Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA SA] Alpha textures errors in Characters/Pedesters

5 replies to this topic
X3MProductions
  • X3MProductions

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2012

#1

Posted 22 December 2013 - 02:38 AM

Hey people.

I've got some errors on these skins... And I found out what they are. The alphas are not working on these "transparent" hairs. These, and many other skins I have.

 

 

 

1501297_717668581577502_740822755_o.jpg

 

I've tried to deactivate all alphas and see what happened, and here's the result... So I believe that the errors are from the alpha, but I don't know how to fix them.

 

823506_717668561577504_2102563944_o.jpg

 

 

In case you guys need it to help me even better, my specifications here...

 

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Intel Core i3 540 3,06 GHz

ATI Radeon 5450 HD 1 GB 32 bits

4 GB of RAM


lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 May 2008
  • Philippines

#2

Posted 22 December 2013 - 03:26 AM

It's a recurring problem in the GTA3-era games, as the engine does a bad job at alpha transparency sorting. It's either that you live with it like most people do, edit the hair contour on the model so that you don't have to depend on an alpha texture, or wait for SA:Render to be released (as from what I observed it fixes the fringe problem since they pretty much rewrote the renderer).

  • X3MProductions and Jeansowaty like this

X3MProductions
  • X3MProductions

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2012

#3

Posted 22 December 2013 - 05:54 PM Edited by X3MProductions, 22 December 2013 - 05:58 PM.

Thanks for the answer, I'll try to wait for it! And I definetly HOPE that it runs on my computer without lag. My videocard is very weak. :(

 

EDIT: I know what i'll try to do. I'll try to get the hair-to-transparency gradiency out, and let the hair be "lined" and not "opacified". It'll be better, i guess. Then I'll show the results here for you guys. :D

  • lpgunit likes this

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 May 2008
  • Philippines

#4

Posted 31 December 2013 - 12:34 PM

The alpha problem's still present in the mobile versions, but it isn't as obvious or as prevalent as with the PC version.


X3MProductions
  • X3MProductions

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2012

#5

Posted 15 January 2014 - 10:32 PM

This is bad. There are so many GTA SA pictures out there that shows up that the alphas works correctly... :/


DK22Pac
  • DK22Pac

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#6

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:36 AM

According to this,

you need to put material with transparency/transparent texture to the down after all other materials. That will make the part of model with this material renders after all other parts.

  • Frank.s likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users