Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Movement on the SteamDB page for both IV and EFLC

412 replies to this topic
etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#61

Posted 19 November 2015 - 04:44 PM

Another small update, could it be that they are about to release what ever they were Beta Testing?


sammystarock
  • sammystarock

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2014
  • None

#62

Posted 19 November 2015 - 06:37 PM Edited by mistersam, 19 November 2015 - 06:37 PM.

If this whole SecuROM and GFWL crap gets throwed into the garbage bin, where it belongs, I will absolutely rebuy GTA IV & EFLC on Steam.
Sounds too good to be true though.


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#63

Posted 19 November 2015 - 09:52 PM Edited by etayorius, 19 November 2015 - 09:54 PM.

We are just speculating... i personally have no idea what they are doing, for all we know it could be a removal of songs due to lincenses, since GTA-SA and GTA-VC both have been updated the exact same dates on SteamDB as GTA4, and we know for a fact that Rockstar is bringing original songs for those titles... it`s driving me mad, if Rockstar does not remove SecuRom and GFWL from GTA4 i will lose a ton of respect for them, since GTA4 and EFLC are few of the AAA titles still with that crap.

 

So i would advise not to get your hopes up and remain with low expecations with these particular patches.

  • MythAlex and sammystarock like this

sammystarock
  • sammystarock

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2014
  • None

#64

Posted 21 November 2015 - 09:14 AM

I'm always with low expectations when it comes to R* related stuff.
I just said that in case it still happens, I will rebuy the games. I'm not hoping for it, it's just a possibility. Who knows?


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#65

Posted 08 December 2015 - 06:02 PM

Since the Beta branch was removed 20 days ago, i would be safe to say if by mid-late January we don`t see any movement or release, then what ever they were beta testing, they probably decided against releasing.


TWIST_OF_HATE
  • TWIST_OF_HATE

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2014
  • Ukraine

#66

Posted 09 December 2015 - 03:37 PM

I lost hope on this update ...


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#67

Posted 09 December 2015 - 04:13 PM Edited by etayorius, 09 December 2015 - 04:37 PM.

Hang in there, beta testing can take anywhere from 2-6 months is just been 4 months since they started messing with SteamDB and the added (now removed) Beta Branch...  let just wait till Late January 2016, they are also doing moves on the exact same dates on SteamDB with GTA-SA, GTA-VC, EFLC and Max Payne 3, i have a feeling they may release them on Linux and if so, there is no way GFWL can work there, so they may just be working on removing it... or at least fix SecuRom issues with Win10. Remember it took CodeMasters a year and a half to completely remove GFWL to Dirt3, it was so much work they decided to just remove Dirt2 from sale instead of removing GFWL for that title.

 

Another option is they are trying to integrate Social Club into their most popular games, Rockstar loves DRM, the more the better for them. But I really don`t see them integrate Steamworks to any of their games.

 

 

EDIT

 

One of my old time friends and hardcore Linux and anti Windows friend just told me he saw a BETA Option to instal GTA4... i asked him for a screen of his claims, he said he will as soon as he gets home... 

  • CartmanKusanagi, MythAlex and sammystarock like this

sammystarock
  • sammystarock

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2014
  • None

#68

Posted 09 December 2015 - 04:43 PM

One of my old time friends and hardcore Linux and anti Windows friend just told me he saw a BETA Option to instal GTA4... i asked him for a screen of his claims, he said he will as soon as he gets home... 

Good lord, this is getting interesting. :panic:


cryptorelic
  • cryptorelic

    odĕrint dum metŭant

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2012
  • Antarctica

#69

Posted 09 December 2015 - 05:10 PM

Huh, what, where ?

 

Can i finally rescue my Grand Theft Auto IV from Patch 1.0.4.0 since all that garbage will be gone ?

 

qp9AoqJ.png

  • CartmanKusanagi and BlackScout like this

George Costanza
  • George Costanza

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2017 [Liberty City Stories: PC]
    [Rockstar Editor Awards 2017] Best Rockstar Editor Short
    Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]
    l33t p05T3r 5t34l3r 2017
    Worst Sheep 2017
    Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#70

Posted 09 December 2015 - 05:45 PM

EDIT

 

One of my old time friends and hardcore Linux and anti Windows friend just told me he saw a BETA Option to instal GTA4... i asked him for a screen of his claims, he said he will as soon as he gets home... 

Linux/SteamOS version makes sence. (especially for San Andreas, that GTA is on every f*cking platform today)


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#71

Posted 12 December 2015 - 02:46 PM

Still trying to confirm his claims, i have not seen him online... i even tried to install a virtual machine with ZorinOS and install steam just to see if it is actually true, but for some reason Steam does not run in my virtual machine.

  • CartmanKusanagi likes this

George Costanza
  • George Costanza

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2017 [Liberty City Stories: PC]
    [Rockstar Editor Awards 2017] Best Rockstar Editor Short
    Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]
    l33t p05T3r 5t34l3r 2017
    Worst Sheep 2017
    Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#72

Posted 12 December 2015 - 06:22 PM Edited by Tomasak, 12 December 2015 - 06:23 PM.

Pic from ubuntu (i have all GTAs on steam expect V, i even have GTA1 and 2
c02EbLZ.png

etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#73

Posted 13 December 2015 - 03:40 AM

What a bummer... it was too good to be true.


RussianFighter
  • RussianFighter

    Hater Player

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006
  • Argentina

#74

Posted 18 December 2015 - 03:43 AM

I still have hope.

 

Also, this:

https://steamdb.info/app/271070/


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#75

Posted 18 December 2015 - 02:37 PM Edited by etayorius, 18 December 2015 - 02:39 PM.

I still have hope.

 

Also, this:

https://steamdb.info/app/271070/

 

Seems to be just a Bundle Pack of GTA4 and SA, nothing special. They`re definitely going to do something with the game... exactly what, remains to be seen. But i do not expect better performance or stuff like that, most likely removal of SecuROM... and i am not so sure about GFWL, but i can only hope.


RussianFighter
  • RussianFighter

    Hater Player

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006
  • Argentina

#76

Posted 19 December 2015 - 12:04 AM

 

I still have hope.

 

Also, this:

https://steamdb.info/app/271070/

 

Seems to be just a Bundle Pack of GTA4 and SA, nothing special. They`re definitely going to do something with the game... exactly what, remains to be seen. But i do not expect better performance or stuff like that, most likely removal of SecuROM... and i am not so sure about GFWL, but i can only hope.

 

 

Removing SecuRom alone, is a performance fix.

The same (or similar) drm was included in Battlefield Bad Company 2 and with the last patch, they removed SecuROM and lo and behold, performance fixes out of the blue. :D


sammystarock
  • sammystarock

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2014
  • None

#77

Posted 19 December 2015 - 08:08 AM Edited by sammystarock, 19 December 2015 - 08:08 AM.

Removing SecuRom alone, is a performance fix.

The same (or similar) drm was included in Battlefield Bad Company 2 and with the last patch, they removed SecuROM and lo and behold, performance fixes out of the blue. :D

Is it? I don't know much about that, but I really hope so.
Oh man, no SecuRom and GFWL... It sounds too good to be true.


PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#78

Posted 19 December 2015 - 08:12 AM

 

Removing SecuRom alone, is a performance fix.

The same (or similar) drm was included in Battlefield Bad Company 2 and with the last patch, they removed SecuROM and lo and behold, performance fixes out of the blue. :D

Is it? I don't know much about that, but I really hope so.
Oh man, no SecuRom and GFWL... It sounds too good to be true.

 

If they did Remove them, I'd hope the Disc based Copies are also updated. :^:

  • 65536 likes this

CartmanKusanagi
  • CartmanKusanagi

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2012
  • United-States

#79

Posted 19 December 2015 - 05:40 PM Edited by CartmanKusanagi, 19 December 2015 - 05:42 PM.

Arkham Asylum and City used GFWL before moving to Steamworks. IIRC the retail keys could be redeemed on Steam once the switch happened (at least for Asylum). Hopefully IV follows suit if it ditches GWFL, too.

Reason
  • Reason

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2016
  • United-States

#80

Posted 04 January 2016 - 04:16 AM

anything new?


PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia
  • Ban Roulette Winner 2016

#81

Posted 04 January 2016 - 04:39 AM

anything new?

Doesn't appear to be anything new. :/


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#82

Posted 04 January 2016 - 04:40 AM

No, nothing to report... there has been no updates on SteamDB, it took CodeMaster year and a half to remove GFWL completely from Dirt3 and they both kinda use the same system. SteamDB reports that a Beta started being tested 5 months ago in July/August... so it could take them quite a while to remove GWFL Crap, i guess SecuRom would be much much easier to remove...


Reason
  • Reason

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2016
  • United-States

#83

Posted 04 January 2016 - 04:47 AM

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#84

Posted 04 January 2016 - 06:43 AM

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?

 

I think xliveless just removes gfwl, but it also kills the MP aspect of the game. SecuRom should still be there even using xliveless.


El Dorado
  • El Dorado

    If it keeps on rainin' levee's goin' to break

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#85

Posted 04 January 2016 - 01:02 PM Edited by El Dorado, 04 January 2016 - 01:02 PM.

You can run the gtaiv.exe directly to get rid of securom. But then... drunk cam


Reason
  • Reason

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2016
  • United-States

#86

Posted 04 January 2016 - 06:58 PM

 

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?

 

I think xliveless just removes gfwl, but it also kills the MP aspect of the game. SecuRom should still be there even using xliveless.

 

 

 

You can run the gtaiv.exe directly to get rid of securom. But then... drunk cam

so i can get rid of GFWL and Social club but Securom cant be disabled?


etayorius
  • etayorius

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015
  • Israel

#87

Posted 04 January 2016 - 09:17 PM

 

 

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?

 

I think xliveless just removes gfwl, but it also kills the MP aspect of the game. SecuRom should still be there even using xliveless.

 

 

 

You can run the gtaiv.exe directly to get rid of securom. But then... drunk cam

so i can get rid of GFWL and Social club but Securom cant be disabled?

 

 

Pretty much, but disabling GFWL will also disable Multiplayer, unless you are only interested in the Singleplayer but i have no idea if saving works with Xliveless.


Red Hat
  • Red Hat

    its moi

  • Daily Globe
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2012
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award GTA IV

#88

Posted 05 January 2016 - 03:20 PM

 

 

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?

 
I think xliveless just removes gfwl, but it also kills the MP aspect of the game. SecuRom should still be there even using xliveless.
 
 
 

You can run the gtaiv.exe directly to get rid of securom. But then... drunk cam

so i can get rid of GFWL and Social club but Securom cant be disabled?
 
 
Pretty much, but disabling GFWL will also disable Multiplayer, unless you are only interested in the Singleplayer but i have no idea if saving works with Xliveless.
Saving works with Xliveless

Reason
  • Reason

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2016
  • United-States

#89

Posted 05 January 2016 - 06:57 PM

 

 

 

so even with xliveless im stuck dealing with securom and gfwl?

 

I think xliveless just removes gfwl, but it also kills the MP aspect of the game. SecuRom should still be there even using xliveless.

 

 

 

You can run the gtaiv.exe directly to get rid of securom. But then... drunk cam

so i can get rid of GFWL and Social club but Securom cant be disabled?

 

 

Pretty much, but disabling GFWL will also disable Multiplayer, unless you are only interested in the Singleplayer but i have no idea if saving works with Xliveless.

 

i dont care about multiplayer. Lol


BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    Andrew Bayer's #1 Fan

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#90

Posted 05 January 2016 - 07:47 PM

They could still "port" the Multiplayer to RGSC.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users