Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

SkyGfx: PS2 and Xbox graphics for PC

RW Released
6,702 replies to this topic
The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#1

Posted 25 November 2014 - 05:37 PM Edited by The Hero, 19 hours ago.

*
POPULAR

SkyGfx: PS2 graphics for PC

RXklRRg.png

SkyGfx (Sky is name of Renderware for the PS2) brings accurate PS2 graphics to the PC version of San Andreas, Vice City and III (and now Xbox graphics to III and Vice City!!!)

IMPORTANT: This is a replacement for my earlier PS2 mods, namely: ps2refl.asi, postfx.asi, ps2shads.asi (low quality shadows), ps2grass.asi. REMOVE them first before using SkyGfx.

San Andreas
Download version 3.6

See the README for installation instructions.

If you're using SAMP, use SAMPGraphicRestore.

Credits: NTAuthority and Silent for their code and being generally helpful. Dexx. ASH for the logo and Neo tweaking files. El Dorado, Snowshoe, Noskillx for helping with debugging. Everyone who reported bugs and spotted differences to the PS2 graphics, especially El Dorado, inadequate....

For (somewhat outdated) Screenshots click here

Vice City, III

Download version 2.6
NB: The current version does not work with 1.1 and steam exes. Make sure to use a 1.0 exe!!!
You will also need to use a 3rd party DLL/ASI loader, as of 2.3 skygfx will refuse to be loaded by the mss32 loader.

As a bonus for III you can get a fixed generic.txd here: http://aap.papnet.eu...c_III_hires.txd
Replace the file MODELS\GENERIC.TXD with this one.
Explanation: For the PC version R* downsampled all textures in generic.txd to 64x64, but most of the original higher res textures (128x128 and 256x256) can still be found in some other TXDs or in the PS2 version. I collected the best quality textures I could find and put them there. The difference is especially noticable on streets.

Many thanks to Sergeanur for initially porting it to all the different exe versions (even though right now only 1.0 are supported).

How to report bugs
If you experience any bugs, please make sure it is really this mod causing them and not some other. Otherwise report them in this thread of course.
When you report bugs and I ask to you to provide a PIX frame, see this:
http://gtaforums.com...h/?p=1068370849
If your game is crashing and it's unclear why, send me a crash dump. Apply this to your registry (http://aap.papnet.eu/gta/minidump.reg) to have windows collect minidumps in %localappdata%\CrashDumps.



This is the old post for postfx and ps2refl:
Spoiler
  • DexX, Inky, spaceeinstein and 142 others like this

Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#2

Posted 25 November 2014 - 05:57 PM

As said in the other topics, love it :^:

These two are actually one of the only mods I got installed... and I rarely mod my modding semi-clean copy of SA ;)
  • lpgunit, Jitterdoomer, undertaker fan and 10 others like this

El Dorado
  • El Dorado

    If it keeps on rainin' levee's goin' to break

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#3

Posted 25 November 2014 - 06:26 PM

Quick comparison between PC and PS2 post processing

 

Spoiler

  • Alt, GrindoLindo, Blackbird88 and 16 others like this

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    I can be lazy only for so long...

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland
  • Helpfulness Award [Chain Game]

#4

Posted 25 November 2014 - 06:45 PM Edited by MrMateczko, 25 November 2014 - 08:28 PM.

Well, it took us over 10 years to finally stop users to beg for PS2 features....
Finally a topic for those, everything in one nice place :)
And the "buggy" car lights, are actually nice looking!
I've made some screenshots with this and mods on the PS2 features topic...everything seems to be working fine!
http://i.imgur.com/srtdTn5.png
http://i.imgur.com/1pDIuTF.png
  • Snoops27 likes this

nyolc8
  • nyolc8

    -

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2009
  • Hungary

#5

Posted 25 November 2014 - 07:08 PM

Great job on these! I hope there will be fix in the reflection mod for the SAMP incompatibility and for the envmap texture move problem. :)
  • Snoops27 likes this

Chilean Dawg
  • Chilean Dawg

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2013

#6

Posted 25 November 2014 - 09:35 PM

After how many years? Nine years?

Thank you to everyone involved into this.


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#7

Posted 25 November 2014 - 09:59 PM

eh, but you still use /MD :pp
  • mirh likes this

Reyks
  • Reyks

    Valar Morghulis

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 18 May 2012
  • Brazil
  • Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#8

Posted 25 November 2014 - 11:18 PM

Car doors flicker a bit for me with beta 4, and I hope you can fix that light projection issue on cars, other than that the mod is simply awesome, thank you so much!


Chilean Dawg
  • Chilean Dawg

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2013

#9

Posted 26 November 2014 - 03:53 AM Edited by Chilean Dawg, 26 November 2014 - 04:01 AM.

Well, reflections not compatible with SA-MP.

Crashes when any vehicle streams in.

In "SAMP Debug" this happens: http://puu.sh/d5OZk/991fefe480.jpg

Also F5 does nothing?


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#10

Posted 26 November 2014 - 06:54 AM Edited by THE HERO, 26 November 2014 - 07:27 AM.

I don't know what SAMP does that it's so buggy.

And the key is F6, I fixed the description (I used F5 previously).

 

Silent: what does /MD even do? What should I do instead?


Alt
  • Alt

    some one

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2007
  • None

#11

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:34 AM Edited by Alt, 26 November 2014 - 09:42 AM.

what does /MD even do? What should I do instead?

That means that your compiled project requires VC++ Runtime (msvcr***.dll). You can make it independent with /MT switch

 

To set this compiler option in the Visual Studio development environment
  1. Open the project's Property Pages dialog box.

  2. Expand the C/C++ folder.

  3. Select the Code Generation property page.

  4. Modify the Runtime Library property.

  • mirh likes this

The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#12

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:57 AM Edited by THE HERO, 26 November 2014 - 10:11 AM.

That's what I thought but someone (inadequate?) said it still needed the msvcr*.dll. I compiled a version with /MT,  checked with OllyDbg and indeed I don't see the dll being loaded. Maybe he was confused by all the different versions because I always just replaced the old file.

 

I updated the zip, so please use this now.


pwnedgod
  • pwnedgod

    Member Title

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2014
  • Indonesia

#13

Posted 26 November 2014 - 12:16 PM

Using the ps2 reflection seems to make some objects(tires, license plate, etc) on the car brighter.

 

PC specular

Spoiler

 

PS2 Refl

Spoiler

  • GrindoLindo and lolleroz like this

Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#14

Posted 26 November 2014 - 01:50 PM Edited by Blackbird88, 26 November 2014 - 01:55 PM.

You still forget to mention the bug about the PS2 post-processing turning off when you speed in car due to blur causing some kind of collision :p


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#15

Posted 26 November 2014 - 01:54 PM

I don't know what to do about it. Maybe this is even what happens on the PS2? I haven't checked.


pwnedgod
  • pwnedgod

    Member Title

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2014
  • Indonesia

#16

Posted 26 November 2014 - 02:17 PM Edited by pwnedgod, 26 November 2014 - 02:20 PM.

The motion blur stuff AFAIK, is because that the blurring uses the raw non post processed(not the original PC) stuff as a base for blurring. Maybe try redirecting into the PS2 post process as a base for the blur?

  • Blackbird88 likes this

ABS-IZAYOI
  • ABS-IZAYOI

    Old Spice

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2013
  • China

#17

Posted 26 November 2014 - 03:10 PM Edited by ABS-IZAYOI, 26 November 2014 - 03:11 PM.

  Hey man, that reflection is same with Original reflection.Headlight and taillight is pretty dark.Exploded car is not black.In beta3 custom part still dark,maybe is that model`s problem.Check out  https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=3AFC5A77AC16DE8%21324 

 

 

[sorry for my bad english :sui:]


AnotherGamer
  • AnotherGamer

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2014
  • None

#18

Posted 26 November 2014 - 03:24 PM Edited by AnotherGamer, 26 November 2014 - 03:47 PM.

Problem with reflections on Sadler. http://imgur.com/lSnzACe


uokka
  • uokka

    Actually living entity

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2011
  • Red-Cross

#19

Posted 26 November 2014 - 03:47 PM

  Hey man, that reflection is same with Original reflection.Headlight and taillight is pretty dark.Exploded car is not black.In beta3 custom part still dark,maybe is that model`s problem.Check out  https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=3AFC5A77AC16DE8%21324 

 

 

[sorry for my bad english :sui:]

 

https://onedrive.liv...5A77AC16DE8!324

 

Problem with reflections on Sadler. http://imgur.com/iaTs9eA 

 

http://imgur.com/iaTs9eA

 

 

Make sure you guys don't include %C2%A0 in your links. (;


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#20

Posted 26 November 2014 - 04:38 PM

Ok, I'll take a look at that. Some vehicles' reflection is bugged on PC, maybe the Sadler is bugged as well?


nyolc8
  • nyolc8

    -

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2009
  • Hungary

#21

Posted 26 November 2014 - 04:48 PM

Sadler has no specular light on it by default, I think that is the reason. (vehicle model bug)

The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#22

Posted 26 November 2014 - 04:50 PM

Yep, and the environment chunk is screwed as well (but exists). I think there are fixed versions of these vehicles for PC by Aztecas_5.


BMWSauberF1.08
  • BMWSauberF1.08

    San Andreas Rewind Vehicle Artist

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2013
  • Italy
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#23

Posted 26 November 2014 - 06:13 PM Edited by Aztecas_5, 26 November 2014 - 06:18 PM.

Yes,i fixed the sadler
Check the first link in my signature if you want it or just pm me

Vehicles with no specular:
Dodo,Sadler,Sandking,Uranus,Super GT,Tugstairs


@The HERO
I just noticed that thee bonnet and the boot are totally black after detaching them while other parts keep the original color
  • Snoops27 likes this

Claude_Lib
  • Claude_Lib

    Talkative like never before

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2009
  • Russia

#24

Posted 26 November 2014 - 06:31 PM

Yeah, about that. Sometimes cars' bonnets and boots flicker on sides, but other parts don't.

BMWSauberF1.08
  • BMWSauberF1.08

    San Andreas Rewind Vehicle Artist

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2013
  • Italy
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#25

Posted 26 November 2014 - 06:35 PM

Sometimes also doors flicker

uncaged
  • uncaged

    Insane PS2 Purist

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2014
  • Ukraine

#26

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:10 PM Edited by uncaged, 26 November 2014 - 10:50 PM.

Hello THE HERO ! I have some very, VERY weird... emm... glitch here. I'll try to explain. When I press PrintScreen - I get 2 screenshots: one made by FRAPS, another made by game itself.

This is the shot made by game

Looks like everything is OK right?

GAME shot

7dCWkxl.jpg

 

NO !!! Because THIS is WHAT I actually SEE !!!

FRAPS shot

OB1uDlW.png

 

Looks like tiny difference in brightness, but ingame it really looks like all colors are "washed out" and it bothers me so much. I tried to solve this problem by myself from the very first publication of this mod. I posted that this mod lacks contrast and I am so sorry about that, because now I know there is something wrong on my side. But I do not know WHAT. I defaulted every single brightness setting on my hardware and software. I do not actually get original PS2 experience I was waiting for so long. It is not complaining, I just want to figure it out.

Please, maybe you have some ideas about possible reason of this... glitch.

some more shots

Spoiler

 

That may be even not the mod's fault, Even vanilla game looks like "washed out".

Spoiler

 

P.S. I can kinda "mimic" the true effect of your mod with SweetFX increasing contrast. But nights will become too dark and places that are "in shadow" will also be too dark .


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    I can be lazy only for so long...

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland
  • Helpfulness Award [Chain Game]

#27

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:14 PM

In game screenshots taken from Print Screen button were ALWAYS wrong, this is game's fault, not the mod.

Inadequate
  • Inadequate

    Midnight Emulator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
  • None

#28

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:17 PM

Is fault of the game, look at the perennial wheels on the first screenshots, is a little bit pixeliated. The quality of the image (with game screenshots, no fraps) is a little bit bad.

  • Thompson98 likes this

uncaged
  • uncaged

    Insane PS2 Purist

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2014
  • Ukraine

#29

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:19 PM Edited by uncaged, 26 November 2014 - 10:44 PM.

But the shot made by game looks better and even more, shots of local users look just like my shot made with game. 

 

inadequate, that is because this shots are made with lovely2 (I used it because of blur, I love it). But lovely3a shows EXACTLY the same glitch I am talking about.

 

By the way I also have shots made with WinSnap. And they are exactly the same as shots made by game.

 

EDIT the shot's resolution is 1280x1024 that is actually my monitor's res and maybe that is why they are bit bad :)


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#30

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:46 PM

uncaged, if you use Print Screen and save the picture with MS Pain as a PNG, the quality will not decrease.

  • Mega, Snoops27, Savidge and 1 other like this




9 user(s) are reading this topic

4 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users