Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Scouting the Port:- Dock Worker MOD?

21 replies to this topic
Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#1

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:06 PM

ScoutingThePort-GTA5.png

 

I've been wanting to see this come up on GTA V single player mode for a while. It's basically taking the Scouting the Port mission from Grand Theft Auto V, and implementing it into the game as a Sidequest PC mod, where it's only available for so long, where once the Cargo ship was emptied, it would disappear until a certain timeframe in the game.

 

DockHandler-GTAV-Front.png

 

I was thinking along the lines of unloading a cargo ship with the crane, using the HVY Dock Handler to load the containers onto a freight train (which would require a Drivable Train Mod) and delivering them to Davis Quarry, Palmer-Taylor Power Station, Paleto Bay etc.

 

Anyone else like to see this implemented into the game?

 

Lossantostransitajm.jpg

 

BruteBus-Front-GTAV.png

 

I would also like to see the Tram and Coach drivable too, akin to the old taxi driving missions from past Grand Theft Auto games, where you would make some extra cash delivering passengers to various places around the city.

 

Sorry about the fairly long post, but just putting this out there in hopes some clever people can implement these features as a future mod.

  • WhatsStrength and WildBrick142 like this

RyanBurnsRed
  • RyanBurnsRed

    Since 1776

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010
  • United-States

#2

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:10 PM

That seems like a good idea. I'm sure it can be done with scripts.

I know for sure there's a script mod for GTA IV that allows you to do bus driving missions where you pick people up, follow a route and earn money being a bus driver.

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#3

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:14 PM

That's what I was thinking RyanBurnsRed, the scripts are there from two GTA V missions, Scouting the Port and Derailed, so hopefully my post get's noticed and this gets implemented. I think it would be great to have the freedom to go and do these sidequests, though they may not be everyone's cup of tea they are there as a download so are optional. Thanks for the positive vibes mate :)


Soger7
  • Soger7

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2012

#4

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:44 PM

Good idea, and shouldn't be too hard to implement.

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#5

Posted 13 June 2014 - 09:40 AM

Thanks Soger7 :D


manu90mala
  • manu90mala

    Flash Fm

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2009

#6

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:16 AM

This is absolutely possible, and along with this idea there are plenty of other possibilities with side jobs/missions (the beauty of pc modding).
Hell even a floor mopping side job could be created (lol), it's just about picking existing scripts/actions and putting them into a wider contest with objectives and rewards

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#7

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:53 AM

Never thought about the rewards aspect of it manu90mala, what an excellent idea! Can you think of any rewards that you could earn when completing task's? Ohhhh, I just thought of something! How about creating a mod where in the containers are brand new vehicles, for example BMW i5's etc, exported to Los Santos, but the person who creates the MOD doesn't say which cars are in the container, and you get to pick a numbered container when the job is done! Genius eh? :D


WildBrick142
  • WildBrick142

    *blows up cars with RPG*

  • V Staff
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012
  • Ireland
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#8

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:59 AM

That would be something I'd like to see. I'm probably the only person who actually liked Scouting The Port and didn't find it boring at all.

  • Bubbles_Shed and Furiontriblade like this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#9

Posted 13 June 2014 - 11:06 AM

Nope, your not alone WildBrick142, I would happily do this over and over again as I too thoroughly enjoyed the Scouting the Port mission... hell, I've always wanted to command a cargo ship too, that could also be added as a MOD, if the code is there that is, as the cargo ship has never been able to be driven, but yeah I'd like to see this too. This thread needs to stay alive long enough for someone to see it and hopefully get some ideas from it for a MOD. It could be simply called Port of South Los Santos: Imports & Exports :)


manu90mala
  • manu90mala

    Flash Fm

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2009

#10

Posted 13 June 2014 - 12:25 PM

Other than rewards, that could simply be an amount of cash, you could link this activity to weapon/drugs/whatever trafficking; so for example you know that there is a stock of weapons coming and you have to get it by working undercover at the docks (just like in the mission), then you have the stock to sell into your criminal empire (that would suit Trevor a lot)
 

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

PerfectBlade
  • PerfectBlade

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#11

Posted 13 June 2014 - 02:24 PM

id'like to drive a train like in ''Derailed'' mission. :)

Anyways, dock handler is good too. 

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

theNGclan
  • theNGclan

    Coded. Not stirred.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Topic 2014 [GTA V and Steam]

#12

Posted 13 June 2014 - 02:30 PM Edited by theNGclan, 13 June 2014 - 02:30 PM.

Scouting the Port uses several OpCodes that are exlcusive to the mission itself. It wouldn't be difficult to cook up a simple simulation script with the OpCodes used by this mission. It would simply be a generic run of this:

Scenario = Option 1___Option 2
| |
Scenario Scenario
_|_ _|_
Opt 1 Opt 2 Opt 3 Opt 4
  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#13

Posted 13 June 2014 - 03:37 PM

 

Scouting the Port uses several OpCodes that are exlcusive to the mission itself. It wouldn't be difficult to cook up a simple simulation script with the OpCodes used by this mission. It would simply be a generic run of this:

Scenario = Option 1___Option 2
| |
Scenario Scenario
_|_ _|_
Opt 1 Opt 2 Opt 3 Opt 4

Thank you theNGclan, have three cookie's sir! :cookie: :cookie: :cookie:

 

So, the codes for the mission would be similar to the Train codes, as in they would be easy to implement into the game also? I ask this because of the Derailed mission, where the player was technically in charge of the freight train, so there must be some form of workaround code. Why R* haven't provided us with a working train is beyond my reckoning, haven't they heard of role-playing??


theNGclan
  • theNGclan

    Coded. Not stirred.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Topic 2014 [GTA V and Steam]

#14

Posted 13 June 2014 - 05:32 PM Edited by theNGclan, 13 June 2014 - 05:32 PM.

 

 

Scouting the Port uses several OpCodes that are exlcusive to the mission itself. It wouldn't be difficult to cook up a simple simulation script with the OpCodes used by this mission. It would simply be a generic run of this:

Scenario = Option 1___Option 2
| |
Scenario Scenario
_|_ _|_
Opt 1 Opt 2 Opt 3 Opt 4

Thank you theNGclan, have three cookie's sir! :cookie: :cookie: :cookie:

 

So, the codes for the mission would be similar to the Train codes, as in they would be easy to implement into the game also? I ask this because of the Derailed mission, where the player was technically in charge of the freight train, so there must be some form of workaround code. Why R* haven't provided us with a working train is beyond my reckoning, haven't they heard of role-playing??

 

Basically, an open ended mission that gives you choices starts out with a Scenario. The Scenario is given two Options which can be good or bad but can still progress you through the mission (or possibly fail you). Each option leads to another Scenario. So it'd just be a string effect that follows Scenaris -> Options -> Scenario -> etc.

 

All the information needed to create always drivable/enterable trains is there and can be utilized, it just needs to be added into the main script. :^:

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

_FRANKENSTEIN_
  • _FRANKENSTEIN_

    f*ck Google Ask Me!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2013
  • None

#15

Posted 13 June 2014 - 05:57 PM

Amigo :D
  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Bubbles_Shed
  • Bubbles_Shed

    I roll with my kitties, and I'm hard as f*ck!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2012
  • England

#16

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:05 PM

 

 

 

Scouting the Port uses several OpCodes that are exlcusive to the mission itself. It wouldn't be difficult to cook up a simple simulation script with the OpCodes used by this mission. It would simply be a generic run of this:

Scenario = Option 1___Option 2
| |
Scenario Scenario
_|_ _|_
Opt 1 Opt 2 Opt 3 Opt 4

Thank you theNGclan, have three cookie's sir! :cookie: :cookie: :cookie:

 

So, the codes for the mission would be similar to the Train codes, as in they would be easy to implement into the game also? I ask this because of the Derailed mission, where the player was technically in charge of the freight train, so there must be some form of workaround code. Why R* haven't provided us with a working train is beyond my reckoning, haven't they heard of role-playing??

 

Basically, an open ended mission that gives you choices starts out with a Scenario. The Scenario is given two Options which can be good or bad but can still progress you through the mission (or possibly fail you). Each option leads to another Scenario. So it'd just be a string effect that follows Scenaris -> Options -> Scenario -> etc.

 

All the information needed to create always drivable/enterable trains is there and can be utilized, it just needs to be added into the main script. :^:

 

You Sir, have made my night! Would this work for stopping the train also, I mean not having to risk jumping on the low carriage and risk killing yourself? If you stood in front of the train, would it eventually stop, like cars do on the street. Looks like trains will be drivable afterall, but I'm pumped for this Dock Worker MOD. We just need to keep this thread alive and active. Thanks again theNGclan :D

 

21-1.jpg

 

I'm going down an impossible route with my next question, but I'm a dreamer, always have been, always will be... but picture this. Would it be possible to make the Container Ship, SS Bulker, pilotable? Reason I ask this is, sooner or later, Rockstar will provide us with another city, a city with another port, one we can import/export to by piloting the ship ourselves from and to Los Santos. It can be an added upgrade to the Dock Worker MOD, a sort of v2 version if you like?


theNGclan
  • theNGclan

    Coded. Not stirred.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Topic 2014 [GTA V and Steam]

#17

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:16 PM Edited by theNGclan, 13 June 2014 - 07:18 PM.

The Container Ship is a map object and not an actual vehicle. It is static and remains in the same XYZ position it was given. It would be possible to copy the model, convert it to a vehicle with it's own vehicle entry data and make it spawn near in the water, but the actual normal version of the ship would still be present in the same location that you showed above.

 

So yes, in theory you can make a Container Ship that is usable. But using that exact ship wouldn't be possible. :^:

 

As for trains, I'm not exactly sure how they work yet. They most likely use their own hardcoded bit of artificial intelligence so it would be extremely tedious and difficult to change as something inside of the engine itself would have to be modified. Someone could theoretically make an .ASI script that overrides it though.

  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

WhatsStrength
  • WhatsStrength

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2012
  • United-States

#18

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:17 PM

Sounds like fun. I always wondered why they only had the dock activities for one mission. It would have been a great opportunity to re-introduce exotic exports like the ones from San Andreas.
  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Alvarez
  • Alvarez

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2013

#19

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:50 PM

I saw a train mod for a hacked XBOX360 on YouTube. It has its own animations and physics (it is very light, actually)

I suspect the train to use a dumbed down driver AI script and using special collision tunnel on the tracks, as the bodywork of the engine don't spark when colliding with walls.
  • Bubbles_Shed likes this

Nuggets
  • Nuggets

    SenseiKOFF

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2013
  • Finland

#20

Posted 13 June 2014 - 08:04 PM

I really like this idea. It would be cool too if U where to put a container on a trailer like in the mission and then U had to drive that truck somewhere and drop the trailer off.


Alvarez
  • Alvarez

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2013

#21

Posted 14 June 2014 - 12:27 AM

I really like this idea. It would be cool too if U where to put a container on a trailer like in the mission and then U had to drive that truck somewhere and drop the trailer off.


I like this idea, too.

Imagine Franklin buying a transportation company and ocassionaly take the wheel and deliver the semis, with legal and less legal freight.

Or: drive around the country and hook up seemingly abandoned trailers - for example drug deposit of gangsters or undercover drone control station. With money and trouble.

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

    Lt Phill Bellic. Law Enforcement Enthusiast.

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia

#22

Posted 14 June 2014 - 07:55 AM


As for trains, I'm not exactly sure how they work yet. They most likely use their own hardcoded bit of artificial intelligence so it would be extremely tedious and difficult to change as something inside of the engine itself would have to be modified. Someone could theoretically make an .ASI script that overrides it though.

Sjaak327 did feature a train driving simulator in SNT. I believe it spawned a single carriage for you to drive and did not interfere with the game spaned trains.

 

Cheers.

  • Alvarez likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users