New to coding, have a few questions

7 replies to this topic
BarelyLegal
  • BarelyLegal

You're a cünt.

• BUSTED!
  • United-Kingdom

Posted 23 November 2013 - 11:52 AM

Hey everyone, I hope this is the right place to ask such questions.

I was thinking of learning to code in C++, and I have Visual Studio 2012 installed already. I was thinking of starting with a basic 2d game that I could build upon as I go along.

I've been using computers for many years, but I am new to coding. I just had a few questions and would really appreciate some feedback.

1: Is C++ a suitable language to begin with?

2: How would I display graphics (sprites?), and how would I link the code to the graphics? I'm aware of things like OpenGL, but I'm not really sure what it is. How would I link them together?

3: Would I design sprites in an external program, like Photoshop for instance? I quickly Google'd "Sprite animation tutorial" and was recommended Anatomy sprite animator, and Corel. 

4: If the answer to 3 is 'Yes', is there a way to import that into Visual Studio, or OpenGL? (I'm not really sure what I'm talking about)

Thanks in advance everyone, I really appreciate it. Apologies for being so clueless.

Rawra
  • Rawra

Daedric Prince of Madness

• Members

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:05 PM Edited by Rawra, 23 November 2013 - 01:06 PM.

1.Yes C++ is suitable, although I would personally recommend to start with C and after being comfortable with it, to have a look at C++.

2. Have you coded before? If not, there's not just some 'draw model' command. You use an API (correct word?) such as OpenGL or DirectX, set up the rendering data and then call it as part of your main loop.

3. Whatever you want

4. The API can take care of that for you when you create your textures.

---