Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Need to buy a power supply unit...

22 replies to this topic
ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#1

Posted 09 February 2014 - 09:56 PM

Hello..! [/size] I need to buy a PSU...  :panic:[/size] [/size]
 
I have a 4th gen Intel i7 processor @ 3.4 GHz, Intel motherboard with 32 GB RAM, 2 GB NVIDIA GeForce GT520 graphics card, two 500 GB & one 1 TB internal hard disk and two 500 GB & one 1 TB external hard disk, 1 internal LG DVD writer and 2 fans.  :rol:[/size] [/size]
 
I am using all of the USB ports & will buy a PCI to USB card & a TV tuner card (both internal) in the future.[/size] This computer is full of games. I want to know how much watts of PSU (SMPS) is needed for this computer. I am thinking of buying a 850 watts PSU. Do I need more or less power than this?  :/[/size]


Ryan
  • Ryan

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada

#2

Posted 09 February 2014 - 10:04 PM

850W is more than enough. You'd fine with a 550W or 650W PSU.


The Yokel
  • The Yokel

    Tokel. Never forget.

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2007
  • Jamaica

#3

Posted 10 February 2014 - 12:49 AM

It's not all about wattage though. Make sure you get at least an 80 bronze certified.

 

You should also know this before you go out and buy a PSU: http://www.eggxpert....ead/323050.aspx


ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#4

Posted 10 February 2014 - 05:21 AM

Thanks... I will buy Crosair TX850... :cool:  someone told me it needs 1000w or more  :dontgetit: I don't overclock but I will use Intel turbo boost  :D

 

Is that PSU is good enough for this (with all the things that are connected to the PC)?  :bored:


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#5

Posted 10 February 2014 - 08:51 AM Edited by yojo2, 10 February 2014 - 11:12 AM.

It's far more than enough, it's really unnecessary. Seems like a waste of money for me. You rig would be fine with a 450W PSU; thus I'd recommend a higher tier unit with lower wattage.
What country do you live in and how much are you willing to spend on the PSU?

You should also know this before you go out and buy a PSU: http://www.eggxpert....ead/323050.aspx

This list is weird. Cooler Master eXtreme is recommended, while the brands Kingwin and NZXT arent?  :blink:

hornedturtle
  • hornedturtle

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2013
  • None

#6

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:00 AM

The only thing that would come close to needing 1k power would be quad titan gpu. I'd personally get a 750w just to leave plenty of room for upgrades

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#7

Posted 10 February 2014 - 11:08 AM

Seasonic X650. Job done.
Total wattage is largely irrelevant, what you want to be looking at is the 12v output. A 650w is perfectly sufficient for your use and gives you enough overhead for overclocking too.

ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#8

Posted 10 February 2014 - 12:39 PM

Thanks everyone...  :) I will buy Corsair TX750... Good to know that 500w - 650w is enough for my PC (and I don't need 1000w :colgate:) but I will use 750w for any future upgrades..   ;)


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#9

Posted 10 February 2014 - 01:20 PM

On a side note, there's a newer model of the PSU you choose: http://www.corsair.c...wer-supply.html
i'd also consider getting a modular PSU: http://www.corsair.c...wer-supply.html
Neither of these is still produced though, the whole TX lineup is EOL.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#10

Posted 10 February 2014 - 01:32 PM

The TX series can be a bit iffy. If you feel you definitely need 750, get an AX760. Over 3 years it might save you a bit more than the price difference in reduced leccy costs.

Andreas
  • Andreas

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2014
    Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#11

Posted 10 February 2014 - 07:44 PM Edited by Andreas, 10 February 2014 - 07:45 PM.

If a future upgrade includes SLI/CrossFire, then 750 Watt power supply might be useful, dependent on the used GPU models. But other than that, it's a complete waste, in my opinion. A 450W-500W PSU with with an 80 plus bronze/silver/gold/platinum certificate would be able to run that system with ease, hell it still has some power reserves for the future as well. Processors are getting faster with each generation, yet the power consumption barely increases. And graphic-cards... well, it's a little inconsistent there because it differs with each generation, but it really isn't that significant in comparison.

Sure, you can go with a 750W PSU but you won't ever need the power unless you're planning to run a multi-GPU system. Though, like I said, it's dependent on the model.

For what it's worth, my favorite power supply manufacturer is Be Quiet!. I've been using the Be Quiet! Straight Power E8-580W for over a year now or two and can't really complain. The power supplies from them are generally very good and received plenty of high ratings. Certainly one of the best manufacturers out there and there is absolutely nothing you can do wrong here.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#12

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:05 PM

The Be Quiet stuff is very good value. I know a couple of people who have had capacitor plague issues with the lower end stuff they've been using for HTPC and Hackintosh builds, but aside from that they're great.


ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#13

Posted 15 March 2014 - 08:55 PM

Sorry to post in this 1 month old topic.   :bored: 
I will upgrade to NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB DDR5 graphics card.
So now I have:
Intel i7 4th Gen processor @ 3.4GHz + Intel Turbo Boost @ 3.9GHz
Cosair Vengeance 32GB DDR3 RAM (4x 8GB)

Intel motherboard + PCI to USB 3.0 card (needs power from SMPS) & a TV Tuner card.

ZOTAC NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB DDR5 graphics card (needs 140w from SMPS) + I will use ZOTAC Firestorm to overclock.

Internal hard disks: 1x 2TB, 2x 500GB External hard disks: 2x 500 GB, 1x 1TB

1x DVD writer and 2 fans. I use all of the USB ports.

Is Cosair TX750 enough for my PC?  :dontgetit:


hornedturtle
  • hornedturtle

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2013
  • None

#14

Posted 15 March 2014 - 09:15 PM Edited by hornedturtle, 15 March 2014 - 09:17 PM.

yes

edit: though depending on how much you overclock it, you might need more cooling

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#15

Posted 15 March 2014 - 09:35 PM

It's far more than enough. And by "far" I mean it's like triple as powerful as you actually need. :p

ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#16

Posted 15 March 2014 - 10:42 PM

:lol: Thanks!!  :colgate:


ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#17

Posted 15 March 2014 - 11:12 PM

One last thing....  :blush:

I never had a graphics card that needs power directly from the SMPS. Just want know, does it (TX750) have the connector (cable?) to connect with GTX 660? I saw here that it needs "One 6-pin supplementary power connector" & here is a list of all cables that comes with the SMPS. Can anybody please check both websites and tell me will it work or not?  :/


hornedturtle
  • hornedturtle

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2013
  • None

#18

Posted 16 March 2014 - 12:16 AM

One last thing....  :blush:
I never had a graphics card that needs power directly from the SMPS. Just want know, does it (TX750) have the connector (cable?) to connect with GTX 660? I saw here that it needs "One 6-pin supplementary power connector" & here is a list of all cables that comes with the SMPS. Can anybody please check both websites and tell me will it work or not?  :/


im sure one of those sites has customer support in which you can ask those compatibility questions.

ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#19

Posted 16 March 2014 - 06:39 AM

I can but will have to create an account on the website. :ph34r:  On the HardwareSecrets review page it says "Four cables each with one six/eight-pin connector for video cards" and GTX 660 needs 1 6-pin supplementary power connector. So, it will work, right?  :bored:


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#20

Posted 16 March 2014 - 07:26 AM

Yes.

ForeverAloneGamer
  • ForeverAloneGamer

    Delete this account.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2013
  • None

#21

Posted 16 March 2014 - 09:25 AM

:rol: ok..  :) thanks...  :sigh:


Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#22

Posted 18 March 2014 - 11:14 AM Edited by Slamman, 18 March 2014 - 11:15 AM.

I got a great deal on an SLI capable PSU from Microcenter, this was around Xmas 2 years back, haven't seen a deal like it since. It's a 750 or 800 watt unit, and it sold for around 50 to 70 range IIRC, USD.

 

I figure 50 bucks is a deal for an SLI capable PSU with enough attachment options, I think it was an open box, return or something, and the downside is the cables are fixed from the PSU unit, so length and routing can be a big drawback. IIRC, I think it's OCZ brand?


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#23

Posted 18 March 2014 - 01:53 PM

Good for you. Unfortunately what you bought 2 years ago has very little relevance to the topic at hand.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users