Is the economy working for you?

16 replies to this topic
johnwontscore
  • johnwontscore

aka Dr Ripper

• Members
  • England

Posted 24 November 2013 - 05:16 PM

With this new beach bum update, there's less money in the game generally since they've lowered the payouts for races but haven't lowered the cost of most items players want to buy. I find with this that it changes my behavior as a player. For example, when I started playing online, medical bills were a significant expense, so I'd tend to stay away from public free modes since it would cost me too much to spend any amount of time fighting with other players and I had other things I wanted to save cash for like an apartment, weapon upgrades, cars and mods. It was only when I'd bought those things and felt I was financially secure that I went into public free modes at all. Later when they lowered medical expenses, I started going more and more into public free modes and indeed had a lot of fun fighting with other players.

Now with the lowering of payouts on races and such, I notice again I'm reluctant to go into public free modes since it can prove quite expensive to do so, and instead I'm spending my game time being careful to match income with expenditure. This is a pity because the public free mode and all the crazy stuff that goes on in it is the best part about this game for me. Fun has become more expensive for me then.

If I look at it now in fact, the cheapest way of fighting in free mode is to hire a tank or a buzzard ($200), even one grenade costs more than that. The bottom line seems to be that the economics of the game are pushing me towards tanks and buzzards, a pity since both of those have limited appeal.