Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA V System Requirements & FAQ Thread

2,877 replies to this topic
Omar Little
  • Omar Little

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2013

#391

Posted 17 June 2014 - 03:58 PM

GPU: GTX 780 Ti

CPU: Xeon E3-1230v3

RAM: 16GB

 

Not very popular CPU but that's basically i7 4770 non K? If I remember right.. Not much difference.

Or at least many people said that when I asked online what should I get for my new rig.


Marc79
  • Marc79

    The Real Tool Man

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011
  • None

#392

Posted 17 June 2014 - 04:48 PM

 


The i5 4670K is a formidable CPU! The Haswell refresh is not worth your consideration. It's amazing the lengths people will go for a small percentage increase. (And bragging rights!)

Bottom line, save your money.

 

 

 

You do realize you can sell your old cpu, right?  A used 4770k can bring $250US easily.  Micro Center has new i7's for 279.99+tax, sometimes even lower, ie black friday or sale price, not to mention combo deals, cpu+mobo.

 

Bragging rights?  4770k/4790k's are mainstream i7's, its not an 8 core 5960x, lol.


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#393

Posted 17 June 2014 - 04:59 PM

 

 


The i5 4670K is a formidable CPU! The Haswell refresh is not worth your consideration. It's amazing the lengths people will go for a small percentage increase. (And bragging rights!)

Bottom line, save your money.

 

 

 

You do realize you can sell your old cpu, right?  A used 4770k can bring $250US easily.  Micro Center has new i7's for 279.99+tax, sometimes even lower, ie black friday or sale price, not to mention combo deals, cpu+mobo.

 

Bragging rights?  4770k/4790k's are mainstream i7's, its not an 8 core 5960x, lol.

 

i7's mainstream? You mean mid-end?


AzelfandQuilava
  • AzelfandQuilava

    Another COD Player...

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2014
  • Scotland

#394

Posted 17 June 2014 - 05:25 PM

My "Ideal" Laptop will have the following:

 

i5-4210M Intel Dual Core 2.60Ghz (Up to 3.20Ghz)

1TB HDD

8GB RAM

NVIDIA Geforce GTX 850M 2GB

 

I assume it'll be fine for Higher Mid Graphics, right?


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#395

Posted 17 June 2014 - 05:27 PM Edited by ArchKnight, 17 June 2014 - 05:27 PM.

My "Ideal" Laptop will have the following:
 
i5-4210M Intel Dual Core 2.60Ghz (Up to 3.20Ghz)
1TB HDD
8GB RAM
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 850M 2GB
 
I assume it'll be fine for Higher Mid Graphics, right?

Yes. You should be fine with this setup. It's more than medium settings.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#396

Posted 17 June 2014 - 05:53 PM

My "Ideal" Laptop will have the following:

 

i5-4210M Intel Dual Core 2.60Ghz (Up to 3.20Ghz)

1TB HDD

8GB RAM

NVIDIA Geforce GTX 850M 2GB

 

I assume it'll be fine for Higher Mid Graphics, right?

Your GPU will be fine. It is slightly better than a GTX580. Not bad for a little bastard like that.

Your CPU should be fine too.


AzelfandQuilava
  • AzelfandQuilava

    Another COD Player...

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2014
  • Scotland

#397

Posted 17 June 2014 - 06:16 PM

 

My "Ideal" Laptop will have the following:

 

i5-4210M Intel Dual Core 2.60Ghz (Up to 3.20Ghz)

1TB HDD

8GB RAM

NVIDIA Geforce GTX 850M 2GB

 

I assume it'll be fine for Higher Mid Graphics, right?

Your GPU will be fine. It is slightly better than a GTX580. Not bad for a little bastard like that.

Your CPU should be fine too.

 

https://www.youtube....h?v=3WAOxKOmR90


Nick Testbranch
  • Nick Testbranch

    Offending Mimes Everywhere.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2012
  • None

#398

Posted 17 June 2014 - 10:51 PM Edited by Startug, 17 June 2014 - 10:53 PM.

@Startug, you better had made a topic about that. You made a big mistake, friend! (Niko's saying lol)

I've had a HP and I am very sorry I every bought this piece of crap. It was very good the first 2 years but then it started getting very hot

and it overheats very easily. Once that time has come, you can only watch a movie in full screen for a short amount of time. First an hour

and then it gets shortened everytime. Untill last year, the display no longer works. I must connect it to an extern monitor.

For me, never a HP sh*t.

 

You have two GPU's, the Intel and the AMD. If I'm right, your laptop will use the Intel HD4600 to save battery when using

and when you want to game, it will switch to AMD.

You'll not be able to game GTAV on 1080p otherwise it will overheat because it needs to work harder to show all those pixels.

You would have bought a better laptop from a better company like Gigabyte or something. Gigabyte makes sure the CPU and GPU has their own cooling fan.

One thing is for certain, HP is NOT great or laptops.

har har, you must have got one of the really old HP laptops. This one's really recent. It's similar to the one we bought for my mom and it's really nice. I mean, the keyboard could be better but it runs well, does not overheat, display works perfectly. You must have just bought a sh*t laptop. If you want real sh*t laptops, get Lenovo or Dell. They stopped giving f*cks a few years ago and basically put recycled parts from a garbage can into these plastic little sh*ts. It's terrible.

 

I don't plan to play in 1080p, but I will do some tests with GTA IV later this weekend to let you all know how well it runs. If I can, I'll get a copy of MP3 to get slightly closer to knowing how well it will run. Thank you for your concern on the HP brand though. Should sh*t happen in two years, I'll send you a PM that says "You win" on it. I would have gotten something reputable like a Gigabyte (they made my mobo, it was really nice at the beginning and is decent now) but I did mention that I don't have the best budget. So yeah, this weekend, I'll do some tests with GTA IV and hopefully MP3. I expect it'll do well with GTA IV on medium settings as it sounds close to what I use in my desktop. I will push the limit though and see what it does on higher/highest settings. It won't fix the laughable port any, but it can give me a slight idea of what to expect when V comes out this fall.

 

Thanks for the advice, mate. Should I see something remarkable, I MAY make a thread about it, but I didn't want to waste anyone's time as I know people have been making too many "will it work on my pc" threads recently.


Stevilknievel
  • Stevilknievel

    Outlaw

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Ireland

#399

Posted 18 June 2014 - 02:01 AM

Intel i7 960 @ 3.2Ghz

Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2133mhz

Radeon HD 7970 3GB

1TB HDD

 

I'm actually worried that I won't be able to run GTAV on max setting dues to my outdated CPU, and If i need to upgrade, I'll need to buy a new motherboard along with a new cpu.  :cry:

 

Can someone shed some light on what performance I can expect to have from GTAV.

 

Much appreciated.


AlasClarin
  • AlasClarin

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2013
  • None

#400

Posted 18 June 2014 - 03:05 AM

Intel i7 960 @ 3.2Ghz

Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2133mhz

Radeon HD 7970 3GB

1TB HDD

 

I'm actually worried that I won't be able to run GTAV on max setting dues to my outdated CPU, and If i need to upgrade, I'll need to buy a new motherboard along with a new cpu.  :cry:

 

Can someone shed some light on what performance I can expect to have from GTAV.

 

Much appreciated.

Your PC is very good, don't worry. Expect a performance superior to what you already have on GTA IV.


TheFoxRiverFugitive
  • TheFoxRiverFugitive

    Sly Fox

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2012
  • United-States

#401

Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:14 AM

Right now I have a 2GB GTX 670, 8GB of RAM, and an i5-3570k running at stock speeds. I'm contemplating either getting a 780 TI or waiting for the 800 series coming in Q4. In either case would I need to get a better CPU? Or is overclocking viable in this situation?

AlasClarin
  • AlasClarin

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2013
  • None

#402

Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:20 AM

Right now I have a 2GB GTX 670, 8GB of RAM, and an i5-3570k running at stock speeds. I'm contemplating either getting a 780 TI or waiting for the 800 series coming in Q4. In either case would I need to get a better CPU? Or is overclocking viable in this situation?

Man your PC is very good you don't even need OC if you don't want it, but if you want you could as you have a K edition.


SkyWest1218
  • SkyWest1218

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2013

#403

Posted 18 June 2014 - 05:21 AM

CPU: Intel i5 2500k (OC to 4.5 Ghz)

GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti

RAM: HyperX Blu 1600 (8GB)

Intel and Kingston SSD's

Windows 7 Home 64-bit

 

Built this thing for flight simulation and 3d modeling about three years ago. Don't let the age fool you, this thing runs pretty much everything at or near max settings at 40 FPS and up. Not as good as 60, but it gets the job done.

  • Mid Night Club likes this

Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#404

Posted 18 June 2014 - 05:38 AM

Intel i7 960 @ 3.2Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2133mhz
Radeon HD 7970 3GB
1TB HDD
 
I'm actually worried that I won't be able to run GTAV on max setting dues to my outdated CPU, and If i need to upgrade, I'll need to buy a new motherboard along with a new cpu.  :cry:
 
Can someone shed some light on what performance I can expect to have from GTAV.
 
Much appreciated.

You don't really need need to worry about running the game on max settings. If not on the highest settings, your configuration should be enough to run the game to somewhat closer settings to max settings. You should be alright with these settings.

dragon20
  • dragon20

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2012

#405

Posted 18 June 2014 - 01:22 PM

This is my PC at the moment
 
Corsair Graphite 600T White Edition
 
Motherboard - MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
 
CORSAIR CX750 80PLUS Bronze
 
CPU -- Intel Haswell Core i7-4770K
 
GPU -- XFX HD 6850
 
Memory -- 16 GB DDR3-2400
 
HDD -- 1TB + 250GB + SSD 120GB
 
OS -- Windows 8.1 64bits

utack
  • utack

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2014
  • None

#406

Posted 18 June 2014 - 01:57 PM Edited by utack, 18 June 2014 - 01:58 PM.

Right now I have a 2GB GTX 670, 8GB of RAM, and an i5-3570k running at stock speeds. I'm contemplating either getting a 780 TI or waiting for the 800 series coming in Q4. In either case would I need to get a better CPU? Or is overclocking viable in this situation?

 

Have a good look at CPU loads in current games. Your CPU is quite a beast.

Crysis 3 is one of the games that has a very high CPU demand, and have a look how well a i5-3470 does against the insanely expensive 6 core i7-3960X: benchmark

The situation is even better in other games.

In a game like Battlefield 4 a Dual Core i3 and a Six Core i7 are almost identical: benchmark

Yet another example where newest gen i3 and newest gen i7 6 core are fairly close is Watch Dogs: benchmark


K20
  • K20

    suckmyrocket

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012
  • None

#407

Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:02 PM

windows xp service pack 3

quad core q9550

2gb ram 1333mhz

1gb 9000 GT

Asrock G41 motherboard

 

hopefully can run bare minimum graphics at 30 fps.


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#408

Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:04 PM Edited by ArchKnight, 18 June 2014 - 04:25 PM.

windows xp service pack 3
quad core q9550
2gb ram 1333mhz
1gb 9000 GT
Asrock G41 motherboard
 
hopefully can run bare minimum graphics at 30 fps.

What's your processor speed? I wonder why you're still on Windows XP. The support has ended officially for it. I'm sure about your specs. But, I suggest you upgrade your OS, Update your drivers and DirectX.

utack
  • utack

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2014
  • None

#409

Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:18 PM

windows xp service pack 3

quad core q9550

2gb ram 1333mhz

1gb 9000 GT

Asrock G41 motherboard

 

hopefully can run bare minimum graphics at 30 fps.

 

DX9 and 32bit? Probablly not!


Mim420
  • Mim420

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2014
  • Bulgaria

#410

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:07 PM

Hi guys. I'm new to this forum and i want to ask you can i run the game on these specs
CPU  Intel core i3 3.1 GHz
GPU  Nvidia GeForce GT520 2gb
8GB ram
2tb hdd 
Win 7 Ult 64bit ?? 
I dont care what will be the resolution , i care about being able to run the game at least  :beerhat:


Gouveia
  • Gouveia

    #YardOn

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2006
  • Brazil

#411

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:14 PM Edited by VinnyGouveia, 18 June 2014 - 06:16 PM.

My current PC is this one:

 

MOBO: Asus Sabertooth R2.0 990FX
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 2.8GHz
GPU: ATI Radeon HD7950 3GB GDDR5
RAM: 1x 4GB DDR3 1333 MHz + 1x 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Since I have a pretty small monitor (1366x768 on a 15.6"), I think it may run pretty fine. Max Payne 3 is locked up on 30FPS (due to VSync, I think), but it can run on ~60FPS smoothly, with everything pumped up to the max. My only major concern is the CPU, which I may change to a FX8350, but I lack the funds right now.


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#412

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:19 PM Edited by SilverRST, 18 June 2014 - 06:22 PM.

 

@Startug, you better had made a topic about that. You made a big mistake, friend! (Niko's saying lol)

I've had a HP and I am very sorry I every bought this piece of crap. It was very good the first 2 years but then it started getting very hot

and it overheats very easily. Once that time has come, you can only watch a movie in full screen for a short amount of time. First an hour

and then it gets shortened everytime. Untill last year, the display no longer works. I must connect it to an extern monitor.

For me, never a HP sh*t.

 

You have two GPU's, the Intel and the AMD. If I'm right, your laptop will use the Intel HD4600 to save battery when using

and when you want to game, it will switch to AMD.

You'll not be able to game GTAV on 1080p otherwise it will overheat because it needs to work harder to show all those pixels.

You would have bought a better laptop from a better company like Gigabyte or something. Gigabyte makes sure the CPU and GPU has their own cooling fan.

One thing is for certain, HP is NOT great or laptops.

har har, you must have got one of the really old HP laptops. This one's really recent. It's similar to the one we bought for my mom and it's really nice. I mean, the keyboard could be better but it runs well, does not overheat, display works perfectly. You must have just bought a sh*t laptop. If you want real sh*t laptops, get Lenovo or Dell. They stopped giving f*cks a few years ago and basically put recycled parts from a garbage can into these plastic little sh*ts. It's terrible.

 

I don't plan to play in 1080p, but I will do some tests with GTA IV later this weekend to let you all know how well it runs. If I can, I'll get a copy of MP3 to get slightly closer to knowing how well it will run. Thank you for your concern on the HP brand though. Should sh*t happen in two years, I'll send you a PM that says "You win" on it. I would have gotten something reputable like a Gigabyte (they made my mobo, it was really nice at the beginning and is decent now) but I did mention that I don't have the best budget. So yeah, this weekend, I'll do some tests with GTA IV and hopefully MP3. I expect it'll do well with GTA IV on medium settings as it sounds close to what I use in my desktop. I will push the limit though and see what it does on higher/highest settings. It won't fix the laughable port any, but it can give me a slight idea of what to expect when V comes out this fall.

 

Thanks for the advice, mate. Should I see something remarkable, I MAY make a thread about it, but I didn't want to waste anyone's time as I know people have been making too many "will it work on my pc" threads recently.

 

Nope. I had a HP HDX16 with a mid-end 9600M GT which could run GTAIV nicely on stable FPS and medium settings. Vehicle density could be cranked to max with out a problem.

And most of the games runs really nice on high FPS and settings between low, medium and high.

Laptops are really nice, but not for gaming or heavy tasks.

  • Nick Testbranch likes this

milenkovic24
  • milenkovic24

    Srbin

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • Serbia

#413

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:57 PM

My rig:

 

CPU: Athlon ii x4 640 3Ghz

GPU:Nvidia Geforce GTX 650 OC

RAM:4GB DDR3

Windows 7 64bit

 

I think I will be able to run it at least on low.


boetagoon
  • boetagoon

    OG Loc Fan For Life

  • New Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2014
  • Denmark

#414

Posted 18 June 2014 - 07:50 PM

My setup (Desktop from 2012):

 

OS: Windows 8.1
CPU: Intel i7 3770K 3.5 Ghz
RAM: Kingston HyperX  16.00 GB
HDD: SSD: 2 x Kingston HyperX 240 GB SSD (Set in RAID 0 mode)  and 3TB Seagate Barracuda
GPU: Gigabyte GTX680 2GB
 
Not sure if I need to replace the Graphics card to GTX 760 TI to be sure to be able to play on Ultra. What do you guys think?
 
 

polosistealth
  • polosistealth

    grandtheftauto.RO

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Romania

#415

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:12 PM

there is no 760 Ti, i think you wanted to say 780 Ti

crank that i7 to 4Ghz and change the video card to a Gtx 780 3GB


Bishie
  • Bishie

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2008

#416

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:25 PM Edited by Bishie, 18 June 2014 - 08:50 PM.

there is no 760 Ti, i think you wanted to say 780 Ti

crank that i7 to 4Ghz and change the video card to a Gtx 780 3GB

The GTX 680 is still a competent card. I'd be inclined to see how it fares prior to upgrading.


Tomson21
  • Tomson21

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2012

#417

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:37 PM

[email protected],4GHz

Asrock Z77 extreme4

GTX 280 -> soon 780

2x4GB

 

hey, what do you think 'bout that cpu? i guess there is no point for going to i7 or different i5, right?


utack
  • utack

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2014
  • None

#418

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:25 PM

What is the madness with people who all over sudden want to upgrade the GPU to one the same generation....

There is a smaller difference between Medium and Ultra, let alone High and Ultra, than people mostly think as well.


Mid Night Club
  • Mid Night Club

    The edgiest edgelord that ever edged.

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2014
  • None

#419

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:28 PM Edited by PorscheRacer01, 18 June 2014 - 09:31 PM.

I haven't built it yet; I got all of the components delivered yesterday.

My Going-to-be Rig -

Intel Core i7 4770K

Asus Maximus VII Hero

Corsair Dominator Platinum 16 GB DDR3 2133 MHz (4x4)

OCZ Vertex 3 120 GB SSD

Corsair H100i Water Cooler

Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 7200 RPM HDD

Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti Direct CU II 3 GB Vram

Asus PB278Q Monitor

Cooler Master 860W 80+ Platinum PSU

Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced Full Tower Chassis  

Windows 8.1 64/32 Bit Non-OEM

 

As soon as I get a promotion, I will buy one more of the same type of monitor. :)


Mid Night Club
  • Mid Night Club

    The edgiest edgelord that ever edged.

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2014
  • None

#420

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:38 PM

What is the madness with people who all over sudden want to upgrade the GPU to one the same generation....

There is a smaller difference between Medium and Ultra, let alone High and Ultra, than people mostly think as well.

I will have to disagree on your statement that the difference between medium and ultra is small. I have played several graphic intensive games and in each one of them, the difference between medium and ultra is noticeable and sometimes huge.


GPU: GTX 780 Ti

CPU: Xeon E3-1230v3

RAM: 16GB

 

Not very popular CPU but that's basically i7 4770 non K? If I remember right.. Not much difference.

Or at least many people said that when I asked online what should I get for my new rig.

I can't believe you went for a Xeon. 

  • SilverRST likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users