Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

just showing some stuff where nobody'll notice (1MB PNG warning)

24 replies to this topic
NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    member_title

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#1

Posted 23 July 2014 - 01:25 AM Edited by NTAuthority, 23 July 2014 - 01:25 AM.

i hope silent will hate me for this topic and warn me big time
 
i apologize for the big screenshot, please don't quote it

lovelution.png
  • Sweets, Platinum Card, Wesser and 22 others like this

TJGM
  • TJGM

    Gangsta

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#2

Posted 23 July 2014 - 02:29 AM

Hacked bounds? Awesome work NTA! How's the performance?

  • BlackScout likes this

Methical
  • Methical

    Gramps

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#3

Posted 23 July 2014 - 03:16 AM

Lovely :^:

nWo51289
  • nWo51289

    Outcast

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2008
  • None

#4

Posted 23 July 2014 - 01:25 PM

Awesome! Been waiting for this since I first joined here!

  • Ss4gogeta0 likes this

fefenc
  • fefenc

    Luis Lopez is The Best HD GTA Character Ever Created

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2014
  • Brazil

#5

Posted 23 July 2014 - 05:14 PM

what? a billboard? '-'


NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    member_title

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#6

Posted 23 July 2014 - 05:17 PM

what? a billboard? '-'

yes, people are loving me creating billboards!

 

hint: check the coordinates

  • wetter42 and fefenc like this

fefenc
  • fefenc

    Luis Lopez is The Best HD GTA Character Ever Created

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2014
  • Brazil

#7

Posted 23 July 2014 - 05:28 PM Edited by fefenc, 23 July 2014 - 05:31 PM.

lol did you broke SA boundaries? Because there's a transparent line in front of CJ. I guess 3500x3000 is where the map should end (by sea), right?.

 

I guess people will jizz in their pants when you show something like this with GTA IV .-.


_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#8

Posted 23 July 2014 - 07:31 PM

Silent is too lazy to do something epic like this :p

TODO - hacking boundaries in GTA V.


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • Unknown

#9

Posted 23 July 2014 - 08:19 PM Edited by Wesser, 23 July 2014 - 10:10 PM.

Would you mind if I share some tips about sectors publicly? :p

Sectors are something which hasn't brought my attention yet, thus current researched information are poor and rushed. Getting to the point, entities are arranged in a 120x120 grid every 50m2 on the basis of the coordinates range [-3000,3000] in both XY components. Here is the formula the game benefits from to pinpoint the grid cell where locating an entity:

unit_m2 = (3000 - -3000) / 120 = 50
inv_unit_m2 = 1 / unit_m2 = 0.02
list = sectors[(x_coord * inv_unit_m2) + 60][(y_coord * inv_unit_m2) + 60]
You can easily stretch the bounds by changing inv_unit_m2 as it is a constant in the executable. The side effect is the cell size will increase proportionally as long as you extend the coordinates range, therefore more entities will be processed at a time resulting into a performance decrease. The best approach is to increment the number of sectors and edit the formula a bit (not a big deal at all, i.e. a coordinates range of [-6000,6000] should have a 240x240 grid), but this implies a slight modification (indices clamp, pointer alignment and such) of the algorithm involved into the sectors processing which appears so many times in the whole executable. It's going to be tedious, but yet broadly feasible.

By the way, take these information:
// Linked-list node?
class CPtrListSingleLink // sizeof = 8
{
public:
	CPtrNodeSingleLink *m_pUnkPtr[2];
};

// Tree node?
class CPtrListDoubleLink // sizeof = 12
{
public:
	CPtrNodeDoubleLink *m_pUnkPtr[3];
};

CPtrListSingleLink CWorld::ms_aSectors[120][120];	// 0x00B7D0B8
CPtrListDoubleLink CWorld::ms_aRepeatSectors[256];	// 0x00B992B8
I don't know what the last one is used for at the moment and if it requires to be expanded too, needs further research.

  • goodidea82 likes this

Ss4gogeta0
  • Ss4gogeta0

    Huelga birds in the air and we're chargin with spears

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2011
  • United-States

#10

Posted 23 July 2014 - 08:35 PM

Good job NTA... I would expect nothing less from you


nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#11

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:54 AM Edited by nkjellman, 30 July 2014 - 04:58 AM.

Nice work NTA. The GTA Trilogy mod would benefit from this.

 

Also, if you hack the map boundaries in GTA IV, do you think it might be possible to convert The Crew's map to the game from the beta files? I think that map in GTA would be the best thing ever! GTA has aircraft and you can fly from city to city. You possibly could use the beta map as the beta was released for free, and they will be making changes to the map obviously.

 

However, that map would probably be better on GTA V, on IV we still have scripts to bring basically almost all the GTA V features. I also doubt GTA IV would handle The Crew vehicles. They are high poly, even more than the current car mods for the game that cause the taxi bug.

 

Edit: Does GTA V even have map boundaries? Even if they can be cracked if they exist, far away from the map there will be problems rendering distant water.


SkyHunted
  • SkyHunted

    All HD and III Era Rockstar Games Lover.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2014
  • Indonesia

#12

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:21 AM

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.


nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#13

Posted 30 July 2014 - 06:16 AM Edited by nkjellman, 30 July 2014 - 06:17 AM.

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.

This.

+

This. http://gtaforums.com...-map-version-5/

=

Your, and many other GTA players dream.

 

I also hope for a mod on GTA V for PC where you can fly to LC.

  • SergeantSavidge likes this

Prince Gumball
  • Prince Gumball

    Love hurts

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012
  • Indonesia

#14

Posted 30 July 2014 - 07:23 AM

Is it the time where we spread the news and make SA modding alive again?

  • Ss4gogeta0 likes this

SkyHunted
  • SkyHunted

    All HD and III Era Rockstar Games Lover.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2014
  • Indonesia

#15

Posted 30 July 2014 - 10:20 AM

Is it the time where we spread the news and make SA modding alive again?

yep , it's the perfect time. i never think that the SA engine limit can get hacked 

**I Wonder will rockstar like this hack on one of their best III Era GTA game**


tommzy2
  • tommzy2

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2009

#16

Posted 30 July 2014 - 11:33 AM

i think this is really cool, i'd like to see someone port the GTA V map over to San Andreas, without constant errors and in English :).

  • Minde95s likes this

Neddo
  • Neddo

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2014
  • None

#17

Posted 30 July 2014 - 03:02 PM Edited by Neddo, 30 July 2014 - 03:53 PM.

More and more people are getting interested in this. It will give some life to San Andreas. Hopefully there are more vids of this

 

 

 

 

This what happens when you try to out of bounds...

 

Thank you a lot modders


Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#18

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:02 PM Edited by Frank.s, 30 July 2014 - 05:05 PM.

NTAuthority, what effect would this have on the good ole' gang zones bug? (fly waay outta the map zone to make new gang zones appear) also as you know a lot about the inner programmed workings of GTASA, could you explain some of SA's weird programming oddities and stuff? One example being the gang zones bug, any idea what actually causes it? The gym/mad-dogg saving bug, etc. Did any of you reverse-engineer guys find the actual coding bugs that caused these known SA glitches?


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#19

Posted 30 July 2014 - 07:53 PM

NTAuthority, what effect would this have on the good ole' gang zones bug? (fly waay outta the map zone to make new gang zones appear) also as you know a lot about the inner programmed workings of GTASA, could you explain some of SA's weird programming oddities and stuff? One example being the gang zones bug, any idea what actually causes it? The gym/mad-dogg saving bug, etc. Did any of you reverse-engineer guys find the actual coding bugs that caused these known SA glitches?


Zones bug is a minor overlook in the code. When you travel around, game keeps track of your position, converts it to a zone index (each zone is 600x600) and then checks if it's been visited already:

bool CTheZones::GetCurrentZoneLockedOrUnlocked(float posX, float posY)
{
  return ZonesVisited[10 * ((posX + 3000.0f) / 600.0f) - ((posY + 3000.0) / 600.0f) + 9];
}
Later, if this zone wasn't visited yet, it'll just set it as visited by writing 1 to this array. The problem is, they don't do a range check. They allocated space for 100 zones, but them not doing a range check on write means they overwrite different parts of memory.


See SilentPatch thread, all 3 are fixed :p
  • Platinum Card, Frank.s, Ss4gogeta0 and 1 other like this

Aleph-Zero
  • Aleph-Zero

    ...

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2014
  • None

#20

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:50 PM

This would've been so useful if it was in IV and some months back. We would've the entire map inside IV by now. But this is interesting anyway. :p

 

Is it possible to port all 3D Era maps into the game with this patch? Or is there still a model/texture/collision limit?


Ss4gogeta0
  • Ss4gogeta0

    Huelga birds in the air and we're chargin with spears

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2011
  • United-States

#21

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:53 PM Edited by Ss4gogeta0, 01 August 2014 - 09:54 PM.

This would've been so useful if it was in IV and some months back. We would've the entire map inside IV by now. But this is interesting anyway. :p

 

Is it possible to port all 3D Era maps into the game with this patch? Or is there still a model/texture/collision limit?

Ask and you shall recieve


X-Seti
  • X-Seti

    Retro modding.

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2005
  • Mars

#22

Posted 03 August 2014 - 03:30 PM

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.

 

I'm working on this merging LC with LCS. VC with VCS and SA. This will be for both SA and VC engines. The biggest problem is the ID limit 0-19999?

  • Ss4gogeta0 likes this

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#23

Posted 03 August 2014 - 09:26 PM

 

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.

 

I'm working on this merging LC with LCS. VC with VCS and SA. This will be for both SA and VC engines. The biggest problem is the ID limit 0-19999?

 

I don't know about IV, but there is no way that The Crew's map will fit into that ID limit.


cj2000
  • cj2000

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2008

#24

Posted 21 August 2014 - 01:49 PM

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.

VCS And LCS? VCS has the same map as VC and LCS the same map as GTA III.


TommyCJFaann
  • TommyCJFaann

    Everything changes.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2013
  • India

#25

Posted 4 weeks ago

God , maybe with this one day , my dream of having GTA III , VC , SA , VCS And LCS in one game would be true.

VCS And LCS? VCS has the same map as VC and LCS the same map as GTA III.

Removed, modified buildings?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users