Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

The railway discussion topic

97 replies to this topic
Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#31

Posted 24 August 2015 - 09:31 PM

American Locomotives are so damn large!

very much so :)

  • Spectacus likes this

Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#32

Posted 26 August 2015 - 06:39 AM

Anyone else like drawing trains?

 

LmRjQyt.png


universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#33

Posted 27 August 2015 - 10:02 PM

American Locomotives are so damn large!

 

British Locomotives are so damn tiny!

 

RIVER_MITE_STEAM_LOCOMOTIVE_ON_THE_TURNT

  • Aqua97 likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#34

Posted 28 August 2015 - 03:09 PM Edited by Spectacus, 28 August 2015 - 03:09 PM.

This is britan's largest loco (I Think)

taylor1.jpg

Riddles 9F


Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#35

Posted 03 September 2015 - 06:40 AM

11986558_401049296754679_25401679758133111227382_401049293421346_494636549828511More Here>>  :)

  • Spectacus likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#36

Posted 04 September 2015 - 12:34 AM

Wow, that scenery is just beautiful...

  • Aqua97 likes this

Cudwieser
  • Cudwieser

    In the Shadows

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2007
  • Ireland

#37

Posted 04 September 2015 - 08:16 PM

Hello Ladies and Gent. I'm not a train fan in the accepted sense, but an admirer of engineering. Living in Downpatrick I'm familiar with the beating and whistling  of railworking and it is a lovely sound.

 

Here is a link to the local railway museum.

 

http://www.downrail.co.uk/

 

It is a quaint 2 miles of rail line running from the town to the historic Inch abbey. It is entirely voluntary and runs through summer (with a ghost train at Halloween)

 

It you are ever in the area, please call in.

 

As for engines we have this little puffer

 

fp_steam.jpg

 

Here is a list of the rolling stock

 

https://en.wikipedia...ty_Down_Railway

 

and other images

 

http://www.discovern...wnpatrick-P3209


lolznc
  • lolznc

    not of Themyscira

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2015
  • United-Kingdom

#38

Posted 06 September 2015 - 08:56 PM

 

American Locomotives are so damn large!

 

British Locomotives are so damn tiny!

 

RIVER_MITE_STEAM_LOCOMOTIVE_ON_THE_TURNT

 

Ah, the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway, the 15" line up in the Lake District :colgate: A very nice scenic line, if you don't mind squeezing into the tiny carriages. I think we Brits have a thing for miniature railways, as there's been quite a few over the years. Here's a quick history, if anyone's interested. :)

  • Spectacus likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#39

Posted 07 September 2015 - 05:02 AM

 

 

American Locomotives are so damn large!

 

British Locomotives are so damn tiny!

 

RIVER_MITE_STEAM_LOCOMOTIVE_ON_THE_TURNT

 

Ah, the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway, the 15" line up in the Lake District :colgate: A very nice scenic line, if you don't mind squeezing into the tiny carriages. I think we Brits have a thing for miniature railways, as there's been quite a few over the years. Here's a quick history, if anyone's interested. :)

 

I've always loved River Mite's red.


Beastly40
  • Beastly40

    Senzu Bean!

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2011
  • United-States

#40

Posted 07 September 2015 - 03:07 PM

Anyone else like drawing trains?

 

LmRjQyt.png

Yes very much so. But with pen/pencil and paper. 


Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#41

Posted 07 September 2015 - 05:44 PM Edited by Aqua97, 07 September 2015 - 05:44 PM.

 

Anyone else like drawing trains?

 

LmRjQyt.png

Yes very much so. But with pen/pencil and paper. 

 

Well, I don't draw trains, but I do enjoy drawing ships, then making them. (the plan of the ship is not the one in the photo)  :)

HveRTSH.giff9QvZhz.jpg   

  • PhillBellic, Spectacus and lolznc like this

Mark
  • Mark

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#42

Posted 07 September 2015 - 07:50 PM

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#43

Posted 08 September 2015 - 02:31 AM

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.


I don't know if this is related to signaling but it might be something you know of - do British locomotives have a reset button, or whatever it's called that the engineer has to press every X amount of seconds to make sure he's alive or else the train stops? I know the trains here in America have them, as do the London Underground, but I didn't know if regular mainline engines had them or not.

Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#44

Posted 08 September 2015 - 05:36 AM

 

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.


I don't know if this is related to signaling but it might be something you know of - do British locomotives have a reset button, or whatever it's called that the engineer has to press every X amount of seconds to make sure he's alive or else the train stops? I know the trains here in America have them, as do the London Underground, but I didn't know if regular mainline engines had them or not.

 

Those are usually called "Dead Man Switches", the use of 'switch' is just uniform, the real system could either be a button, a lever, or built into the control device that has to be pressed the entire time the train is in motion.


Mark
  • Mark

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#45

Posted 08 September 2015 - 12:11 PM Edited by Mark, 08 September 2015 - 12:33 PM.

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.

I don't know if this is related to signaling but it might be something you know of - do British locomotives have a reset button, or whatever it's called that the engineer has to press every X amount of seconds to make sure he's alive or else the train stops? I know the trains here in America have them, as do the London Underground, but I didn't know if regular mainline engines had them or not.
The closest thing we have to that on mainline (from a signalling side anyway, no idea as regards the train itself) is AWS.

https://en.m.wikiped...stem_(railways)

Whilst it doesn't require pressing all the time, it does require acknowledgement if the driver is on approach to a signal that is not green (so as to acknowledge that he does need to start braking). It's not exactly the best system out there as in busy areas drivers tend to drive under yellow or double yellow constantly so they get conditioned to the horn cab noise and end up cancelling the warning without paying too much attention. It also doesn't distinguish between a red signal (do not pass) and a yellow/double yellow (proceed) which can prove problematic if the driver isn't paying attention or is having difficulty telling apart what signal is theirs (see Ladbroke Grove rail crash). It is completely fail safe though (within reason, there are ways the system can wrong-side fail).

We now use it in conjunction with TPWS at controlled signals (which will always intervene regardless of driver action). Either way our tech is antiquated here in the UK.
  • universetwisters likes this

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#46

Posted 13 September 2015 - 04:07 PM

 

 

Anyone else like drawing trains?

 

LmRjQyt.png

Yes very much so. But with pen/pencil and paper. 

 

Well, I don't draw trains, but I do enjoy drawing ships, then making them. (the plan of the ship is not the one in the photo)  :)

  

 

This is one of my ship drawings.  :)

OG2bIWC.jpg?1


universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#47

Posted 11 November 2015 - 05:41 AM

Bumping with some models I got today:

 

12240871_894438997278498_206077684407616

  • Aqua97 likes this

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#48

Posted 12 November 2015 - 07:26 PM

Do you buy online or what?


Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#49

Posted 12 November 2015 - 09:49 PM Edited by Aqua, 12 November 2015 - 09:49 PM.

Guys, which one do you prefer... Bachmann or Hornby ?

Ben73
  • Ben73

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012
  • Australia

#50

Posted 14 November 2015 - 07:09 AM

Whilst I'm not a railway enthusiast, I do work on the UK railway infrastructure as part of S&T testing. If you've any questions on UK based signalling I'm happy to answer.

I don't know if this is related to signaling but it might be something you know of - do British locomotives have a reset button, or whatever it's called that the engineer has to press every X amount of seconds to make sure he's alive or else the train stops? I know the trains here in America have them, as do the London Underground, but I didn't know if regular mainline engines had them or not.

We have them on my engines in Australia. It's a red button we call the 'vigilance button' or vigo since we are australian and shorten everything.
A red box will begin to flash on the screen when it starts the alert. If the button is not pressed after a certain amount of time an audible alarm will sound. The longer the alarm sounds the louder and more urgent the sound gets. If it's not acknowledged the emergency brake is applied. From the red light to strart flashing to the emergency brake applying is about a 20 to 25 second window depending on the locomotive class.
Moving the throttle, brake, blowing horn, standing on the sand pedal or pressing any button on the screen resets it. It usually come on again after about 60 seconds of no control moments.

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#51

Posted 15 November 2015 - 05:23 PM

Do you buy online or what?


I bought them online via a Canadian retailer

Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#52

Posted 16 November 2015 - 06:20 PM

Guys, which one do you prefer... Bachmann or Hornby ?

Sorry but I gotta say Bachmann!.

 

  • Better Tooling 
  • Cheaper Prices
  • Better Sets too
  • Aqua97 likes this

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#53

Posted 16 November 2015 - 06:28 PM

I was thinking the same thing... Far more detail in there products. And there trains seem to run better and are built better and to higher standards. ( :

Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#54

Posted 19 November 2015 - 06:34 AM Edited by Aqua, 19 November 2015 - 06:35 AM.

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

gCl1qav.jpgjyP8Oaj.jpgJVdSMyz.jpgRIdOT3e.jpg

  • universetwisters likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#55

Posted 24 November 2015 - 07:03 AM

Hmm, I think I'm going to like this Topic.

 

Here's some Trains where I live;

 

1395641150343.jpg

 

14172814121_87cffeab25_b.jpg

 

E115_8347.jpg

  • Aqua97 likes this

Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#56

Posted 24 November 2015 - 11:59 PM

Something I drew back in September:

 

roJT94V.png

  • Spectacus and Aqua97 like this

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM, WILLY!

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#57

Posted 26 November 2015 - 03:42 AM

What program do you use to draw that in, paint?


Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#58

Posted 26 November 2015 - 04:57 AM

MSPaint XP version


Spectacus
  • Spectacus

    SHEIRA!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#59

Posted 28 November 2015 - 01:54 PM

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

gCl1qav.jpgjyP8Oaj.jpgJVdSMyz.jpgRIdOT3e.jpg

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?


Aqua97
  • Aqua97

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2015
  • None
  • Worst Llama 2016

#60

Posted 28 November 2015 - 02:23 PM

 

Currently fixing my model railway. Trying to tidy it up!  :)

 

Actually looks pretty neat; you gonna ballast the track though?

Yeah, I've been meaning to for a while now. :)  I wounder if there is away of doing without ripping up the track...  :/ 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users