Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to open an .idb file?

10 replies to this topic
arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#1

Posted 01 June 2014 - 06:11 PM

Hello, I need to find GTAIII HUD memory address and I need to view the EXE's code, so, how do I open the.idb file (The decompiled exe)?


K^2
  • K^2

    Vidi Vici Veni

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2004
  • United-States
  • Most Knowledgeable [Web Development/Programming] 2013
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2011
    Best Debater 2010

#2

Posted 01 June 2014 - 09:48 PM

It's an IDA disassembler file. So you'd normally open it with the IDA.


BnB
  • BnB

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2010
  • Saint-Vincent-and-the-Grenadines

#3

Posted 01 June 2014 - 09:48 PM

IDA I believe.


arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#4

Posted 02 June 2014 - 06:31 AM

I tried, and I opened it, but where do I find the address I need?


Sentrion
  • Sentrion

    Midnight Wanderer

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 02 June 2014 - 07:02 AM

Try the IDB editors from here.

arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#6

Posted 02 June 2014 - 07:05 AM Edited by Doc 1985, 02 June 2014 - 07:06 AM.

Thanks. I tried to open the .idb file, but the Demo version of IDA does't open old databases (I assume that is old because it's from 2004/2005), so I tried to open the exe, but I didn't found the HUD memory addresses....

 

EDIT: Your link only brought me to GTA SA.IDB...


Deji
  • Deji

    Coding like a Rockstar!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2007
  • None

#7

Posted 03 June 2014 - 11:24 AM

Thanks. I tried to open the .idb file, but the Demo version of IDA does't open old databases (I assume that is old because it's from 2004/2005), so I tried to open the exe, but I didn't found the HUD memory addresses....

 

EDIT: Your link only brought me to GTA SA.IDB...

 

Yes, those IDB's were created using an older version of IDA, so you need to acquire an older version.

 

To find an address, just press "G" (go to...) and enter the address in hex (without the 0x prefix).


arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#8

Posted 03 June 2014 - 12:19 PM

I don't know the address at all, that's what I need to discover...


Deji
  • Deji

    Coding like a Rockstar!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2007
  • None

#9

Posted 03 June 2014 - 02:26 PM Edited by Deji, 03 June 2014 - 02:28 PM.

EDIT: ugh... this piece of crap editor lost my entire (lengthy) 'basic' guide... please wait while I attempt to re-gather my patience and finally bother to work on an actual tutorial.


arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#10

Posted 03 June 2014 - 02:39 PM

Ok :)


arvark
  • arvark

    Oh yes, we'll keep on trying.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2013
  • Italy

#11

Posted 04 June 2014 - 05:34 PM

EDIT: I opened the GTA 3.EXE, I put all the files in a txt file, 192MB heavy!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users