Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Xbox 360 - Game Keeps Freezing on Franklin's 1st Mission

1,190 replies to this topic
oli206
  • oli206

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#1111

Posted 10 October 2013 - 03:06 PM

Please guys, write a tweet to Rockstar so they hear us. Could you reply to this tweet?

 

https://twitter.com/...318540526145536


Jds377
  • Jds377

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2013

#1112

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:35 PM

I don't think it's going to be patchable. My case is 100% without a doubt an overheating GPU. I've played for HOURS with no issues since I opened my case and put a powerful fan directly over the heatsink, I just unplugged the fan and experienced a freeze within 10 minutes. I also found that I had to keep the white duct on or I would experience a CPU overheat (two red ring). It sucks to play this way, but I've really been enjoying the game.

  • Sigals likes this

Maggot Army
  • Maggot Army

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#1113

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:43 PM

I don't entirely disagree that's it's an overheating problem, but there are a few things that leave me to question that it is. When I start playing the game usually freezes withing five minutes or so. I'll restart and maybe get another 20 mins to sometimes two hours on a rare occasion. I haven't played in a few days mainly to lack of interest and feeling like I wasted 60 bucks on a piece of sh*t r* knew wasn't ready. All these updates are only taking a day or so to get certified when other games it usually takes a week or two. So that there says something that both companies know that something is wrong.


Alir99
  • Alir99

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2013

#1114

Posted 13 October 2013 - 10:38 AM

Hey guys.

I have GTA V on my old xbox (2007-2008) and it works perfectly fine for me. I installed Disk 1 to my Transcend 16gb USB and I just put in the 2nd CD. Some of you said that you got your xbox after your old one got the RROD, so I was thinking that the problem might be the Xbox's that Microsoft gave to those who had RROD. Can anyone else with an old xbox that hasn't got RROD confirm this?


mk_flow
  • mk_flow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#1115

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:22 PM Edited by mk_flow, 14 October 2013 - 12:22 PM.

Old XBOX (RROD)

Here is what works for me:

 

- Disc 1 installed on 120 GB HDD
- Disc 2 installed on 16GB flash drive
- Clear game cache on every startup
- Saving on cloud storage
 
It still freezes from time to time, but i'm able to play at least 3 hours without any problems. It's not ideal but better than nothing. Hope they'll fix that sh*t soon...

Jds377
  • Jds377

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2013

#1116

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:14 PM

I still haven't experienced a single freeze since I've been using my ghetto GPU cooler.

demonjlh
  • demonjlh

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2013

#1117

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:20 PM

joined to add the the long list of people with the freezing storage issue alert. tried the standard R* fix...nothing. GF is currently exchanging the game and picking up a USB drive so i can try the usb/HHD music chair installs.


Maggot Army
  • Maggot Army

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#1118

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:41 PM

Ill try to run off of cloud storage and see how that works. I'm already using a flash drive and clear cache every go around. Another patch comes out this week...so we will hope this is the one that helps us I guess.

demonjlh
  • demonjlh

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2013

#1119

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:01 PM

this should really be pinned. this issue is all over the internet and a serious problem that R* needs to resolve.


Rydog1973
  • Rydog1973

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2013

#1120

Posted 15 October 2013 - 01:44 AM

I have an xbox manufactured in 2007/08 my game randomly freezes anywhere from 10 minutes in to an hour in at any point of the game. No rhyme or reason and absolutely unacceptable. This game should have been tested on multiple machines from multiple years before it hit the market. It's not even fun to play when you have to constantly reboot the machine. And yes I have tried every trick from clearing the cache to every other stupid fix that doesn't work. Unless they figure something out soon I will not be buying a Rockstar game again. Customer service needs to take precedent to their billion dollar sales! Fix the damn game!!!!

Lelouch vi Britannia
  • Lelouch vi Britannia

    Zero

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2011
  • United-States

#1121

Posted 15 October 2013 - 02:14 AM

I don't know but I've been getting a slight freeze during some missions, but no entirely. It'll freeze for about 2 seconds and then continue. I also have a problem with the FPS at times during the day, specifically when driving. And I get these black bars that pop up on top of the screen when i'm driving, sometimes when i'm running or flying an aircraft it will do it too. Could it be the Xbox's GPU failing? I haven't played GTA IV in a while so I might see if that game has any issues too. I will try all of my other games out too.


totoh
  • totoh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2013

#1122

Posted 15 October 2013 - 01:35 PM

i hate this any one have any solution this is very awful from rockstar 


TallerNote1303
  • TallerNote1303

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2013

#1123

Posted 16 October 2013 - 01:27 AM Edited by TallerNote1303, 16 October 2013 - 01:56 AM.

Hi i'm new here.
I have a xbox elite from 2007(?) Whit an original 120gb HDD (from a few months i have to hit the console to start a disck game) and all this time i have no problem whit the game either campain or online, i play about 4 o 5 hours continous, sometimes 8 hours and i started play from the first day, but today the game has start to ramdomly freeze and restart no matter what, just be able to do a online mission when recived a invitation. When i try to go out of mi house on online o campain it freeze and restart. Hope rockstar do something soon i dont want to buy a new console. Sorry for mi bad english.
Another thing, some minutes ago when i turn off the console from the dashboard option or holding the xbox boton, the console seems to turn off but still making noise like is turn on, and the light of the console on/off boton flashed.

mk_flow
  • mk_flow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#1124

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:17 AM

R * Support told me that a problem with the RAM can be reason for the crashes. The lady thinks that the xbox has problems to clear the RAM and therefore crashes after a while. She said that in this case R * can't do anything. This is bullsh*t isn't it? In my opinion they can determine what, how much and how long the data is stored in RAM. So they should be able to control and fix it. What do you guys think about that?


Jds377
  • Jds377

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2013

#1125

Posted 16 October 2013 - 02:07 PM

30 hours with no freezes now

gta5isbroken
  • gta5isbroken

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#1126

Posted 16 October 2013 - 02:53 PM

R * Support told me that a problem with the RAM can be reason for the crashes. The lady thinks that the xbox has problems to clear the RAM and therefore crashes after a while. She said that in this case R * can't do anything. This is bullsh*t isn't it? In my opinion they can determine what, how much and how long the data is stored in RAM. So they should be able to control and fix it. What do you guys think about that?


I think that's bullsh*t. If that was the case most games and even the dashboard would crash. You would pretty much not be able to allocation any memory once a certain limit was hit.

Tzhar
  • Tzhar

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#1127

Posted 16 October 2013 - 04:14 PM

Got my new 4gb slim yesterday.  Have played two 3-hour sessions with no problems.  This is with install disc on a flashdrive and playing off of disc 2


Maggot Army
  • Maggot Army

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#1128

Posted 16 October 2013 - 10:18 PM

Cloud storage didn't work at all. I finally caved and pulled my xbox apart and have been using the ghetto fan mod. I haven't had a freeze at all in about 8 or so hours of play. I hated doing it, but it has worked so far. Hopefully they can figure this out. The game is fun, but not worth gutting your xbox. Im not using a small fan either...I laid down a 3 foot tower fan right on top of the console.

TallerNote1303
  • TallerNote1303

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2013

#1129

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:06 AM

Hi again, today i notice mi GTA disck has a "beatifull" circular scratch all over so i think that is the problem, its posible to repair that?

purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#1130

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:36 AM

(250GB 360 Slim)

Sigh. I decided to update my game today in the hope that I could finally mod and keep vehicles, and the freezing is back with a vengeance - I'm also getting vanishing roads, some pretty bad pop-in and low FPS. Sent a ticket to R* support, but still haven't got a reply to my first ticket so I won't hold my breath.

Tried clearing the cache and issues persist. I'm not going to bother with another fresh install - I give up on this game - but I'll still keep an eye on this forum/R* tech support page to see if we get a permanent solution/patch that fixes these issues.


mk_flow
  • mk_flow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#1131

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:56 AM

I think I'm going to try something like that:

 

http://youtu.be/lawPsr8IKMI?t=7m58s

 

Might that help? 


Lelouch vi Britannia
  • Lelouch vi Britannia

    Zero

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2011
  • United-States

#1132

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:25 AM Edited by VoiceoftheVoiceless, 18 October 2013 - 09:24 AM.

I just contacted Rockstar Support on their website, and told them about all the issues I had, and I think their answer MAY be the key to fixing everyones issues on the 360 version.

 

Here is what they told me:

 

 

Hello Trevor,

Thank you for contacting Rockstar Support.

We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with GTA V on Xbox 360. Below you will find some Console Troubleshooting steps which may help resolve the issue.

Before troubleshooting, please check the following:

  • a. Turn the console off and on.
  • b. Unplug all power cords and accessories, and then plug them back in firmly. Make sure all connections are secure.
  • c. Update your console software.

1.) Clearing System Cache:
To clear the Xbox 360 cache select Settings==>System==> Storage ==> then highlight the HDD, press Y for Device Options… and then simply select “Clear System Cache”. Select Yes when prompted to perform Hard Drive Maintenance.
* = Deleting the cache will remove temporary game files and updates. Saved games, profiles, DLC etc will NOT be removed.

**Please note, if the game freezes during installation, please check the following article:
http://support.rocks...V-installation-

2.) Clear the Game Cache.
Clearing the Game Cache on the Xbox 360 is a separate function from clearing the System Cache. In order to do so, you must hold the LEFT Bumper, RIGHT Bumper, and the X button all at the same time on the Xbox 360 controller as a game is launching. Once you reach the Main Menu or Title Screen of the game, you can let go of the buttons. There will be no notification to you that this process has completed because it is all done passively.
Clearing the Game Cache resolves many problems in games that rely heavily on the Xbox 360's cached memory. Some of these problems include, but are not limited to NPC issues, random textures, and "hitching", "lagging", or "slow gameplay".

Best Regards,

Brian J

 

 

I tried the second option, however, I haven't played long enough to see if it fixed any of the issues. I'll keep playing to find out. Everyone else should give both of those options a go and see if it fixes anything. If it does, then you can thank me later.

 

 

EDIT: Played for a little while, and all I can say is WOW. That second option worked like a miracle. Gameplay while driving is so smooth, and while on foot too. The framerate may not be the greatest, but it's a hell of a lot better than it was, so far anyway.

  • oli206 likes this

oli206
  • oli206

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#1133

Posted 18 October 2013 - 11:49 AM Edited by oli206, 18 October 2013 - 11:54 AM.

--deleted


oli206
  • oli206

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#1134

Posted 18 October 2013 - 11:52 AM

I just contacted Rockstar Support on their website, and told them about all the issues I had, and I think their answer MAY be the key to fixing everyones issues on the 360 version.

 

Here is what they told me:

 

 

Hello Trevor,

Thank you for contacting Rockstar Support.

We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with GTA V on Xbox 360. Below you will find some Console Troubleshooting steps which may help resolve the issue.

Before troubleshooting, please check the following:

  • a. Turn the console off and on.
  • b. Unplug all power cords and accessories, and then plug them back in firmly. Make sure all connections are secure.
  • c. Update your console software.

1.) Clearing System Cache:
To clear the Xbox 360 cache select Settings==>System==> Storage ==> then highlight the HDD, press Y for Device Options… and then simply select “Clear System Cache”. Select Yes when prompted to perform Hard Drive Maintenance.
* = Deleting the cache will remove temporary game files and updates. Saved games, profiles, DLC etc will NOT be removed.

**Please note, if the game freezes during installation, please check the following article:
http://support.rocks...V-installation-

2.) Clear the Game Cache.
Clearing the Game Cache on the Xbox 360 is a separate function from clearing the System Cache. In order to do so, you must hold the LEFT Bumper, RIGHT Bumper, and the X button all at the same time on the Xbox 360 controller as a game is launching. Once you reach the Main Menu or Title Screen of the game, you can let go of the buttons. There will be no notification to you that this process has completed because it is all done passively.
Clearing the Game Cache resolves many problems in games that rely heavily on the Xbox 360's cached memory. Some of these problems include, but are not limited to NPC issues, random textures, and "hitching", "lagging", or "slow gameplay".

Best Regards,

Brian J

 

 

I tried the second option, however, I haven't played long enough to see if it fixed any of the issues. I'll keep playing to find out. Everyone else should give both of those options a go and see if it fixes anything. If it does, then you can thank me later.

 

 

EDIT: Played for a little while, and all I can say is WOW. That second option worked like a miracle. Gameplay while driving is so smooth, and while on foot too. The framerate may not be the greatest, but it's a hell of a lot better than it was, so far anyway.

 

I'll try that as soon as i get home! Crossing my fingers.. Thanks for sharing


Styles.
  • Styles.

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Sep 2013

#1135

Posted 18 October 2013 - 12:00 PM

Tried the game cache clearing option, got to the next mission and it froze/storage issue. So pissed off, I haven't played it in two weeks, nothing works.


Sid Simelia
  • Sid Simelia

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2013

#1136

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:36 PM

So my Xbox is ancient, and the DVD drive is broken, but the Games on Demand version finally dropped today.

Against my better judgement, I went ahead and bought it.  I really hope I don't have any problems with it, but I will update you all on the situation in a day or so.  It wouldn't let me DL it from my Xbox, I had to log into Xbox.com to get it, that's not a particularly good sign.


Styles.
  • Styles.

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Sep 2013

#1137

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:48 PM

My Xbox is retarded, it lets me play online fine, let's me complete missions. As soon as I flick it over to story mode with Michaels mission chasing his yacht I get the stupid storage notificaction, so it's obviously not an issue with the Xbox over-heating or whatever. Confused


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#1138

Posted 19 October 2013 - 01:13 PM

Just to update from my post above; went ahead and did the Xbox Support fix again, but kept my game save, updated the game, and it's working. No freezing, no vanishing roads, pop-in as normal - managed to complete the final mission and mod some cars without any further issues thus far.


Macadelics
  • Macadelics

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#1139

Posted 20 October 2013 - 01:22 AM

I have not been paying attention to this thread at all. I borrowed the game to my brother and I've just be playing it over at his house.. But I brought the game home today to see if the recent updates they've had would've fixed the problem.. I didn't try playing single player but I went online and was able to play for about 10-15 minutes and it froze. Anyone having any luck or can anyone fill me in on what Rockstar and Microsoft are doing to fix it???


sdevers4
  • sdevers4

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#1140

Posted 20 October 2013 - 02:32 AM

I've been following this thread since page 1 took off. I tried everything someone suggested and finally as of last night at 11 o'clock at night I was able to play till 8am!!! No freezes nothing. Lol I went to Walmart and bought the new 360 for 179.00. Wasn't to bad of a price, but it is bad that we have to do this right before the Xbox one release. I got the 4gb and just plugged my external hard drive in to have more memory. Works like a charm! But f*ck Rockstar and Xbox!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users