Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTAF Social Lounge

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
37,122 replies to this topic
Sir Michael
  • Sir Michael

    Meep Meep.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2013
  • United-States

#37111

Posted 02 March 2015 - 12:23 AM Edited by Sir Michael, 02 March 2015 - 12:23 AM.

Well, it might be time to turn the 360 back on since Tomb Raider is free this month, alongside BioShock Infinite. I gotta say that this is a really strong month for Games with Gold since I never played any of those games yet, and they were both apparently really good. This still doesn't stack with PSN's free game system though. ;o
  • Boss 1992 likes this

SWEETSAPRIK
  • SWEETSAPRIK

    Pяopagaиda Iиc.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Unknown
  • Sourest Member

#37112

Posted 02 March 2015 - 01:46 AM

I have TWC, and I hate it, but where I live it is basically the best option. :(

4181621254.png

 

There's one higher plan with faster DL, but the DL is already more than I really need, if I needed anything it'd be more up, and there isn't any. :(

  • Xyn, RavingWithJesus and Aby like this

Aby
  • Aby

    ★ Sexualizer ★

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2014
  • Cuba
  • Biggest Like Whore 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Best New Member 2013

#37113

Posted 02 March 2015 - 01:55 AM

Well, it might be time to turn the 360 back on since Tomb Raider is free this month, alongside BioShock Infinite. I gotta say that this is a really strong month for Games with Gold since I never played any of those games yet, and they were both apparently really good. This still doesn't stack with PSN's free game system though. ;o

 

I got TR for my Xbox One, but I want to play it on 360 now too for the multiplayer, since it will probably be active again due to the game being free.  I was a beast at it, pretty sure I had prestiged too.

 

I have TWC, and I hate it, but where I live it is basically the best option. :(

4181621254.png

 

There's one higher plan with faster DL, but the DL is already more than I really need, if I needed anything it'd be more up, and there isn't any. : (

 

The little subtle smiley face at the end of this post makes it sadder than others.

  • SWEETSAPRIK, Xyn and Obviously like this

CrysisAverted
  • CrysisAverted

    Formerly Sh4d0wX32111

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • None
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#37114

Posted 03 March 2015 - 02:43 AM

f*cking TWC, my Modem supports 100+ mbps and they are only letting me hit 54mbps.

I don't know if 100mbps down is worth shelling out extra cash for another modem since 54mbps seems pretty decent as it is...


Sugar Free Nos
  • Sugar Free Nos

    I'm the best Scrub

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2013
  • United-States
  • Best Scrub 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#37115

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:43 PM

I get 65 down and around 4 up over here. Just remember that the Speedtests are in Mb (Megabit) not MB (Megabyte), so to get what your speeds are in MB, just multiply by .125. So since I get 65 Mb down, I get around 7-8 MB download. It's not too slow by any means, but larger games will still end up taking hours. Not looking forward to DLing GTA V when (if) it comes to PC.

 

As for Tomb Raider, I just finished it on PC not 10 minutes ago. It was alright. Lots of explosions, Lara falling from heights that would kill even the toughest of men, that sort of thing. It's super linear, so don't expect to be doing much roaming around, other than in the tombs that are off to the side of the path. I finished it in around 8 hours. After you finish you can keep playing and finish the optional stuff, but I really didn't feel like doing that since the game was pretty "meh" anyways.

 

Fun fact, if you happen to be a fan of TellTale's The Walking Dead, the voice actor for Kenny plays some of the random enemies that roam around and talk, so it made me a sad to kill him over and over since I liked him in TWD. 

  • SWEETSAPRIK, AlienTwo and Boss 1992 like this

AlienTwo
  • AlienTwo

    Go then, there are other worlds than these.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • United-States
  • Best Poster [Gen Chat] 2014
    Second Best Alien

#37116

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:46 PM

Interesting, I never really knew the difference between the megabit and byte.  Good knowledge drop, Nos...


Sugar Free Nos
  • Sugar Free Nos

    I'm the best Scrub

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2013
  • United-States
  • Best Scrub 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#37117

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:48 PM

Interesting, I never really knew the difference between the megabit and byte.  Good knowledge drop, Nos...

 

I only learned from reading reddit, lol. I would have been oblivious too. As I understand it they do that to essentially mislead people. 

  • AlienTwo likes this

Boss 1992
  • Boss 1992

    aka gnad

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2014
  • Brazil
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#37118

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:51 PM

I didn't know either. Thanks for the info.

My DL speed is 1~1.3 mbps, so a 50GB file would take ~14h to download. I'm happy with that, because I remember the good old 56kbps dial up connection :p

I still remember the day I got 256kbps ADSL.

Happy days...
  • SWEETSAPRIK and AlienTwo like this

Sugar Free Nos
  • Sugar Free Nos

    I'm the best Scrub

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2013
  • United-States
  • Best Scrub 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#37119

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:56 PM

I didn't know either. Thanks for the info.

My DL speed is 1~1.3 mbps, so a 50GB file would take ~14h to download. I'm happy with that, because I remember the good old 56kbps dial up connection :p

I still remember the day I got 256kbps ADSL.

Happy days...

 

Yeah, a couple of my friends have terrible internet and I couldn't imagine living with really anything that was substantially less that what I have now. Must be terrible.


SWEETSAPRIK
  • SWEETSAPRIK

    Pяopagaиda Iиc.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Unknown
  • Sourest Member

#37120

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:57 PM Edited by Sweets, 03 March 2015 - 09:00 PM.

-bit    vs  -byte
1000  vs 1024
(edit) Added dashes since I mean as suffixes obviously.
 
Same applies for kilo, mega, etc., etc.
 
Also you can just change the dropdown on speedtest if you want to see it display in KB (KiB) instead of kB, or Mbyte instead of Mbit.
 
Also the difference between them aren't to mislead people, they're just how it works. Why ISPs use Mbits instead of Mbytes on the otherhand...

  • ¥en likes this

¥en
  • ¥en

    Get Cage'd

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2014
  • Australia
  • Best New Member 2014

#37121

Posted 03 March 2015 - 08:59 PM

 

 

I only learned from reading reddit, lol. I would have been oblivious too. As I understand it they do that to essentially mislead people. 

 

 

It's not done to mislead people at all.

 

Bits are simply far more accurate for measuring network speed for a whole host of reasons.

  • SWEETSAPRIK likes this

Sugar Free Nos
  • Sugar Free Nos

    I'm the best Scrub

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2013
  • United-States
  • Best Scrub 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#37122

Posted 03 March 2015 - 09:00 PM

Why ISPs use Mbits instead of Mbytes on the otherhand...

 

That's what I meant, not that the units of measurements themselves were misleading.


Moonshield
  • Moonshield

    mountaineer

  • Administrator
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2002
  • Mongolia
  • Best Senior Moderator 2013
    Best OGA Member 2014

#37123

Posted 03 March 2015 - 09:05 PM

Closed for maintenance. Please stand by.

 

openstack-maintenance.jpg

 

New Topic

  • FRAIZER, Andreas, Nuka and 5 others like this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users