Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA:SA All the sudden low FPS

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
19 replies to this topic
Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#1

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:32 PM

I have a decent PC and have always been able to run GTA:SA in top settings, full of HD and texture mods. Until recently I decided to attempt to mod every single car in the game. When I did that, I expierenced lag. So I uninstalled all my mods and put it to what I had before, just my SAPD pack, weapon pack and HD mod. I still got lag. I tried a bunch of random things and kept getting OPcode errors and game crashes.

I finally removed all my mods and created a clean copy of GTA:SA. and installed some of my essential mods I liked and CLEO (For StreamMemFix) No luck. I decided the next step was to isolate the problem which has worked in the past. I got my backed up and completely clean gta3.img and got rid of all the mods exept CLEO. I got no more OPcode errors but experienced extremely low FPS, I tried to lower my game settings, no luck (I lowered but didn't play with rising the resolution, no luck)

What I have tried:
Playing around with my mods, installing and uninstalling, then testing
Removing my mods, removing StreamMemFix, only GTA:SA clean, SAMP and Cleo 4
Using the /fpslimit command
Adjusting settings (Not all settings, if you know of one that may fix it. Tell me)
Rebuilt GTA3.img
Attempting to play with a clean gta3, no luck.
A few other things I can't remember

Defragging my hard drive, optimizing my PC

Don't forget my SA User files is loaded with saved games, different game modes and user tracks if this makes a difference.

Specs:
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
System Model Satellite L875D
System Type x64-based PC
Processor AMD A6-4400M APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics, 2700 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 6.00 GB

If you need more info about my game/system, please contact me.


Th3MaN1
  • Th3MaN1

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2011
  • Romania

#2

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:51 PM

Was the game bought from a store/steam, or downloaded?


Girish
  • Girish

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#3

Posted 20 January 2014 - 05:03 PM

I'll ask the obligatory question since you haven't mentioned it anywhere in your first post - did you delete the gta_sa.set file from the User Files folder?


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#4

Posted 20 January 2014 - 06:20 PM

I'll ask the obligatory question since you haven't mentioned it anywhere in your first post - did you delete the gta_sa.set file from the User Files folder?

 

I attempted to delete my entire user files, that didn't do anything exept remove my settings and savedgames. (I attempted this after the lag problem started.)


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#5

Posted 20 January 2014 - 06:39 PM

At this time, did you uninstall everything?
Did you reinstall from the DVD you purchased?
Did you reinstall with Admin Privileges?
Did you reinstall to the C:/ drive?
You didn't install any mods, cleos, or 'cracks' as part of or after the install at this moment.

Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#6

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:25 PM

At this time, did you uninstall everything?
Did you reinstall from the DVD you purchased?
Did you reinstall with Admin Privileges?
Did you reinstall to the C:/ drive?
You didn't install any mods, cleos, or 'cracks' as part of or after the install at this moment.

 

I had the game loaded with mods, that is what c caused the problems.

 

I deleted my modded copy and re-installed the game and the problem presisted. I thought it was just the SAMP server I was on, then I realized the problem existed in single player as well as SAMP.

 

I removed every mod, I am talking clean copy, only SAMP was on it. The problem still existed. Even in single player.


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#7

Posted 20 January 2014 - 09:10 PM

Remove the SA-MP, too.
Playing with Sa-MP still may be affecting the files for Single play.

Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#8

Posted 21 January 2014 - 02:48 AM

Remove the SA-MP, too.
Playing with Sa-MP still may be affecting the files for Single play.

 

I'll delete GTA:SA and SAMP entirely and attempt to re-install a clean copy tomorrow. I'll get back to you tomorrow.


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#9

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:12 PM

Remove the SA-MP, too.
Playing with Sa-MP still may be affecting the files for Single play.

 

Removed SAMP and that did nothing.

 

The lag always occurs in the same spot, at the Pizza stack and gas station in idlewood. (That is where the heaviest lag is, even a crash (Only crashes in SAMP with my texture pack that has always worked) There is some low FPS in other places too,  but not as bad.


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#10

Posted 23 January 2014 - 09:54 PM

You have a low-end Radeon graphics chip, so do I.

They are notorious for causing lag at your specified places, as well as all over the map.

Check Willowfield, it lags the most with my AMD Radeon HD5670.

The best solution is to set the Visual FX Quality to Low. This will remove the dynamic grass and dynamic shadows. (also someone mentioned that it also removes mipmaps, but I can't find this to be true)

The dynamic shadows is what causes lag on low-end Radeon graphics. The reason is unknown.


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#11

Posted 26 January 2014 - 02:07 PM

You have a low-end Radeon graphics chip, so do I.

They are notorious for causing lag at your specified places, as well as all over the map.

Check Willowfield, it lags the most with my AMD Radeon HD5670.

The best solution is to set the Visual FX Quality to Low. This will remove the dynamic grass and dynamic shadows. (also someone mentioned that it also removes mipmaps, but I can't find this to be true)

The dynamic shadows is what causes lag on low-end Radeon graphics. The reason is unknown.

 

GTA:SA has always ran perfectly on all high settings for me. I also did attempt to lower the graphics settings and got no results :(

I think I might have a failing hard drive.


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#12

Posted 30 January 2014 - 03:14 AM

Still have the problem if anyone knows a fix.


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#13

Posted 30 January 2014 - 12:45 PM

You have evaded the question so we'll ask again:

Is your game installed by DVD or a legit download?
How were you able to install the mods if it is a DVD or legit download game?
If it is the DVD (v2) game, are you playing with the DVD in the Drive?

Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#14

Posted 30 January 2014 - 08:03 PM Edited by Alex_2259, 30 January 2014 - 08:03 PM.

You have evaded the question so we'll ask again:

Is your game installed by DVD or a legit download?
How were you able to install the mods if it is a DVD or legit download game?
If it is the DVD (v2) game, are you playing with the DVD in the Drive?

 

I don't play with the DVD in the drive, the files are downloaded to my PC from the DVD with a No DVD program. Not sure if that would make a difference.


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#15

Posted 30 January 2014 - 08:37 PM

Yes it does. The Cracked DVD game may be contributing to the problem, a Crack is a form of Mod. The DVD game is programmed to run with the 'key' (DVD) in the Drive.

Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#16

Posted 01 February 2014 - 01:52 AM

Yes it does. The Cracked DVD game may be contributing to the problem, a Crack is a form of Mod. The DVD game is programmed to run with the 'key' (DVD) in the Drive.

I'll need to find my DVD and i'll see if that fixes the problem.


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#17

Posted 13 February 2014 - 04:22 AM

The DVD didn't do a thing, I even re-installed again.


Alex_2259
  • Alex_2259

    Player Liker

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2013

#18

Posted 24 February 2014 - 04:09 AM

It could be a problem with windows itself, might need to re-install it.


kinghunter
  • kinghunter

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 4 weeks ago
  • India

#19

Posted 4 weeks ago

Did u ever get around to re-installing windows? Try Win 98, maybe that helps ;)


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#20

Posted 4 weeks ago

Alex_2259
Member Since
08-February 13
Last Active
Offline Jul 12 2014 05:08 AM




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users