Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Beta 3.3 files released!

203 replies to this topic
Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1

Posted 12 January 2005 - 08:49 AM Edited by Craig Kostelecky, 04 December 2014 - 04:47 PM.

Download Beta 3.3 - thanks samutz for the hosting
Beta 3.3 Update - Last updated August 23
SFX Add-on: Download

 

After about 2 years and 4 months, we are releasing a new public beta, version 3.3. 

But hey, what happened to 3.2? Well, 3.2 exists, it just never saw the light of day because there were many bugs in it and the primary contributor's computer crashed so things could not be fixed easily at all. If anybody is curious, they can try out the 3.2 files here. The only cool feature that made it into 3.2 that's not in 3.3 is the cutscene heads were converted and working. We are trying to find a way to redo that for the next relaese.

Okay, enough about beta 3.2, what's new with 3.3? Thanks largely to SilentPL, this mod has had a great revival. Most of the changes were behind the scenes in cleaning up the exe modifying files. A few missions have been updated with proper GTA3 opcode functions. He has also helped make the scm code a lot cleaner and bug free. Speaking of the scm, with the exception of the insane stunts thread (which was largely taken from VC) every variable has the proper name that Rockstar gave them. A few missions have been redone into high level coding. 

There are a few rewards given out if the player can complete the game to 100%. Please give it a try as that's the best way to completely bug test it. And I don't know if I will have the time to complete everything to 100%. It's been a while since I gave Gripped! a try.

I'm forgetting a lot of new features, and some I'll let the users find themselves. Please help us test these missions out so we can have the next version be as bug free as possible. Speaking of the next version, we are getting closer and closer to releasing GTA: Liberty City Final v1.0. The next big thing we are going to work on is to try and import the peds and actor models from the XBOX version. Not only will they look better, but they will likely be easier to port functionality for cutscenes. 

I'd also like to thank Ash_735 and rmws. for their help as well. It is greatly appreciated.

  • WHAT!?, Tomasak, undertaker fan and 11 others like this

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#2

Posted 24 October 2014 - 07:04 PM

Download links are back. Thanks uNi for the partial restoration. 

  • undertaker fan and Kalvin like this

Samutz
  • Samutz

    Undefined index: member_title in user_profile.php on line 1012

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • Unknown
  • Contribution Award [SnP Site Design]

#3

Posted 02 December 2014 - 04:05 PM

The download links are pointing to archive.org for some reason. Here are the correct links.

 

Beta 3.3: http://lc.gtasnp.com/Beta3.3.rar

3.3 Updater: http://lc.gtasnp.com/33update.rar

SFX Addon: http://lc.gtasnp.com..._SFX_add-on.exe

Beta 3.2: http://lc.gtasnp.com/Beta3.2.rar


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#4

Posted 02 December 2014 - 04:09 PM

The download links are pointing to archive.org for some reason. Here are the correct links.
 
Beta 3.3: http://lc.gtasnp.com/Beta3.3.rar
3.3 Updater: http://lc.gtasnp.com/33update.rar
SFX Addon: http://lc.gtasnp.com..._SFX_add-on.exe
Beta 3.2: http://lc.gtasnp.com/Beta3.2.rar

Thanks for the update. The links were restored by uNI using archive.org, so it may be due to that.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#5

Posted 04 December 2014 - 04:47 PM

Thanks. First post updated.


Letus
  • Letus

    ((J))

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2012
  • None

#6

Posted 28 December 2014 - 12:34 AM

This mod keeps crashing on beta 3.3 version.The 3.1 worked well,but i wanna try the newest one it crashes on gta-lc.exe,but no gta-vc.exe it crashes on loading screen when i start the game.Do i need to download them all?


Joachim
  • Joachim

    GTA lover, Saints Row modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2014
  • Poland

#7

Posted 28 December 2014 - 04:26 PM

How can I edit gta3.img file from this mod? Update from August 23 includes folder called "Add to gta3.img" but every time I try to add files from this folder with Xmen's IMG Manager it shows this:

Spoiler

I tried to remove the read-only attribute for the folder but it didn't change anything. :/


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#8

Posted 30 December 2014 - 03:07 AM

This mod keeps crashing on beta 3.3 version.The 3.1 worked well,but i wanna try the newest one it crashes on gta-lc.exe,but no gta-vc.exe it crashes on loading screen when i start the game.Do i need to download them all?

What are all of the files in the root of the LC folder? You might have some conflicting asi/dll files that were changed between 3.1 and 3.3.

 

How can I edit gta3.img file from this mod? Update from August 23 includes folder called "Add to gta3.img" but every time I try to add files from this folder with Xmen's IMG Manager it shows this:

 

I tried to remove the read-only attribute for the folder but it didn't change anything. :/

Do you have your game installed inside one of the Windows protected folders (program files, desktop, my documents, etc)? If so, move the files to something like C:\games\Rockstar... That should allow you to edit all of the files.


Joachim
  • Joachim

    GTA lover, Saints Row modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2014
  • Poland

#9

Posted 30 December 2014 - 11:05 PM Edited by Joachim, 30 December 2014 - 11:05 PM.

Initially I installed the game in G:\Rockstar Games\GTA Liberty City. I tried to move it to C:\GTA Liberty City but IMG Manager shows the same error. I think it's its fault because when I edit IMG files from GTA San Andreas with it everything works properly. Are there any other IMG editors for GTA Vice City (except Spooky's IMG Tool)?


zmudziak32
  • zmudziak32

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2007
  • Poland

#10

Posted 31 December 2014 - 12:07 PM

G-IMG


Joachim
  • Joachim

    GTA lover, Saints Row modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2014
  • Poland

#11

Posted 31 December 2014 - 11:54 PM

G-IMG

I just tried this one and it crashes on startup. I installed .NET Framework 2.0 but it didn't change anything. I'm using Windows 8.1 by the way.


Wrzosio
  • Wrzosio

    Katarina

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2014
  • Poland

#12

Posted 01 January 2015 - 04:23 PM

When i try to play it i must "Please insert GTA Vice City CD or press Esc to quit"


Joachim
  • Joachim

    GTA lover, Saints Row modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2014
  • Poland

#13

Posted 01 January 2015 - 08:26 PM Edited by Joachim, 02 January 2015 - 02:40 PM.

When i try to play it i must "Please insert GTA Vice City CD or press Esc to quit"

Try to use crack, it should help.

EDIT: I just found out it happens if you insert random CD into your drive. It's quite weird.


Wrzosio
  • Wrzosio

    Katarina

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2014
  • Poland

#14

Posted 05 January 2015 - 04:25 PM

Older files than Beta 3.2

Beta 3.1: https://mega.co.nz/#...y4iXYlbLvHTeyS4

3.1 Update: https://mega.co.nz/#...TNe9vmLk0rRREH4

 

SteaVor instruction to install this mod:

 

 

If you have the GTA3 audio files:

0. Have a full install of GTA:VC ready, make a copy and rename it to GTA:LC or something similar.
0a. If you are running Windows 7 64-bit, you will need to have your LC directory outside of the Windows's protected folders. For best results, put it in C:\GTALC or something. Do not have it in Program Files.
1. Extract the contents of Beta3.1.rar into your LC directory, make sure to select "overwrite all files" when prompted.
2. Extract the contents of 31update.rar into your LC directory, make sure to select "overwrite all files" when prompted.
3. Copy everything in the GTAIII \audio folder to LC's audio folder EXCEPT FOR SFX.raw and sfx.SDT! Download and install the separate SFX package to inject the missing sound bits into the VC SFX file, but don't use the SFX files shipped with GTAIII as they're not going to work properly with GTA:LC (the game will play incorrect sounds instead).
3. Right-click on the LC directory, select "Properties" in the context menu and untick the "Read-Only" box. Apply this change and wait for Windows to change the attribute on all the files inside the LC dir.
4. Run FinishInstall.bat and you're done!
5. Exract Beta 3.3 and update 3.3 to GTA LC folder


If you don't have the GTA3 audio files:
0. Have a full install of GTA:VC ready, make a copy and rename it to GTA:LC or something similar.
1. Extract the contents of Beta3.1.rar into your LC directory, make sure to select "overwrite all files" when prompted.
2. Extract the contents of 31update.rar into your LC directory, make sure to select "overwrite all files" when prompted.
3. You'll now find an archive called "Blank audio.rar" inside your LC directory. Extract its contents to the \audio dir, overwriting all files when prompted.
4. Right-click on the LC directory, select "Properties" in the context menu and untick the "Read-Only" box. Apply this change and wait for Windows to change the attribute on all the files inside the LC dir.
5. Run FinishInstall.bat
6. Click on the "Show Config" shortcut in your main LC folder. Then click on the Advanced button. This gets you into the launcher's interface. Once there, click on the Audio tab. Now choose the first entry and click the "Restore" button. Repeat for the following 8 entries. Now you should click the "Verify paths" button and it should say that all files are valid now. Click "Apply" to save the changes.
Before: lcverify1.th.png - After: lcverify2.th.png

7. That's it - you're done!

8. Exract Beta 3.3 and update 3.3 to GTA LC folder
___________________________

 

Additional steps for 64-bit versions of Windows

If the game silently crashes right at the beginning, before the R* intro movie starts playing, this may be due to the Windows "Data Exexution Prevention" interfering with the launch of the game. As DEP is enabled by default for all applications on 64 bit versions of Windows, you'll need to add an explicit exception for gta-vc.exe (NOT gta-lc.exe).
Instructions (borrowed from the Microsoft Knowledge Base) on how to do that:
QUOTE The following procedure describes how to manually configure DEP on the computer:

   1. Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK.
   2. On the Advanced tab, under Performance, click Settings.
   3. On the Data Execution Prevention tab, use the following procedure:
          * Click Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select to select the OptOut policy, and then click Add to add the programs that you do not want to use the DEP feature.
   4. Click OK two times.
 

 

 

 

 

 


Gummy 
  • Gummy 

    The Sound of Silence

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012
  • Indonesia

#15

Posted 07 January 2015 - 06:11 PM Edited by Prince Gumball, 07 January 2015 - 08:00 PM.

I have this bug where VC cars appear in the intro scene rather than the appropriate vehicles (3.3 with update)

The only mod I have is the widescreen fix and the 10th anniversary weapon icons which I doubt causes a bug like this, any ideas why?

EDIT:Tested on clean install too, same thing happened.

 

gta-vc2015-01-0801-08-13-27.png

gta-vc2015-01-0801-08-03-60.png


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#16

Posted 07 January 2015 - 08:18 PM

Interesting. At one point there was an error in the game due to using the same van in the intro and in the game. So we duplicated them with unused VC cars to "fix" it. When we release the next version, it'll be fine. I'm surprised you ended up with that configuration. I'm hoping I can get with Silent in the not-too-distant-future to add an installer so it's easier for everyone to play.

  • undertaker fan likes this

Gummy 
  • Gummy 

    The Sound of Silence

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012
  • Indonesia

#17

Posted 07 January 2015 - 08:25 PM

Is it a configuration error then? Maybe you could send the right configuration file. I'm planning on doing a full playthrough on this and posting it on YouTube, I've been wanting to do that for a while.


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#18

Posted 07 January 2015 - 08:33 PM

There's one or two files that would need to be swapped out in the image. I don't even remember which ones they are. 


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#19

Posted 17 January 2015 - 05:35 AM

When i try to play it i must "Please insert GTA Vice City CD or press Esc to quit"

You're probably missing the Audio Files. Did you copy them all to the LC Installation folder?

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#20

Posted 27 January 2015 - 01:44 AM

This is looking great! Can I place some requests and suggestions here? The LC URL shortcut in the main directory is outdated. There is a stray Sanny.lnk shortcut file. Could a windowed mode and a widescreen fix be considered part of the final?

Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#21

Posted 27 January 2015 - 02:44 AM

This is looking great! Can I place some requests and suggestions here? The LC URL shortcut in the main directory is outdated. There is a stray Sanny.lnk shortcut file. Could a windowed mode and a widescreen fix be considered part of the final?

Widescreen fix would be a great addition, IMO. You should fix the LC Forum link in your sig. They had it changed due the recent forum restructuring.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#22

Posted 27 January 2015 - 03:07 AM

I hadn't thought about a windowed mode yet, but fully support bundling the widescreen fix with the next release. I don't know how quickly things will happen, but I do know that ModelingMan and Silent are in contact and have shared their respective source files. So when everyone's schedules line up, I think we'll see some good progress.

 

Space, if you have Dropbox, I'd like to give you and MM access to a share I just set up. It doesn't have much yet, but that would ensure that we're all looking at the same files. PM me your account name and I'll link you up. You too MM :) And I'd also like to ask for some help in getting final translations into the other languages

 

As far as what will be included in the next version, I'm open to ideas. My only official wishes are the cutscene heads, to integrate Silent and MM's hacks into one set of files, and to package everything up (with audio included) with a nice easy to use installer. I'll take anything else I can get along the way. The idea of this project is still the same: make the best version of GTA3 that we can. We're really close to having a completed total conversion of this game. And ModelingMan's return, and his collaboration with Silent, is something that should help us get there. I'm excited about what we may see in the next few months. 

 

And to directly answer one of your questions space, you may absolutely suggest anything. There's only 2-3 people who have done as much for this mod as you have. I would like to hear what you have to say and would be willing to incorporate any other work you wish to contribute. 

  • Mr. Jago likes this

Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#23

Posted 27 January 2015 - 03:19 AM

Any progess on the installer? Are you guys planning to include the option for users choosing between the GTA III Audio and the LC Blank Audio during the installation? Cutscene improvements will be great improvement it seems.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#24

Posted 27 January 2015 - 05:42 AM

My plan as of now is to simply include all necessary audio with the mod. The radio stations would be converted from waves to mp3s. I don't think we have to worry about people on dial up like we had to a decade ago, so increasing the filesize is not a concern for me. I simply want it to work for everyone right out of the box. And since the majority of the issues were related to the audio files, this seems like an easy decision.


Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#25

Posted 27 January 2015 - 11:19 AM

Would it be possible to use the Xbox cutscene characters? AFAIK they use similar animation system to VC. Or would this require to fix all cutscenes?


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#26

Posted 27 January 2015 - 02:31 PM

Sure it's possible, but I do not think it's necessary. When I first brought up using the XBox characters I had thought that it would be easier for Silent to figure out the CS heads. However, with ModelingMan's return (and the fact that he still has his old source files) means he can recreate it again. 

 

Now if the XBox characters can be converted, I'd gladly accept them as they likely would look better, but it's no longer a priority. 

 

I also feel this is a place to give a friendly reminder about the openness of this project. You don't have to be a member of the "team" to contribute. We'll take anybody's work that meets our standards and doesn't take away from the current GTA:LC experience. So if anybody is able and willing to help, that would be awesome.

  • Blackbird88 likes this

Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#27

Posted 27 January 2015 - 02:32 PM

Would it be possible to use the Xbox cutscene characters? AFAIK they use similar animation system to VC. Or would this require to fix all cutscenes?

I think it'd require to change the character models and rewrite the files to use different models, given the Xbox and non-xbox option. Or, one can simply convert the cutscene heads and models from Xbox and replace them with the original LC ones.


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#28

Posted 27 January 2015 - 03:21 PM

I'll leave the XBox/PC characters decision up to ModelingMan. He's the one who would be doing the work, so whatever works out best for him is what we'll go with. 

  • Mr. Jago likes this

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#29

Posted 28 January 2015 - 09:09 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 28 January 2015 - 09:41 AM.

Thank you for the kind words. :)

For both "039D: scatter_particles 19 ..." and "039D: scatter_particles 18 ..." these are creating giant smoke particles when they should be creating gun flashes. Do you think replacing them with "058A: create_gun_flash_from ..." would be a good solution?

In 'kenji1' Kanbu Bust-out, "039D: scatter_particles 15" should be changed to "039D: scatter_particles 17" (it should produce a giant black smoke).

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#30

Posted 28 January 2015 - 12:45 PM

Noted. I'll update and compile sometime in the next few days. Or if you'd like you can update them on Dropbox :D Is Kenji1 the only script that uses that opcode? That's the one disadvantage of breaking up the code like I have. Makes it harder to search the entire code for something.

 

Thanks for looking out for that stuff. 

  • Mr. Jago likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users