Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Can't play on two systems in the same house?

24 replies to this topic
TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#1

Posted 14 October 2013 - 03:42 AM

Long story short, me and my brother want to play GTA V together, but we can't. He can get online but I can't. We're on a wired connection with strong internet access. What's the deal? Rockstar make it to where you can only have one system per connection?


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#2

Posted 14 October 2013 - 03:47 AM

Anyone experience this issue? It's still happening to me! :O


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#3

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:03 AM

Help?


Phyxsius-
  • Phyxsius-

    Just lil me

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2013

#4

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:05 AM Edited by Phyxsius-, 14 October 2013 - 04:05 AM.

You need a router. That is the only solution I know of, for multiple PCs / consoles to connect from the same internet source.


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#5

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:06 AM

I have a router. It has 4 ports. I've used two of them for years. I'm online and he is too on the PSN Network, but I can't get on GTA Online but he can.


kc930
  • kc930

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2009

#6

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:09 AM

well my friend and i were playing in my room together, my ps3 is on wired connection and my friend's on wireless


Phyxsius-
  • Phyxsius-

    Just lil me

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2013

#7

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:13 AM Edited by Phyxsius-, 14 October 2013 - 04:13 AM.

http://en.kioskea.ne...-2-xbox-360-why

 

This explains how to setup ports for multiple consoles connected to the same router. Not the best source, but it has some decent ideas and solutions. 


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#8

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:11 AM

Tried. I can sign into PSN but not get online. =[


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#9

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:24 AM

We're both online and even got the PC going with net, just can't sign on to GTA Online. We got two different accounts. I don't know what's wrong.


AscendantWyvern
  • AscendantWyvern

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2013

#10

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:26 AM

My wife and I can play at the same time. Is it possible that your router is exceeding its bandwidth limitations (which I highly doubt)?


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#11

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:28 AM

My wife and I can play at the same time. Is it possible that your router is exceeding its bandwidth limitations (which I highly doubt)?

 

Well my net speed is like 7mbps. Good enough to play PSN. I don't now what's wrong. Tips?


everydaynormalguy
  • everydaynormalguy

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#12

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:28 AM

you guys are using different PSN accounts right?


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#13

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:31 AM

Yes sir. Different PS3s obviously with our own copies of the game. I just get the endless Loading GTA Online screen with Game Art coming up. 


everydaynormalguy
  • everydaynormalguy

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#14

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:33 AM

how many devices are connected to the router?

 

Try resetting the modem and router


TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#15

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:36 AM

I reset the router already. Everything is running smooth, no lag. He's online right now and its running great. Three devices: 2 PS3s and a Laptop. I get the endless loading screens...

 

Joining GTA Online...


Revoltion
  • Revoltion

    Rev

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2013

#16

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:37 AM

Yes sir. Different PS3s obviously with our own copies of the game. I just get the endless Loading GTA Online screen with Game Art coming up. 

Maybe you just happen to be one of the few people (or maybe not so few) who are still experiencing problems. What I would try is switching consoles with your brother and if you still can't log in atleast you know it's not the console itself and that it's probably not anything to do with your internet. Also you could try logging in say 5 minutes before your brother, if it still doesn't let you in then you know that it's nothing to do with only one person being allowed online at the same time.

 

That's all I've got really, maybe try contacting R*


everydaynormalguy
  • everydaynormalguy

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#17

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:39 AM

yea, it seems like your internet connection is fine, ps3's working fine, just your account. 

 

When your brother is not online can you then sign on? 


Vysse
  • Vysse

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2013

#18

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:41 AM

It's your router.... go buy one that allows open NAT and such

TeCNeEk
  • TeCNeEk

    GTA Legend

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013

#19

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:47 AM

I just tried getting on when my brother turned off his PS3. I'm still getting endless loading screens.


ijustcameheretobeeotch
  • ijustcameheretobeeotch

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#20

Posted 14 October 2013 - 11:55 AM

let me guess. this works fine when you and your brother want to boost in call of duty?

Anullu
  • Anullu

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2011

#21

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:04 PM

is Upnp activated ?

 

make a internet conection test on the playstation and see whats its saying what kind of NAT you have and if Upnp is available


Phyxsius-
  • Phyxsius-

    Just lil me

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2013

#22

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:18 PM Edited by Phyxsius-, 14 October 2013 - 12:19 PM.

I just tried getting on when my brother turned off his PS3. I'm still getting endless loading screens.

So it is not a router issue, but rather a console one, as only one console doesn`t have any port conflict.

 

As a desperation measure, try using your brother`s UTP cable for your console and see if it works. A long shot, but you might have a faulty cable. That, or you can use the laptop to check - simply plug cable, wait for it to get assigned IP, START - RUN(for win xp) / "search programs and files" field for Win 7- CMD. In the new DOS field, type "ping -t google.com" - minus the quotations. If you get no packet loss, CTRL+C to stop, type EXIT to close.


Anullu
  • Anullu

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2011

#23

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:23 PM

check your NAT-TYPE and upnp first as I wrote above!


GTA5Madness
  • GTA5Madness

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2013

#24

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:27 PM

Could be your IPs conflicting so try assign a certain IP to both consoles that way it won't kick either of you off.


GTA5Madness
  • GTA5Madness

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2013

#25

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:30 PM

Or both go wireless.. problem solved 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users