-States

#12

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:35 PM

Those last couple screenshots look pretty damn good. I don't see any significant jaggies. But yeah, those first screenshots OP look terrible. Jaggie central. I have all AA disabled and mine doesn't look that bad. 


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#13

Posted 20 August 2015 - 02:36 PM

Located at C:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V

Thanks. I did those things but now it looks even worse when playing. On the picture you can't even tell as much but when playing it's horrid.

 

This is with 4xMSAA

gta5_2015_08_20_17_32qmpn3.png


SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#14

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:03 PM

did you get rid of GeForce experience when you reinstalled the drivers?


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#15

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:26 PM

did you get rid of GeForce experience when you reinstalled the drivers?

No It installed with the driver. I will uninstall it now and check again.


Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    ...I will very carefully explain to you why it cannot be.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Best Poster [Rockstar Games] 2016
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#16

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:31 PM Edited by Spider-Vice, 20 August 2015 - 03:32 PM.

I noticed you have the no fog mod installed, I wonder if that could be the cause, of things not anti-aliasing properly in the distance. I only use FXAA and not even that looks as bad as your first screens.

Edit: Unless that's a reshade thing.


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#17

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:48 PM

I noticed you have the no fog mod installed, I wonder if that could be the cause, of things not anti-aliasing properly in the distance. I only use FXAA and not even that looks as bad as your first screens.

Edit: Unless that's a reshade thing.

Only the challenger pics are with the no fog. I removed that mod, it did not make any difference. There is definitely something majorly wrong since the whole image flickers in game, every single edge and pixel flickers horribly and is jagged. It's not an issue of anisotropic filtering either.

I deleted GFX and no difference at all. I'm really lost here, the game definitely did not look that bad on Win 7.


SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#18

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:57 PM

go back to windows 7 then?


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#19

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:59 PM

This is exactly the problem I am having, seems someone else got it too

 


Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    ...I will very carefully explain to you why it cannot be.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Best Poster [Rockstar Games] 2016
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#20

Posted 20 August 2015 - 03:59 PM

Not even forcing AA globally (just to test) on the Nvidia control panel works? Should try doing a clean install of the drivers, uninstalling the current ones then grabbing the newest from the Nvidia website. Does AA work on other games?

  • Smoov_Operator likes this

dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#21

Posted 20 August 2015 - 04:44 PM

Not even forcing AA globally (just to test) on the Nvidia control panel works? Should try doing a clean install of the drivers, uninstalling the current ones then grabbing the newest from the Nvidia website. Does AA work on other games?

NCP AA doesn't work at all. The AF does work and it's better than the original game but the AA doesn't. 

 

Here's a pic from pCars where everything looks good.

tYDi4v.png


_MK_
  • _MK_

    46EEK572

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#22

Posted 20 August 2015 - 05:34 PM Edited by _MK_, 20 August 2015 - 05:35 PM.

Dang though it's a new vehicle mod for V '_'

 

Hm,yeah that does look good compared to V,good thing we now can rule out a bad driver/install overall possibility,did you install whats in the _CommonRedist folder located at V's root folder ? and what about reinstalling the game itself ?


Omarock
  • Omarock

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2011
  • Tunisia

#23

Posted 20 August 2015 - 05:43 PM Edited by Omar_DmX, 20 August 2015 - 05:43 PM.

Have you tried turning MFAA on in Nvidia control panel? It helped a lot with x2 MSAA in-game.


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#24

Posted 20 August 2015 - 06:02 PM Edited by dxivilea, 20 August 2015 - 06:03 PM.

Have you tried turning MFAA on in Nvidia control panel? It helped a lot with x2 MSAA in-game.

I have a 760, MFAA works only on 900 series. But that does not sound like a real solution, since this is obviously a severe bug/problem. When I play there are a lot more jaggies and flickering everywhere on the whole screen. It's really bad.


XenoxX
  • XenoxX

    *stubborn minded*

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2014
  • Germany

#25

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:03 PM

 

Have you tried turning MFAA on in Nvidia control panel? It helped a lot with x2 MSAA in-game.

I have a 760, MFAA works only on 900 series. But that does not sound like a real solution, since this is obviously a severe bug/problem. When I play there are a lot more jaggies and flickering everywhere on the whole screen. It's really bad.

 

Did you try to turn Reflexion MSAA to max,?


dxivilea
  • dxivilea

    the piss lord himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • None

#26

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:05 PM Edited by dxivilea, 20 August 2015 - 08:05 PM.

 

 

Have you tried turning MFAA on in Nvidia control panel? It helped a lot with x2 MSAA in-game.

I have a 760, MFAA works only on 900 series. But that does not sound like a real solution, since this is obviously a severe bug/problem. When I play there are a lot more jaggies and flickering everywhere on the whole screen. It's really bad.

 

Did you try to turn Reflexion MSAA to max,?

 

What does that have to do with anything? I've always played with reflection MSAA off and never had problems like this. There is definitely something wrong. The game looks bad at even at 4K 2xMSAA.

 

It just looks weird and bad on any settings.


southparkmayor
  • southparkmayor

    Derp

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2012
  • United-States

#27

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:08 PM

Untrained script reading R* support guy: "buy a new computer and reinstall windows and GTA V." 

  • Mercury Reborn likes this

XenoxX
  • XenoxX

    *stubborn minded*

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2014
  • Germany

#28

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:09 PM

 

 

 

Have you tried turning MFAA on in Nvidia control panel? It helped a lot with x2 MSAA in-game.

I have a 760, MFAA works only on 900 series. But that does not sound like a real solution, since this is obviously a severe bug/problem. When I play there are a lot more jaggies and flickering everywhere on the whole screen. It's really bad.

 

Did you try to turn Reflexion MSAA to max,?

 

What does that have to do with anything? I've always played with reflection MSAA off and never had problems like this. There is definitely something wrong. The game looks bad at even at 4K 2xMSAA.

 

It just looks weird and bad on any settings.

 

Thing is in your video it apears the shaders/shadows are causing jaggies.

Also try to see if the AA is at all daytimes like  this.
I saw a significant increase of jaggies at mid day time, (just when most shadows are on screen)


BorisVorontsov
  • BorisVorontsov

    Mahou Shoujo

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Russia

#29

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:10 PM

Don't waste time, this is unfixable via anything, except ENBSeries with enabled high quality msaa option in enblocal.ini. For classic msaa totally normal to not have antialiasing for alpha test objects and specular.

  • robi29 likes this

BorisVorontsov
  • BorisVorontsov

    Mahou Shoujo

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Russia

#30

Posted 20 August 2015 - 08:24 PM

Comparison screenshots to proove my previous post (high quality msaa for vehicles enabled for both screens).

http://i.imgur.com/yRWTbFT.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Nf3W8LP.jpg





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users