Photo

Frustration with violent game research.

7 replies to this topic
ACidTRIp6o6
  • ACidTRIp6o6

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 02 November 2013 - 01:29 AM

I really feel like a spammer doing this with my first post, but, here we go.  I'm a communications graduate student and I'm doing my graduate thesis on gaming.  I've been frustrated with the treatment of video games by the mainstream media since I can remember.  It seems that everytime there is a violent attrocity commited by anyone that video games must be tested for culpability.  This inaccurate/informal test is done by siting agression model studies that show agression levels rise as we play games. I for one would like to see more gaming scholarship focused on the artistic/meaningful side of games!

Example: Instead of focusing on Trevor stealing a Coquette and murdering 5 prostitutes and escaping a 5 star WL, I'd much rather see rhetorical studies that look at things such as Micheal being able to truly connect with Franklin in a father/son relationship because he is isn't afraid of ruining Franklin like he is with his own son.  Ya feel me?

Anyways, if you guys and gals would be so kind as to take my little survey I would greatly appreciate it!  (Link below)

http://freeonlinesur...93zfcr7ca362666

If you have anything that you would like to discuss further about my project (which is gonna be a knock-out) hit me up.  I value any and all responses and questions.  

Gauntlet Hair
  • Gauntlet Hair

Professional Pilot IRL

• Members
  • None

Posted 02 November 2013 - 01:51 AM

Took a survey. Good luck. 

ACidTRIp6o6
  • ACidTRIp6o6

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:26 AM

Took a survey. Good luck. 

Muchas gracias, sir.

ACidTRIp6o6
  • ACidTRIp6o6

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 04 November 2013 - 01:38 AM

Thanks for the responses so far! Y'all have been knocking these questions out of the park.  Keep'em coming, people!

Mad_Maxine
  • Mad_Maxine

ʇnɥʍ

• Members
  • None