Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA Vice City startup error

7 replies to this topic
clement_attlee
  • clement_attlee

    Strawberry thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2014
  • Christmas-Island

#1

Posted 10 July 2014 - 10:34 PM Edited by clement_attlee, 10 July 2014 - 10:35 PM.

There is an old thread about this but it didn't help me.

I get the error "Unhandled Exception: c0000005 At address: 006f5330" when I start gta-vc.exe. I have added it to my DEP list, tested all compatibility modes but it doesen't work.

I can play GTA III, GTA SA and GTA IV but I can't play VC ! I have another computer (Windows 7 64 bit) that I can play VC on, the problem is that I hate that laggy old peice of sh*t and I wan't to play on my regular PC! Can anybody help? My specs are below if that helps...

 

My specs:

Windows 8 64-bit (6.2, Build 9200)

Intel® Core™ i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz

8192MB RAM

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti

 

EDIT: I also get the same error in GTA III XBOX mod. I have posted in the mods thread but with no answers...


Tadzik
  • Tadzik

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#2

Posted 15 July 2014 - 02:19 PM

I have the same problem. Even steam version does not work. I tried to replace steam exe with 1.0 exe - the same problem. But... I renamed 1.0 gta-vc.exe to gta-vc10.exe, added it to DEP and... IT'S WORKING.
  • clement_attlee likes this

clement_attlee
  • clement_attlee

    Strawberry thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2014
  • Christmas-Island

#3

Posted 15 July 2014 - 02:25 PM Edited by clement_attlee, 15 July 2014 - 02:34 PM.

I have the same problem. Even steam version does not work. I tried to replace steam exe with 1.0 exe - the same problem. But... I renamed 1.0 gta-vc.exe to gta-vc10.exe, added it to DEP and... IT'S WORKING.

OMG thank you! It worked! Thanks! Thanks! Thanks! You are the f*cking best

here have a cookie!  :cookie:

 

EDIT: Do you also have a the same problem when adding xbox/better models mod? then it doesen't work... whatever I'm happy to be able to play VC again! Thanks !


Tadzik
  • Tadzik

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#4

Posted 15 July 2014 - 02:38 PM Edited by Ridd1cK, 15 July 2014 - 02:39 PM.

I have not modded the game yet.

About the exe... I'd like to be able to run VC from gta-vc.exe to work with Steam :(

clement_attlee
  • clement_attlee

    Strawberry thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2014
  • Christmas-Island

#5

Posted 15 July 2014 - 02:39 PM

I have not modded the game yet.

I fixed it don't worry about it :D Thanks again !


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Drunk on Power

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [GTAF]

#6

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:28 PM

Does it work with any name other then 1.0gta-vc.exe??? I'm curious if the decimal point is what is causing the problem.... Also curious as to how you came up with that file name??

 

I want to add this to the pinned bug list with solutions thread but wanted more info.

 

Also-- is this problem specific to windows 8 or does it exist on windows 7 also?

 

Thanks in advance and for posting back that the solution works-- hoping this will help others.

 

Spuds.


Tadzik
  • Tadzik

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#7

Posted 23 July 2014 - 07:44 AM

I'm using Windows 7 SP1. Someday before Steam version worked good, even with 1.0 no-cd exe(just added to DEP), but later it just crashed on start, steam and 1.0no-cd, I tried 1.0 from downgrader - the same. But when I renamed 1.0 non-steam exe, added it to DEP the game started normally.
And Steam exe does not start when running directly from game folder, I got some steam error(Can't post screenshot, I do not have game downloaded now).
And yes, it's work with any name - I could start steam version with testapp.exe included in the release.
  • Spuds725 likes this

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Drunk on Power

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [GTAF]

#8

Posted 23 July 2014 - 06:56 PM

Ok... thanks for the added info.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users