Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Bug List with Solutions

15 replies to this topic
GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

    The Bad Fella™

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [Chain Game]
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#1

Posted 25 June 2015 - 06:16 PM

VnKrdmL.png

Bug List with Solutions

Welcome to the Bug List with Solutions topic for Grand Theft Auto III. This topic was made to replace the old topic due to it being outdated and poorly maintained.
 
This post contains problems that several GTA Forums users have had with Grand Theft Auto III along with various solutions that have fixed their problems. If you have an error with your game and the solution isn't below or didn't work for you, then please feel free to post your problem in the Help and Support forum so that we can help identify and solve your problem.
 
Note: This list supplies problems and solutions for the unmodded version of Grand Theft Auto III only. If you have an error with any modifications you have, post in the appropriate Modding Forum.
 
 Problem 1
An exception error occurs following the blue Rockstar Games intro.
An error occurs when loading saved games.
Custom Mouse Sensitivity does not save with other settings.
Audio will not play directly from the Hard Disk Drive.
 
Solution: Download and apply the official GTA III 1.1 Patch.

 Problem 2
A ddhelp.dll internal error occurs.
 
Solution: Disable any onboard sound cards.
 Problem 3
GTA III Crashes after a certain amount of time for no specific reason.
 
Solution: End all non-essential processes running on your computer through Task Manager.
Advice: Defragment your hard drive and check for things such as spyware and viruses.
 Problem 4
No fire and/or explosions occur when they are supposed to.
 
Solution: Turn on 'Frame Sync' and turn off 'Frame Limiter'
 Problem 5
Rampages are not appearing
 
Solution: You may have a cut version of Grand Theft Auto III. Download a 'Blood Patch' to fix the error.
Also Note: Rampages spawn at an alternative locations if attempted previously. Check the second location for the rampage(s) you are looking for.
 Problem 6
The Player continuously spins and spins around without stopping.
 
Solutions:
Check for any controllers or devices that may have fallen down a small space or have a button pressed in accidentally.
Unplug devices that you are not using for Grand Theft Auto III.
Make sure the 'Z Axis' and throttle options on your controller are set to 0%
 Problem 7
Installation Errors. A CRC or data cab error (or similar) occurs when trying to install/run the game.

 
Solutions:
This is an indication of a read error. Inspect your disc and try to remove all scratches, smudges, marks etc. It may be a fault of the drive itself, in which case you'll have to replace it with a functioning one.
End all non-essential processes, including anti-virus and Window Blinds.
Empty the temporary folder on your hard drive (typically C:\Windows\Temp).
Close any emulation-type software such as VMWare.
If you are using Windows 98 or SE, turn off Active Desktop (if it is on).
If you have an alternative disc drive, try installing from that. Some drives have compatibility problems with newer copy protection schemes. You should also update the firmware drivers for your disc drive.
 Problem 8
An Unhandled Exception error occurs.
 
Solutions:
You will not be able to load old save files with a modded main.scm.
If you are using Windows Blinds, you may have to disable it.
 Problem 9
When running the executable, the screen just flashes. gta3.exe appears in the task list for a moment, and then disappears.
 
Solution: Delete the gta3.set file found in the Documents folder of your PC.
 Problem 10
When using a sniper rifle, it just goes 'bang'. The bullets don't fire. All the other weapons work correctly.
 
Solutions:
Uninstall the 'Blood Patch' if you have it installed.
End any programs such as trainers for the game.
 Problem 11
GTA III will not run after installation - instead, when clicking the icon to start, the Play CD spins and the pointer icon turns into a spinning-CD symbol, but the game never starts. (And the pointer may not go back to normal until restarting Windows.)
 
Solutions:
End all non-essential processes running on your computer through Task Manager.
Go to Device Manager and look for "secdrv". If a big yellow question mark (indicating hardware with no driver) stands next to it, delete it.
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows 98'.
 Problem 12
Grand Theft Auto III seems to be running extremely fast.
 
Solutions:
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows 98'.
Turn on 'Frame Limiter'
Set the affinity of the running gta3.exe process to one core rather than two.
 Problem 13
There are problems changing the resolution of GTA III
 
Solutions:
Delete the gta3.set file found in the Documents folder of your PC.
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows 98'.
Uninstall any additional media codecs you may have installed previously.
 Problem 14
Sounds echo in the game.
 
Solutions:
Update your sound drivers.
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows 98'.
Change your hardware sound acceleration to a different setting.
Through Control Panel, disable any volumetric or advanced audio effects that may be enabled in your sound configuration.
 Problem 15
The mouse doesn't work during GTA III Gameplay. The pointer may move while browsing the game menus, but cannot click, and scrolling doesn't work.
 
Solution: ALT+TAB out of the game, and then return to it.
 Problem 16
GTA III will not work on Windows Vista or XP.
 
Solutions:
Update your video and audio drivers.
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows 98'.
 Problem 17
Saved games are not located in the typical My Documents\GTA3 User Files\ directory (often when running Windows Vista or newer).
 
Solutions:
Look in the C:\Users\Public\ folder.
Look in the C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\ folder for a folder called 'Data'.
Set the compatibility mode of the executable file to 'Windows XP SP2' and select "run this program as an administrator". 
 Problem 18
Cheats don't work when playing on Xbox 360 despite typing them correctly.
 
Solution: Type in the cheats but replace the black and white buttons with the left and right bumpers.
 Problem 19
The Vehicles in the Steam copy of GTA III have dark textures
 
Solution: In order to fix the problem, just follow these steps:
Make a copy of your "particle.txd" file in the following directory: "PATH_TO_STEAM\steamapps\common\grand theft auto 3\models\"
Download the "particle.txd.zip" file from the following location: particle.txd.zip (mirror)
Unpack the "particle.txd" file from the ZIP archive.
Replace your original "particle.txd" file with the downloaded one.
 Problem 20
A Non-German copy of GTA III is 'censored' on my PC/Console
 
Solution:  Make sure that your PC/Console Regional Settings are not set to a German Location and make sure that your keyboard layout settings aren't on German either.
For help on how to change the Regional Settings on PC, use this help page.
For help on how to change the Keyboard Layout on PC, use this help page.
 Problem 21
There is faulty sound in the menu of the game.
 
Solution: Re-install the game.
 Thanks to the following members that have contributed to various problems and solutions in the list:
Spuds725
Wolf68k
Demarest
Karcus
Justin

Martin4004
  • Martin4004

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2016
  • Poland

#2

Posted 27 August 2017 - 06:05 PM

Hello I have a problem.I can't find one of packages I'm looking for,I checked every location and I can't find it .Is it possible to reset all packages I have in order to start finding them from beginning???


spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#3

Posted 28 August 2017 - 03:43 AM

Can you upload your save file and link it here?

Martin4004
  • Martin4004

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2016
  • Poland

#4

Posted 28 August 2017 - 07:41 AM Edited by Martin4004, 28 August 2017 - 07:45 AM.

https://ufile.io/oip6m it's save file from GTA 3 Twenty Ten Mod 


spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#5

Posted 28 August 2017 - 09:48 PM

Did you upload the correct file? I'm seeing all 100 packages in there.

Martin4004
  • Martin4004

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2016
  • Poland

#6

Posted 29 August 2017 - 05:54 AM Edited by Martin4004, 29 August 2017 - 07:07 AM.

Did you upload the correct file? I'm seeing all 100 packages in there.

Okay I upload again,I could give you wrong save file by mistake ,so here's link to it https://ufile.io/8kx9p


spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#7

Posted 29 August 2017 - 09:27 PM Edited by spaceeinstein, 29 August 2017 - 09:33 PM.

These are the coordinates for your hidden package pickups. They're different from III's original package locations.
-1177.5, 611.5625, 0.0
-640.9375, -640.9375, 63.3750
-451.625, 173.8125, -19.6250
-544.8125, 528.8125, 217.18750
-597.5, 1091.8125, 10.8750
-717.5, 937.0625, 37.50
-967.3125, 1117.0625, 75.50
-854.0, 1253.0, 86.06250
-783.8125, 1329.1875, 95.3750
-739.375, 1248.3125, 90.68750
-540.0625, 1438.4375, 5.50
-279.4375, 1326.25, 59.3750
-382.0625, 1099.375, 90.68750
-405.9375, 964.1875, 37.50
-153.625, 987.9375, 89.68750
-233.0625, 106.5625, 17.81250
-578.4375, 1016.875, 27.68750
-380.125, 727.1875, 9.93750
-472.9375, 567.5, 164.93750
1737.625, 1029.5625, 134.43750
430.4375, 1044.1875, 164.750
253.1875, 946.625, 24.6250
-540.1875, 867.6875, 57.3750
-391.375, 940.375, 27.68750
-760.6875, 1283.9375, 135.56250
-860.6875, 1195.8125, 54.68750
-1269.75, 986.4375, 117.06250
1467.875, 1529.375, 105.8750

Martin4004
  • Martin4004

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2016
  • Poland

#8

Posted 30 August 2017 - 06:57 AM

These are the coordinates for your hidden package pickups. They're different from III's original package locations.

-1177.5, 611.5625, 0.0
-640.9375, -640.9375, 63.3750
-451.625, 173.8125, -19.6250
-544.8125, 528.8125, 217.18750
-597.5, 1091.8125, 10.8750
-717.5, 937.0625, 37.50
-967.3125, 1117.0625, 75.50
-854.0, 1253.0, 86.06250
-783.8125, 1329.1875, 95.3750
-739.375, 1248.3125, 90.68750
-540.0625, 1438.4375, 5.50
-279.4375, 1326.25, 59.3750
-382.0625, 1099.375, 90.68750
-405.9375, 964.1875, 37.50
-153.625, 987.9375, 89.68750
-233.0625, 106.5625, 17.81250
-578.4375, 1016.875, 27.68750
-380.125, 727.1875, 9.93750
-472.9375, 567.5, 164.93750
1737.625, 1029.5625, 134.43750
430.4375, 1044.1875, 164.750
253.1875, 946.625, 24.6250
-540.1875, 867.6875, 57.3750
-391.375, 940.375, 27.68750
-760.6875, 1283.9375, 135.56250
-860.6875, 1195.8125, 54.68750
-1269.75, 986.4375, 117.06250
1467.875, 1529.375, 105.8750

How am I able to use these coordinates? ;)


ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    "Did you turn up to rescue Maria, or to get me back?"

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#9

Posted A week ago

I can't run the game over 60fps. Every time I go to play with Frame Sync off, it goes way over 60 (smooth as hell) but pretty much breaks the game. I fixed this by turning on Frame Sync and turning off Frame Limiter to keep it at a smooth 60fps without weird sh*t happening that would otherwise happen if the game was playing over 60fps. Does anyone know a way I can play over 60fps without breaking the game?


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    ThinkPad is love

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland
  • Helpfulness Award [Chain Game]

#10

Posted A week ago

Use this - http://www.guru3d.co...r-download.html

ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    "Did you turn up to rescue Maria, or to get me back?"

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#11

Posted A week ago

All that does is limit the framerate, so there's no point since the game is already capped at 60.


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    ThinkPad is love

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland
  • Helpfulness Award [Chain Game]

#12

Posted A week ago Edited by MrMateczko, A week ago.

Oh, must have misread your thoughts.
Well, everyone knows having more than 30FPS is bad for III/VC/SA on PC. You can't do anything.

ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    "Did you turn up to rescue Maria, or to get me back?"

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#13

Posted 4 days ago

Yeah, but 30fps is horrible. Besides, there doesn't seem to be any issues with it capped at 60, I just wanted more frames since my PC could do it.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007
  • Bulgaria

#14

Posted 2 days ago Edited by stef_92, 2 days ago.

Why would you need more than 60.. Seriously... It's smooth enough for the human eye. Just live with the thought that all games from the GTA3 era run best at 30fps and nothing can be done about it.
Even a game like Skyrim which is 10 years younger than GTA3 has the same issue

ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    "Did you turn up to rescue Maria, or to get me back?"

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#15

Posted 2 days ago

Why would you need more than 60.. Seriously... It's smooth enough for the human eye. Just live with the thought that all games from the GTA3 era run best at 30fps and nothing can be done about it.

I know this, that is why I have settled for 60fps. I'm not saying 60fps is bad, 60fps is great on any game and it's smooth as hell as you said, but since my PC could achieve higher frames, and considering that there is a slightly smoother image when playing at around 110-120fps, I was curious to see it there was a way to play at this rate without any game breaking bugs. 


stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007
  • Bulgaria

#16

Posted A day ago

 

Why would you need more than 60.. Seriously... It's smooth enough for the human eye. Just live with the thought that all games from the GTA3 era run best at 30fps and nothing can be done about it.

I know this, that is why I have settled for 60fps. I'm not saying 60fps is bad, 60fps is great on any game and it's smooth as hell as you said, but since my PC could achieve higher frames, and considering that there is a slightly smoother image when playing at around 110-120fps, I was curious to see it there was a way to play at this rate without any game breaking bugs. 

 

Playing at frame rates higher than 60fps doesn't make sense if your display refresh rate is 60 HZ (which most of them have). If you have a 120HZ display you can but I doubt that you will notice any difference. The only benefit of playing at such high frame rates is if you want to capture a video to make a smooth slow motion editing.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users