» «
Photo

Replacing CJ Player Model With Model of Drastically Different Shape

5 replies to this topic
UnknownToaster
  • UnknownToaster

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 27 December 2013 - 08:17 PM Edited by UnknownToaster, 27 December 2013 - 08:23 PM.

Hello,

So I have very little experience with modding GTA, none to be exact.

My immediate goal was to replace the player model with something I made, and I wanted to turn CJ into a penguin.

I've been looking around for a resource on how to do such a thing and was about to try using a ped rig to match it up, but was gonna look for CJ's model and use that rig instead.

What I found out was that the player model is composed of separate pieces, which makes sense now, looking at the neck of the player model. But now I'm in a weird spot, not only do I know almost nothing, I have a very weird goal that may be lofty as well, and the one thing I was going to try went bust. So I decided I would ask instead of screw around for another couple days.

1. Is this going to be possible? To not only replace CJ with something of different anatomy, but of a drastically different size?

If so, I was hoping someone might try to detail what I might need to do (from what it seems, I'll have to cut my model into pieces for this) and even if it's going to be difficult, or effectively impossible for someone with such little experience, I would appreciate the understanding.

2. If not, is there any suggestions on ways to work around this problem? I mean, I was hoping to keep my model at the height I planned it to be, but I could scale it, but what I wouldn't want is to have to mess up the anatomy, because it's bad enough without having to distort my already distorted model.

Please, tell me what I should probably know and what I should/could do about this.

So you can see what the model is (I am willing to modify or re-do if necessary), here is the link.