Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Censored version of GTA ?

35 replies to this topic
Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#1

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:41 PM Edited by Spadge007, 21 March 2014 - 09:41 PM.

Hey folks !

 

I recently buyed GTA III to have some nice hard support with map etc. The game works fine but I found one or two little discrepances, or issues in the gameplay.

 

Here is a video to take an example.

 

http://www.youtube.c...st=HL1395436308

 

Skip to 1 : 55. You can see claude hitting the hooker with a bat and we see blood effects.

 

In my GTA III version, those blood effects does not show, and I'm not able to hit people which are already lying on the floor. I can hit them regulary when they walk or stand, but I can't finish them, when they're lying on tha pavement, I have to wait that my victims stand up again to hit them with the bat. Otherwise, my charachter just punches air, like there was no pedestrian lying there. You can clearly see that in this video, Claude hits the hooker, which lies consciensness/dead on the ground.

 

What is the problem with my GTA version ? I got the european/british version, however there's written the "18" rating, so it shouldn't be censured.

 

However this problem isn't unknown to me. I had similar gameplay issues on GTA San Andreas, but I found out that the german version was censured with a 16 rating, and getting a 18 rated game helped.

 

Neverless, my GTA version here is rated 18, so I don't know where those gameplay prblems come from.

 

Hope you can help me,

Greets,

Spadge.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#2

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:44 PM

Well, the description of the contents of your game completely matches that of the German Version of GTA III, which is censored to stop certain aspects of the gameplay (Kicking people who are on the floor, blood from injuries etc.)

Where did you get the game from?
What platform do you play it on?

Also, I've moved this topic to the correct troubleshooting forum, where it should have been posted :^:
  • Spadge007 likes this

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#3

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:57 PM Edited by Spadge007, 21 March 2014 - 10:00 PM.

I got the game from Ebay, a british top-seller. The thing that irritates me, is that in the german version of San Andreas, the rating reads "16" and the instructions on the cover are german. When I switched to a french version, which indicated a 18 rating, I was able to punch pederstriands which already lied on the ground and kick car's roofs etc.

 

My GTA III features the british cover art : 1395438579-gta-3-uk-art.jpg

 

 

On my GTA III game, the informations, also on the back are in english, and as seen in the picture, it clearly features the 18 rating. So why the ... am I having this issues ? It already drove me crazy as I purchased San Andreas (luckily my new version wasn't messed up)

 

For vice city I have the collector edition, clearly NOT german, but english. I tried to punch pedestrians there only with fist and he didn't give 'em real punches with his foot like in San Andreas, but to be honest, I don't really remember if the foot-punch-for-pedestrians-on-the-ground-if-u-equip-fist-only was already implemented in Vice.*

 

I guess you're british too, what version you have ?

 

EDIT : Thanks fore moving the topic, I'm playing it on PC.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#4

Posted 21 March 2014 - 10:04 PM

Well, eBay sellers have been known in the past to be a little bit 'fake' regarding the information they give. What does the physical disc look like?
Also, as I have already asked previously, what do you play the game on (PS2, PC, Xbox etc.)?

I have many copies of this game, all, to my knowledge, are British. I have never experienced any of these "Issues" throughout the duration of playing this game.

Wolf247
  • Wolf247

    Writer

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2013
  • Serbia

#5

Posted 21 March 2014 - 10:09 PM

Hey folks !

 

I recently buyed GTA III to have some nice hard support with map etc. The game works fine but I found one or two little discrepances, or issues in the gameplay.

 

Here is a video to take an example.

 

http://www.youtube.c...st=HL1395436308

 

Skip to 1 : 55. You can see claude hitting the hooker with a bat and we see blood effects.

 

In my GTA III version, those blood effects does not show, and I'm not able to hit people which are already lying on the floor. I can hit them regulary when they walk or stand, but I can't finish them, when they're lying on tha pavement, I have to wait that my victims stand up again to hit them with the bat. Otherwise, my charachter just punches air, like there was no pedestrian lying there. You can clearly see that in this video, Claude hits the hooker, which lies consciensness/dead on the ground.

 

What is the problem with my GTA version ? I got the european/british version, however there's written the "18" rating, so it shouldn't be censured.

 

However this problem isn't unknown to me. I had similar gameplay issues on GTA San Andreas, but I found out that the german version was censured with a 16 rating, and getting a 18 rated game helped.

 

Neverless, my GTA version here is rated 18, so I don't know where those gameplay prblems come from.

 

Hope you can help me,

Greets,

Spadge.

Hmm, I don't know. Maybe find a patch to fix this? That's the best solution.


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 21 March 2014 - 10:11 PM

Gta-3-Pc.jpg

 

 

I edited my post and gave you the platform type etc.

 

My disc looks like this, install disk same motives, only in negative.  A difference is the 18 rating, which not figure on every CD? but they do on mines. Their from the BBFC, so british, aren't they ?


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#7

Posted 21 March 2014 - 10:18 PM

Try updating to Patch 1.1 (If you aren't already on 1.1): http://www.rockstarg...#/?collection=9

Have you tried anything already to try and get this to work?

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#8

Posted 21 March 2014 - 11:45 PM

I succesfully installed th patch, but no change, except the little 1.1 writing on the upper left.

 

It's a mistery to me, 18 BBFC rating and still those censures. Maybe I need a "PEGI" rated game ? On some covers there ins't a BBFC rating, but a simple "m" for mature rating.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#9

Posted 21 March 2014 - 11:50 PM

I'm not actually quite sure then, this is very mysterious indeed. I don't think the BBFC rating has anything to do with the problem in hand, as the copy I have in front of me (though it is a PS2 copy) has the BBFC rating with no issues at all.

The only thing I can think of at the moment is if somebody has tampered around with the disc files, or if there is something on your PC affecting this.

 

Would it be easy for you to just sell that copy and buy another one to see if the problem still persists?


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#10

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:03 AM Edited by Spadge007, 22 March 2014 - 12:08 AM.

Yes, I will see. Can't imagine that someone played with the disc files, since their protected, and the gae is freshly installed.

 

Thanks a lot for your help, I will see how I proceed, first I will test Vice City, if I have the same problem.

 

EDIT : Since I had this issue at the very first GTA game I played, I think I'm hautend or smthing ^^'

 

No srsly, buying a copy from a different kind helped with San Andreas, let's hope it will work out on III to.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#11

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:06 AM

I have known a person who somehow had an edited copy of GTA III Version 1.1, though, I'm not completely sure whether their copy was on a disc or a downloaded copy (probably downloaded).

 

You're Welcome for the help, I hope all is fine with Vice City :^:


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#12

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:11 AM Edited by Spadge007, 22 March 2014 - 12:11 AM.

I'll let you know. 

 

Is it possible to punch pedestrians on the ground with simple fists, or do I need some tools for that ? I do not remember for Vice.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#13

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:17 AM Edited by GTAKid667, 22 March 2014 - 12:24 AM.

When pedestrians are laying down injured on the ground, pressing the attack button will only command Claude to kick them, not punch them with fists (like some of the later GTA Games).
The only way you will be able to do this, is if you a can find a modification or tool that can do this, as far as I am aware.
 
This section of the forum is for unmodded GTA III only so if you want some addition help with modifying GTA III, go down to GTAGarage or the GTA 3 Era Modding Section to find something, or you can alternatively request for a modification like this to be made in one of the Request topics in the linked GTA 3 Era Modding Section, and then somebody may make one for you.

EDIT : Since I had this issue at the very first GTA game I played, I think I'm hautend or smthing ^^'
 
No srsly, buying a copy from a different kind helped with San Andreas, let's hope it will work out on III to.

I missed this edit (and the one in the first post) as I seem to visit the topic and respond too quickly.
I don't think you are haunted, everybody has had problems in the past with their games, as you can see from the Troubleshooting Forum which this topic is in. If you got San Andreas from the same place, it may have had something to do with everything the eBay author had, in that it works for him (or may not, he may not want to mention it) but not for some other selective people.
Either way, as I mentioned above, I hope things work out if you buy another copy of III.

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#14

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:04 PM Edited by GTAKid667, 22 March 2014 - 01:09 PM.

I tested Vice City, guess what : same sh*t -_-'

 

On my computer it even freezes at the very beginning. I first tested the game, and there were some weird graphic bugs (probabmy becaus of my AMD beta drivers). Anyway, tested in n my other PC, it worked there.

 

However, no blood effects, no special attacks for the people on the ground etc. The CD indicated an 18 rating. I will have to write to the seller.

 

PS : Can you send a Vice City save to me, if you have it on PC ? It just freezes at the beginning of the cutscene, if I instanlty skip to a later save, wit no cutscene, it might work.

 

Any more tips for me, I'm a bit lost right now, and annoyed.

 

EDIT :  take a look at this  *


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#15

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:19 PM

That doesn't sound pretty bad to be honest :/

For now, I'd just try writing to the seller, to see if they know anything about these issues, and if they can help you out regarding the issue.

 

Here is a save file for GTA Vice City I uploaded, I haven't played VC on PC for a long time so I just chose an old file at random.


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#16

Posted 22 March 2014 - 01:01 PM Edited by Spadge007, 22 March 2014 - 01:08 PM.

Thank you. I'm still having issues. Probably my AMD drivers.

 

However, did you klicked my link, there's some interesting info there.

 

You know, I had the same issue for GTA San Andreas, where purchasing the french "Just for games" version helped, no more censorship. Blood, punching lying pedestrians etc. all works. It features a PEGI 18 rating, and not a BBFC 18 rating. This just for gamers also have GTA III, 5 euro. Exaclty the same distributor as for San Andreas, it should work there. Imma purchase it there,

 

I let you know how it does.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#17

Posted 22 March 2014 - 01:09 PM

Your link was an edit, so I missed it again, unfortunately. I just checked the link and while it may help you with your cause, any form of Piracy, No-CD Cracks etc. is not allowed to be discussed on these forums, so I had to remove the link from your post.

I've never heard of/seen the French 'Just for Games' versions, but I hope that they help you fix this rather strange problem, if not, it could have something to do with your PC, and not the game(s).


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#18

Posted 22 March 2014 - 01:50 PM

I assure you, I tried the game on different PCs, and this censorship was on 2 computers. In addition to that, San Andreas works perfectly on my PC right now, with the just for games (no censorship) edition, so let's hope it does the same on GTA 3.

  • GTAKid667 likes this

Andreaz1
  • Andreaz1

    Anything 80's

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2010
  • Sweden
  • Helpfulness Award

#19

Posted 22 March 2014 - 05:05 PM

So what languiage did you install it in? If you choose German it's going to be censored no matter where the disc is from.

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#20

Posted 23 March 2014 - 12:41 AM

I tried to install it multiple times. Sometimes english, sometimes german. And I don't think this will be a difference.

 

May be a prblem bcuz my PC is german from base ?


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#21

Posted 23 March 2014 - 09:27 AM

Maybe that does have something to do with it.

As Andreaz1 correctly said, if you install the game in German (or in the case of a PS2 have your console set to German) then the game will be censored. Though, I wouldn't completely blame this as the source of your problem if you managed to get another game working after buying a different version of it.


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#22

Posted 23 March 2014 - 10:28 PM Edited by Spadge007, 23 March 2014 - 10:29 PM.

So yeah, that's the annoying thing. I don't know if it's because of my PC being "german". However I should test it with my friend's computer, which is french. So may there be a conflict between the CD and the computer ? :O

 

The thing is, I installed San Andres on my old PC, which was also set on german, and it worked too. So I think it's the "just for games" version that helped. I think I'm gonna install just for games San Andreas on another PC, which is german, and execute the installation in german, to see what happen.

 

 

EDIT : Why is this so complicated anyway xD


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#23

Posted 23 March 2014 - 10:36 PM

I completely agree, some people will have no problems at all, and then others will have problems are too damn complicated to fix! But, I guess thats how life is.

If I were you, I'd definitely try the CD in your friends computer, as this will give you the clearest indication of whether the problem is with your game or with your PC.

Good luck with your GTA SA installation test, I'm not quite sure what is censored on the german version of that game (if there is censored content in the first place) but I'd just assume it was the same.

inadequate
  • inadequate

    Midnight Emulator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
  • France

#24

Posted 24 March 2014 - 01:06 AM Edited by GTAKid667, 24 March 2014 - 08:27 AM.

Well, I look your problem and ******************** I hope works.


GTAKid667
  • GTAKid667

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 May 2010
  • United-Kingdom
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Contribution Award [GTA III]

#25

Posted 24 March 2014 - 08:28 AM

Well, I look your problem and ******************** I hope works.

Piracy discussion is not accepted on this forum, please do not post like that again in future.


Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#26

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:10 PM Edited by Spadge007, 24 March 2014 - 12:14 PM.

On the german version picking up money from the passants was impossible, aswell as punching ppl, cars roof and blood effects. On the just for games version it works perfectly now. So I think it's rather the CD than the PC. However, I'm gonna test my censored GTA III and Vice version with my friends french PC. In good old france there's nothing censored.

 

If I continue having problems with further versions, I'mma write to Rockstar. 

 

 

EDIT ; I can judge myself happy, that those GTA issues are one of my rare problems. You know, if only that inquires me, I probably have a nice existence ^^


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#27

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:33 PM Edited by Silent, 24 March 2014 - 12:38 PM.

Piracy discussion is not accepted on this forum, please do not post like that again in future.


Well yeah, but in his case I think using 'this' is perfectly legit. He owns an original game anyway.

EDIT:
Are your regional settings set to the UK?

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#28

Posted 24 March 2014 - 03:07 PM

No, it's set to german. But like I said, San Andreas is not censored, doesn't matter what PC and what setting, so I doubt this really work.

 

Where can I access those settings ? I wanna make sure.


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#29

Posted 24 March 2014 - 04:10 PM

No, it's set to german. But like I said, San Andreas is not censored, doesn't matter what PC and what setting, so I doubt this really work.


That's because afaik SA doesn't toggle censorships basing on chosen language nor regional settings.

I'm not sure what OS you're at, so:
http://windows.micro...-region-setting
  • Spadge007 likes this

Spadge007
  • Spadge007

    Low-rider

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#30

Posted 24 March 2014 - 05:51 PM

Oh okay, that's a precious information. Thank you. I will try this then.

 

I have windows 7, to what country should I set it ?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users