Photo

[Discussion] Infinite Map Size?

4 replies to this topic
MenuET
  • MenuET

Maxscript Modeler

• Feroci
  • Panama

Posted 10 August 2014 - 01:05 AM Edited by MenuET, 10 August 2014 - 01:37 AM.

Hi there.

I was thinking about it some time ago and, as i am just a 3D a modeler and i don't understand the GTA Editing in itself quite well, i want to discuss the possibility to contour the GTA engine limits and break the map size limits to infinite size (or any size we want). I want to reminder that i don't have plans to make a HUGE mod, but i think that conversation will drive us to something constructive.

At first,

As far as i know about GTA is that any GTA have its co-ordinates limits (maximum co-ordinates numbers at X, like 0.0000 to 546.0000), and any of these co-ordinates are a float number (float number, for dummies, are a non-integer number like 2,5; 7,543; 35,374...), and, by the logic, inside a float number has infinity other float numbers (i.e. inside 5 we have 5,2; 5,54; 5,65, and inside 5,2 we have 5,23543; 5,22423; 5,2856756...).

Following that logic, at a co-ordinate number, we have infinite numbers inside on it. Think about instead of trying to raise the co-ordinate numbers limits, multiply a 5x5 co-ordinate grid by 10 (50x50) just by constructing your new mod with the models 10x smaller than the normal size, and editing anything you need on the script and data files to fit camera, handling, and etcetera and making every thing fit quite well in just ONE co-ordinate number. Double your co-ordinate number capacity by shrinking objects. That is my first point.

...........................................................................................................................................................................................................

At second point,