Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Windows RT 8.1 - how is SA?

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic
Ambient_
  • Ambient_

    Loving GTA:O

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2013
  • None

#1

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:17 PM

How does it run on this POS?

uncredited
  • uncredited

    Midnight Marauder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2013
  • None

#2

Posted 18 June 2014 - 05:58 PM

Well, I believe most people who have Windows 8/8.1 already have the DVD version, like I do. I don't think there are many people playing the Windows version but I am still waiting with you for an authentic answer :) 


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#3

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:44 PM

From reading a few forums and Q&A sites it appears that Windows 8 is hit or miss when running older games. But, it is clear that Windows 8 does not like games that are not specifically programmed for it.

To me I believe that Windows 8 might be a good system for Tourch-Screen devices, but it seems to be clumsy, if not unworkable having had experience with Windows 7 and its previous siblings. To me Vista was the better of them all.

uncredited
  • uncredited

    Midnight Marauder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2013
  • None

#4

Posted 18 June 2014 - 07:20 PM Edited by uncredited, 18 June 2014 - 07:21 PM.

I think the OP was talking about the Windows Store App but I might be wrong. Anyhow, I play GTA SA on Windows 8.1 without huge problems. All I had to do was to install DirectPlay and use dinput8.dll for 64bits system to prevent the mouse issue. I even use mods with it and it works pretty great.

 

Nonetheless, Windows 8.1 does not work with III. I have not tested with VC yet and don't want to. It is a shame that I am tired of installing Seven all over again. SA is enough for me. 


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#5

Posted 20 June 2014 - 04:15 AM

I agree, but the POS means Point of Sale to me :)

NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    member_title

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#6

Posted 22 June 2014 - 02:24 PM

... but III works perfectly fine without any workarounds or compatibility mode?

uncredited
  • uncredited

    Midnight Marauder

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2013
  • None

#7

Posted 03 July 2014 - 02:37 PM Edited by uncredited, 03 July 2014 - 02:37 PM.

III text menus do not appear. It means you can't go through the menus. There is a fix I think but I am tired of making 100 tips to get a game working.

I am going back to Seven soon. Every game I own works on it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users