Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Buying myself a new gaming PC and need a little help

10 replies to this topic
shbly12
  • shbly12

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2011

#1

Posted 23 August 2014 - 01:17 PM

So I'm thinking about buying a new gaming desktop computer since mine is VERY old, here are the specs:

CPU: Intel core i5 4670k

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H

RAM: Corsair 2x4Gb DDR3 1600mhz XMS3

GPU: EVGA GTX760 2GB

HDD: Western Digital Scorpio Blue 750GB 5400RPM (I don't think I will ever need more than that)

SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SATAIII

PSU: Seasonic ECO 600 - 600w Active PFC 80+

 

The two components I'm questioning are the PSU and the Motherboard.

Do I need the 600w power supply or can I replace it for a 550w unit?

And can I go for a little cheaper motherboard?

 

Thanks for the help :)


killerbee25
  • killerbee25

    Kaz...I'm already a demon...

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2012
  • Portugal

#2

Posted 23 August 2014 - 03:20 PM Edited by killerbee25, 23 August 2014 - 03:22 PM.

You should be fine with a 450w or even a 430w psu, but make sure that it is at least 80+ bronze. For the motherboard, i'm guessing you could  get a cheaper one, but honestly, if you can afford the one you posted, I think you should keep it, since cheap motherboards can cause a lot of unnecesary problems.

 

Hope this helps. :)


zielarz119
  • zielarz119

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2013

#3

Posted 23 August 2014 - 03:35 PM Edited by zielarz119, 23 August 2014 - 03:40 PM.

CPU: Intel core i5 4670k

 

Change this for newer version which is i5 4690K - lower temps, better OC

 

Also I would suggest to change the slow 2.5" HDD to 3.5" 7200RPM eg. WD 1TB Blue (or better, don't buy green series)

 

@up

 

Yes I agree 450W could handle it but the PSU would have much stress, OP should buy 500-550W (Seasonic, XFX, Corsair or CoolerMaster)


killerbee25
  • killerbee25

    Kaz...I'm already a demon...

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2012
  • Portugal

#4

Posted 23 August 2014 - 03:41 PM Edited by killerbee25, 23 August 2014 - 03:45 PM.

 

CPU: Intel core i5 4670k

 

Change this for newer version which is i5 4690K - lower temps, better OC

 

Also I would suggest to change the slow 2.5" HDD to 3.5" 7200RPM eg. WD 1TB Blue (or better, don't buy green series)

 

I second that processor,since the prices are pretty much the same, but the hard drive swap depends on your budget, so do it if you can afford it OP.


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#5

Posted 23 August 2014 - 06:54 PM

The HDD the OP chose is definitely not a viable option, painfully slow and not that cheap.

@OP: what country are you from, how much can you spend and are you willing to over clock the CPU?

RyanBurnsRed
  • RyanBurnsRed

    To Catch A Flame

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010
  • United-States

#6

Posted 24 August 2014 - 12:24 PM

If you plan on overclocking that i5, then I wouldn't skimp on the motherboard if I were you.

A good motherboard will mostly determine how well you can overclock. You also shouldn't be skimping on the PSU as well. You'd need the power to run the CPU at higher speeds as well as running the GPU...so why are you thinking of getting a lower wattage PSU? You'd also need a good aftermarket cooler, which I see you haven't listed. What about a case? You need a good case with good airflow to keep everything cool, even at stock settings with the stock cooler. Do you already have a good airflow case? 

 

If you don't plan on overclocking why are you even getting a K series CPU? You can save a whole lot of money by getting a non-K i5 and a lower tier motherboard.

You can also throw that SSD and 750GB HDD out and get two 1TB HDDs for almost the same price, or less even. 


Nick
  • Nick

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2013
  • None
  • April Fools Winner 2015
    Best New Gang 2014 [RBE]

#7

Posted 24 August 2014 - 09:32 PM

Also, if you're overclocking, don't use the stock fans that come with the CPU. Buy a third party fan.


Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#8

Posted 26 August 2014 - 05:03 PM

Non OC then just get any socket 1150 Core i5. For OC grab a Core i5 4690K with a Z97 motherboard. Price difference between Z87 and Z97 isn't that much and some Z97 boards gives you M.2 and SATA Express. If your going to OC then get yourself a decent Z97 board, don't go cheap on it as sub $100 boards aren't that great at handling OC. Expect to pay around $150 for a decent one, unless you live some where else than the prices may vary.

You've picked a GTX 760, if you're planning to go with 2-way SLI in the future, then make sure the board you get have at least 2x PCIe x16 slots can can do x8 by x8. If it's only x16 by x4 then SLI will not work.

For 3-way or 4-way SLI, board needs to support it and those usually cost around in the $200-$300 range.

Cheapest board that can do 4-way SLI or CFX

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT ATX LGA1150 Motherboard  ($188.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $188.98
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-08-26 13:00 EDT-0400

  • Nick likes this

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#9

Posted 26 August 2014 - 07:59 PM

If it's only x16 by x4 then SLI will not work.

It will work, albeit slower, which makes SLI even less worth considering.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#10

Posted 26 August 2014 - 08:09 PM

 

If it's only x16 by x4 then SLI will not work.

It will work, albeit slower, which makes SLI even less worth considering.

 

SLI won't work in x16/x4, it has to be x8/x8, only CFX can.


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#11

Posted 27 August 2014 - 10:16 AM Edited by yojo2, 27 August 2014 - 11:11 AM.

Tried it once on my mobo (P7P55D-E) and it worked, even though it doesn't officially support SLI. I used two GTX660.

There are lots of other artificial limits of the SLI, like you can't mix cards with different chips or different amount of VRAM (you actually can to some degree), etc.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users