Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

If You Have An XBOX360 - READ THIS !

175 replies to this topic
bartosz.t
  • bartosz.t

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2012

#1

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:07 PM Edited by bartosz.t, 16 September 2013 - 06:09 PM.

DONT INSTAL DISC 2 (PLAY) on xbox360 HDD

 

For optimal performance, we recommend not installing that disc. We will have more info on our Support Site at launch.

— Rockstar Support (@RockstarSupport) September 16, 2013

 

  • Deuce Deuce and DonJuanDojah like this

Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#2

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:24 PM

This has been reported already, thanks.

 

Sorry, scratch that, I'll pin this one for the common good. The area mods can figure out what to do with it.

  • bendover4gtav likes this

GTAIVman
  • GTAIVman

    Realistic Steak Fan

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2008

#3

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:27 PM

Posted this in a similar thread

 

I've never had this problem with GTA IV. In fact, I would see missing textures or low quality textures more when I run on DVD. Also, with the amount I'll be playing, it's better to save the disc reader, mine is already crapping out.  Furthermore, free space may cause a change. My loading times were much faster with IV when I had it on my 120GB HDD compared to when I had it on my 20GB.


Moonshield
  • Moonshield

    mountaineer

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2002
  • Mongolia
  • Best Senior Moderator 2013
    Best OGA Member 2014

#4

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:32 PM

have you seen the other threads on this very topic? why post another one?

 

Apparently not.


methwow92
  • methwow92

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:36 PM Edited by methwow92, 16 September 2013 - 06:38 PM.

This seems so wrong.. technically the HDD should run faster than disc..

I wonder if he is running an old Xbox.. arnt the new slims supposd to have faster HDDS

 

if true I will install disc 1 to the hard disk and put the "play" disc on my extenral USB, dont think I can do it that way actually might have to install disc 1 on extneral and play disc on my hdd


Mr_Goldcard
  • Mr_Goldcard

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#6

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:38 PM

Is that the f*cking intro??

Mr_Goldcard
  • Mr_Goldcard

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#7

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:39 PM

His HDD is probably broken i finished the game and didn't saw any popups.


WTF how did you finish the game in less than a day??

Maglev
  • Maglev

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013

#8

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:25 PM

Strange issue!


GTA 360
  • GTA 360

    LIVE WITH IT OR DIE FROM IT.

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2010

#9

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:26 PM

 

His HDD is probably broken i finished the game and didn't saw any popups.


WTF how did you finish the game in less than a day??

 

Where the f*ck have you been for the last week, people have had the game for almost a week now. People have been streaming videos on the internet for 2 or 3 days already.

  • Hypertenzion likes this

Frantz Fuchs
  • Frantz Fuchs

    640509-040147

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2012

#10

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:29 PM

Someone recommend me a USB? Kingston 101 datatraveller only has 10mb read speed


meth.
  • meth.

    .....

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2003
  • None

#11

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:31 PM

idk if i'm allowed to talk about file structures on here so if i'm not sorry in advance but...

 

disc2 is the game. disc1 installs content. meaning disc1 is stored in different place then where disc2 is on your hdd...at least on an 360 system. basically dsic1 goes where dlc is normally installed.

 

if you install disc2 to hdd first & put disc1 on a usb, you should not have an issue


Frantz Fuchs
  • Frantz Fuchs

    640509-040147

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2012

#12

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:32 PM

idk if i'm allowed to talk about file structures on here so if i'm not sorry in advance but...

 

disc2 is the game. disc1 installs content. meaning disc1 is stored in different place then where disc2 is on your hdd...at least on an 360 system. basically dsic1 goes where dlc is normally installed.

 

if you install disc2 to hdd first & put disc1 on a usb, you should not have an issue

 

Wait, so INSTALL disc should be on USB and PLAY disc on HDD?


rosy522
  • rosy522

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2013

#13

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:49 PM

I wanna just help you stupid f*cks

Hey man thanks because I was going to install both discs.

 

What if you install the playable disk to a portable hard drive?


Dawgshite
  • Dawgshite

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2013

#14

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:57 PM

Sooo. the disc drive will rev up its machinery for us all to enjoy...?


zzmorg82
  • zzmorg82

    In the moment.

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2011

#15

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:59 PM

Thank goodness the PS3 doesn't have this problem. :cool:

  • NADOLNY likes this

methwow92
  • methwow92

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#16

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:05 PM

 

idk if i'm allowed to talk about file structures on here so if i'm not sorry in advance but...

 

disc2 is the game. disc1 installs content. meaning disc1 is stored in different place then where disc2 is on your hdd...at least on an 360 system. basically dsic1 goes where dlc is normally installed.

 

if you install disc2 to hdd first & put disc1 on a usb, you should not have an issue

 

Wait, so INSTALL disc should be on USB and PLAY disc on HDD?

 

Either way should be fine.. Im going to install Disc 1 on xbox and play disc on USB


Rokit5
  • Rokit5

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013

#17

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:09 PM Edited by Rokit5, 16 September 2013 - 08:10 PM.

disk 1 HDD     disk 2 HDD

disc 1 HDD     disc 2 USB

 

link here shows tests http://www.eurogamer...x-360-play-disc

 

there are currently testing all other combinations


Bowman_
  • Bowman_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2013

#18

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:19 PM

From some previous articles I've read relating to this issue, most seem to be in concern for the 4gb HDD Xbox. Do all the same issues still stand with the 250gb HDD too? As in, will I still need a flash drive with separate installs even if I have way more than enough empty space on the xbox hdd? Still trying to understand this issue. Thanks.


Punk Noodles
  • Punk Noodles

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013

#19

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:21 PM

This is all very fine and everything, but I just tried installing GTA IV (which is only 6.6 GB) on to my USB flash drive and it took 40 f*cking minutes. That's a very long time...


GuantanamoObama
  • GuantanamoObama

    That is to say, Cunnilingus

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011
  • United-States

#20

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:45 PM

Fortunately, I'm on PS3.

  • Muhammad Hamdan likes this

Gigabomber
  • Gigabomber

    Infinite Ammo Amorous

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2013

#21

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:48 PM

So the deal is that the hard drive has issues figuring out which disc to read from. At least, that is what some IT types think, and therefore, you are increasing the total bandwidth by putting one of the discs on USB. It's really rockstars fault and they will probably patch in a workaround, but they may not.


Punk Noodles
  • Punk Noodles

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013

#22

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:48 PM

So if the Xbox actually allows me to install stuff on to the flash drive, there should be no problems with stuff such as reading times and stuff, right?

Also, is there any danger of the machine going completely mental when it has to load data from both the USB drive AND the HDD?


NADOLNY
  • NADOLNY

    Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2007

#23

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:49 PM

I love my ps3

AutoPenalti
  • AutoPenalti

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2012

#24

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:53 PM

I'm still a little fuzzy here on this, so I just recently bought a 320gb HD for the Xbox 360 S, Can't I just install both disks on the HD?

hexagramme
  • hexagramme

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2012

#25

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:01 PM

Oh the joy of owning a PS3. :cool:

  • NADOLNY likes this

xIIxFLAMERxIIx
  • xIIxFLAMERxIIx

    The Shield Clan

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Sep 2013

#26

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:07 PM

I have a 110 gb hard drive for a 2007 Xbox 360 Pro? Will it act like this or will I have to run it off the disc? I have GTA IV Installed on my HDD and it loads fast and the graphics look a little better


TiggerThaWigger
  • TiggerThaWigger

    Heisenberg

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2013

#27

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:08 PM

Oh the joy of owning a PS3. :cool:

ok good for you stfu now

  • mariasalvatore likes this

Otter
  • Otter

    sea dwelling madman

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2003
  • Canada

#28

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:09 PM

Please keep a lid on the fanboyism, people. ;) Same game y'all are gonna play, in the end.


RichyB
  • RichyB

    Crush grapes mate. Sorry? You're a grape crusher. Next.

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2012

#29

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:12 PM

This is all very fine and everything, but I just tried installing GTA IV (which is only 6.6 GB) on to my USB flash drive and it took 40 f*cking minutes. That's a very long time...


You must have a gay flash drive. I installed the full IV game to test my new USB memory stick and it took 15 minutes.

Are you sure it will be fast enough for V? It needs to be 15mb read speed miniumum.

LSSDLSPD
  • LSSDLSPD

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013
  • United-States

#30

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:13 PM

Can we still install it on a USB flash drive?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users