Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA III Dark Edition

III Released III WIP
2,213 replies to this topic
universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    Traum - Tagtraum - Am Fenster

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#691

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:16 AM Edited by universetwisters, 07 July 2014 - 01:17 AM.

 

Liberty City (atleast, GTA3/LCS' rendition) isn't New York, it's a mix of several places (Chicago, Detroit etc). Adding the SoH or Rotterdam Tower would simply ruin Rockstar's Vision

You are right, but adding something from IV to III's map which is existing in both IV's and III's Liberty City won't ruin Rockstar's Vision like Times Square, it is existing in both maps but it's more detailed in IV.

 

I don't think Times Square in III was trying to be too accurate to real life Times Square. And even then, there's other cities all over the world with Time Square-esque neighborhoods.


FlameAS
  • FlameAS

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2014
  • None

#692

Posted 07 July 2014 - 02:46 AM Edited by FlameAS, 07 July 2014 - 02:48 AM.

 

 

Liberty City (atleast, GTA3/LCS' rendition) isn't New York, it's a mix of several places (Chicago, Detroit etc). Adding the SoH or Rotterdam Tower would simply ruin Rockstar's Vision

You are right, but adding something from IV to III's map which is existing in both IV's and III's Liberty City won't ruin Rockstar's Vision like Times Square, it is existing in both maps but it's more detailed in IV.

 

I don't think Times Square in III was trying to be too accurate to real life Times Square. And even then, there's other cities all over the world with Time Square-esque neighborhoods.

 

LC is loosely based on New York and also includes elements from other American cities and I don't think that adding something new to the map would ruin anything in the game.

  • SaL_Leone likes this

AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#693

Posted 07 July 2014 - 05:09 PM Edited by AdusPL, 07 July 2014 - 05:09 PM.

I love cliffs.

 

Spoiler
  • Silent, universetwisters, TJGM and 9 others like this

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    Traum - Tagtraum - Am Fenster

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#694

Posted 07 July 2014 - 05:29 PM

Out of wondering, what are the grey/light green patches in the grass? They remind me a bit of golf courses.


//XP//
  • //XP//

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2012
  • None

#695

Posted 07 July 2014 - 05:46 PM Edited by HazzardX, 07 July 2014 - 05:47 PM.

Out of wondering, what are the grey/light green patches in the grass? They remind me a bit of golf courses.

Those may be places where grass hasn't grown properly...

Btw,Adus..make a forest or sth...And make the map limit invisible wall to be like, the edge of a big mountain,or so,to give the map some continuity


AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#696

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:12 PM Edited by AdusPL, 07 July 2014 - 06:13 PM.

Like Hazzard said, grass hasn't grown properly, it's lighter.
You can already see cliff, which is on the bound limit. I think player will be still able to go on it. But there is nothing fancy, anyway. :p
I'll place vegetation when I'll finish terrain.
  • Jeansowaty and pogo_01 like this

Jinx.
  • Jinx.

    Scion Of The Flame

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2010
  • None
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D]

#697

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:16 PM

I love cliffs

me2

  • KBG and Jeansowaty like this

Keith Ward
  • Keith Ward

    Mark Ass Bitch Punk Trick Busta Fool

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007
  • None

#698

Posted 08 July 2014 - 02:42 AM

 

I love cliffs

me2

 

 

BBC1_0.jpg

  • Jinx., universetwisters, KBG and 2 others like this

Mr. Cop
  • Mr. Cop

    I'm the LAW!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Belarus

#699

Posted 08 July 2014 - 03:13 PM

Big mountain is a good idea. And you can add some bridge or tunnel (maybe few of them) under construction to make "limitless" map like R did in the original game.

  • IlyaKostygov likes this

J*star
  • J*star

    Jemoeder51

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2011
  • None

#700

Posted 09 July 2014 - 03:36 PM Edited by jemoeder51, 09 July 2014 - 03:40 PM.

Can you add to the countryside of upstate some creeks or lakes. Like Sandy Creeks from GTA SA? :catloaf:

  • pogo_01 likes this

//XP//
  • //XP//

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2012
  • None

#701

Posted 09 July 2014 - 03:41 PM

Can you add to upstate some creeks or lakes. Like Sandy Creeks from GTA SA? :catloaf:

Nice idea..Also,it yould be nice to make a small beach area with cabins aswell,but make it like it has been abandoned...you can add elements from VC's beach (sandcastles,towels,etc)


AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#702

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:10 PM

No, I think I won't do this. I don't know how to make water. :lol:


IlyaKostygov
  • IlyaKostygov

    I AM THE LIZARD KING I CAN DO ANYTHING

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2014
  • Russia

#703

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:18 PM

No, I think I won't do this. I don't know how to make water. :lol:

 

You can extrude polys for lake like -10m/-15m/-20m and edit it until it will be like real lake. 


J*star
  • J*star

    Jemoeder51

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2011
  • None

#704

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:19 PM

Maybe with Steve-m's water editor? you can place the water wherever you want at any hight

  • AdusPL, pogo_01 and IlyaKostygov like this

//XP//
  • //XP//

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2012
  • None

#705

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:20 PM Edited by HazzardX, 09 July 2014 - 04:25 PM.

No, I think I won't do this. I don't know how to make water. :lol:

By editing water.dat..not very difficult :D


pogo_01
  • pogo_01

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2013
  • Hungary

#706

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:24 PM

Water.cfg !?!? Not WATERPRO.DAT ?

//XP//
  • //XP//

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2012
  • None

#707

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:25 PM

Water.cfg !?!? Not WATERPRO.DAT ?

I never paid attention on the water data :lol:

  • pogo_01 likes this

AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#708

Posted 09 July 2014 - 04:38 PM

Yeah, I meant 'normal' water, not just simple plane. :p

Maybe, I'll try.


Keith Ward
  • Keith Ward

    Mark Ass Bitch Punk Trick Busta Fool

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007
  • None

#709

Posted 09 July 2014 - 09:35 PM Edited by Keith Ward, 09 July 2014 - 09:37 PM.

No, I think I won't do this. I don't know how to make water. :lol:

 

Where I come from, to 'make water' means to urinate.
  • AdusPL, pogo_01 and IlyaKostygov like this

Naruko
  • Naruko

    Naruko

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2014
  • Libya

#710

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:15 PM

Can't wait to race on the tracks that you made it AdusPl

AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#711

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:12 PM

Spoiler
  • Silent, universetwisters, TJGM and 7 others like this

universetwisters
  • universetwisters

    Traum - Tagtraum - Am Fenster

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011
  • United-States
  • Best Workshop 2014
    Most Improved 2014
    Funniest Member 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015

#712

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:19 PM

That's a nice looking highway you got going on at the bottom of the last picture!

  • SaL_Leone and AdusPL like this

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition][Contribution]

#713

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:57 PM Edited by MajesticNL, 10 July 2014 - 05:57 PM.

This is for GTA3 right? 

Shame, if it was for SA, you could do vertex blending (2 layer) or GTA4 (up to 4 layers). It increases the quality of terrain and mountains tenfold.


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#714

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:03 PM

Shame, if it was for SA, you could do vertex blending (2 layer) or GTA4 (up to 4 layers). It increases the quality of terrain and mountains tenfold.


Only SA supports this? Good to know.

IlyaKostygov
  • IlyaKostygov

    I AM THE LIZARD KING I CAN DO ANYTHING

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2014
  • Russia

#715

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:20 PM Edited by IlyaKostygov, 10 July 2014 - 06:34 PM.

At our Russian Forum we found "method" of texture blending.

And also mipmaps for gta3.

And bump-mapping without ENB of course. 

 

But i dont want traslate it because my english bad. :sui: 


AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#716

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:34 PM

At our Russian Forum we found "method" of texture blending.
And also mipmaps for gta3.
And bump-mapping without ENB of course.

So, if it's possible, could you make a tutorial or something? :) That's interesting.
  • IlyaKostygov likes this

IlyaKostygov
  • IlyaKostygov

    I AM THE LIZARD KING I CAN DO ANYTHING

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2014
  • Russia

#717

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:41 PM

 

At our Russian Forum we found "method" of texture blending.
And also mipmaps for gta3.
And bump-mapping without ENB of course.

So, if it's possible, could you make a tutorial or something? :) That's interesting.

 

It would be nice but i dont understand this methods. For mipmaps you need WTD to TXD by DK22PAC. For bump mapping you must know memory addresses in gta3.exe. For texture blending DK22PAC promises programm so just wait. 


AdusPL
  • AdusPL

    obrzygane rzygi

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2013
  • Poland

#718

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:47 PM

Oh, that's cool.
I know about mipmaps. I guess Upstate will look with them.
  • IlyaKostygov likes this

Tadzik
  • Tadzik

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2011
  • Poland

#719

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:57 PM

And for bump-maps I think it's this
  • AdusPL likes this

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition][Contribution]

#720

Posted 10 July 2014 - 09:34 PM

 

Shame, if it was for SA, you could do vertex blending (2 layer) or GTA4 (up to 4 layers). It increases the quality of terrain and mountains tenfold.


Only SA supports this? Good to know.

 

 

Oh right, VC uses it for the Ocean Drive shorelines. What about GTA3?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users