Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

About custom license plates...

16 replies to this topic
Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#1

Posted 16 January 2014 - 05:58 AM

I've tried adding a few more vehicles with custom license plates to SA, but some of them just show a random license plate instead. I am using the correct opcode to generate them.

 

On the other hand, two of the default vehicles with custom license plates in the game never spawn with them. The Bullet and Banshee in San Fierro, which you unlock after completing the driving school.

 

What's the deal with that? Is it a bug with the vehicle models or with the game itself?

 

 

 


MasterHK
  • MasterHK

    کیان حامی

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2013
  • Iran

#2

Posted 16 January 2014 - 07:17 AM

here : )


Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#3

Posted 16 January 2014 - 08:24 AM

That doesn't answer my question at all.


aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#4

Posted 16 January 2014 - 09:31 AM

Can you show both pictures in-game of those vehicles, and the script you use?


Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#5

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:22 AM Edited by Zera, 16 January 2014 - 10:24 AM.

Can you show both pictures in-game of those vehicles, and the script you use?

These are the two vehicles already in the default main.scm for which the opcode doesn't work (at least here):

09E2: $5186 = parked_car_generator_w_numberplate #BANSHEE colors 79 0 force_spawn 1 alarm 0 door_lock 0 min_delay 0 max_delay 10000 plate "__DBP___" at -2273.2 -130.8 33.9 angle 270.4 
014C: set_parked_car_generator $5186 cars_to_generate_to 0  
09E2: $5185 = parked_car_generator_w_numberplate #BULLET colors 24 40 force_spawn 1 alarm 0 door_lock 0 min_delay 0 max_delay 10000 plate "_CHUNKY_" at -2354.6 983.0 49.3 angle 189.4 
014C: set_parked_car_generator $5185 cars_to_generate_to 0 

There's really no need to post screenshots and go into detail, it is what it is. The opcode simply fails for these two (and some other vehicles I try adding, such as the Stafford). Apparently, once they fail to generate properly after you start a new game, they're stuck as regular random plates for the rest of the playthrough.

 

I just want to understand what's going on.


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • European-Union

#6

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:30 AM

The license plate name (and most of others 8-bytes strings) must be 7 characters long plus the null terminator.

Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#7

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:39 AM

The license plate name (and most of others 8-bytes strings) must be 7 characters long plus the null terminator.

I know that already.


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • European-Union

#8

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:45 AM Edited by Wesser, 16 January 2014 - 10:49 AM.

Yes, but... you are passing strings with 8 characters. :p

//Edit: Forgive it, I see vehicles spawned with license plate names having 8 characters in the original main.scm.

Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#9

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:50 AM

Yes, but... you are passing strings with 8 characters. :p

//Edit: Forgive it, I see vehicles spawned with license plate names having 8 characters in the original main.scm.

You mean all of them. So it's not a character limit issue, as I make sure it's always 8 characters.


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • European-Union

#10

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:18 AM

It's likely it is a savegame limitation. The game cannot save more than 15 license plate names.

Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#11

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:24 AM

It's likely it is a savegame limitation. The game cannot save more than 15 license plate names.

Hmmm, that could be it. That's an awfully low limit though, isn't there any way to increase it?


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • European-Union

#12

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:32 AM

Yes, I will try it. :^:

By the way, the additional vehicles generated by CLEO may interfere with those of the main.scm when you start a new game.

Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#13

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:57 AM

Yes, I will try it. :^:

By the way, the additional vehicles generated by CLEO may interfere with those of the main.scm when you start a new game.

I don't do it with CLEO, I'm editing the scm directly.


Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#14

Posted 19 January 2014 - 02:21 AM Edited by Zera, 19 January 2014 - 02:45 AM.

So, I limited the number of parked cars w/numberplates to 15, but those two I mentioned a few posts earlier still have random license plates. Perhaps it's a model bug after all?

 

EDIT: Yep, it appears to be a model bug. So, from the vehicles I've tried, the Banshee, the Bullet and the Huntley cannot have custom license plates. Can anyone else confirm this?


Wesser
  • Wesser

    The complexity simplifier, the efficiency optimizer.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2006
  • European-Union

#15

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:07 AM

I made some tests yesterday night and I came up to the conclusion it is neither a model related bug nor a limitation. All parked vehicles with a presumably unique licence plate are bugged from that standpoint, except the Hotknife (ID: 434). I swapped the model of the Picador (ID: 600) with the one of the Hotknife but it still had a random licence plate.

I will investigate more.

Zera
  • Zera

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#16

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:54 AM

I made some tests yesterday night and I came up to the conclusion it is neither a model related bug nor a limitation. All parked vehicles with a presumably unique licence plate are bugged from that standpoint, except the Hotknife (ID: 434). I swapped the model of the Picador (ID: 600) with the one of the Hotknife but it still had a random licence plate.

I will investigate more.

I've made some tests of my own. I swapped Sweet's Greenwood on Grove Street with those models I mentioned, and none of them had the custom license plate. Other vehicles such as the Phoenix worked though.

 

So really, I can only conclude it's a bug with certain vehicle models.


Deji
  • Deji

    Coding like a Rockstar!

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2007

#17

Posted 19 January 2014 - 12:02 PM

Never encountered this before? If you damage the rear of the vehicle, the custom plate should show ;)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users