Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Xbox 360 - Game Keeps Freezing on Franklin's 1st Mission

1,190 replies to this topic
ReaperCru
  • ReaperCru

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2013

#901

Posted 27 September 2013 - 03:10 AM

Sounds like you guys found the solution for the older X Box models.  I am a bit skeptical on how they would correct this issue if they do at all.  However, still sounds like from this forum and multiple others that other people are still experiencing similar issues and other unexplained crashes and glitches.  


Verleta
  • Verleta

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013

#902

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:37 AM Edited by Verleta, 27 September 2013 - 06:38 AM.

Hey everyone, sorry to see that this is an issue, especially with such a highly anticipated game. Anyway, I have an xbox that I sent in for overheating issues, Microsoft gave me an original white xbox with no HDMI port. I also have the 20 gb drive that came with the first older xbox, so I'm definitely at risk for this problem. 

 

The Manufacture date for my current xbox however, is 2010 and not 2008 like most of the people in here. I haven't picked up the game yet, and I'd like to know if I should since my xbox is old but not as old as most of the ones here.
 

In short, my xbox is 20GB no HDMI port, original fat xbox dated 2010 instead of 2008, should I buy the game or wait for a patch if one ever arrives?


gtajonno
  • gtajonno

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#903

Posted 27 September 2013 - 07:09 AM

Hey everyone, sorry to see that this is an issue, especially with such a highly anticipated game. Anyway, I have an xbox that I sent in for overheating issues, Microsoft gave me an original white xbox with no HDMI port. I also have the 20 gb drive that came with the first older xbox, so I'm definitely at risk for this problem. 
 
The Manufacture date for my current xbox however, is 2010 and not 2008 like most of the people in here. I haven't picked up the game yet, and I'd like to know if I should since my xbox is old but not as old as most of the ones here.
 
In short, my xbox is 20GB no HDMI port, original fat xbox dated 2010 instead of 2008, should I buy the game or wait for a patch if one ever arrives?

ahh just to add to your comment mine has 2009 stampes on the back bur after opening it i discoverd that xbix are cheeky bleeders bcouse it says inside 2006 stamped on the mobo so im going to asume that xbox took mime that even had the origonal microsoft void tag on and had the jasper heatsink in and stuck a 2009 sticker on the back thus making me think its a 09 model...please mate dont be decived...i may be wrong but just take caution as i rushed out got the game put it in thought great it works but no froze during first mision with franklin..im not trying to put a downer on it just saying use caution and keep ya recipt handy..

MAKA427
  • MAKA427

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

#904

Posted 27 September 2013 - 08:00 AM

Ok I managed to get my game working for about 30 mins by install the first two parts on a 16gb usb and the other two parts on a 60gb HDD, then running it from the play disc. I couldnt even start the game beforehand, so I must be doing something right


CHICITY85
  • CHICITY85

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#905

Posted 27 September 2013 - 08:28 AM

my xbox been open since june my system used to overheat but since i open it back in june with a fan on it i been able to play  but when i first got gta 5 it kept freezing i put a bigger fan on it now the freezing problem is gone


TalkingBeard
  • TalkingBeard

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#906

Posted 27 September 2013 - 09:36 AM

Just a small update - the game ran perfectly from half 5pm till 1am using the extreme fan mod. Tried offline and online, at 720p and 1080p, running off disc, or hdd or USB and all other install combinations.

DissTurbo
  • DissTurbo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#907

Posted 27 September 2013 - 09:43 AM

Soooo, overheating? Seriously? That's the problem? As long time PC player I would thought that it might be mainly associated with the audio bugs etc. (like well known BF3 problem for pc) but overheating!? Now what, R* will bundle the GTAV with the freakin' big ass fan for those with older xboxes? 

 

Fun thing: the prologue in the cold wintery location works fine eh? As soon as you get to hot Los Santos the overheating starts :> 


misfits138
  • misfits138

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#908

Posted 27 September 2013 - 09:48 AM

Yup, the freezing is gone for me as well after opening the 360 and sitting a freaking window fan on top of the thing. :/  Now I have to figure out another way to cool the thing because this looks ridiculous. If anyone has a somewhat cheap but sleek way to cool the gpu, post a link to a good guide. I know the DVD drive will probably have to sit outside the system because of Microsoft stupid design.

 

Didn't think it would be overheating because usually it's not just 1 game having the problem and there were no red rings or artifacts.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#909

Posted 27 September 2013 - 09:52 AM Edited by purplebunny, 27 September 2013 - 10:02 AM.

No overheating issues here, just a plain glitchy game. :panic:

 

EDIT: Still no ideas what's happening on new consoles? Also, something in fix 2 in my sig seems to be fixing the cars not rotating issue (keep your game saves) just waiting on a few more people to try it to confirm.


gtajonno
  • gtajonno

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#910

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:13 AM Edited by gtajonno, 27 September 2013 - 10:15 AM.

Well after everything i tried it seems stripping my xbox to bear bones did the trick befor i got about 3/5 minz of play time this time i got an hour and then had to go out lol...
20130927_110525_zps6dc93c8e.jpg
Deffantly a overheating problem i dont understand why theyd stick the gpu under the dvd tray witch in its own right get warm no air can get to it there silly desgin could of stuck a slimline fan in the dvd unit to blow air on to gpu...

ThirdCoastG187
  • ThirdCoastG187

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#911

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:18 AM

MY GAme never froze 


Remco079
  • Remco079

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#912

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:20 AM

Should you put the DVD unit of the xbox or can you also let it in?


UmerF
  • UmerF

    Pakman

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2010

#913

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:20 AM

No overheating issues here, just a plain glitchy game. :panic:

 

EDIT: Still no ideas what's happening on new consoles? Also, something in fix 2 in my sig seems to be fixing the cars not rotating issue (keep your game saves) just waiting on a few more people to try it to confirm.

 

I super hardly doubt if it's a heating issue but since it helps some people, great but even then it's bad programming that's causing all of this issue. Games aren't supposed to be played like this on Consoles or even PC for that matter. I totally agree with you, it's just a glitchy game that R* is afraid to admit since it's probably happening on majority who are just reading and reading and not complaining much or maybe it is working just fine for them but that doesn't justify it not working on other people with any type of console they have, 2008 or 2013 or whatever year it may be.

 

If it's advertised to work on Xbox 360 and with no special instructions to modify Xbox 360 or any heads up, then it should work with all the consoles. My console is the 2010 model that I pre-ordered from UK when they announced Xbox 360 Slim 250GB Kinect Ready and it's been sitting here in a freezing cold room with AC on 24x7 and it still crashes for me at certain point (Entering into Ammu-Nation with Range) so I hardly doubt it's any heating issue at all.

 

I do believe it could be that it's so highly graphical that causes any problems but then they shouldn't have released it on these consoles at all if they knew but then it raises the question how the hell did they not know, they don't diagnose stuff before selling out copies? That's just insane ...

 

However, still looking for an issue or a patch from R* for this. I emailed them and they also replied with same canned response to diagnose my console so I didn't bother to reply to them. If someone can play that mission for me and skip it when I send them my files will continue my story line since I can play all rest just fine.


Sigals
  • Sigals

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#914

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:27 AM

 

No overheating issues here, just a plain glitchy game. :panic:

 

EDIT: Still no ideas what's happening on new consoles? Also, something in fix 2 in my sig seems to be fixing the cars not rotating issue (keep your game saves) just waiting on a few more people to try it to confirm.

 

I super hardly doubt if it's a heating issue but since it helps some people, great but even then it's bad programming that's causing all of this issue. Games aren't supposed to be played like this on Consoles or even PC for that matter. I totally agree with you, it's just a glitchy game that R* is afraid to admit since it's probably happening on majority who are just reading and reading and not complaining much or maybe it is working just fine for them but that doesn't justify it not working on other people with any type of console they have, 2008 or 2013 or whatever year it may be.

 

If it's advertised to work on Xbox 360 and with no special instructions to modify Xbox 360 or any heads up, then it should work with all the consoles. My console is the 2010 model that I pre-ordered from UK when they announced Xbox 360 Slim 250GB Kinect Ready and it's been sitting here in a freezing cold room with AC on 24x7 and it still crashes for me at certain point (Entering into Ammu-Nation with Range) so I hardly doubt it's any heating issue at all.

 

I do believe it could be that it's so highly graphical that causes any problems but then they shouldn't have released it on these consoles at all if they knew but then it raises the question how the hell did they not know, they don't diagnose stuff before selling out copies? That's just insane ...

 

However, still looking for an issue or a patch from R* for this. I emailed them and they also replied with same canned response to diagnose my console so I didn't bother to reply to them. If someone can play that mission for me and skip it when I send them my files will continue my story line since I can play all rest just fine.

 

 

Sounds like you are having a different issue to what this thread is about - this thread is about freezing on franklins first mission which appears to be an overheating problem.


Salandrea
  • Salandrea

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013

#915

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:38 AM

Made an account here to tell you all, I had crashes every 5 minutes and sometimes even less than that, sometimes I couldn't even start the game, someone said here that it was the disc, and I am now here to confirm it, the one who worked at the gamestop I bought GTA at, saw that there were laser damage on my disc that was caused during production. So I got a new disc now and I've been able to play completely fine with no problems what so ever.

 

Seems nice that Rockstar made millions of dollars in making faulty discs... ;)


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#916

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:43 AM Edited by purplebunny, 27 September 2013 - 11:04 AM.

 

"snip"

 

Sounds like you are having a different issue to what this thread is about - this thread is about freezing on franklins first mission which appears to be an overheating problem.

 

Can't help you there UmerF.

If you haven't noticed, this thread started with that bug but there are many other issues posted in here. I'll also mention again that I couldn't get past the first mission until I followed the convoluted fix (250GB Slim). No freezes since, no overheating.

 

EDIT: Also, what happens when people think they've solved this bug by gutting their consoles, get to a certain point in the game (like many have) and it starts freezing again? These kinds of fixes shouldn't need to be done. I can't say what the actual issue is, but it shouldn't be this complicated. I haven't seen any one post that they can't play any other game they have, and that's a telling sign it's nothing to do with their console and everything to do with a glitchy game.


Rouncer
  • Rouncer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#917

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:20 AM

 

 

"snip"

 

Sounds like you are having a different issue to what this thread is about - this thread is about freezing on franklins first mission which appears to be an overheating problem.

 

Can't help you there UmerF.

If you haven't noticed, this thread started with that bug but there are many other issues posted in here. I'll also mention again that I couldn't get past the first mission until I followed the convoluted fix (250GB Slim). No freezes since, no overheating.

 

EDIT: Also, what happens when people think they've solved this bug by gutting their consoles, get to a certain point in the game (like many have) and it starts freezing again? These kinds of fixes shouldn't need to be done. I can't say what the actual issue is, but it shouldn't be this complicated. I haven't seen any one post that they can't play any other game they have, and that's a telling sign it's nothing to do with their console and everything to do with a glitchy game.

 

Thats exactly true. its not YOUR console thats at fault here, and we should not have to modify them in order to play this glitchy game.

 

Even so - improving cooling and using the usb method are working for some of us, so atleast we can play the game. 

 

i had the freezing problem, but i have done the usb method yesterday and ive been playing gta now for well over 4 hours solid.

 

i just hope above everything that R* can patch this, however if they are having to overclock the system it will cause unstable xbox's all over the place which i would of thought R* would of picked up on in testing. gta does require a "alot" from your xbox putting it under very high demand, right up to its limit. 

 

personally i still think overheating and poor optical drives are the culprit here. and i really think its hardware, not software.


Rouncer
  • Rouncer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#918

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:28 AM Edited by Rouncer, 27 September 2013 - 11:58 AM.

 

"snip"

Any idea what the read speed is of the DG16-D4S in the slim?

I could only find this for comparison:

2x Blu-ray Drive (72Mbps(9MB/s))
Single Layer (2x CLV) - Constant Linear Velocity (Same speed across entire disk)
Double Layer - Couldn't find any data but no games have been released on a double layer yet.

Entire Blu-ray Disk is read at 9MB/s.

12x DVD-Rom Drive SL (9.25MB/S-15.85MB/s(AVG ~8x(10.57MB/s) DL (4.36MB/s-10.57MB/s(AVG ~6x(7.93MB/s)
SL(DVD-5) 12x Max (5-12x Full CAV) - Constant Angular Velocity (Speed Varies from edge to edge)
DL(DVD-9) 8x Max (3.3-8x Full CAV) - Constant Angular Velocity (Speed Varies from edge to edge)

Both slower than 15mb/s USB 2.0

But then there's this:

13283-alanwakeboot.gif

None of which helps explain the various freezing issues on both consoles. It's all very odd.

EDIT: All of which R* would be more aware of than any of us, and should have tested before release. I'll add any working fixes to the thread in my sig, bar gutting out the system as that shouldn't need to be done. Keep sending tickets to R* people - http://support.rocks...us/requests/new

 

Hmm, the table you have posted seems odd to me. and yes i can confirm the black xbox 360 slim optical drive reads at 9MBs on average which is alot slower than the usb drive. if that is a new dvd drive, in the newer xbox (which is what i would of thought is the case) then the older 360's must have a "poorer" dvd drive. with lower reading speeds etc. i have tried to find the thread where someone had said the dvd drives on old 360's ran at 4MBs which is no where near quick enough to run the game. Esepcially when R* are telling us to practically use a usb drive.

 

ill do some digging and see what i can find.

 

 


tnkr
  • tnkr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#919

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:40 AM

Opened up my xbox and put a fan in the direction of the cooling components... no luck. Froze after ~10 minutes.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#920

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:43 AM

"snip"

Optical drive + bad install seems likely - considering no freezes when installed to HDD/USB and having not seen a freezing issue on DDL copies of PS3 games.


Rouncer
  • Rouncer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#921

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:51 AM

Right i have had a look around.

 

Early production runs of the Xbox 360 are equipped with a 12x DVD drive, capable of a maximum read rate of 15.85 MB/s

 

this would suggest that early xbox's will have the Hitachi GDR-3120L dvd drive in the system. as above a maximum of 15.85mbs read speed. newer systems came with a much better dvd drive than the one above. 

 

The dvd drive i have on my 360 slim, is the newest benq drive. its weird that my gta 5 wont work without the usb method. to say the drive i have is the quickest of the 3...


Rouncer
  • Rouncer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#922

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:56 AM Edited by Rouncer, 27 September 2013 - 11:57 AM.

 

"snip"

Optical drive + bad install seems likely - considering no freezes when installed to HDD/USB and having not seen a freezing issue on DDL copies of PS3 games.

 

This is what i'm thinking, 

 

i take it, gta is read from the dvd drive and the hdd drive at anyone time, so it pulls data according to where you are on the game etc, maybe, the usb drive is the quicker option for the xbox to access, what if the usb i have is faster than 15mbs? would that increase performance, which is what i saw when i did the mod. less texture popouts, better frames, quicker loading between character switching.... i know 100% i saw a decent performance increase. which makes me think, the dvd drives just aren't good enough...


TalkingBeard
  • TalkingBeard

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#923

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:56 AM

Opened up my xbox and put a fan in the direction of the cooling components... no luck. Froze after ~10 minutes.

 

You're gonna need a bigger fan


Rouncer
  • Rouncer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#924

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:04 PM

Ok I managed to get my game working for about 30 mins by install the first two parts on a 16gb usb and the other two parts on a 60gb HDD, then running it from the play disc. I couldnt even start the game beforehand, so I must be doing something right

 

if you can let us all know how much playtime this has given you that would be great! i hope its worked completely for you


tnkr
  • tnkr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#925

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:27 PM

 

Opened up my xbox and put a fan in the direction of the cooling components... no luck. Froze after ~10 minutes.

 

You're gonna need a bigger fan

 

My fan is bigger than my Xbox itself. I put the fan on the highest setting...


gtajonno
  • gtajonno

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#926

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:28 PM Edited by gtajonno, 27 September 2013 - 12:30 PM.

Opened up my xbox and put a fan in the direction of the cooling components... no luck. Froze after ~10 minutes.

mate look at some of the fans we are using mine has 3 speed fast faster and fooking fast it stays on number 3 lol its a bog ass metal bladed one lol...go bigger or go home lol...edit...did you remove the dvd drive so the fan was in direct with the gpu heatsink..

gtajonno
  • gtajonno

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2013

#927

Posted 27 September 2013 - 01:42 PM Edited by gtajonno, 27 September 2013 - 01:43 PM.

Ok so had a freeze after playing 15 minz but turned it off and back on and went for 45 minz after that school run now lol..

gilchrist98
  • gilchrist98

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013

#928

Posted 27 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

Okay I signed up just to comment, but I own a fat 120GB black Xbox 360 Elite with an HDMI port and chrome tray cover. I don't know if I have the same issue, but whenever I do this mission as Trevor, the game just restarts. It doesn't really 'freeze' as such, as the screen goes black and after a few seconds it restarts to the sirens and stars when you start the game. It usually happens at the exact same time, flying a plane as Trevor in the middle of the mission. It used to occur sometime before as Franklin, but then I reinstalled, it instead of fixing the problem it just got rid of it temporarily. After that, It started restarting while loading story mode, and now it's at Trevor's mission. After the game restarts, it displays an error, which says, "ALERT - The game was restarted due to a problem with the storage device where the game data was installed. Please replace the storage device and re-install the game data if issues continue to occur". I'm soo f*cking sick of this sh*t, Rockstar needs to patch this ASAP. There isn't a time limit till the error occurs, it's just when I reach this part of the map while on this mission. I could play for as long as I could without doing missions if I wanted to, and that's what I've been doing right now. I've tried almost everything, including reinstalling, installing install disk to HDD and play disk to USB and vice versa, clearing cache 3 times, deleting marketplace data, sacrificing a chicken, etc. I even installed the play disk to HDD at one stage but that f*cked up and when I tried playing it, the screen went all static-like. I don't really want to skip the mission either, I probably could though. Maybe it's a curse for playing it at 15 years old? f*ck I just want to do the missions.


Madoperator
  • Madoperator

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2013

#929

Posted 27 September 2013 - 03:33 PM

Response xbox: @XboxSupport3: @Madoperator2000 Having tried all the other troubleshooting steps including different storage devices, the issue may be with the console ^JX”

tnkr
  • tnkr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#930

Posted 27 September 2013 - 04:03 PM

I can play sessions of about 30 minutes now, big fan angled at the cooling components. May be an overheating issue after all.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users