Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL] OpenRW

RW Released
  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
166 replies to this topic
Coach Nick
  • Coach Nick

    Survivor

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2015
  • Philippines

#31

Posted 09 August 2015 - 11:04 AM

Is it complicated or easy to use?
  • reditec likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#32

Posted 09 August 2015 - 01:55 PM

Is it complicated or easy to use?

My current focus is on the user interface. :D

I will try to make the program as simple as a typical Windows Explorer window. Ofcourse many things won't work in the first version, but you'll be able to open IMG files and export their contents. Editing will be added in the next version. :-)

I still got some trouble with multithreading (so the window doesn't freeze when it loads stuff), but I get help by other people.

After I publish the source code, I will also release daily updates on a developer / beta channel.

Stay tuned for more :-)


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#33

Posted 09 August 2015 - 01:58 PM

Wouldn't it make more sense to work on functionality first and then add an interface to it?
  • Tomasak likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#34

Posted 09 August 2015 - 02:53 PM

Wouldn't it make more sense to work on functionality first and then add an interface to it?

I don't think it would make more sense as my goal is to make OpenRW very userfriendly.

For developers it would make more sense. But I guess most of the users will be people who want to mod their old games and don't like command-line based programs :D

But my programming style is like you described it. First write a function and later implement it into the user interface. You'll probably see that in my source code :-)


Coach Nick
  • Coach Nick

    Survivor

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2015
  • Philippines

#35

Posted 11 August 2015 - 03:51 AM

Cool! Are you gonna add a 3d model viewer when we click a dff file?
Cool! Are you gonna add a 3d model viewer when we click a dff file?

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#36

Posted 11 August 2015 - 09:57 AM

Cool! Are you gonna add a 3d model viewer when we click a dff file?

Yes! Someone who knows about modelling helps me, so this should be possible!  :)


Coach Nick
  • Coach Nick

    Survivor

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2015
  • Philippines

#37

Posted 11 August 2015 - 01:22 PM

Cool! Are you gonna add a 3d model viewer when we click a dff file?

Yes! Someone who knows about modelling helps me, so this should be possible!  :)

GGMM has a model viewer. You should ask the one who made it to help you make the Dff viewer

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#38

Posted 11 August 2015 - 01:56 PM Edited by reditec, 11 August 2015 - 02:06 PM.

GGMM has a model viewer. You should ask the one who made it to help you make the Dff viewer

Delfi did that tool in 2005 and I don't know him. If it can't be done in another way, I'll really ask him anyway. But I know someone, who knows how to do this in Visual Basic and I don't doubt that it's possible in Visual C#, too :-)

 

 

By the way, after 3 days I fixed that damn UI bug by using threads. Now I'm working on a game selector, that looks like this:

bd5c29a6b1.png

Now I'm working on a game path selector, an updater, a credits window, a IMG viewer for v2 files (just need to convert some C++ code, but that's easy) and on connecting all of these windows in the right way. After this is done, I can release OpenRW. Always take in mind, that it might take some hours or some weeks, until I'm ready.

My friend Arturs also helped me out with the TXD file format, but that will be the first thing to be done in OpenRW 1.01 :-)

  • Mega likes this

The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#39

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:02 PM

If you know enough about RW to write editing tools, writing a model viewer is f*cking easy.
  • reditec likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#40

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:16 PM Edited by reditec, 11 August 2015 - 02:18 PM.

If you know enough about RW to write editing tools, writing a model viewer is f*cking easy.

I know how to edit and read the file formats, even though most aren't documentated very well. :D

But I never ever displayed a model. I don't even know how to use 3DS Max, Cinema4D, Blender and this stuff. And I have no idea how to do display a 3D model in Visual Basic (without using a library). All I know is: If someone else knows how to do this in Visual Basic, it will also work in Visual C#. And I'm quite sure I'll be able to convert the model files to a more common model format (if that other format is documentated very well, too). But I guess things like that are the reason, why I decided to publish the source of this project :-)


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#41

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:21 PM

Pff...documented file formats...where is the fun in that? You figure them out yourself. But seriously, what format did you have trouble with? o_O
I'm writing my stuff in C++, you can use it if you want: https://github.com/aap/librw
  • reditec and thehambone like this

Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#42

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:21 PM

Is it at least grabbing paths for GTAs from registrers?


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#43

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:32 PM

what format did you have trouble with? o_O
I'm writing my stuff in C++, you can use it if you want: https://github.com/aap/librw

with none... yet.... :D Thanks for your code, might use it if necesary and credit you :-)

Is it at least grabbing paths for GTAs from registrers?

Nice idea, I'll let it do a quick search, but if it doesn't find the game you need to browse for the file :-) (I only have stean versions sadly and don't know the usual registry locations)


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#44

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:41 PM Edited by Silent, 11 August 2015 - 02:41 PM.

Apparently it's
 
SOFTWARE\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\Installation -> ExePath
III/VC might have them similar, but I dunno.

Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#45

Posted 11 August 2015 - 03:18 PM

VC:

software\Rockstar games\Grand Theft Auto Vice City -> Path

Couldn't find GTA3 tho


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#46

Posted 11 August 2015 - 03:30 PM

They are useless anyway, only added by the installer for uninstallation sake. Never used by the games.
  • reditec likes this

Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#47

Posted 11 August 2015 - 03:36 PM

They are useless anyway, only added by the installer for uninstallation sake. Never used by the games.

Not in GTA4&5 tho iirc


Claude_Lib
  • Claude_Lib

    Talkative like never before

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2009
  • Russia

#48

Posted 11 August 2015 - 03:37 PM Edited by Claude Liberty, 11 August 2015 - 03:44 PM.

denull's Game Archive Viewer has built-in dff and txd preview. You can ask the author for help with this. His active profile in Russian Social: http://vk.com/denull
  • reditec likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#49

Posted 11 August 2015 - 06:38 PM Edited by reditec, 11 August 2015 - 06:39 PM.

Apparently it's
 

SOFTWARE\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\Installation -> ExePath
III/VC might have them similar, but I dunno.

 

VC:

software\Rockstar games\Grand Theft Auto Vice City -> Path

You guys are right for the retail versions I guess. But I have the Steam versions only... So I might only support them and there's also the Wowx64 stuff I need to take care of... Registry is a mess -.-

 

denull's Game Archive Viewer has built-in dff and txd preview. You can ask the author for help with this. His active profile in Russian Social: http://vk.com/denull

Thanks, maybe I'll contact him later, too. Today I already took a look at the *.TXD format with the help of "The Hero" :-)


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#50

Posted 11 August 2015 - 06:43 PM Edited by Silent, 11 August 2015 - 06:43 PM.

and there's also the Wowx64 stuff I need to take care of... Registry is a mess -.-


No you don't.
  • Tomasak likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#51

Posted 12 August 2015 - 04:37 AM Edited by reditec, 12 August 2015 - 04:39 AM.

 

and there's also the Wowx64 stuff I need to take care of... Registry is a mess -.-


No you don't.

 

Yes, I need.... :/ For steam versions at least. For me it's 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 12110

for Vice City.

 

For 32 Bit computers it's just

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 12110

and I don't even know the IDs of the other steamapps yet, but I'll find them in a few hours anyway... Now school starts again over here hehe :D

Please just continue to spam this post with registry codes. :D

Another thing:

Are the exe files always seperated with a "-" or a "_"? Like is it always "gta_sa.exe" or sometimes even "gta-sa.exe"? Am not sure about this, lol... :D

Anyway... Thx for helping me out :)


Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#52

Posted 12 August 2015 - 08:56 AM

I'm pretty sure Windows handles that internally already.

  • Tomasak likes this

miclin
  • miclin

    old stager

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2009
  • Germany

#53

Posted 12 August 2015 - 09:30 AM Edited by miclin, 12 August 2015 - 09:30 AM.

can't remember the last time, I had any GTA installed instead of copied.

  • Jinx. likes this

Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#54

Posted 12 August 2015 - 10:02 AM

 

 

and there's also the Wowx64 stuff I need to take care of... Registry is a mess -.-


No you don't.

 

Yes, I need.... :/ For steam versions at least. For me it's 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 12110

for Vice City.

 

For 32 Bit computers it's just

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 12110

and I don't even know the IDs of the other steamapps yet, but I'll find them in a few hours anyway... Now school starts again over here hehe :D

Please just continue to spam this post with registry codes. :D

Another thing:

Are the exe files always seperated with a "-" or a "_"? Like is it always "gta_sa.exe" or sometimes even "gta-sa.exe"? Am not sure about this, lol... :D

Anyway... Thx for helping me out :)

 

Wow6432Node if you don't put this in register path, it will be found on both 32 and 64bit system

About seperating: VC and STEAM SA use -

Retail SA uses _


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#55

Posted 12 August 2015 - 12:27 PM Edited by reditec, 12 August 2015 - 12:28 PM.

Thank you guys! You helped me out alot!

This is the new icon of OpenRW btw. :)

0bf24795f9.png

  • Sleepy93HUN likes this

Sleepy93HUN
  • Sleepy93HUN

    Fradista

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2009
  • Hungary

#56

Posted 12 August 2015 - 12:45 PM

will it support multi languages same OpenIV? :) if yes which charset will it use? utf-8 ?


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#57

Posted 12 August 2015 - 01:36 PM

The translation system will be added together with TXD files and the ability to edit IMG files in version 1.01 (or in steps).

Probably it will be UTF-8, because in Germany we have ÖÄÜöäü and ß. I will do the German translation, too.

But currently it's not designed to be translatable, I'll do that very soon :-)

 

Any news about the GTA III retail registry path?


Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#58

Posted 12 August 2015 - 01:37 PM

Does UTF-8 also support ěščřžýáíéů?


DK22Pac
  • DK22Pac

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#59

Posted 12 August 2015 - 02:37 PM

2nd page, new logo is done.

For some seconds I thought that I was viewing a TC thread.

  • The Hero, miclin and LINK/2012 like this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#60

Posted 12 August 2015 - 02:59 PM Edited by reditec, 12 August 2015 - 03:05 PM.

Does UTF-8 also support ěščřžýáíéů?

Yes, why it shouldn't? :-)

2nd page, new logo is done.

For some seconds I thought that I was viewing a TC thread.

I develop OpenRW since a few months now (long before this thread even started, I just didn't spent that much time in developing like I'm doing now). Ofcourse I started developing before the Windows 10 Release and sadly Windows changed the default taskbar background color to black. My old icon was a black-bordered, transparent star (The one in the Rockstar Logo). That's why there was no contrast when the icon appeared in the taskbar of Windows 10, but looked nice on Windows 7 and 8. That's the reason why I decided to change the icon and fill the star with the orange / yellow used in the Rockstar North logo. If you take a closer look at the screenshots, you'll see the old version of the icon. All further screenshots will come with the new icon. That's the reason why I even mentioned this.

Maybe you'll understand why I did that now. Otherwhise wait for the release and maybe help me out with the missing Registry Path for the retail version of GTA III :-)

 

Comparision:

eb4f826475.png  d6f636aa17.png

Before                                After

 

Do you see the icon on the left side? ;)

  • Mega likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users