Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Xbox 360 - Game Keeps Freezing on Franklin's 1st Mission

1,189 replies to this topic
Luke12191
  • Luke12191

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#121

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:42 AM

I finally got to the first driving part to, only twice though, both times it froze and reset to the intro. 100% unplayable

Luke12191
  • Luke12191

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#122

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:45 AM

100% unplayable. Finally got past the intro and drove with Franklin twice before it restarted and gave the storage error.

CHICITY85
  • CHICITY85

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#123

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:56 AM

unplayable after i did michael first mision with the boat freeze everytime now somebody said our disc drive might be out dated


ArcherTheGreat
  • ArcherTheGreat

    Master Chief's Backseat Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2013

#124

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:01 AM

Found a fix. Make sure in your system settings, the display output is set to 720p instead of 1080p. The problem seems to come from the game trying to upscale the graphics to 1080. Only got one freeze and thats it after trying that. Everything works perfectly


anatomyhorror
  • anatomyhorror

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2013

#125

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:03 AM

Found a fix. Make sure in your system settings, the display output is set to 720p instead of 1080p. The problem seems to come from the game trying to upscale the graphics to 1080. Only got one freeze and thats it after trying that. Everything works perfectly

 

I've had my console set to 720p and tried several different installs.  Doesn't change anything for me.


bennyoopz
  • bennyoopz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#126

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:15 AM

Have tried every combination mentioned on this thread. 720 doesn't work for me either. Sulk.

ArcherTheGreat
  • ArcherTheGreat

    Master Chief's Backseat Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2013

#127

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:06 AM

Have tried every combination mentioned on this thread. 720 doesn't work for me either. Sulk.

Damn. What a shame. It worked for me, my game isn't freezing anymore but it's facing quite some lag. I'm sure Rockstar's working on a patch as we speak. Thousands of blokes are getting the same problem.


Kinh Rincer
  • Kinh Rincer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#128

Posted 19 September 2013 - 08:12 AM

Found a fix. Make sure in your system settings, the display output is set to 720p instead of 1080p. The problem seems to come from the game trying to upscale the graphics to 1080. Only got one freeze and thats it after trying that. Everything works perfectly


Pleas can you list your exact install details and xbox age and hdd space?

anatomyhorror
  • anatomyhorror

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2013

#129

Posted 19 September 2013 - 09:16 AM Edited by anatomyhorror, 19 September 2013 - 09:22 AM.

Jeez, been trying to install Disc 2 to USB for nearly 4 hours now.  Keep getting disc read error saying its scratched or something.  I didn't even have this problem yesterday.  After the error pops up, it lets me immediately start installing again.  I've gotten up to 60ish% before it fails.  Takes like 30-40 min for a full install so it's fairly annoying.  I've checked other games (not installed to HDD) and they're all still working.

 

Also, it seems as if it's an abnormally low amount of people suffering the freezing issue.  And seems like it's mostly Original 360's 20gb HDD no hdmi that have had one RROD and was sent to MS.

 

I highly doubt this problem will be fixed, I know if I was Rockstar I wouldn't bother with a dozen people who had old 360's.  I'd be more concerned about that iFruit app or w/e it is.  That app is key to the future of GTA's success.  It's really lame, I've boughten every Rockstar game on release date since GTA2 on Dreamcast.  Have multiple versions of some their games as well on different platforms.  I've been a great customer and fan.  I hope we don't get the cold shoulder, especially some of us being insanely loyal customers.


Gaz 1976
  • Gaz 1976

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#130

Posted 19 September 2013 - 09:22 AM

Having abandoned the game for a day through sheer frustration, I went back to it last night and then this morning. I noticed that both first plays lasted for about half an hour before the freeze. The following attempts lasted only a couple of minutes. This may be pure coincidence, but I wonder whether this is a processor/heat issue (but then again I have barely any tech knowledge). I see that a poster above has already given the heat sink a complete clean, so it doesn't seem to be the fact that all our 2008/9 Xboxes are clogged with dust. I haven't tried the resolution downgrade yet (as it doesn't appear to work for everyone above).


Kinh Rincer
  • Kinh Rincer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#131

Posted 19 September 2013 - 09:47 AM

I've just tried lowering the resolution to 720p.

It looks like it has worked. I am running the game as advised by Rockstar. No USB or installing disk 2

Played for a good 2hrs no freezes!

This seems to have worked for me. I will update again when I have another play later.

ash82
  • ash82

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2013

#132

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:11 AM

I feel for you guys. I had the exact same issues when LA Noire came out and they weren't interested. Ended up having to buy a new Xbox just to play it. I've had no problems with GTA so far but you never know. Hope you guys can find a solution soon. It ruins the game for you when this happens.

hepiz
  • hepiz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#133

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:50 AM

Just signed up to report the same problem also with an older xbox. Nothing seems to fix it and other games always worked with no issues. Unbelievable if they wont even bother to give a proper response to us. Im getting tired of this so ill just soon get my money back and make damn sure this is the last r* game i buy, no matter how good they are. Already spent close to a 100 bucks on this and a flash drive. Come on r* time to start serving your customers!

Kinh Rincer
  • Kinh Rincer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#134

Posted 19 September 2013 - 11:41 AM

I've just tried lowering the resolution to 720p.
It looks like it has worked. I am running the game as advised by Rockstar. No USB or installing disk 2
Played for a good 2hrs no freezes!
This seems to have worked for me. I will update again when I have another play later.


After my initial 2hr session it is back to freezing every 10/20 mins. I've borrowed my mates xbox which is newer because it has hdmi. Will report back.

iFox
  • iFox

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#135

Posted 19 September 2013 - 12:08 PM

Same freezing problem. I have an old xbox 20 gig fixed from RROD (Maybe it has to do something with the way it is fixed by ms?)

 

I have also heard game freezing as a result of overheating power supply. Maybe worth checking out...


anty1994
  • anty1994

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#136

Posted 19 September 2013 - 01:35 PM

Hi guys, I too am having this problem, i was getting to the driving part of franklins first mission but not to a point when I can save the game which is disappointing, now I can't even get passed the loading screens, tried all sorts of reinstalls, formatting and nothing is working, all other games are working, seems like such a disappointment, I feel that if rockstar don't sort this out soon then they will lose an awful lot of loyal customers, I for one will not want to buy another rockstar game

Bigstank
  • Bigstank

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008

#137

Posted 19 September 2013 - 03:24 PM

Well it played perfect for 5 hours straight on my friend's 2010 (Thought it was older an old core model, turns out it's newer and has HDMI) even the fps was better than mine.

 

Not sure if R* plans on fixing or even if they can fix the problem but I'm probably just going to pick up a newer model from a pawn shop or something.


MercyfulFate151
  • MercyfulFate151

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#138

Posted 19 September 2013 - 03:27 PM

This game is broken right now, and I don't think getting another copy will fix anything but I may try it anyway,


tones_the_tiger
  • tones_the_tiger

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#139

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:00 PM

This needs to get out to the public. I've seen posts on reddit and everyone is convinced that this is a rare occurrence and only happening to one person. This obviously isn't the case. I would much rather have a patch made soon then have to buy a newer console.....but I've already tasted gta for a short while before it started having issues and it was amazing. It really sucks knowing what I COULD. Be doing and playing but not being able to

nickray84
  • nickray84

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#140

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:04 PM

f*ck it, i'm giving into the beast that is microsoft and going to buy a 250gb new slim xbox 360.  basically to just play this game....   never going to gamespot again either

  • w3llborn likes this

w3llborn
  • w3llborn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#141

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:08 PM

f*ck it, i'm giving into the beast that is microsoft and going to buy a 250gb new slim xbox 360.  basically to just play this game....   never going to gamespot again either


Let us know if you have any problems with playing the game on the new slim version. I may have to do the same thing if it actually works fine. I have an 8 year old 360 now, so I am willing to buy a new one.

darkangelism
  • darkangelism

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#142

Posted 19 September 2013 - 04:12 PM

I just signed up to post about this as well. I am having the same freezing issue on my RROD refurb console. it is a pre 2008 console. Sometimes I can play for 30 minutes, sometimes 5.

 

All other games work fine, tested other games for hours right after freeze so console didn't cool off between and no issues. 

 

I have a custom upgraded 250GB drive and an official 250GB drive, freezes with disc 1 installed on either one and play disk from DVD drive.

freezes with both discs installed to the hard drive.

freezes with my roommates disk 1 installed to the hard drive (he has no issues)

 

will get memory stick tonight and install roommates disc 2 to that. 

Will put system on laptop cooling pad with fan.

 


anty1994
  • anty1994

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#143

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:01 PM

Really need a fix to this

Guchy2ndFloor
  • Guchy2ndFloor

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#144

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:11 PM

Any word from R*?

A decent response even. Ive managed to get up to Michael in the story. Constantly quick saving and restarting the console after a freeze. I get between 40 mins to one hour before it freaks out.


Remco079
  • Remco079

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#145

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:16 PM Edited by Remco079, 19 September 2013 - 05:38 PM.

I am now trying to get it work on 420p and without singing in to my profile, I will update here

 

It helped me to play a little longer. When i was saving my game the game asked to sign in and just a few minutes later it freezes


goates
  • goates

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2013

#146

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:33 PM

I had a lot of issues on release day similar to this of freezing etc. Went out and bought a new copy and its been fine since. Played for >10 hours without a single freeze.


CHICITY85
  • CHICITY85

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#147

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:51 PM

well i just tried 420p drove for 3 minutes and it frooze i can only enjoy 3 mins of game play i give up


peanham5000
  • peanham5000

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#148

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:54 PM

Rockstar have a big issue, if the game isnt able to work on every xbox it should have a system requirements on the box like a pc game used to. You end up with a game you cant use or get your money back. It must be a breach of some marketing law! Even if its only effecting 5% of gamers its still false advertising or breach of contract of sales.

  • w3llborn and BuQQzz like this

w3llborn
  • w3llborn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#149

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:57 PM

Is anyone having this freezing problem while not playing on an older white Xbox 360?

nickray84
  • nickray84

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#150

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:04 PM

I got my 250 gb new slim xbox 360 booting up and all that jazz.  Will try to play gta 5 on it and will report back.  Just letting you know that if you buy from wal mart, they have a 15 day period warrenty and then xbox takes over the rest for the next year.  Not sure if gamestop does this or not but it wasnt worth me trying. 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users