Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Xbox 360 - Game Keeps Freezing on Franklin's 1st Mission

1,189 replies to this topic
purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#361

Posted 21 September 2013 - 11:33 PM

Just odd they would say there's this other workaround so email us again if the first one doesn't work so we can waste more of your time. :blink:

I was on the chat with this guy for nearly an hour. Deleting, reinstalling etc. It was quite a pleasant experience compared to R*s "it's your console, no way it could be our game". He also waited for me to play the game for ten minutes or so, it loaded faster, and had zero freezing so I let him go. He told me about the other thing while we were waiting for the second install, I can only guess to keep me at ease while we waited and it did assure me they're aware of these issues and are working to fix them.


misfits138
  • misfits138

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#362

Posted 21 September 2013 - 11:35 PM Edited by misfits138, 21 September 2013 - 11:37 PM.

I've already decided not to pre-order anything from Rockstar again. I guess preorder = beta test this for us and make our day 1 sales look good at the same time.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#363

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:01 AM

I've already decided not to pre-order anything from Rockstar again. I guess preorder = beta test this for us and make our day 1 sales look good at the same time.

Indeed. It was also cheeky of them to even suggest that these are hardware issues at this point - to openly blame another company for an issue with their product is absurd.

Seeing as this is on another page now, don't want people to miss my original post:

"I've just got off chat with Xbox Support. They advised me this is not an hardware issue and that they have received "a lot complaints about this game" They told me to do this and it worked for me:

1. Delete all GTAV game data.
2. Clear system cache three times.
3. Delete marketplace data from storage system items.
4. Unplug console for three minutes.
5. Install disc 1.
6. Power off, do not insert disc 2.
7. Restart.
8. Install disc 2.
9. Play.

If issues persist repeat steps 1-7 then play from disc 2.

_____________

Haven't had to repeat the process yet (three hours+ of gameplay now). Hope that helps some of you."

Contact Xbox Support if these steps do not work as they may still be able to assist.

  • pjayy likes this

pjayy
  • pjayy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#364

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:07 AM Edited by pjayy, 22 September 2013 - 12:10 AM.


I've already decided not to pre-order anything from Rockstar again. I guess preorder = beta test this for us and make our day 1 sales look good at the same time.

Indeed. It was also cheeky of them to even suggest that these are hardware issues at this point - to openly blame another company for an issue with their product is absurd.
Seeing as this is on another page now, don't want people to miss my original post:

"I've just got off chat with Xbox Support. They advised me this is not an hardware issue and that they have received "a lot complaints about this game" They told me to do this and it worked for me:

1. Delete all GTAV game data.
2. Clear system cache three times.
3. Delete marketplace data from storage system items.
4. Unplug console for three minutes.
5. Install disc 1.
6. Power off, do not insert disc 2.
7. Restart.
8. Install disc 2.
9. Play.

If issues persist repeat steps 1-7 then play from disc 2.

_____________

Haven't had to repeat the process yet (three hours+ of gameplay now). Hope that helps some of you."

Contact Xbox Support if these steps do not work as they may still be able to assist.

--------------------------------------

I apologize if this has been answered yet but what console do you have? And is it post RROD?

cubeofmoon
  • cubeofmoon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#365

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:15 AM

Tried that 

 

 

I've already decided not to pre-order anything from Rockstar again. I guess preorder = beta test this for us and make our day 1 sales look good at the same time.

Indeed. It was also cheeky of them to even suggest that these are hardware issues at this point - to openly blame another company for an issue with their product is absurd.

Seeing as this is on another page now, don't want people to miss my original post:

"I've just got off chat with Xbox Support. They advised me this is not an hardware issue and that they have received "a lot complaints about this game" They told me to do this and it worked for me:

1. Delete all GTAV game data.
2. Clear system cache three times.
3. Delete marketplace data from storage system items.
4. Unplug console for three minutes.
5. Install disc 1.
6. Power off, do not insert disc 2.
7. Restart.
8. Install disc 2.
9. Play.

If issues persist repeat steps 1-7 then play from disc 2.

_____________

Haven't had to repeat the process yet (three hours+ of gameplay now). Hope that helps some of you."

Contact Xbox Support if these steps do not work as they may still be able to assist.

 

Tried this. My game worked for about 30 minutes and then the freezing started again. On the bright side, I actually got to Franklin's house this time!


libertycityfilms
  • libertycityfilms

    LCF

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011

#366

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:16 AM

 

Just tried this - got futher than before but crashed again while in the first driving mission after the bank robbing pro-logue so doesn't seem to fix the issue for me.

 

edit: just remembered its disc 1 i had installed on my usb drive - trying again with disc 2 installed on usb.

 

I'm still playing, getting close to three hours, with no issues. Both discs installed to HDD. The guy told me if there were any further issues to contact Xbox Support again as they have one more thing to try. He specifically said this is not an hardware issue and they have had "a lot of complaints about this game".

 

EDIT: He told me he had just received an email from the "Enforcement Team" with the other workaround if the above process doesn't work. It's worth contacting th

How much space does it take to have both dics installed? Thanks.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#367

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:32 AM Edited by purplebunny, 22 September 2013 - 12:32 AM.

How much space does it take to have both dics installed? Thanks.

 

Without looking, around 14GB for both discs. I'm not turning the thing off to check now it's working.


CHICITY85
  • CHICITY85

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#368

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:44 AM

well the fix did work temporary now the freezing is back full effect rockstar had to knew about this its the reasoon why they didnt want us to install disc 2 its crazy how i cant enjoy the game


misfits138
  • misfits138

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#369

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:55 AM Edited by misfits138, 22 September 2013 - 01:08 AM.

After installing a game to the hard drive I know theres an initial DRM check to make sure you own the game but after that are there any more checks? Is the disc spinning at all after that?

 

When I try to install disc 2 it fails with a dirty disc error at 10% but if I try again it makes it a little further each time, after 4 or 5 retries it makes it to 100%.

 

 

Tried purplebunny's method, didn't work.


MeatButcher
  • MeatButcher

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2013

#370

Posted 22 September 2013 - 04:03 AM

...Tried purplebunny's method, didn't work.

 

This is why I think the only way to fix this is through a patch.  Following procedures like this are only temperamental at best.  It's like asking us to rub our belly, pat our head, and hop on one leg all at the same time while we install the game.  Clearing memory cache will only do so much.  The freezing issue on older Xbox consoles is a compatibility issue that needs to be patched.

 

Again, if you are experiencing freezes with GTA V, the best way to help is by performing the following steps.  In order for Rockstar to patch this issue, they need data from us, and here is what you can do to help.

 

 

Before troubleshooting, please check the following:

  • a. Turn the console off and on.
  • b. Unplug all power cords and accessories, and then plug them back in firmly. Make sure all connections are secure.
  • c. Update your console software.

1.) Clearing Game Cache:
To clear the Xbox 360 cache select Settings==>System==> Storage ==> then highlight the HDD, press Y for Device Options… and then simply select “Clear System Cache”. Select Yes when prompted to perform Hard Drive Maintenance.
* = Deleting the cache will remove temporary game files and updates. Saved games, profiles, DLC etc will NOT be removed.

 

**Please note, if the game freezes during installation, please check the following article:
http://support.rocks...V-installation-

 

2.) Clear the Game Cache.
Clearing the Game Cache on the Xbox 360 is a separate function from clearing the System Cache. In order to do so, you must hold the LEFT Bumper, RIGHT Bumper, and the X button all at the same time on the Xbox 360 controller as a game is launching. Once you reach the Main Menu or Title Screen of the game, you can let go of the buttons. There will be no notification to you that this process has completed because it is all done passively.
Clearing the Game Cache resolves many problems in games that rely heavily on the Xbox 360's cached memory. Some of these problems include, but are not limited to NPC issues, random textures, and "hitching", "lagging", or "slow gameplay".

 

3.) Disconnect your Xbox from the internet.
We have gotten reports that some players have been able to resolve their issues by disconnecting their console from the internet. It is possible that some freezes are related to some recent server outages that should be resolved shortly. If issues persist, disabling all internet connections on your console should prevent the game from attempting to access the servers. Obviously this is not ideal, but testing this should work at least for troubleshooting purposes, and should be resolved quickly.

 

4.) Clear save files.
Some crashes can be related to corrupted save data, especially crashes at a specific spot, or crashes on launch. The next step would be to isolate the save files, and see if launching without them remedies the issue. There are several ways of doing this:

  • a. Deleting all files in the Games and Apps folder related to GTA V. Select Settings==>System==> Storage ==> then highlight the HDD, press A, then select Games and Apps==>Grand Theft Auto V. Delete all files in this directory. Note: This method will result in permanent loss of data. If the game crashed the first time it launched, no valuable information is stored in here, so they may be deleted freely. If you already played the game for many hours, you may want to consider trying another method.
  • b. Backing up all files in the save directory to an external device before deleting all files as described above.
  • c. Possibly the simplest method, and one that also might isolate other potential issues would be to test the game from a brand new Xbox Live Gamertag. The save files for 360 games are tied to a specific user. Launching from a new user should cause the game to pull from a brand new pool of files.

 

5.) Test the game on a second console.

This last step is potentially the trickiest step, depending on alternate hardware availability, but probably the most important step for determining the cause of major issues on any console. That step would be to test the disc on a separate console. If you have a friend or family member with an Xbox 360, we strongly recommend installing the game on their console, and see if issues persist.

 

6.) Test the game when installed on a second hard drive.
Because GTA V is so reliant on install data, and utilizes the hard drive so heavily, it may also be worth attempting to install on a different drive, and see if that helps. If you were previously installing on internal storage, installing to a freshly formatted 16GB Flash drive may help improve performance. More information on installation can be found at the following:

 

http://support.rocks...on-Requirements

 

Here is the important part

 

 

If you continue to have issues, please let us know the following:

 

  • The model of your Xbox 360
  • The size of your hard drive, How large is it, and is the game installed to an internal HDD or Flash Drive?
  • How much free space is available on your HDD after installation.
  • The contents of any error code, if applicable. If possible, please submit a screen shot of any error messages, or give the precise wording of the error.

 

Email Rockstar Support at: [email protected]

 

Let them know that you performed the 6 steps mentioned above and then provide them the information they are requesting.  I'm hoping that with enough responses they'll be able to determine specific trends and figure out how to patch this issue.

 

MeatButcher


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#371

Posted 22 September 2013 - 05:31 AM

Have you guys heard anything about not even getting past the loading story mode screen? Like not even getting past putting the play disc in? Not fair is this at all so many people having problems. Is my/you guys only solution to buy a brand new/preowned elite? after already spending so much to play?


UHRossy
  • UHRossy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#372

Posted 22 September 2013 - 05:41 AM

I've just got off chat with Xbox Support. They advised me this is not an hardware issue and that they have received "a lot complaints about this game" They told me to do this and it worked for me:

1. Delete all GTAV game data.
2. Clear system cache three times.
3. Delete marketplace data from storage system items.
4. Unplug console for three minutes.
5. Install disc 1.
6. Power off, do not insert disc 2.
7. Restart.
8. Install disc 2.
9. Play.

If issues persist repeat steps 1-7 then play from disc 2.

_____________

Haven't had to repeat the process yet. Hope that helps some of you.

Where do you install? HD?


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#373

Posted 22 September 2013 - 05:46 AM

Have you guys heard anything about not even getting past the loading story mode screen? Like not even getting past putting the play disc in? Not fair is this at all so many people having problems. Is my/you guys only solution to buy a brand new/preowned elite? after already spending so much to play?

I've had that problem a couple of times as well as many other issues.
The solution is to follow the advice above and report this to R* support.

You can try the temporary fix that Xbox Support gave me that is also posted above in the mean time - I've been playing for nearly ten hours now using the fix MS gave me with no issues.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#374

Posted 22 September 2013 - 05:48 AM


Where do you install? HD?

 

Yes. I installed both to the internal HDD. As the fix says, if that doesn't work restart the process but don't install disc 2, play from it instead.


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#375

Posted 22 September 2013 - 06:01 AM Edited by martindn, 22 September 2013 - 06:02 AM.

 

Have you guys heard anything about not even getting past the loading story mode screen? Like not even getting past putting the play disc in? Not fair is this at all so many people having problems. Is my/you guys only solution to buy a brand new/preowned elite? after already spending so much to play?

I've had that problem a couple of times as well as many other issues.
The solution is to follow the advice above and report this to R* support.

You can try the temporary fix that Xbox Support gave me that is also posted above in the mean time - I've been playing for nearly ten hours now using the fix MS gave me with no issues.

 

 

 

I cant try the fix from MS until monday when i get a usb drive sent through the post, my hard drive is the 20gb one which leaves me 13.1gb to install both discs, so that is not possible. I have emailed rockstar support and linked to these threads.

 

And my problem is solely limited to first time and subsequent installs with the "The game was restarted due to a problem with the storage device". I have never got into the game or franklins first mission i know i posted it in the wrong thread but this seems the best thread for help.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#376

Posted 22 September 2013 - 06:22 AM Edited by purplebunny, 22 September 2013 - 06:24 AM.


 

I cant try the fix from MS until monday when i get a usb drive sent through the post, my hard drive is the 20gb one which leaves me 13.1gb to install both discs, so that is not possible. I have emailed rockstar support and linked to these threads.

 

And my problem is solely limited to first time and subsequent installs with the "The game was restarted due to a problem with the storage device". I have never got into the game or franklins first mission i know i posted it in the wrong thread but this seems the best thread for help.

 

R* support are only giving out the above auto-response. Speak with Xbox Support to see if they can advise on this particular issue.

http://support.xbox....t-us?xr=footnav

EDIT: It's also worth trying the fix they gave me but skipping the second install and playing from disc 2. And, of course, report the issue to R* support so they can get enough data for a permanent fix.


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#377

Posted 22 September 2013 - 06:34 AM Edited by martindn, 22 September 2013 - 06:35 AM.

R* support are only giving out the above auto-response. Speak with Xbox Support to see if they can advise on this particular issue.

http://support.xbox....t-us?xr=footnav

EDIT: It's also worth trying the fix they gave me but skipping the second install and playing from disc 2. And, of course, report the issue to R* support so they can get enough data for a permanent fix.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am already in the process now, will see how it goes, i am beginning to suspect its either my hard drive (as the play disc is loading i get the restart reporting storage issue, it may be struggling to load the install data off the HDD) Or my xbox is too old to play.


purplebunny
  • purplebunny

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#378

Posted 22 September 2013 - 06:42 AM

 

I am already in the process now, will see how it goes, i am beginning to suspect its either my hard drive (as the play disc is loading i get the restart reporting storage issue, it may be struggling to load the install data off the HDD) Or my xbox is too old to play.

 

I had the same error message on my first install many days ago. This was on an as new slim 250GB. Many tries later, and after following the advice R* gave me, the game was still freezing, had pop-in, low FPS etc. I don't believe this is an hardware issue, and the only way we'll know is if people are letting R* know the game doesn't work. I hope the fix MS gave me works as a temporary solution for you. Good luck!


javeybanks
  • javeybanks

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#379

Posted 22 September 2013 - 06:45 AM

purplebunny's method seems to be working for me. 3 hours of gameplay running smoothly. thanks so much man.

martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#380

Posted 22 September 2013 - 07:08 AM Edited by martindn, 22 September 2013 - 07:12 AM.

 

 

I am already in the process now, will see how it goes, i am beginning to suspect its either my hard drive (as the play disc is loading i get the restart reporting storage issue, it may be struggling to load the install data off the HDD) Or my xbox is too old to play.

 

 I don't believe this is an hardware issue, and the only way we'll know is if people are letting R* know the game doesn't work. I hope the fix MS gave me works as a temporary solution for you. Good luck!

 

 

Same thing again, followed MS procedure without installing disc 2, install disc done, restarted, put in disc 2 it loads up to the first image trying to load story mode then restarts straight away with the storage error. when it restarts after i press A to get past the alert it then hard freezes.

 

Guess i will email MS and wait to try it with the usb stick, i have a feeling its a hardware issue in my case, the play disc seems to be unable to load install data from storage. It will be a right kicker huh if i get it sorted and it freezes on franklins mission  :cry:


misfits138
  • misfits138

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#381

Posted 22 September 2013 - 07:34 AM Edited by misfits138, 22 September 2013 - 07:37 AM.

So when I did bunny's fix I install the play disc to my flash drive but it still froze in the normal spot, about 2 hours ago I said f*ck it and removed the flash drive and started the game. My profile was on that drive so the game asked me to download my profile and I did, I've been able to complete 6 missions so far without freezing... I have no clue why. Only problem I see is the framerate sucks balls... it's dropping to like 15fps in some parts and the aliasing is really noticeable.

 

I kind of don't want to shut my console off now. :nervous:

 

 

BTW, I tried playing from the play disc multiple times before but it was still freezing which is why I'm confused by how it's working now.


tnkr
  • tnkr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#382

Posted 22 September 2013 - 08:50 AM

Just came off the phone with Xbox support, and they said both Microsoft and Rockstar are fully aware of this problem. The spokesperson of Xbox said this issue is patchable, but no word on when this patch is going to be released.

  • Guchy2ndFloor likes this

misfits138
  • misfits138

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

#383

Posted 22 September 2013 - 09:27 AM

Damn, froze after a few good hours of play.


Remco079
  • Remco079

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2013

#384

Posted 22 September 2013 - 10:10 AM

Well my xbox support agent told me to get a new xbox because we need a HMDI conncection... I dont know what he used today


tnkr
  • tnkr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#385

Posted 22 September 2013 - 10:12 AM

Well my xbox support agent told me to get a new xbox because we need a HMDI conncection... I dont know what he used today

 

My rep said that too. Clearly bullsh*t though, my disc of gta v works fine in my friend's console who doesn't even use his hdmi port.


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#386

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:35 PM

I am looking in to a new Xbox 360 S, within 2 weeks so hopefully it might actually get past the install screen on this one. Are they likely to patch this within the foreseeable future?


Mimen
  • Mimen

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2008

#387

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:43 PM Edited by Mimen, 22 September 2013 - 12:44 PM.

I am looking in to a new Xbox 360 S, within 2 weeks so hopefully it might actually get past the install screen on this one. Are they likely to patch this within the foreseeable future?

 

People with slims are having the problem too.

 

 

 

Well my xbox support agent told me to get a new xbox because we need a HMDI conncection... I dont know what he used today

 

My rep said that too. Clearly bullsh*t though, my disc of gta v works fine in my friend's console who doesn't even use his hdmi port.

 

 

Yeah thats crap. Works fine on my 2005 arcade with 20gig drive through the component cable.


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#388

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:47 PM Edited by martindn, 22 September 2013 - 12:49 PM.

People with slims are having the problem too.

 

Brilliant, ps3 time then ?  :cry:

 

What happened to the days of buying a console and expecting to enjoy a game right off the bat? They are getting more like PC'S every day, the only difference is you can fix a pc game eventually.


Mimen
  • Mimen

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2008

#389

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:49 PM

 

People with slims are having the problem too.

 

Brilliant, ps3 time then ?  :cry:

 

What happened to the days of buying a console and expecting to enjoy a game right off the bat? They are getting more like PC'S every day, the only difference is i can fix a pc game eventually 

 

Sorry to rain on your parade. but it happens on the ps3 too.


martindn
  • martindn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2013

#390

Posted 22 September 2013 - 01:00 PM Edited by martindn, 22 September 2013 - 01:01 PM.

 

 

People with slims are having the problem too.

 

Brilliant, ps3 time then ?  :cry:

 

What happened to the days of buying a console and expecting to enjoy a game right off the bat? They are getting more like PC'S every day, the only difference is i can fix a pc game eventually 

 

Sorry to rain on your parade. but it happens on the ps3 too.

 

I see, though they cant all be broken most are playing, step right up come play the lucky dip game at your local game store...

  • own2 likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users