Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Grand Theft Auto V PC System Requirement Thread

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4,479 replies to this topic
TBone1977
  • TBone1977

    jokerpro69 pixelhunter97

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2013
  • None

#1

Posted 10 June 2014 - 10:50 AM

after the verdict of rockstar lets see whats next with the system requirement

  • viki_gta likes this

Vercetti42
  • Vercetti42

    I have moved to a new account.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 May 2013
  • India
  • Best Contributor [Gaming] 2012

#2

Posted 10 June 2014 - 10:54 AM

Judging by the amount of density and traffic I can easily say that the game won't support 2 GB RAM. It's going to be in the middle of Max Payne 3's and Watch Dogs' requirements for me. 

  • Meheraj7 likes this

DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#3

Posted 10 June 2014 - 10:56 AM

Judging by the amount of density and traffic I can easily say that the game won't support 2 GB RAM. It's going to be in the middle of Max Payne 3's and Watch Dogs' requirements for me. 

Maybe there will be an option to set density but it wasn't previous games :-/.


Vercetti42
  • Vercetti42

    I have moved to a new account.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 May 2013
  • India
  • Best Contributor [Gaming] 2012

#4

Posted 10 June 2014 - 10:57 AM

That feature was cool in IV. So yeah it could be but if you can run Max Payne 3 on high you would probably be able to run V on PC on at-least medium.

 

An option to lock FPS would also be nice.

  • ijustwannaplaygta likes this

Luismy_MMD
  • Luismy_MMD

    Modern Man Disease - Singer

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2013
  • None

#5

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:00 AM Edited by Luismy_MMD, 10 June 2014 - 11:01 AM.

My quick prediction:

 

Based on Max Payne 3 + a lil bit more

 

LOW RECOMMENDED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista/XP PC (32 or 64 bit)
Intel Dual Core 3GHz or AMD equivalent -> 3.2GHz or 3.0Ghz quad Core
3GB System RAM                                -> 4GB RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce 450 512MB RAM      -> 1GB DDR5 VRAM
or AMD Radeon™ HD 4870 512MB RAM

 

HIGH RECOMMENDED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista (32 or 64 bit)
Intel i7 Quad Core 2.8Ghz or AMD equivalent -> 3.5 GHz Quad Core
3GB System RAM                                      -> 6-8GB RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce 480 1GB RAM                -> GTX 660 / Radeon R9 270x
or AMD Radeon™ HD 5870 1GB RAM

  • TrustedInstaller likes this

PhillBellic
  • PhillBellic

    Capt. Phill Bellic. The New Aldernian Cop.

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2012
  • Australia

#6

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:01 AM

Could we get a fair idea of the PC specs by comparing the PS4/Xbone specs?

  • TrustedInstaller likes this

Rashka
  • Rashka

    Xerukal's lover. <3

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2008
  • Poland

#7

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:06 AM Edited by Rashka, 10 June 2014 - 11:07 AM.

I have a feeling reqs won't be as high as people imagine. I don't think Rockstar wants to repeat history after GTA IV bad port, after all we had a pretty epic, optimized, great looking Max Payne 3 and it was really an achievment that I was able to run it on my ATHLON x2 7750 (2.7GHZ), 4GB RAM and Radeon HD 6670(1GB) at HIGHEST(!) graphics settings with really good framerate, I'm expecting to run GTA V on at least medium settings on this rig. Yes I know Max Payne 3 wasn't an open world game but still, it was OVER-OPTIMIZED(if I can say that. :p) and I'm expecting the same optimization in GTA V.

  • PresidentKiller, lord sh...t-head, Kjaystar and 7 others like this

DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#8

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:11 AM

I have a feeling reqs won't be as high as people imagine. I don't think Rockstar wants to repeat history after GTA IV bad port, after all we had a pretty epic, optimized, great looking Max Payne 3 and it was really an achievment that I was able to run it on my ATHLON x2 7750 (2.7GHZ), 4GB RAM and Radeon HD 6670(1GB) at HIGHEST(!) graphics settings with really good framerate, I'm expecting to run GTA V on at least medium settings on this rig. Yes I know Max Payne 3 wasn't an open world game but still, it was OVER-OPTIMIZED(if I can say that. :p) and I'm expecting the same optimization in GTA V.

Agree, I think people are overestimating system requirements.


Andreas
  • Andreas

  • V Staff
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2014
    Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#9

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:12 AM Edited by Andreas, 10 June 2014 - 11:14 AM.

Watch Dogs isn't the best optimized PC game, as far as I'm concerned. I think V's system requirements will be fairly similar to the one of Max Payne 3, maybe a little higher since it's an openworld game. If you have no problems running Max Payne, you shouldn't have any problems running GTAV. Especially if you are able to run MP3 at middle settings.
  • Rashka and WATER DRAGON like this

Bonaldo
  • Bonaldo

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2013

#10

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:15 AM

I want to play it maxed out, so I hope they won't be too high

 

I think $1000 - $1300 PC should be more than enough to play it in max details + HD resolution


dimitrispgr
  • dimitrispgr

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008
  • None

#11

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:19 AM Edited by dimitrispgr, 10 June 2014 - 11:19 AM.

Its true that Max Payne was a good pc port but i dont think that has anything to do with V.

 

Huge requirements is what i expect, and not because of bad optimization but because of massive world with HD textures.


Rashka
  • Rashka

    Xerukal's lover. <3

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2008
  • Poland

#12

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:22 AM

Its true that Max Payne was a good pc port but i dont think that has anything to do with V.

The thing is, Max Payne 3 wasn't a port on PC and that's why it was so flawless. Pretty sure GTA V isn't a port as well.

  • PresidentKiller, Kjaystar, SilverRST and 1 other like this

Phillyboy
  • Phillyboy

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2008

#13

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:31 AM

I want to play it maxed out, so I hope they won't be too high

 

I think $1000 - $1300 PC should be more than enough to play it in max details + HD resolution

Hell yea! build it yourself though, i might spend $500 if i need to.  I upgraded for max payne 3/gta5 last year or so, i have 8gb of ram, ram costs next to nothing and its what it will need most i think. www.microdirect.co.uk is a good place to shop here


Pusman
  • Pusman

    P. Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2014
  • Basque-Country

#14

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:41 AM

Hi guys! first post here!

I'm just expecting a MP3 optimization level. I have an AMD 8320 + R9280x and I hope it'll run it at max settings with no probs.

 

Just like the Watch Dogs (ifyouknowwhatimean...)

  • MJ_Johnson likes this

sparky66
  • sparky66

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#15

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:44 AM

I don't expect the requirements to be as high as watch dogs, which is badly optimised and runs badly even on computers that should be able to easily handle the game on max settings. Probably not too far below though and I expect the optimisation to be perfect, given the amount of time they have and Max Payne's excellent pc version.
  • jonlordy and Meheraj7 like this

Lemans
  • Lemans

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2012

#16

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:50 AM

As soon as it's between MP3 and WD, I'm ok.

 

MP3 must be really, REALLY good optimized, because in the lowest settings, I was able to run it with a GTX 260 and 4Gb of RAM. If they repeat the good job with V, there should be no problems with V and a GTX 660.


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#17

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:55 AM

I'd say the system requirements would be around Max Payne 3 or Higher. Watch Dogs has pretty different requirements from the other PC games and people keep confusing both anyway. Lets have a look at Max Payne 3 specs:

LOWEST TESTED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista/XP PC (32 or 64 bit)
Intel Dual Core 2.4 GHZ or AMD Dual Core 2.6 GHZ, or better
2GB System RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce 8600 GT 512MB RAM
or AMD Radeon™ HD 3400 512MB RAM

LOW RECOMMENDED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista/XP PC (32 or 64 bit)
Intel Dual Core 3GHz or AMD equivalent
3GB System RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce 450 512MB RAM
or AMD Radeon™ HD 4870 512MB RAM

HIGH RECOMMENDED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista (32 or 64 bit)
Intel i7 Quad Core 2.8Ghz or AMD equivalent
3GB System RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce 480 1GB RAM
or AMD Radeon™ HD 5870 1GB RAM

HIGHEST TESTED SPECS
Windows 7/Vista (64 bit)
Intel i7 3930K 6 Core x 3.06 GHZ
or AMD FX8150 8 Core x 3.6 GHZ
16GB System RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 680 2GB RAM
or AMD Radeon™ HD 7970 3GB RAM

Other Requirements
HDD Space: 35 GB
Sound Card: 100% Direct X 9.0 compatible – Direct X 9.0 compatible supporting Dolby Digital Live.

I think we can make a rough estimation of having an additional RAM of 1GB and 2GB additional hard disk space for running the game with Windows 8/8.1 (Service Pack 1) or higher.
  • R3ZA likes this

T-ru
  • T-ru

    kamikadze

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2009

#18

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:02 PM

I think that requiments will be similar as Watch Dogs and probably the lowest dirextX will be 11, ATI doesn't support 3xxx and 4xxx series cards anymore (and probably Nvidia) so these cards even ati 5xxx will not be able to run the game, but something tells me that maybe because of xbox360 and ps3 directx 10 even 9 will be supported.

 

Also I doubt about 4gb ram and duo processors.


Xerukal
  • Xerukal

    Kind ol' Trev

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013
  • None

#19

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:03 PM

Max Payne 3 with some higher RAM and GPU requirements. That's about it, I'd say. 


EmperorTuro
  • EmperorTuro

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2014
  • United-States

#20

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:03 PM

I got a i5 4670k along with a GTX 670 2GB and 16GB of Ram. I knew this game was coming out on PC hence the ram space lol.

Sentrion
  • Sentrion

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • European-Union

#21

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:06 PM

I think that requiments will be similar as Watch Dogs and probably the lowest dirextX will be 11, ATI doesn't support 3xxx and 4xxx series cards anymore (and probably Nvidia) so these cards even ati 5xxx will not be able to run the game, but something tells me that maybe because of xbox360 and ps3 directx 10 even 9 will be supported.
 
Also I doubt about 4gb ram and duo processors.

Watch Dogs uses a quite different engine from GTA Rage series.

ocd
  • ocd

    Foot Fetishist

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2014
  • Sweden

#22

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:12 PM

I'm thinking about building a PC for GTA V, how much will it cost to build a computer that can run GTA V to start with?


Bonaldo
  • Bonaldo

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2013

#23

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:13 PM

Lol, they are crazy about i7

 

quad core i5 is enough to play ALL THE GAMES on full details

 

After i5, it's all about the graphics card

  • The GTA Guy, Määhhh, SilverRST and 4 others like this

KawakSallas
  • KawakSallas

    Kifflom

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2012
  • None

#24

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:17 PM

i5 and 660ti should do well

  • Määhhh likes this

T-ru
  • T-ru

    kamikadze

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2009

#25

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:22 PM

 

I think that requiments will be similar as Watch Dogs and probably the lowest dirextX will be 11, ATI doesn't support 3xxx and 4xxx series cards anymore (and probably Nvidia) so these cards even ati 5xxx will not be able to run the game, but something tells me that maybe because of xbox360 and ps3 directx 10 even 9 will be supported.
 
Also I doubt about 4gb ram and duo processors.

Watch Dogs uses a quite different engine from GTA Rage series.

 

Realy, how you know that...

I gave WD as example because this game started NG requiments.

Requiments for all games are almost similar, some engines are better optimized with a bit lower system requiments but the differences are not so large.

  • Kutta111 likes this

Bonaldo
  • Bonaldo

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2013

#26

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:27 PM

I wonder if PC version will be on DVD or Blu Ray?

  • Kutta111 likes this

Vicetopia
  • Vicetopia

    Factory Overclocked

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2003
  • United-States

#27

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:28 PM Edited by Vicetopia, 10 June 2014 - 12:28 PM.

The reqs could easily exceed Watch Dogs depending on how well Rockstar has optimized the game.

Yes, I know it's a generic term.

 

If GTA 5 is as bad of a port as GTA 4 was, it will run worse than Watch Dogs.  The good news is, they've had plenty of years to fix their stupid engine so maybe this time you won't need a super computer to keep solid frame rate.

 

It's still impossible to run GTA 4 at clean 60fps with max settings, by the way.

  • Marc79, ijustwannaplaygta and Kutta111 like this

Xerukal
  • Xerukal

    Kind ol' Trev

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013
  • None

#28

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:36 PM Edited by Xerukal, 10 June 2014 - 12:36 PM.

As far as I know, Rockstar Toronto worked on this one. Just like IV. Except this time, they had the people from Vancouver helping them, and Vancouver did Max Payne 3. Which was built from the ground up for the PC, with some great optimization and graphics options. 

 

I don't think It's too far fetched to say that the PC version was also built from the ground up, then ported to next-gen consoles. I severely doubt it's a port from PS3/360. 

  • SujitRB and Kutta111 like this

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    I know you've been complaining, but you weren't ready.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#29

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:36 PM

I'm quite sure the minimum RAM requirement will be 4 or more GB. The maximum settings should be near Watch Dogs' but probably not as exaggerated as I believe in R*s optimisation.

  • Kutta111 likes this

DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#30

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:37 PM

I wonder if PC version will be on DVD or Blu Ray?

DVD, 100% of new games for PC come out in DVD's.

  • Antaxi and Kutta111 like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users