Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

25 FPS on R9 290X...

6 replies to this topic
everett
  • everett

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2006

#1

Posted 03 June 2014 - 03:47 AM

I just changed my GTX 770 into R9 290X. On clear installation of GTA 4 I have got almost the same FPS count on both cards (about 70 fps). But on moded game (realism, lords textures, icehancer) it is a big problem: Below you can see the both devices benchmark compilation:

 

GTX 770:
min: 29, max: 57, avg: 42

 

R9 290X:
min: 15, max: 36, avg: 25

 

Could you tell me what is wrong? In every game there is a significant increase of fps, but not in GTA...

Can you help me?


Mr_Leone
  • Mr_Leone

    The Liberty City Experience

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2010

#2

Posted 03 June 2014 - 03:54 AM

There's a mod that reduces lag. It's a script edit. I'm on my phone and forget it but it supposedly works. Google it.

everett
  • everett

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2006

#3

Posted 03 June 2014 - 04:11 AM

Do you mean -nomemrestrict -norestrictions? I tied everything I could find but nothing works...


Marc79
  • Marc79

    Marecki

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011

#4

Posted 03 June 2014 - 10:22 PM Edited by Marc79, 03 June 2014 - 10:26 PM.

I had a GTX 770 for brief period (borrowed from friend), then I bought a 780 Ti classified, I didn't notice any improvement fps wise (both times absolute highest settings all sliders to 100 @1440p resolution).  You state that its the same for you around 70 fps for both cards which would make sense, as I didn't see any improvement whatsoever in my case, going from 770 to 780 ti.  But the benchmarks is kind of odd as it shows R9 290x performing worse than 770, but the benchmark tool is useless as its not indicative of actual game performance.  Btw 780Ti performs similar to R9 290x.


Alihunter
  • Alihunter

    Never meant to be so cold...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2012
  • Iran

#5

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:16 PM

Create a txt file in game root(where exe and folders of game located)

name it "commandline" without quetes.

Put these ines in it:

-norestrictions
-availablevidmem x   (X is amount of your GPU.e.g -availablevidmem 2.0 )
-percentvidmem 1.0
-noprecache
-nomemrestrict

cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008

#6

Posted 07 June 2014 - 03:36 AM

 

Create a txt file in game root(where exe and folders of game located)

name it "commandline" without quetes.

Put these ines in it:

-snip-

Yeah don't do this. All you really need is -nomemrestrict and -norestrictions.

 

Having -availablevidmem and -percentvidmem are completely redundant, and conflicting commands. Why tell the game twice how much video memory you have, but also tell it to not restrict the video memory?

 

-noprecache is just a sh*tty command to use. I mean if you only have 512MB of video memory or 2GB of RAM, go ahead and use it. But if it's 2014 and you have at least 4GB of RAM, or a 1GB graphics card you should be fine. Pre-chaching is necessary, and has the game store the models and textures so they can easily load when they come into view. Turn this off, and it has to load it from the HDD each time. It's completely useless if you're not playing GTA IV on your grandma's laptop.

  • TheAdmiester and BlackScout like this

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#7

Posted 14 June 2014 - 10:46 PM

op, this the regular gta iv installation forum. ask questions about mods in the modded game forum. you made it sound like you can't get vanilla gta iv to run on r9 290x over 25fps. and you probably got the settings cranked up to the maximum also...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users