Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Unhandled Exception: c0000005 At address: 006f5330

13 replies to this topic
SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#1

Posted 08 November 2013 - 01:33 PM Edited by Spuds725, 08 November 2013 - 10:04 PM.

Hello, I just bought the Grand Theft Auto Complete Pack on Steam yesterday and really excited as I can finally buy it despite those years of having no money. However, I can't play GTA Vice City after launching it. It doesn't even make it to the menu screen as it will show an error tab which displays the error like the title said. Here is the detailed information of the crash:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: gta-vc.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 48982736
Fault Module Name: gta-vc.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 48982736
Exception Offset: 002f5330
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.2.9200.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 17417
Additional Information 1: 55bd
Additional Information 2: 55bdb125e5f5eebba32ff4470f6d6db1
Additional Information 3: 8a84
Additional Information 4: 8a84dc171444a56e8503b3470906aff1

I tried some solutions, such as:

Changing the compatibility settings (Windows 98/ME & Windows XP SP3)
Adding it to DEP (Data Execution Prevention)
Running it on 640x480 resolution

As on some threads, some people suggest that I should remove the .set file in the GTA Vice City Users folder, but I didn't even have the file as I just bought it.


I really hope you can help me as I really want to play GTA Vice City and III as it is awesome.


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#2

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:13 PM Edited by Spuds725, 08 November 2013 - 10:26 PM.

The .set file (settings file) will not be created until you actually start the game-- (why you couldn't delete it).

 

Please post your PC specs-- OS, video card, RAM, etc....

 

One thing you can try--- right click on the program start icon and click the compatibility tab- below the compatibility dropdown there should be a setting "disable visual themes"-- check that--

 

Does your PC support 640x480??   I'm not talking about clicking this in the compatibility tab-- some newer PCs do not support that resolution-- can you change your PC's resolution to that in your video settings? 

 

It might help to look over the buglist with solutions thread...  http://gtaforums.com...ns-pc-ps2-xbox/


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#3

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:27 PM Edited by SamAiman, 09 November 2013 - 01:28 PM.

Here's my specs I took from System Information:

 

OS Name - Microsoft Windows 8 Pro
Version - 6.2.9200 Build 9200
Other OS Description  -  Not Available
OS Manufacturer - Microsoft Corporation
System Name  -  SYAHMI
System Manufacturer  -  ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
System Model  -  K43U
System Type  -  X86-based PC
System SKU  - N/A 
Processor - AMD E-450 APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics, 1650 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2  Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date  -  American Megatrends Inc. 216, 26/8/2011
SMBIOS Version - 2.7
Embedded Controller Version - 255.255
BIOS Mode  -  Legacy
BaseBoard Manufacturer  -  ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
BaseBoard Model  -  Not Available
BaseBoard Name  -  Base Board
Platform Role  -  Mobile
Secure Boot State  -  Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration  -  Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory  -  C:\Windows
System Directory  -  C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device  -  \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale  -  Malaysia
Hardware Abstraction Layer  -  Version = "6.2.9200.16442"
User Name  -  Syahmi\SYAHMI\MuhammadSyahmiAiman
Time Zone  -  Malay Peninsula Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)  -  2.00 GB
Total Physical Memory  -  1.60 GB
Available Physical Memory  -  167 MB
Total Virtual Memory  -  4.01 GB
Available Virtual Memory  -  1.74 GB
Page File Space  -  2.41 GB
Page File  -  C:\pagefile.sys
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions  -  Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions  -  Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware  -  Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection  -  Yes

 

My PC supports 640x480, tried running it on 640x480 but still doesn't work


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#4

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:35 PM Edited by Spuds725, 09 November 2013 - 01:40 PM.

 

My PC supports 640x480, tried running it on 640x480 but still doesn't work

 

Don't "run it" in that resolution-- the PC must be able to support that resolution but it is not necessary to switch to that resolution nor "run" the .exe in that resolution--

 

//edit//

 

Just saw this-- http://gtaforums.com...y-on-windows-8/

 

But it does not look as if you are getting to the screen to turn on the frame limiter.

 

It would not hurt to look over the Buglist with solutions-- http://gtaforums.com...ns-pc-ps2-xbox/

 

Look at #30 and possibly #31


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#5

Posted 09 November 2013 - 03:27 PM

As I said, I couldn't even make it to the menu screen, so the solutions of turning the Frame Limiter on is useless as of the #30 solution, also the #31 didn't work either


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#6

Posted 09 November 2013 - 03:29 PM Edited by SamAiman, 09 November 2013 - 03:30 PM.

The game launches, but then goes to a black screen and then back to the desktop with the error tab showing as the title said. (without trying the solutions)

 

I tried using the 800x600 set file, showed the error tab as above, then tried using the 1280x720 and it does nothing.


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#7

Posted 09 November 2013 - 07:42 PM

There haven't been very many people posting threads about steam version of VC running on windows 8-- I don't have alot of experience with getting VC to run on my machine-- it just worked-- so most of the help I've given here has been for the same problems I've seen over the years...

 

On Steam's store-- does it say it is Windows 8 compatible? Do they offer any support-- I just did see they have a message board-- you might get more timely help there--- I saw some vice city for  windows 8 issues threads over there with a quick google search...

 

I would keep checking back here in case someone posts back but you might want to explore other resources


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#8

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:02 PM

Tried many solutions, even performed a disk defrag, still doesn't work :/


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#9

Posted 10 November 2013 - 06:39 PM

I really wanna play it, been waiting for 2 days with no solutions, I guess downgrading would do it


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#10

Posted 11 November 2013 - 03:41 AM Edited by SamAiman, 11 November 2013 - 09:11 AM.

Alright, so I tested on my other laptop which uses Windows 7 64bit and it worked! So I guess the OS was the issue, so this issue has been solved :D

 

EDIT: But yea, I really wanna play on my computer which uses Windows 8 32bit because I don't wanna change laptops all the time just to play GTA Vice City and III


SamAiman
  • SamAiman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2013

#11

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:19 PM

UPDATE: I performed a reinstall of Windows, then I reinstalled GTA Vice City.. and guess what? It worked!! Finally :D

 

As for Spuds, I think you should add this method to the unhandled exception solutions if DEP, compatibility and stuff like that don't work.


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#12

Posted 14 November 2013 - 01:14 PM Edited by Spuds725, 14 November 2013 - 01:14 PM.

That is kind of extreme and doesn't make much sense-- did you have to do anything else (on the compatibility tab to get it to work).

 

Also what was you installation history... Like did you have 8.0 originally, upgraded to 8.1, and when you reinstall go straight to 8.1???

 

Thanks in advance...

 

PS... Glad it's working for you.


Liverking
  • Liverking

    Gamer Killer

  • New Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2014
  • Iran

#13

Posted 21 May 2014 - 02:40 PM

I Played Vice City Thousand Times in my Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 with no problem.

 

 But some Time Later i Added gta-vc.exe to DEP exception list for no Reason and my Game Screwed Up !!!  :panic:

 

I don't know what to do... i don't want to Downgrade my Windows Because i love my Windows too much  :cry:


Liverking
  • Liverking

    Gamer Killer

  • New Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2014
  • Iran

#14

Posted 22 May 2014 - 12:13 PM

Uninstalling and Reinstalling the Game Solved my Problem...  :r*:





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users