Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

HDMI to RCA

14 replies to this topic
uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#1

Posted 22 March 2014 - 03:11 PM

I've found a cheap hdmi to rca cable (7€), what I'm wondering is, if the quality I can get from it, would be worth upgrading from the current rca to rca cable I'm using to capture console gameplay. 

 

The capture device allows for capturing rca and s-video input, would it make much of a different if use the hdmi to rca instead?


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#2

Posted 22 March 2014 - 09:28 PM

I don't think so, but the concept of HDMI to RCA is a little foreign to me. I reckon, if it even worked, you'd be dealing with the same quality.

I think you'd be better suited investing in an HD capturing solution.

Francis Underwood
  • Francis Underwood

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#3

Posted 23 March 2014 - 04:16 AM

Yes there are such converters, but probably it is just as easy to get a player that has composite A/V out or S video. The cable alone will not work. Don't be fooled by the all in one cables, all they are is one end to another end, they do not convert the signal.


uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#4

Posted 23 March 2014 - 10:42 AM

I've searched for similar cables and it relies on the device, basically if the device you're using converts the signal you're good to use the cable alone, if not you need a converter between. 

 

Is still cheaper than upgrading all the way, but for the output you get, it's not worth the hassle. 


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#5

Posted 23 March 2014 - 10:36 PM

Like, literally no upgrade in quality. Arguably less quality than S-video to S-video.

What are you recording? There are plenty of other options.


Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#6

Posted 24 March 2014 - 01:38 PM

A device for basically converting digital TV signals to analog exists, it sounds like a switching box similarity

HDMi is HiDef Multimedia Interface, DVI is Digital Video Interface, and Display Port is an alternative that others beside Apple support, but they were first to embrace it. Display Port handles digital audio in multichannel, as does HDMI, all the other video connections are video only.

 

RCA defines a type of connector, not really any standard since RCA can carry solely audio connections to receivers, Pre-Amps, Power Amps, etc.. Even RCA cable in car stereo setups.

  • uNi likes this

Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#7

Posted 24 March 2014 - 04:29 PM

Yeah what he said. I think. I think he just transcribed the back of a Chinese hdmi cable's packaging.
  • GTA3Rockstar and epoxi like this

GTA3Rockstar
  • GTA3Rockstar

    --------------------

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2002
  • United-States

#8

Posted 27 March 2014 - 09:50 PM

I would assume he is talking about these:

 

87805d1385040929-ho-bisogno-di-un-cavo-h

HDMI to RCA


uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#9

Posted 27 March 2014 - 11:31 PM

@GTA3Rockstar, yep.

 

@Otter, 360's gameplay. I use a external capture devices that only inputs component or s-video. So the questions was if this would help increased the captured quality, as it doesn't convert the signal, it's a dead end. The idea was, since I already have this one, spend just more 10 bucks and upgrade a bit, without spending at least 100€ on a HD capture device. 

 

I've also looked at the Xbox 360 Component HD AV Cable, now this should make a noticeable different, again without going all the way. If I can find one cheap enough I might try it out.

 

Note: This is only used to record some videos once in a while from GTA Online and whatnot, when playing with gtaf's dudes, so nothing fancy, so that's why I don't want to spend the big bucks.


Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#10

Posted 29 March 2014 - 09:24 PM Edited by Slamman, 29 March 2014 - 09:28 PM.

HDMI to RCA AV composite would look pretty bad, if it even worked. I bought a conversion cable that seemed manufactured poorly and didn't work at all like expected. Just be weary of such things if you can't return them

 

Microcenter sells a capture in HD box for around $100 USD, I think it's still too spendy though. But it should do what most people are looking for in capturing gameplay for upload videos, etc.

 

Uni, if you've never used the XB360 component HD cable (not the HD-VGA), I can relate it works just as good as HDMI in my opinion. I'm pleased with the signals I've gotten from it. It also frees up any HDMI input you might wanna use for something else.


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#11

Posted 30 March 2014 - 02:10 AM

Uni, you say it (your capture device) accepts component but I think you mean composite - in which case the component cables will not work for you.

 

EDIT -

 

if you've got one like this:

http://www.staples.c...CFVKDfgodKh8Anw

 

...then despite listing "High Definition" it's blowing smoke up your ass. S-video doesn't support HD.


uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#12

Posted 02 April 2014 - 07:40 PM

It has both actually:

 

vC13qa2.jpg


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#13

Posted 02 April 2014 - 07:53 PM

Ah. That's composite, not component. Regardless: at SD, component won't net you any better than S-Video.


uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#14

Posted 02 April 2014 - 07:57 PM

Meh, time to stop going MacGyver on this then. 


Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#15

Posted 02 April 2014 - 08:10 PM Edited by Stinky12, 02 April 2014 - 08:35 PM.

Majority of these direct converter cables do not work because there is no way two different types of connectors can share the same signal type.

I've tried a VGA to RCA, knowing the wire setup is different for VGA and RCA, as expected it does not work. Luckily I got it for free, it cames with some component I bought a while back.

These sell at a cheap price, so people will probably not bother on returning it.

To get it to work, it needs a converter box, can they cost way more than those cables. With that it's best to use have both devices use the same type of connector.

Between components (red, green, blue) vs composite (red, white, yellow). Component will have a better quailty.

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16815116084

  • uNi likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users