Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

apu upgrade

16 replies to this topic
ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#1

Posted 22 October 2013 - 09:38 AM

My old motherboard intel dg41wv died so I had a new pc built.I had a tight budget so I got myself an APU A4 4000 With Hd7480d,4GB Ram and A gigabyte motherboard (F2A55M DS2)Now I would like to upgrade my gpu to HD 7750 1 GB DDR5.Is this upgrade applicable to my build? 


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#2

Posted 22 October 2013 - 12:59 PM

Yup.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#3

Posted 23 October 2013 - 10:37 AM

Well how much bottleneck will i experience? Will I be able to play ac4 with that cpu? I plan on upgrading the cpu if i can expand my budget. Any suggestions?


ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#4

Posted 02 November 2013 - 04:29 AM

Will anyone tell me something?Moreover I might be able to upgrade to an a10 5800k now.Does it have the hd 7660d integrated with it?If yes,then can I still upgrade both the cpu and gpu?


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#5

Posted 02 November 2013 - 12:20 PM

If you want to upgrade the CPU and GPU, I'd just go ahead and change the mobo as well. There is no point in buying the APU if you're going to use dedicated graphics card anyway, that's just a waste of money. Or at least get the Athlon X4 740/750K, which is considerably cheaper than APU and will fit into your mobo.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#6

Posted 03 November 2013 - 07:15 AM

I know it will be useless to buy apu if I have dedicated gfx already but problem is the x2 740k is not available and the a10 5800k is the only cpu which is good and will fit my mobo and I can change the mobo as I have told due to a tight budget?Can the hd 7750 play the latest games of 2013 at mid high settings on 1366x768


ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#7

Posted 05 November 2013 - 10:24 AM

Will the hd 7770 work with vga.I don't know whether there will be a dvi to vga adapter with the card


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#8

Posted 06 November 2013 - 07:29 AM

It will work with an adapter.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#9

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:36 AM Edited by ramarar, 08 November 2013 - 10:49 AM.

what about the psu? Here some details .It's a local psu from Intex.I know a branded one is better but they aren't available here

 

 

SMPS 450 Watt (24 Pin) Model No IT-2045S Input Voltage Range 220V AC Frequency 50Hz±5% Current 4A     D.C Output Voltage: +5V; Current: 40A   Voltage: +12V; Current: 20A   Voltage: +3.3V; Current: 28A   Voltage: -5V; Current: 0.5A   Voltage: -12V; Current: 0.5A   Voltage: +5V SB; Current: 2A


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#10

Posted 08 November 2013 - 03:40 PM

I don't know the brand, but from the specs I can tell it's a very, very old PSU (high 5V and low 12V capacity, and also a -5V line ,which is forbidden in newer PSUs). No way in hell it's able to output 450W. You should change it.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#11

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:13 PM Edited by ramarar, 09 November 2013 - 01:48 PM.

how about the corsair VS450? will it go well with the mobo gfx? Some people say the bios also may create problems.Mine is from american megatrends version F5. My case is the following

http://www.intextech...abinet Standard


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#12

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:51 PM

VS450 is your best bet if you want a cheapest PSU that will get the job done.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#13

Posted 10 November 2013 - 04:23 AM Edited by ramarar, 10 November 2013 - 04:26 PM.

Will it fit the case as well? The current psu says micro atx on it? Is the vs450 micro atx?Also the hd 7770 should fit the case should it not?Should I move back to the hd 7750 and drop the psu


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#14

Posted 10 November 2013 - 10:44 PM

From what I can see this case is designed for standard ATX power supplies, so pretty much any ATX PSU will fit.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#15

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:51 AM Edited by ramarar, 11 November 2013 - 11:01 AM.

Final question if I buy the asus oc hd 7750 will it run on my build? It takes 55W under load that is what I have heard.From my calculations approx 150-160 will be the power consumption during load from the 12v rail without including the igpu and taking 30 w to be hdd consumption which are from samsung


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#16

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:06 PM

Yes, it will run. Avoid DDR3 versions of this card, only GDDR5 are worthwhile. You might also consider HD7770, it's often marginally more expensive, but noticeably faster.

ramarar
  • ramarar

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2011

#17

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:11 AM

Thanks to everyone for helping.I have bought the asus hd 7750.Time to have a better gameplay 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users