Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[SA\REL\Finally] Black roads fix

35 replies to this topic
DK22Pac
  • DK22Pac

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Award [Mods]

#1

Posted 24 January 2015 - 02:21 AM Edited by DK22Pac, 24 January 2015 - 02:32 AM.

*
POPULAR

Problem
Playing San Andreas with Low Graphic settings (those are selectable in the menu) you can often see the 'black road bug'.
eXRlSAD.png
It happens with textures that are placed far from camera.
Also, when enabling "High" graphics settings in the menu, an anisotropic filtering enables for some textures and this problem disappears.
 
Reason
That problem is directly related to RenderWare and the way it works with mip-mapped S3-compressed (DXTn) textures *.
The last mip-map levels in mip-map chain (2x2 and 1x1) are just like "transparent" levels (because it's impossible to compress such small amount of pixels, - DXT works with 4x4 blocks), but still, they must be filled with pixels from 4x4 level. Or at least they must be ignored (and after this, we will have not 10, but 8 levels, for example).
RenderWare (GTA-era versions) doesn't do any of these things when writing/reading TXD archives.
 
*Thus, the problem happens only for DXT-compressed textures with (full-chain) mip-map levels.
 
Solution
This .ASI plugin fixes this problem.
H4SjZuY.png
 
http://www.mediafire...ackRoadsFix.rar

Other fixes
There were attempts to fix this bug before, but they were rather workaround than a real fix.
Deji's Stream INI Extender removes this black road bug by disabling mipmapping,so we don't see lower mipmap levels at all.
 
You may be also intersted
ViceMips - Plugin enables mipmapping in GTA Vice City.
Multi-sampling Fix - Plugin disables multisampling for additional RenderTargets in GTA San Andreas and removes such called "Z-Buffer glitch".
  • Wesser, Gramps, George Costanza and 56 others like this

Mega
  • Mega

    Ghost

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2012
  • Brazil

#2

Posted 24 January 2015 - 03:12 AM

Never really played SA in low quality (and when I did it was a loooong time ago), but this is a great fix for those who still do. It's always greats to see more fixes like this, so yeah, good one, DK   :^:

  • BlackScout and dekash27 like this

nyolc8
  • nyolc8

    -

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2009
  • Hungary

#3

Posted 24 January 2015 - 11:23 AM

I got this bug on the tram tracks in SF with very high setting too. Thanks for this.
  • Shooter Hex and muh linucs like this

Junior_Djjr
  • Junior_Djjr

    Modding Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011
  • Brazil
  • Best Map 2016 [San Andreas INSANITY] [Contribution]

#4

Posted 24 January 2015 - 12:36 PM

f*cking bug
years to be REALLY fixed :D
  • spaceshape likes this

Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#5

Posted 24 January 2015 - 02:59 PM

I got this bug on the tram tracks in SF with very high setting too. Thanks for this.

Yeah I got this on Very High too sometimes in SF/Countryside.

  • Shooter Hex likes this

Reyks
  • Reyks

    Valar Morghulis

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 18 May 2012
  • Brazil
  • Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#6

Posted 24 January 2015 - 03:18 PM

Finally this is fixed, thank you DK  :lol:.

  • Snoops27 likes this

Inadequate
  • Inadequate

    Midnight Emulator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
  • None

#7

Posted 24 January 2015 - 07:24 PM

Finally in an ASI script, nice one DK:^:


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    The Laziest Person on Earth™

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland
  • Helpfulness Award [Chain Game]

#8

Posted 25 January 2015 - 10:20 PM

So....I've been playing WITHOUT mipmaps by using "noblackroads" in Stream Ini Extender the whole time?! :O *facepalm*
Nice job of getting yet another useful ASI mod! Going to ditch StreamIniExtender entirely now, if there's ASI disabling blur nitro/highspeed blur.
  • SilverRST likes this

Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful in Modding 2017
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#9

Posted 25 January 2015 - 10:37 PM

Use aap's postfx, it makes this blur look bearable ;)
  • MrMateczko likes this

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#10

Posted 25 January 2015 - 11:16 PM

So....I've been playing WITHOUT mipmaps by using "noblackroads" in Stream Ini Extender the whole time?! :O *facepalm*
Nice job of getting yet another useful ASI mod! Going to ditch StreamIniExtender entirely now, if there's ASI disabling blur nitro/highspeed blur.

3q9kwirjhm3g.png

  • MrMateczko and Junior_Djjr like this

Ice2045
  • Ice2045

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2011
  • New-Zealand

#11

Posted 26 January 2015 - 05:02 AM

Just what I needed! Thanks a lot DK. :)


Concavax
  • Concavax

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2013
  • None

#12

Posted 27 January 2015 - 01:28 AM

Thanks its a great plugin, i dint notice the "bug" in stream ini extender.


ashley slow
  • ashley slow

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2014

#13

Posted 27 January 2015 - 07:23 AM

nice ASI. ;)

awesome. good job DK22Pac


The_GTA
  • The_GTA

    revenclaw

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2012
  • Germany
  • Modding Milestone [Magic.TXD]

#14

Posted 30 January 2015 - 09:50 AM

Awesome work! I never knew such a minor detail (probably caused by sloppy coding) would cause those annoying black roads to appear. If you do not mind I would like to implement said fix into my projects aswell.

 

So what I understand is that there are mipmaps that are smaller than 4x4 pixels and that is invalid for DXT compression. I know there are zero sized mipmaps in PC textures that are invalid for sure. Just leaving them out is trivial. Then there may be textures that are 2x2, 2x4, 4x2 or even smaller. Is that the case? Should these textures be left out?

  • DK22Pac likes this

Blackheart69
  • Blackheart69

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2011

#15

Posted 03 February 2015 - 05:14 PM

I created mip maps for entire game by creating dds for all txd in gta3.img and vice versa using tool link provide on DDS2TXD and WTD2TXD page by another user, now whole game had mip maps but also had black road problems. But bro after using your fix the entire mip mapped game is SMOOTH AS f*ck(NOT A SINGLE JITTER OR PIXEL FLICKERING).THANKS A LOT BRO.I suggest everyone to create mip maps for entire game and use this mod.SO COOL.

Shooter Hex
  • Shooter Hex

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2013
  • None

#16

Posted 07 February 2015 - 03:02 PM

When I use G-TXD to generate mipmap level as 2, it becomes like this(The texture can only be seen when it is in a very close distance):

tvuJeWRl.jpg62crLi5l.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

When I use G-TXD to generate mipmap level as 5, it becomes like this(Better, but it still becomes black road when it is kinda far away):

aRvq1dtl.jpg

Rs94U7Nl.jpg

JR2eg9Xl.jpg

 

I am not very experienced at texture editing, could you give any solutions to help me? :nervous:


TJGM
  • TJGM

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#17

Posted 07 February 2015 - 03:03 PM

http://gtaforums.com...ic-txd-builder/

Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful in Modding 2017
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#18

Posted 07 February 2015 - 03:04 PM

When I use G-TXD


Stopped reading after that.
  • Blackbird88 and Ezekiel like this

ArsenalNorthLondon
  • ArsenalNorthLondon

    ThugaLife

  • New Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2015
  • Portugal

#19

Posted 26 May 2015 - 07:45 PM

My game crashes when loading, could you help me? Thanks in advance :D

WhatKilledU
  • WhatKilledU

    ''When we want you, we'll find you''

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2015
  • England

#20

Posted 01 July 2015 - 09:06 AM

Thank you a lot,it worked.

+rep  :^:  :^:  :^:


Milan_Bryant
  • Milan_Bryant

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2015
  • Serbia

#21

Posted 06 August 2015 - 12:27 PM Edited by Milan_Bryant, 06 August 2015 - 12:30 PM.

Sorry for bumping but my game crashes on loading every time when I connect to some server. Why? :)

 

EDIT: I installed this correctly, just put one .asi file in GTA San Andreas folder.


_onyx_
  • _onyx_

    JAH RASTAFARAY

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2013
  • Russia

#22

Posted 07 October 2015 - 07:54 AM

круто, диман! теперь наконецто в 4тоSA не мозолят глаза эти черные полосы
ништяк!!!


iFarbod
  • iFarbod

    Breaking and fixing things!

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2013
  • Unknown
  • Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]

#23

Posted 07 October 2015 - 02:24 PM

Thanks for the source code!


Young_DoggPT
  • Young_DoggPT

    Drive

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2015
  • Portugal

#24

Posted 24 December 2015 - 12:03 AM

how to fix this road? pls  :cry: http://imgur.com/UhQcC0M


El Dorado
  • El Dorado

    If it keeps on rainin' levee's goin' to break

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#25

Posted 24 December 2015 - 12:06 AM

Enable 16x anisotropic filter in your GPU control panel

  • Blackbird88 and muh linucs like this

Young_DoggPT
  • Young_DoggPT

    Drive

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2015
  • Portugal

#26

Posted 24 December 2015 - 11:39 AM

Thank You  :santa:


SanjinMosaa
  • SanjinMosaa

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2016
  • None

#27

Posted 20 January 2016 - 06:57 PM

After puting this file in scripts , game crashes when i try to start it. What should i do ????


ArsenalNorthLondon
  • ArsenalNorthLondon

    ThugaLife

  • New Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2015
  • Portugal

#28

Posted 20 January 2016 - 07:11 PM

After puting this file in scripts , game crashes when i try to start it. What should i do ????

Does it crash on loading, even on a New Game? Did you try put it into the GTA San Andreas folder first? Mine used to crash on loading but stopped when I put it on Scripts folder.  :/


anthony
  • anthony

    Everyone in Liberty sells their soul to the devil.

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2011
  • None

#29

Posted 21 January 2016 - 11:50 AM

Wow Ive never seen this before and that will helps because I play on low quality so thanks ! its an awesome fix.


wati wati
  • wati wati

    JoE

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2013
  • Philippines

#30

Posted 31 July 2017 - 10:50 AM

Wow thanks!





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users