Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

The railway discussion topic

97 replies to this topic
Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#61

Posted 29 November 2015 - 05:27 PM

 

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/

 

Ballast box could work?


Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#62

Posted 29 November 2015 - 06:01 PM

 

 

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/

 

Ballast box could work?

 

It could work, I'm aiming to get this level of detail eventually.

nevard_121106_farkham_img_1344_02.jpg

  • Spectacus likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#63

Posted 29 November 2015 - 08:26 PM

For that detail, it'd be wise to:

 

  • Mix different grades/colour of ballast
  • Mix coarse scatter
  • Weather the track
  • Static Grass

  • Aqua97 likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#64

Posted 02 December 2015 - 07:21 AM

 

 

 

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/

 

Ballast box could work?

 

It could work, I'm aiming to get this level of detail eventually.

Spoiler

Holy sh*t! I thought that Scene was real for several Minutes. That's some incredible detail.

  • AlbanyEsperanto likes this

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#65

Posted 02 December 2015 - 04:48 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/

 

Ballast box could work?

 

It could work, I'm aiming to get this level of detail eventually.

Spoiler

Holy sh*t! I thought that Scene was real for several Minutes. That's some incredible detail.

 

Yeah, it definitely is. Can't seem to find where I got the image from though.  :/  There was lots more... :) 


Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#66

Posted 02 December 2015 - 06:43 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/

 

Ballast box could work?

 

It could work, I'm aiming to get this level of detail eventually.

Spoiler

Holy sh*t! I thought that Scene was real for several Minutes. That's some incredible detail.

 

Yeah, it definitely is. Can't seem to find where I got the image from though.  :/  There was lots more... :)

 

https://farkham4mm.wordpress.com/

  • Aqua97 likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#67

Posted 14 December 2015 - 11:18 AM

Hey guys, I found this pretty cool Video. Even though it covers things I know about, it's still a fascinating Watch.

 

  • epoxi, Aqua97 and AlbanyEsperanto like this

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#68

Posted 21 December 2015 - 06:28 PM Edited by Aqua, 21 December 2015 - 06:29 PM.

The "Santa trains" are back again... kinda like Thomas the tank. :p

cpczwjr.jpg


PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#69

Posted 21 December 2015 - 06:33 PM

I would not want to drive on these Tracks.

 

 

 

  • Aqua97 likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#70

Posted 22 December 2015 - 01:25 AM

Did I ever mention I went to the Great Central Railway?

 

I had a marvelous time, I they had just built the turnable and were having a funfair there...

 

Good Times!

  • PhillBellic likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#71

Posted 28 December 2015 - 08:51 AM

Did I ever mention I went to the Great Central Railway?

 

I had a marvelous time, I they had just built the turnable and were having a funfair there...

 

Good Times!

Now I'm curious. Do you have Photos to share? :)


Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#72

Posted 28 December 2015 - 02:41 PM

Yeah I should do, let me find them :)

  • PhillBellic likes this

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#73

Posted 21 January 2016 - 05:19 AM

So they're going to make some rail link between Orlando and Miami and word is they're gonna use Siemens locomotives for it and damn, it looks really really future-ey and weird.

 

unnamed-22.jpg


PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#74

Posted 21 January 2016 - 09:38 AM

I hope they don't actually build that 'Locomotive'. :blink:


Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#75

Posted 26 January 2016 - 08:28 PM

So they're going to make some rail link between Orlando and Miami and word is they're gonna use Siemens locomotives for it and damn, it looks really really future-ey and weird.

 

unnamed-22.jpg

As you said; that looks really, really weird.


Mark
  • Mark

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#76

Posted 29 January 2016 - 04:05 PM

They look pretty standard to a European eye..

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#77

Posted 30 January 2016 - 08:49 PM

Yeah, I was gonna say they do look pretty European. :p


universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#78

Posted 05 February 2016 - 08:17 PM

It's weird, it's obviously European because it doesn't have a nose and it lacks little to no right angles, and it's being designed by Europeans, but what they're going to do is build it in America because we have this law regarding train and other governmental stuff where, even though it's designed in Europe, it has to be built in America.

 

I mean they do the same with those new Amtrak trains based on the Europsrinter.

 

1024px-Northeast_Regional_152_%281238483

  • K1FFLOM likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#79

Posted 11 February 2016 - 08:54 AM

An Amtrak Electric Train? That's something I haven't seen before.


Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#80

Posted 12 February 2016 - 12:11 AM

An Amtrak Electric Train? That's something I haven't seen before.

Have you never even heard of the Acela? It has been around for more than a decade


It's weird, it's obviously European because it doesn't have a nose and it lacks little to no right angles, and it's being designed by Europeans, but what they're going to do is build it in America because we have this law regarding train and other governmental stuff where, even though it's designed in Europe, it has to be built in America.

 

I mean they do the same with those new Amtrak trains based on the Europsrinter.

 

 

I think one of the aspects of the law are for federal funding, If they want federal money, they need american built equipment, of course there are some ways around this, you can still buy foreign trains, but they need to be assembled in the USA.

  • Nico, universetwisters and PhillBellic like this

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#81

Posted 12 February 2016 - 12:13 AM

 

An Amtrak Electric Train? That's something I haven't seen before.

Have you never even heard of the Acela? It has been around for more than a decade

 

 

They had electric trains even before Acela.

 

pictures%5C5233%5C2295.jpg
 


Touge Spirit Leader
  • Touge Spirit Leader

    garage seventy-six

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2015
  • United-States

#82

Posted 18 February 2016 - 09:15 PM

GG1's are cool but nothing beats the classics.

 

IwGmWGk.jpg

 

Can't wait to get my O-Scale model. In fact I am going to have a lot of pictures to post here once I get my fleet back from the hobby shop.

When you buy used you have to deal with repairs...


universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#83

Posted 18 February 2016 - 09:30 PM

>O scale

Is it a proper O Scale model or one of those c*nty third rail Lionel toys?


Touge Spirit Leader
  • Touge Spirit Leader

    garage seventy-six

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2015
  • United-States

#84

Posted 19 February 2016 - 04:44 AM

>O scale
Is it a proper O Scale model or one of those c*nty third rail Lionel toys?


3 Rail Scale. So all of my models do happen to be Lionel's but they are not the cheap starter set toyetic kind. They run on 3-rail track but they are built entirely of metal and are true 1/48th scale size. I'll post some pics of my layout when I get the Dreyfuss in and get my stuff back from repairs at my local hobby shop.

K1FFLOM
  • K1FFLOM

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2015
  • Pitcairn-Islands

#85

Posted 19 February 2016 - 01:42 PM

It's weird, it's obviously European because it doesn't have a nose and it lacks little to no right angles, and it's being designed by Europeans, but what they're going to do is build it in America because we have this law regarding train and other governmental stuff where, even though it's designed in Europe, it has to be built in America.
 
I mean they do the same with those new Amtrak trains based on the Europsrinter.
 
1024px-Northeast_Regional_152_%281238483


Siemens are building trains in Russia bigtime at the moment. The standard of the new interregional trains there is far better than here in Germany.
They are also converting the Trans Siberian Railway to higher speed with Chinese help.

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#86

Posted 19 February 2016 - 06:13 PM

 

>O scale
Is it a proper O Scale model or one of those c*nty third rail Lionel toys?


3 Rail Scale. So all of my models do happen to be Lionel's but they are not the cheap starter set toyetic kind. They run on 3-rail track but they are built entirely of metal and are true 1/48th scale size. I'll post some pics of my layout when I get the Dreyfuss in and get my stuff back from repairs at my local hobby shop.

 

 

It doesn't matter how much money you put into it, why would someone who wants accuracy and precision within a model chose to go for 3 Rail O scale trains? Especially with that ugly third rail going right through the middle that ruins any attempt at realism.
 

sdrrmrefinery.jpg

Sure, they COULD'VE hid it in the ties like Marklin did, but NO.

  • Touge Spirit Leader likes this

Touge Spirit Leader
  • Touge Spirit Leader

    garage seventy-six

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2015
  • United-States

#87

Posted 19 February 2016 - 07:18 PM

^ I understand where your coming from and I agree that the third rail is rather strange but I'll give you my reply.

 

I went with O-Scale Three Rail because I like the size of the trains primarily but I know that still left me with the option of going with O-Scale Two Rail. I chose Three Rail over Two Rail because of the user-friendliness of everything. Two Rail requires one to do a lot of painting of the models, something I have neither the time nor skill to do effectively. The 3-Rail Scale market is also larger with more roadnames and engine types readily available. Also the command control systems are far more complicated. With Lionel's TrainMaster Command Control I am able to do everything on my layout from one handheld remote without having to deal with DCC decoders etc. It's a sacrifice I have to make but hey, I love the trains I run and the third rail doesn't much bother me.


universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#88

Posted 19 February 2016 - 07:24 PM

I mean if you love what you do, that's fine. I just hate it when Lionel people go on and on about HEY MY LAYOUT IS AS REAL AS IT GETS while they have that ugly third rail.

Like I said, just hide it in the ties like Marklin did and problem solved.

 

800px-Binari_K_C_M.JPG

  • Spectacus likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#89

Posted 28 March 2016 - 01:27 PM

I mean if you love what you do, that's fine. I just hate it when Lionel people go on and on about HEY MY LAYOUT IS AS REAL AS IT GETS while they have that ugly third rail.

Like I said, just hide it in the ties like Marklin did and problem solved.

 

800px-Binari_K_C_M.JPG

I don't think I'd ever be able to model in O Scale, let alone 00 Scale!

 

You guys ever heard of those Garden Railways?


Shylock
  • Shylock

    Gedachtnisse sind genau das.

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2007

#90

Posted 24 May 2016 - 06:27 PM

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.

I don't know if this is related to signaling but it might be something you know of - do British locomotives have a reset button, or whatever it's called that the engineer has to press every X amount of seconds to make sure he's alive or else the train stops? I know the trains here in America have them, as do the London Underground, but I didn't know if regular mainline engines had them or not.

We have them on my engines in Australia. It's a red button we call the 'vigilance button' or vigo since we are australian and shorten everything.
A red box will begin to flash on the screen when it starts the alert. If the button is not pressed after a certain amount of time an audible alarm will sound. The longer the alarm sounds the louder and more urgent the sound gets. If it's not acknowledged the emergency brake is applied. From the red light to strart flashing to the emergency brake applying is about a 20 to 25 second window depending on the locomotive class.
Moving the throttle, brake, blowing horn, standing on the sand pedal or pressing any button on the screen resets it. It usually come on again after about 60 seconds of no control moments.

In the US it's called a crew alerter. Goes off anywhere from 60 seconds to 15 seconds depending on speed of train. Faster the train is going the faster the alerter cycles. It emits one hell of a audible alarm that can commonly be heard over radios and at least in American loco there is a red strobe light of sorts mounted in the cab that starts off dim and goes nuts about 5 seconds before the brakes are applied. Guess it's also worth noting that once the alerter cycle is started, by either time or lack of control adjustments, it can only be turned reset by pressing the alerter button.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users