Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[SA|REL] Automatic LOD Placing

24 replies to this topic
LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#1

Posted 12 January 2014 - 02:44 PM

fu2M7BNs.png NDB48kZs.png

What is it?

Do you know when you install a little map mod but it only shows the map when you are too close to it? Well, it's not the game's fault but the mapper's fault.
This ASI plugin aims to fix those mappers laziness (or newbiness) on-the-fly
 
At first it was being designed to be part of modloader but I decided to make it a separated plugin.
 
How does it work?
It's always good to know how something you are using works.
First, it assumes all custom IPL files are at the end of gta.dat (that's the right thing to do always anyway).
Then it builds a lookup table of all objects X lods based on the files that are being placed by the game (probably by original IPL files) and whenever a object has no lod it tries to find a lod for it based on this table.
 
Download
http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=25452
  • Deji, Danikov, Sidoarjo_Modder and 5 others like this

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • Brazil

#2

Posted 12 January 2014 - 09:47 PM

Awesome mod ; ), btw, what hud mod are you using?


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#3

Posted 12 January 2014 - 09:56 PM Edited by LINK/2012, 12 January 2014 - 09:56 PM.

He, DK's one

http://gtaforums.com...rel-mobile-hud/

  • BlackScout likes this

Rafal22
  • Rafal22

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#4

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:03 PM

Hi
Is it possible to rewrite the code so that the LOD was paired with the object according to the list in a text file, eg:

# OBJ LOD
5000, 5003
4500, 5672
... etc


maurice96
  • maurice96

    _Caspboy_

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#5

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:30 PM

Okay, by using your mod, would this increase FPS? Also, say if you made a mod that loads all the objects at once, would the FPS increase or decrease?


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#6

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:36 PM

He, DK's one
http://gtaforums.com...rel-mobile-hud/

Okay, by using your mod, would this increase FPS? Also, say if you made a mod that loads all the objects at once, would the FPS increase or decrease?

Increase
  • Deji likes this

maurice96
  • maurice96

    _Caspboy_

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#7

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:48 PM

 

 

He, DK's one
http://gtaforums.com...rel-mobile-hud/

Okay, by using your mod, would this increase FPS? Also, say if you made a mod that loads all the objects at once, would the FPS increase or decrease?

 

Increase

 

do you know of such a mod that can load the whole map?


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#8

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:52 PM Edited by LINK/2012, 19 June 2014 - 05:52 PM.

 

 

 

He, DK's one
http://gtaforums.com...rel-mobile-hud/

Okay, by using your mod, would this increase FPS? Also, say if you made a mod that loads all the objects at once, would the FPS increase or decrease?

 

Increase

 

do you know of such a mod that can load the whole map?

 

http://gtaforums.com...a-project-2dfx/

on bonus scripts


BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Texture/Model 2013 "SRt3 2012 Mipmap Edition"

#9

Posted 19 June 2014 - 06:08 PM Edited by BLlTZ, 19 June 2014 - 06:11 PM.

Can this be used instead of Lod Mod or it functions only for the purpose of adding new maps into the game ?

---------
I thought I'm looking wrong, but this was started in January. How I didn't know about this or don't remember.

LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#10

Posted 19 June 2014 - 06:44 PM

Can this be used instead of Lod Mod or it functions only for the purpose of adding new maps into the game ?

---------
I thought I'm looking wrong, but this was started in January. How I didn't know about this or don't remember.

Nope, it just gives LOD to objects without LOD that are supposed to have a LOD.

Mostly like caused by mappers that don't know about LODs or forgot to add them.


maurice96
  • maurice96

    _Caspboy_

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#11

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:37 AM Edited by maurice96, 20 June 2014 - 12:37 AM.

 

 

 

 

He, DK's one
http://gtaforums.com...rel-mobile-hud/

Okay, by using your mod, would this increase FPS? Also, say if you made a mod that loads all the objects at once, would the FPS increase or decrease?

 

Increase

 

do you know of such a mod that can load the whole map?

 

http://gtaforums.com...a-project-2dfx/

on bonus scripts

 

Awesome, been searching for that since 2013! Any other mods or fixes you can point me to that would increase fps or gameplay quality?


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#12

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:39 AM

Awesome, been searching for that since 2013! Any other mods or fixes you can point me to that would increase fps or gameplay quality?

Check out this topic
http://gtaforums.com...la-san-andreas/

maurice96
  • maurice96

    _Caspboy_

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#13

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:27 PM

YES! :lol:  :santa:  :cookie:

 

I can confirm this mod gave me 2-4 FPS! Tried it on a low endand mid range laptop!


TJGM
  • TJGM

    James May is the best May!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#14

Posted 30 June 2014 - 12:05 AM

You dropped to 2-4 FPS because of some LOD's.. seriously?


StrafeBolt
  • StrafeBolt

    Old School

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2012
  • Brazil

#15

Posted 30 June 2014 - 12:15 AM

You dropped to 2-4 FPS because of some LOD's.. seriously?

I think he meant the mod increased his framerate by 2-4 fps.


TJGM
  • TJGM

    James May is the best May!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#16

Posted 30 June 2014 - 12:22 AM

 

You dropped to 2-4 FPS because of some LOD's.. seriously?

I think he meant the mod increased his framerate by 2-4 fps.

 

Well that would make no sense since it adds more objects to the map.. maybe it does, who knows.


Johnny_D
  • Johnny_D

    UK Mastermind

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#17

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:12 AM

He used the word GAVE. So it gave him 2-4 FPS. And it probably gave him a boost in frames due to lower models loading now, instead of the high quality models without LODs.

TJGM
  • TJGM

    James May is the best May!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#18

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:49 AM Edited by TJGM, 30 June 2014 - 07:50 AM.

He used the word GAVE. So it gave him 2-4 FPS. And it probably gave him a boost in frames due to lower models loading now, instead of the high quality models without LODs.

Thanks for pointing that out, its not like StrafeBolt didn't mention it already. Oh, and along with that, the high quality model doesn't load outside of the distance of LOD's, so unless he has LOD's up close (won't happen), he shouldn't be getting an FPS boost and a standard San Andreas model wouldn't take 2-4 FPS anyway.


Johnny_D
  • Johnny_D

    UK Mastermind

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#19

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:02 AM Edited by Johnny_D, 30 June 2014 - 08:10 AM.

No need for the attitude. I'm an adult, sure you are too, so please, respond and speak in such manner.

It doesn't, but that could always be a bug when models aren't allowed LODs (by that I mean unoccupied.) when trying to load through files? If that's indeed not the case, I don't get the FPS boost.

maurice96
  • maurice96

    _Caspboy_

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#20

Posted 4 weeks ago

 

 

You dropped to 2-4 FPS because of some LOD's.. seriously?

I think he meant the mod increased his framerate by 2-4 fps.

 

Well that would make no sense since it adds more objects to the map.. maybe it does, who knows.

 

Theres improved performance with mods like 2dfx because on my pc, using 2dfx alone LODs would pop into the screen last minute - ultimately causing sudden drops in fps


pep legal
  • pep legal

    Old but Gold

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2008
  • Brazil

#21

Posted 3 days ago Edited by pep legal, 3 days ago.

Hey Link...

 

Could you tell me a bit more about this mod ?

 

Cause I'm doing a Vegetation overhaul for San Andreas, by reducing the polycount of those Oblivion tree models. Also I'm creating ultra-low-poly LOD models for every one of those trees.

 

This job doesn't scare me...what really scare me is re-editing all Binary IPLs. :panic:

 

Any tip to make my life easier ? Can Auto-Lod help me on this task ? If not...Do you know any other easy way of linking Model->LOD without touching binary IPLs ?

 

Thanks.


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#22

Posted 3 days ago Edited by LINK/2012, 3 days ago.

I did a modification on auto-lod some time ago to be more friendly for TC creators
https://dl.dropboxus...I/LODLinker.zip
It searches for models replacing the LOD in the first three letters of the model name, like Vice City.
i.e. nwsnpedhus1_LAS -> LODnpedhus1_LAS

I'm not sure if I'm gonna release it individually but feel free to redist on your mod.

pep legal
  • pep legal

    Old but Gold

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2008
  • Brazil

#23

Posted 2 days ago Edited by pep legal, 2 days ago.

I did a modification on auto-lod some time ago to be more friendly for TC creators

.

.

.

 

 

Thank you for answering...it is very kind of you sharing your little tool.

 

But unfortunately that tool cannnot be applied in my situation (maybe not even the original auto-lod, I think).

 

I'm NOT creating NEW trees or NEW placements for trees.  I'm just doing new meshes (dff-files) for vanilla trees...and adding low-poly LODs for those trees.

 

Theoretically, I'm supposed to tweak hundreds of lines in several stream IPLs, changing  the last index from "-1"  (LOD index), to point to the appropiate low-poly mesh. (also, I have to copy the coordinates and paste them as LOD coordinates).

 

That's the job I'm trying to avoid -  ( because touching binary IPLs is very dangerous...and I should change so many lines...and I would conflict with other mods that touch binary IPLs as well )

 

Thanks anyway.

 

 

PS.: fico orgulhoso em ver um brasileiro fazendo parte da ELITE de modders desta fantástica comunidade.


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#24

Posted 2 days ago Edited by LINK/2012, 2 days ago.

But unfortunately that tool cannnot be applied in my situation (maybe not even the original auto-lod, I think).

I'm NOT creating NEW trees or NEW placements for trees. I'm just doing new meshes (dff-files) for vanilla trees...and adding low-poly LODs for those trees.

Theoretically, I'm supposed to tweak hundreds of lines in several stream IPLs, changing the last index from "-1" (LOD index), to point to the appropiate low-poly mesh. (also, I have to copy the coordinates and paste them as LOD coordinates).

Yes, that asi will help you into that, you just have to name your low-poly model (in IDEs too ofc) by replacing the first three letters of the non-LOD tree with 'LOD'.
For example, suppose there's a tree named rr_tree78. Now, you just have to name your low-poly tree as LODtree78, register it properly on a IDE, and that's it, no need to modify any LOD.
 

PS.: fico orgulhoso em ver um brasileiro fazendo parte da ELITE de modders desta fantástica comunidade.

Valeu   :santa: 


Rafal22
  • Rafal22

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#25

Posted 21 hours ago

Hi: D
I have a problem with this tool, because my object LOD does not disappear
autolod.jpg





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users