Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Need help to increasing performance!

15 replies to this topic
frenzyvanrafi
  • frenzyvanrafi

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2010

#1

Posted 30 November 2013 - 06:37 AM

I've did something to increasing GTA IV performance such overclock and overvolt CPU and overclock and overvolt GPU, but no result, still sluggish.

 

Here's the specification:

ASUS P5KPL-AM SE (not a great mobo but it may be replaced)
Intel Pentium E5500 @ 3.9 GHz and 1.3V (turned off all power saving features)

Zotac GTX 550 Ti @ 1012 MHz and 1.125V (OCed with EVGA Precision X, I can't overvolt on MSI Afterburner!)

Generic DDR2 RAM 2 x 2GB @ 667 MHz (to ensure stability)

Seagate Barracuda 500GB

Thermaltake EVO_Blue 550W (wasting money!)

 

I use most commandline such memrestrict and nomemrestrict but zero result!  :( :'(

 

What should I do? I can't upgrade to newer product but used C2Q, dollar was rising :'(

 

I want to get best performance so I can playing IV and video editing smoothly

 

Don't tell me if I was pirated user, I'm now owning GTA IV + EFLC (not installed :p) Steam original (bought when Steam Summer Sale so I can afford them)


marmoo
  • marmoo

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2010

#2

Posted 30 November 2013 - 01:23 PM Edited by marmoo, 30 November 2013 - 05:48 PM.

That CPU, as much as it is a dual core is not going to give you the smoothest framerate

Also, your Ram is not the best

GPU is ok but probably bottlenecked by the rest


Marc79
  • Marc79

    The Real Tool Man

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011
  • None

#3

Posted 02 December 2013 - 12:12 PM

Back in a day I had E5300 with GTX 260, which ran the game at low/medium at close to 30fps.  Later I upgraded to Q9550 with 660 and the frames doubled.  If you want a decent increase in fps without a complete overhaul, best bet would be to get q9450/q9550/q9650.  Used q9550 should run around 80-110.  Best case scenario 4670k/4770k and something like 760/770.

  • lpgunit likes this

OfficialFlipkid20
  • OfficialFlipkid20

    OfficialFlipkid20

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2011

#4

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:05 PM

Try using Razer Game Booster, it won't give you the best performance, but it's worth a try.


LOUD*NOISES
  • LOUD*NOISES

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013

#5

Posted 15 December 2013 - 04:40 PM

Razor game booster doesn't do sh*t actually.... This works trust me http://www.gta4-mods...eflc-107-f14645...  It only works properly on patch 1.7 tho..


cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#6

Posted 15 December 2013 - 11:40 PM

Razor game booster doesn't do sh*t actually.... This works trust me http://www.gta4-mods...eflc-107-f14645...  It only works properly on patch 1.7 tho..

I'd be really happy if some modder has actually been able to optimize the game themselves, but I just don't trust this.

 

There is no information or anything about what this does. I'd much rather know what it does to the files, and if it actually works.


LOUD*NOISES
  • LOUD*NOISES

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013

#7

Posted 20 December 2013 - 04:01 AM

Its up to you if your willing to try it or not.. if you don't trust me read the comments below it... I mainly play it on my laptop and there's barely any lag even with shadows on... it was noticeably smoother before i overclocked my gpu which made it way better and you have nothing to lose cuz they gave you a way to back up the files...it worked for me and a couple other people so you could give it a try


cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#8

Posted 21 December 2013 - 12:59 AM

Not a lot of people in the comments talk about how great it optimizes the game. Still, there is no information anywhere describing what the mod is actually doing to optimize the game.


LOUD*NOISES
  • LOUD*NOISES

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013

#9

Posted 21 December 2013 - 04:02 AM Edited by LOUD*NOISES, 21 December 2013 - 11:36 PM.

you have a point there so i went looking for another one.. this one actually tells you what it does to the files... im in the process of installing it now so im not sure if it works as yet..

 heres the link http://www.gta4-mods...5-hotfix-f24281... 

 

 it does make a difference and the game looks beautiful now!


Kokuei
  • Kokuei

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2009

#10

Posted 21 December 2013 - 06:03 PM Edited by Kokuei, 21 December 2013 - 06:04 PM.

Look for an x3220. It's 775 socket and is identical to a Q6600 with a lower price tag. Then overclock it to 3.2Ghz and have fun with GTA IV.

 

Also when rendering videos; use CUDA to render. It's much faster compared to using your CPU.


unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#11

Posted 30 December 2013 - 03:55 AM

props to last poster, never heard of x3220. q6600 looks like its -$50 now also though

https://www.asus.com...U/1/22/P5KPLAM/

xeon CPUs aint listed, server CPUs have some strict memory requirements, i heard?


mishun2002
  • mishun2002

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • India

#12

Posted 01 May 2014 - 09:08 AM

Hey everyone Try this program It does not completely disable the lag but it reduces

 

Link:http://www.gta4-mods...4-zupper-f27662


props to last poster, never heard of x3220. q6600 looks like its -$50 now also though

https://www.asus.com...U/1/22/P5KPLAM/

xeon CPUs aint listed, server CPUs have some strict memory requirements, i heard?

I agree with u man! Even the awesome Just Cause 2 did!!!!!!!!!! :/


Phauton
  • Phauton

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2014
  • South-Africa

#13

Posted 12 May 2014 - 10:02 AM

Hi guys I have a problem with my GTA IV not playing smoothly my pc spec is

 

Core i3 3.4Ghz

4G Ram DDR 3

1Tb HD

1G GeForce GT520 Graphic

Gigabyte Z87-HD3 ultra durable motherboard

Windows 8.1 64 bits

 

does anyone knows what could be the problem ?


Marc79
  • Marc79

    The Real Tool Man

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011
  • None

#14

Posted 13 May 2014 - 02:26 PM Edited by Marc79, 13 May 2014 - 02:24 PM.

 


Hi guys I have a problem with my GTA IV not playing smoothly my pc spec is

 

Core i3 3.4Ghz

4G Ram DDR 3

1Tb HD

1G GeForce GT520 Graphic

Gigabyte Z87-HD3 ultra durable motherboard

Windows 8.1 64 bits

 

does anyone knows what could be the problem ?

Upgrade you graphics card to either GTX 750 or 750Ti

 

GT520

http://www.videocard...=GeForce GT 520

 

GTX 750

http://www.videocard...GTX 750&id=2825


arjunkumar
  • arjunkumar

    Bad meets Evil

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2013
  • None

#15

Posted 20 May 2014 - 08:57 AM

Refer to this topic to increase performance gtaforums.com/topic/710162-read-this-how-to-fix-gta-iv-lag-on-slow-medium-pcread-to-find-outeasyily-fix-it/#entry1065424682
  • PunjabiMan likes this

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#16

Posted 23 May 2014 - 01:02 AM

you absolutely do not know what the hell you are doing!!!! useless advice is terrible





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users