Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

SSD problems 1 hour down the toilet! HELP!

7 replies to this topic
OysterBarron
  • OysterBarron

    You need a Pearl necklace? Hit me up ;)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004
  • United-Kingdom
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#1

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:29 PM

Ok so got home at 5 and have been trying to sort out my new ssd. Iv'e connected it upto my sata 3 port and have a sata 6gb lead for it. Bios has the mode set to ahic mode or something like that in memory management. In the bios it's not seen, in my computer it's not seen and in disk management it's not coming up as an unallocated drive it's just not there!

 

In intel rst it's not there

 

and in the corsair toolbox i downloaded it's not there!

 

It's there i can see it physically but mentally it's playing tricks on me.

 

What the hell am i missing?

 

what am i doing wrong?

 

this is the worse game of hide and seek i've ever played!


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#2

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:40 PM

Cables firmly connected on both ends? Try another cable? All the required power?


OysterBarron
  • OysterBarron

    You need a Pearl necklace? Hit me up ;)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004
  • United-Kingdom
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#3

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:46 PM Edited by oysterbarron, 20 February 2014 - 06:47 PM.

yeah i've just tried 2 different sata ports i've now just used the sata lead that was connected to my dvdrom drive and used the sata lead that was connected to the ssd on the dvd rom drive. the DVD rom was detected and installed again but the SSD is still not showing.

 

Iv'e set my folder options to show empty drives to no effect. the drive is still missing in action!

 

Does the SSD need a seperate power lead aswell as the sata lead?


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#4

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:57 PM

...does it have a slot for a 4 pin molex? Maybe that's the issue. MAOR POWER.

 

But I'm like a fly-by-night tech assist here. Someone with more knowledge will likely do you better. What drive is it, exactly?


OysterBarron
  • OysterBarron

    You need a Pearl necklace? Hit me up ;)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004
  • United-Kingdom
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#5

Posted 20 February 2014 - 07:01 PM

well it just so happens i have my modular power supply bag with my spare leads in and it appears it comes with 8x sata power leads ummm just checking now......

 

hahaha sh*t turns out it's been a little while since i put something sata in looks like it does require a power lead aswell........

 

God i need sleep!


Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#6

Posted 20 February 2014 - 07:10 PM

Bingo! 'Nother notch on the old belt. I'm off to apply to be a nerd herder.

  • OysterBarron likes this

OysterBarron
  • OysterBarron

    You need a Pearl necklace? Hit me up ;)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004
  • United-Kingdom
  • April Fools Winner 2015

#7

Posted 20 February 2014 - 07:15 PM

Not bad 2 hours down the toilet just because senial dementia is setting in early!

 

Don't breath a word of this to anyone!

 

Fook this is a public forum........................................

Thanks otter power hadn't even crossed my mind until you brought it up, For some reason i thought the data cable supplys power aswell! 


Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#8

Posted 21 February 2014 - 05:39 PM

Just to save you some headaches in the future, if the drive doesn't show up in the BIOS then no amount of software in the world is going to get that drive seen. Keep in mind this obviously does not include USB connected drives.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users