Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

DYOM Tricks (Old and New)

17 replies to this topic
Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#1

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:01 PM Edited by Chips237, 11 March 2014 - 12:06 PM.

This is a topic requested by a few members at The Designers Lounge.

Post what tricks you have, they'll be added here if they're worth it.

 

Old topic: http://gtaforums.com...79-dyom-tricks/

 

The Tricks

 

Using the train

 
So you wanna do missions involving the train, but DYOM doesn't allow you to make routes with the train/ in the menu?
No big deal! You can use the train that circles SA and spawns before train stations.
 
1. Make a teleport objective somewhere you can jump on the train.
2. Tell the player to wait for the train with using Timeout.
3. Make an invisible checkpoint somewhere on the tracks, preferrably a large one.
4. Make cutscenes, objectives etc...
 
The bad sides to this trick are these though:
1. You have to wait for the train, which can take a lot of time sometimes.
2. Worse is that the player can be slided off the train at the tunnel openings, and because there are a lot of them, only open areas can be used for this. This can be avoided though, if a Freighter train spawns.
 
This trick also works for the tram in San Fierro.
 
 
Lazy DYOMer's car route
 
If you're too lazy to make an entire route just for a cutscene that shows a car moving in one direction, do this:
1. Set the player in the general direction you want the car to go.
2. Add the car and actor, set the actor's driver behaviour to Attack Player or Follow player behind.
3. Make a cutscene.
 
Watch out for this though: the driver has the aggressive driver behaviour this way, so you won't be able to make long cutscenes, because the driver will just crash.
 
Passenger shooting (by Notna) (OUTDATED, NO LONGER NECESSARY)
 
You want to make a shootout in a moving car, shooting as the passenger? Well, that's possible.
 
1. Spawn a car, recommended to be a Bobcat.
2. Spawn the driving actor and add his/her route point.
3. Spawn the player with a weapon on Bobcat's platform.
4. Add the enemy cars and actors.
 
Voila'.
 
Burnout (POSSIBLY OUTDATED)
 
If you wanna make a cool cutscene showing an actor doing a burnout, do this:
1. Set the car and the actor with a driving route.
2. Place a small object inside the car, so it can't move.
 
There ya have it!
 
 
Camera (by GTAIndonesia)
 
It's easy
if we have a role of a famous person, and want people to take a picture of you do this
 
1.Make an enemy actor
2.Equip him with camera
3.Hold and Direct
4.And what you get is a guy 'shooting' you.
 
 
Scroll through actors easily
 
It's simple
 
1.choose the actor which you want again.
2.select edit actors and editing must come.
3.come back to CJ by pressing f key.
4.select add actor and Voila, you get the actor which you wanted to add. simple
 
 
Gangs spawn on the streets 
 
Normally gangs don't spawn in DYOM, but here's a trick I learned from Secronom President to do that.
1. Start a savegame that has gangs in it. Take note that it does depend which savegame it is, etc if you start a savegame which only has Grove Street spawning in Los Santos, then it will transfer to DYOM, too, when one after "Green Sabre" is used, the Ballas will spawn there. You can even use a savegame that has gangs spawning all across San Andreas.
2. Start a DYOM mission.
 
There you go, gangs spawn on the streets.
 
 
Dialogue without Timeout (by Nitesh)
 
This is a way to have dialogue between characters and still have an objective marker on the radar.
 
1. Add a car objective, set its health to 100 and turn option 'Must Destroy' on.
2. Choose a marker and add the conversation dialogue as the objective description.
3. Keep doing this around the area where you put your checkpoint objective until you finish the dialogue.
4. Finally, set your checkpoint objective, use the same marker though.
 
When a car's health is at 100, it will explode shortly after spawning and after that, a new one will spawn.
 
 
Weapons have limited ammo (by Yorpie) (OUTDATED, NO LONGER NECESSARY)
 
1. Spawn an actor, set his/her weapon and use the 'die' animation
2. The weapon dropped by the actor will have limited ammo.
 
 
Actor stops doing animation in cutscene (suggested by AnDReJ98)
 
This is an old trick that stops actor from doing animation. This could be useful since actor can't switch between animations. 
1. Set player position out of (or if you want player in cutscene, then in) scene.
2. Make enemy actor doing an animation in position to see player.
3. Make cutscene
After you test, you will see actor stops doing his animation after 2-3 seconds. This trick adds on realism.
 
Riding in a Chopper (not inside the seat) (suggested by Chips237)
 
Some of the missions in GTA: SA had these features, albeit it was the actors shooting from the chopper.
You can easily do this in DYOM, with both the player and the actors.
 
1. Add a helicopter that has those thick supports, such as the Cargobob or the Sea Sparrow.
2. Add a ramp below the chopper.
3. Place the actor(s) or the player in either sides of the supports.
4. When you are done, remove the ramp.
(The most important part) 5. Add a small object inside the helicopter.
6. Add the pilot, set it's route directly above the chopper.
7. If you did all things correctly, the player or the actor(s) should stand on the supports.
 
NOTE: This does not work if the helicopter is supposed to move.
 
Other Helpful Tips
- Gangs also spawn in the street if you play as CJ.
  • Martin_GDF likes this

AnDReJ98
  • AnDReJ98

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2011
  • Serbia

#2

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:38 PM Edited by AnDReJ98, 05 March 2014 - 03:50 PM.

Come on people, share your skills and tricks here and they will be added to the main post, you will be credited and by your help, designers will learn how to make better missions.

 

P.S: Gangs spawn on the street is not outdated. It still works well.

 

P.S 2: Trick 'Actor stops doing animation in cutscene'

 

This is an old trick that stops actor from doing animation. This could be useful since actor can't switch between animations. 

1. Set player position out of (or if you want player in cutscene, then in) scene.

2. Make enemy actor doing an animation in position to see player.

3. Make cutscene

After you test, you will see actor stops doing his animation after 2-3 seconds. This trick adds on realism.

 

Will come up with more of them later.

  • Platinum Card likes this

The Odyssey
  • The Odyssey

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2012
  • Australia

#3

Posted 06 March 2014 - 08:01 AM

Gangs also spawn in the street if you play as CJ. 


Martin_GDF
  • Martin_GDF

    Schizophrenic Bastard

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013

#4

Posted 10 March 2014 - 08:45 PM

Well... these are lot of good tricks. But I think the most of these are able to do with DYOM's new versions :p


AnDReJ98
  • AnDReJ98

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2011
  • Serbia

#5

Posted 10 March 2014 - 09:28 PM

I don't think so. Only limited ammo is outdated and maybe scrolling through actors, since now we have 'G' and 'H' as fast browsing actors, animations and objects.

  • Martin_GDF likes this

Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#6

Posted 11 March 2014 - 12:05 PM Edited by Chips237, 11 March 2014 - 12:05 PM.

It's not outdated, it's no longer necessary as there are new features that can easily replace them.

 

I found another trick used long ago (by Zizo with my help) - still works if used properly.

 

Riding in a Chopper (not inside the seat)

 

Some of the missions in GTA: SA had these features, albeit it was the actors shooting from the chopper.

You can easily do this in DYOM, with both the player and the actors.

 

1. Add a helicopter that has those thick supports, such as the Cargobob or the Sea Sparrow.

2. Add a ramp below the chopper.

3. Place the actor(s) or the player in either sides of the supports.

4. When you are done, remove the ramp.

(The most important part) 5. Add a small object inside the helicopter.

6. Add the pilot, set it's route directly above the chopper.

7. If you did all things correctly, the player or the actor(s) should stand on the supports.

 

NOTE: This does not work if the helicopter is supposed to move.

  • Martin_GDF likes this

Martin_GDF
  • Martin_GDF

    Schizophrenic Bastard

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013

#7

Posted 11 March 2014 - 10:41 PM

It's not outdated, it's no longer necessary as there are new features that can easily replace them.

 

I found another trick used long ago (by Zizo with my help) - still works if used properly.

 

Riding in a Chopper (not inside the seat)

 

Some of the missions in GTA: SA had these features, albeit it was the actors shooting from the chopper.

You can easily do this in DYOM, with both the player and the actors.

 

1. Add a helicopter that has those thick supports, such as the Cargobob or the Sea Sparrow.

2. Add a ramp below the chopper.

3. Place the actor(s) or the player in either sides of the supports.

4. When you are done, remove the ramp.

(The most important part) 5. Add a small object inside the helicopter.

6. Add the pilot, set it's route directly above the chopper.

7. If you did all things correctly, the player or the actor(s) should stand on the supports.

 

NOTE: This does not work if the helicopter is supposed to move.

 

Well... that's a good trick, but... of course you will always want the helicopter moving and you shooting from there :p

It would be good that you can attach objects to vehicles 


SoftTouch
  • SoftTouch

    Lone Wolf

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2013
  • Lithuania

#8

Posted 27 March 2014 - 07:00 PM Edited by SoftTouch, 27 March 2014 - 07:01 PM.

Decisions:

 

1. You make 4 walls (left, forward, right, and one in a middle).

2. Make a big checkpoint, invisible checkpoint, that covers both of the sides. (Make it invisible and make sure the checkpoint is a bit further from the entrance)

3. When the player enters the checkpoint, close the entrance, and add a timeout with about 2 seconds.

4. When timeout is done, spawn an enemy in one of the sides with a minigun.(So that if the player made a wrong decision, he will die.)

5. When you spawned the enemy, add a timeout for about 5 seconds. (So that the actor has enough time to detect that the player is in the box, and can kill him)

6.After that, you may teleport the player to another location, and progress the story further.

 

Noclip:

 

I know that this is not a DYOM trick, but it's so much easier to design mission with this, it's unbelievable. I can't design missions without this anymore.

 

1. Download the trainer (http://www.thegtaplace.com/downloads/f1600-gtasa-crazy-trainer-151)

2. Put it into the directory of GTA SA.

3. Launch it and click "Info"

4. Click "Deselect all"

5. Scroll down the menu, untill you see "Jet Pack"

6. Check everything in the "Jet Pack" menu.

7. Adjust the buttons to your likings. (Double click the blue text)

 

My prefered are:

 

Toggle Jetpack: LALT + Z

Fly in the direction of the camera: LALT + X

Increase fly speed: LSHIFT + 1

Decrease fly speed: LSHIFT + 2

Fly up: LALT + W

Fly down: LALT + S

 

This trainer, will seriously increase your mission design speed. Ofcourse, don't use it if you don't want it, but I can't design without it, and write that "ROCKETMAN" cheat everytime I want to go to some unreachable location by foot.

 

P.S: I guess I bumped this a bit, but lets keep the topic alive.

  • Martin_GDF likes this

Target13
  • Target13

    Member of the Row

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2012
  • Netherlands

#9

Posted 27 March 2014 - 07:57 PM Edited by Target13Productions, 27 March 2014 - 07:58 PM.

...and write that "ROCKETMAN" cheat everytime I want to go to some unreachable location by foot.

You do know that you can get the jetpack from the tools menu in DYOM, right?


SoftTouch
  • SoftTouch

    Lone Wolf

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2013
  • Lithuania

#10

Posted 28 March 2014 - 04:16 AM

 

...and write that "ROCKETMAN" cheat everytime I want to go to some unreachable location by foot.

You do know that you can get the jetpack from the tools menu in DYOM, right?

 

I do, but everytime you need to press Y then go down open another menu and select jetpack. I usually type faster, but yeah. Let's just try to keep tricks in this topic.


Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#11

Posted 28 March 2014 - 01:50 PM

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

SoftTouch
  • SoftTouch

    Lone Wolf

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2013
  • Lithuania

#12

Posted 28 March 2014 - 03:01 PM

 

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

 

Well then. Probably something on your side. Nothing you listed happens to me.


Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#13

Posted 28 March 2014 - 05:47 PM

 

 

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

 

Well then. Probably something on your side. Nothing you listed happens to me.

 

Tested in another computer, still same effects. Probably on your side.


SoftTouch
  • SoftTouch

    Lone Wolf

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2013
  • Lithuania

#14

Posted 28 March 2014 - 06:16 PM

 

 

 

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

 

Well then. Probably something on your side. Nothing you listed happens to me.

 

Tested in another computer, still same effects. Probably on your side.

 

Nothing happens to me, lol. Maybe you downloaded a torrented one, not sure. Anyways don't use it if it doesn't work, but it works perfectly for me, and it's much easier to design missions with it.


Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#15

Posted 29 March 2014 - 06:19 AM

 

 

 

 

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

 

Well then. Probably something on your side. Nothing you listed happens to me.

 

Tested in another computer, still same effects. Probably on your side.

 

Nothing happens to me, lol. Maybe you downloaded a torrented one, not sure. Anyways don't use it if it doesn't work, but it works perfectly for me, and it's much easier to design missions with it.

 

I use mod_sa rather than that trainer.


SoftTouch
  • SoftTouch

    Lone Wolf

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2013
  • Lithuania

#16

Posted 29 March 2014 - 06:24 AM

 

 

 

 

 

I use that trainer, but for some reason it bugs your DYOM in multiple ways.

  • Enemy actors will shoot you, even while designing.
  • Text will get extremely glitched, typing only a few letters will result in "12ijto135oi531"
  • Many DYOM glitches will happen more frequently, especially the bug said above.

 

Well then. Probably something on your side. Nothing you listed happens to me.

 

Tested in another computer, still same effects. Probably on your side.

 

Nothing happens to me, lol. Maybe you downloaded a torrented one, not sure. Anyways don't use it if it doesn't work, but it works perfectly for me, and it's much easier to design missions with it.

 

I use mod_sa rather than that trainer.

 

I searched and didn't find anything about mod_sa. Anyways I think Crazy Trainer is better because there are tons of other features, but yeah. This is really off-topic.

 

P.S: There aren't really alot of tricks. So I don't think anyone found new ones ?


Chips237
  • Chips237

    Ruining your lives since 1637

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2012
  • Philippines

#17

Posted 29 March 2014 - 07:36 AM

mod_sa is better know as s0beit.

On-topic: Most of the tricks are useless as they were replaced with features in v7 and v8.


KD himan
  • KD himan

    The Electro AfghaN™

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 06 Sep 2013
  • Vietnam

#18

Posted 29 March 2014 - 08:15 AM

mod_sa is better know as s0beit.

 

 

Now i got it, i remember once i use to get banned in every server because of this Hack Pack.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users