Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

What V-sync setting do you play with?

14 replies to this topic

Poll: What V-sync setting do you play with? (84 member(s) have cast votes)

What is your Setting?

  1. V-sync OFF (37 votes [44.05%])

    Percentage of vote: 44.05%

  2. V-sync ON (38 votes [45.24%])

    Percentage of vote: 45.24%

  3. V-sync Half (9 votes [10.71%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.71%

Vote Guests cannot vote
TheSun
  • TheSun

    I'm an optimist,dreaming of an Utopia...

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2014
  • None

#1

Posted 16 April 2015 - 08:38 AM

When I first started up the game,I wasn't sure why the fps was locket 30.Then I found that there was a V-sync half setting.

I turned it off I got 40-50fps but after fininishing the prologue,the fps dropped so whenever I drove fast it drops below 30 which wasn't good.

 

Same case with online but even fewer fps than SP and more fluctuations.I realised that my laptop isn't the best with it's dual-core hyperthreading and low-mid range gpu :/.

 

Since then I have the V-sync set to half and it plays like the New-gen consoles with better quality.I wish I had 60fps constant at the lowest but I'd rather have 30fps constant than 30-40 fps dips.To be honest it's actually smooth(not better than 60 obviously).On the whole R* has done amazing Optimization in my opinion aside from techinical problems.However I heard some people have hard time staying at constant 60fps when driving etc even with a good rig.

 

What is your setting?share your thoughts :)

 

Thanks for Reading


Kaito Katsumi
  • Kaito Katsumi

    Attacker

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2014
  • Singapore

#2

Posted 16 April 2015 - 10:43 AM

Agree that the optimization is not as good as they said, but i know i play it stable 30/40/50 fps, so stable. Not sure what fps tho. A huge improvement from GTA IV, R* better keep up the good work unlike some developers *ahem* ubisoft *ahem*
I play with vsync on

lydianduck
  • lydianduck

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Sep 2011
  • None

#3

Posted 16 April 2015 - 10:49 AM Edited by lydianduck, 05 May 2015 - 11:54 PM.

Runs great on my end, never dips below 60fps on a combination of high and very high settings with no msaa. I can't complain; Also: v-sync on, of course.

 

 

 

Btw, for those who complained about their framerate locking at exactly 30 when v sync is on, try alt tabbing the game, or turning v sync off and then on again, it's almost like if there was non triple buffered v sync on grass spots :O weird. (your framerate will stil drop below 60, but won't be 30, that was my experience before I tweaked the settings for perfect 60 fps, I guess it's a bug that needs to be patched).


EvilDog77
  • EvilDog77

    Currently Suffering Custard Cream Withdrawl

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010
  • None

#4

Posted 16 April 2015 - 11:04 AM

144hz monitor here. V-sync off. 90fps heaven. :-)


K.Walters
  • K.Walters

    Keep calm and facepalm

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2013
  • Latvia

#5

Posted 16 April 2015 - 11:06 AM

Off. Turning it on or half gives me screen tearing for some reason.


disturbed325
  • disturbed325

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2015
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 16 April 2015 - 11:30 AM

G sync is good but flickers slightly at low fps.


MatCampbell
  • MatCampbell

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2015
  • United-Kingdom

#7

Posted 16 April 2015 - 01:39 PM Edited by MatCampbell, 16 April 2015 - 01:40 PM.

G sync is good but flickers slightly at low fps.

 

Is that a known problem with g-sync?

 

I want a g-sync monitor badly but i'm holding off until there's one with 1080p IPS


ab30494
  • ab30494

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#8

Posted 16 April 2015 - 05:52 PM

I have vsync on full. It always sits at 59 fps

mahanddeem
  • mahanddeem

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2005

#9

Posted 05 May 2015 - 09:58 PM

For a 144hz monitor, half is a good balance, since getting 144fps constant is practically impossible, at least for very high settings.

-jr-
  • -jr-

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 06 May 2015 - 04:56 AM

For some reason turning on vsync through the ingame settings didnt work for me... I still had screen tearing and slow downs...

I had to turn on vsync through the nvidia control panel and in the game settings to get it to work right...

Kampret
  • Kampret

    GabeN is fat.

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 23 May 2014
  • Indonesia

#11

Posted 06 May 2015 - 06:23 AM

For a 144hz monitor, half is a good balance, since getting 144fps constant is practically impossible, at least for very high settings.

 

If I'm getting a 144 Hz monitor, I'd get an adaptive sync monitor, either G-Sync or FreeSync. Non-adaptive 144Hz monitors are, for me, retarded.


Mrmojorisin7
  • Mrmojorisin7

    Crawling King Snake

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Finland

#12

Posted 06 May 2015 - 09:31 AM

Off in the game, but on in Nvidia control panel.


TIM74UK
  • TIM74UK

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#13

Posted 06 May 2015 - 09:52 AM

O.k, for all those that are turning V-sync off.... 

 

Do you find that the game speeds up and down all the time? 

 

Surely that would make racing very hard since it would mess up your timing etc....


zbos
  • zbos

    T!CK

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2003

#14

Posted 06 May 2015 - 10:01 AM

On low end computer (720p~30fps) I have noticed that while Vsync is off car controls lags to respond on key press or release. This could be annoying while on mission etc. Did enyone else noticed this?


ZodaEX
  • ZodaEX

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2010

#15

Posted A week ago

On low end computer (720p~30fps) I have noticed that while Vsync is off car controls lags to respond on key press or release. This could be annoying while on mission etc. Did enyone else noticed this?

 

No, but if this is happening then your GPU is over encumbered so you need to lower your settings or cap your framerate until your GPU isn't at 100% usage.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users