Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Game closes immediately after launching V2

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic
mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#1

Posted 19 June 2014 - 04:19 PM Edited by mads232, 19 June 2014 - 10:29 PM.

Alright GTA forums! Another troubleshooter is here to give you some work! (Me, duh)

 

I've ran into a problem with my San Andreas game (PC).

 

Today, when I tried to start up the game, after a long pause from the game, nothing happened.

 

I pressed the gta_sa.exe in my GTA SA folder, (Little message about color scheme pops up..) My screen then goes black for 2 seconds, but it just shuts down the game again.

 

I see it's running for 2 seconds in the task manager, but it dissapears again.

 

Things I've tried:

 

Deleting "GTA.set".

Updated my graphics card.

Running in compatillity mode.

Running as administrator.

Making sure no mods are installed (ENB is, but it ran fine before this happened).

Searching through the lands of Google.

Installing DirectX9 Jun2010.

Adding an exception in data prevention something.

Buying/Installing a new copy of GTA SA.

Deleting my savefiles.

 

 

 

I suspect my graphics card drivers, as I installed those when it ran fine. I'm now running the new ones, and I think these won't work with SA. (I would REALLY like to keep my current graphics drivers, as I want it up to date)

 

I have ATI graphics card and Windows 7.

 

-Stenmann

 

EDIT FOR NEW TOPIC:

 

My last thread got locked as I was apparently using a pirated version. I got into talk with lil weasel, and we came to the agreement, that i was using a pirated version. So I went out and bought a real copy of the game, and tried seeing if that would fix my problem. Unfortunately it did not change anything. I also tried reverting to an older graphics card driver. Neither did that help. So here I am again. Please, feel free to help! :)


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#2

Posted 19 June 2014 - 08:55 PM Edited by lil weasel, 19 June 2014 - 08:56 PM.

Now the you have the new DVD I suggest you uninstall the old game completely using the Games own uninstall feature.

 

After it is removed do a re-install with your new DVD.
Then if your previous game saves don't work you may have to start again. It is possible that your previous game was a version 1 and your new is a v2.

You said your previous game, which has the same requirements as the new version, worked.
I am listing here the computer specs for the game as a reference:
Recommended System Requirements:
Intel Pentium 4 or AMD Athlon XP processor (or better)
 384(+) MB of RAM
 16x DVD-ROM drive
 4.7 GB of free Hard Disk space for a full install
 128(+) MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce4" or better)
 DirectX 9 compatible Surround Sound Card
 Game pad** with twin axis analog controls (USB or Joystick Port)
 Keyboard & Mouse
** I suggest 12 buttons minimum. I use the Logitech Dual Action ™, as it works straight from the box without any special drivers. Seitek also nice. Attempting to use console controllers may take hours to find the right driver(s) and then still not work.
Get by with Minimum System Requirements
• 1GHz Intel Pentium III or AMD Athlon Processor
• 256MB of RAM
• 8x DVD-ROM Drive
• 3.6 GB of free Hard Disk space for a minimal install
• DirectX 9 compatible Stereo Sound Card
• 64MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce3" or better)
• DirectX 9 compatible Stereo Sound Card
and a Keyboard & Mouse

Settings that might help:
Install with Admin Privileges.
Run in a compatibility mode [XP (sp3), Win98, Vista, etc.]
Install to C:/ (default) drive.

  • mads232 likes this

mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#3

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:28 PM Edited by mads232, 19 June 2014 - 10:34 PM.

Thanks for answering!

 

I completely wiped the gta san andreas installation folder, when I got the new game.

 

I am completely sure my computer is able to run it.

 

I've tried compatibillity mode several times.

 

I can't install the game on my C:/ drive, as it is nearly full. (60 GB SSD)

 

I'll try deleting my savefiles.

 


Done, deleting the save files. Didn't work. Any other solutions? :/


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#4

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:32 PM Edited by lil weasel, 19 June 2014 - 10:32 PM.

this bothers me, "I can't install the game on my C:/ drive, as it is nearly full. (60 GB SSD)"
The game doesn't play well from other drives (this is an olde game).
What is the status (and type) of the drive you are using?

Also, you don't need to 'sign' your posts.

mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#5

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:35 PM Edited by mads232, 19 June 2014 - 10:51 PM.

May it be write-protection? I tried removing it, but it just comes back on. I have to do it through the cmd. I'll try and do that, and report back. Keep posting! ;)


this bothers me, "I can't install the game on my C:/ drive, as it is nearly full. (60 GB SSD)"
The game doesn't play well from other drives (this is an olde game).
What is the status (and type) of the drive you are using?

Yeah, I know.. It's pretty bad to play it on other drives, but it worked fine before.

The status and type? What do you mean? I got 2 GB out of 60 left. (I have nothing to delete on it. The windows folder is on 30 GB. I'm trying to move the local and roaming folder to my F: drive.


Sorry, I just like to be "formal" :p

 

Tried to move the local and roaming folder.. Failed


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#6

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:56 PM

I use Flash Drives to save documents and data files, leaving the C:/ Drive for programs. San Andreas and saves are on my C:/ drive.
External drives are (generally) too slow for games.

The game size:
Minimum game 3.6 GB playing from DVD
Full install 4.7GB

I think you need to get a new larger hard drive installed.
You need it.

mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#7

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:59 PM Edited by mads232, 19 June 2014 - 10:59 PM.

I just deleted some stuff, so I got enough to try and install it on C:/. I'll try that

 

Yeah, I'm very much considering, throwing away the 60 GB Solid State Drive. I already got 2 x 1 TB harddrives in it


mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#8

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:21 PM

C:/ Drive installation didn't work..


mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#9

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:30 PM Edited by mads232, 19 June 2014 - 11:30 PM.

Whoa! I got into my documents folder to make sure I deleted the gta.set file. It was there again, so I tried deleting it. Bam! worked.

 

Thanks for your time! Much appreciated


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#10

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:34 PM Edited by lil weasel, 19 June 2014 - 11:37 PM. uninstall

Your statment: "I completely wiped the gta san andreas installation folder, when I got the new game."  (Oh, of course you couldn't since you can't get to the menu.)

Did you use the uninstall feature, which would clean the system registry, Or did you just delete the files? (again, I forgot you can't get to the menu).
If the second you may need to uninstall again (using the games feature), and find a program to clean the registry.


mads232
  • mads232

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2010

#11

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:41 PM

Your statment: "I completely wiped the gta san andreas installation folder, when I got the new game."  (Oh, of course you couldn't since you can't get to the menu.)

Did you use the uninstall feature, which would clean the system registry, Or did you just delete the files? (again, I forgot you can't get to the menu).
If the second you may need to uninstall again (using the games feature), and find a program to clean the registry.

I uninstalled with the uninstall feature. Then I made sure it deleted every file of the last game. 

 

But it doesn't matter, as you might've read. It's fixed! :D


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#12

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:42 PM

Good Show! :^:  Yes, I did miss your message, while I was composing my reply.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users