Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Should I install the whole 15gb to my Xbox USB drive?

58 replies to this topic
mattfab
  • mattfab

    Pro

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2013

#31

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:03 PM

 

 

 

 

 

can you use a 32gb flash drive for this (installing and running the game directly from?) - I also have an old white 20gb unit and i've managed to clear down to 9.3gb of drive space, but i won't be able to get close to 15gb. I would like to install the whole game to avoid drive noise etc - the 32gb stick would be a great (cheap) solution if it works.

 

thanx

It does work (as long as its a USB 2.0 or higher)

But like i posted before with the technical details, get an Xbox HDD, they're not expensive and read/write 5 times as fast for the best performance, loading times and practically no pop in at all.

 

the xbox slim hdds are expensive

 

http://www.amazon.co...ywords=xbox hdd

Debatable.

 

will this brand of hard drive work tho, even if itsn ot microsoft

 

Yes, i use a similar 3rd party HDD on my Xbox, and a Third party SSD for my PS3.

No modding or anything needed, just like an USB stick it in and it works.. ;)

However a official MS HDD doesn't cost much more if you prefer that.

the 3rd party one looks good tho


Black Sunshine
  • Black Sunshine

    You made me master of the world where you exist

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2011

#32

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:03 PM

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?


Rokit5
  • Rokit5

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013

#33

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:05 PM

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

even if u clean all games off -u only have 13.5 ish. so you and i can not install whole game to 20GB

  • TheRealBars likes this

Black Sunshine
  • Black Sunshine

    You made me master of the world where you exist

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2011

#34

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:06 PM

 

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

even if u clean all games off -u only have 13.5 ish. so you and i can not install whole game to 20GB

 

Oh, so it's confirmed to be 15GB total?


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#35

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:07 PM Edited by TheRealBars, 07 September 2013 - 02:11 PM.

Do ya feel that its better to install complete game on USB or 1 disc to hard drive and read off 2nd disc?

Definitely both discs to USB if full game to HDD is no option.

DVDs are ancient in terms of read speed. (10,5 MB/s vs 35 MB/s usb 2.0)

  • Rokit5 likes this

TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#36

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:10 PM

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

a 20gb HDD (like all other HDDs reserves 6.1 GB for the system partition (OS) (Xbox)

You can install the mandatory Disc 1 - 8GB (Install disc)
However if you want to install disc 2 - expected to be around 8GB as well (play disc) for the best performance possible.

Totalling at 16GB meaning you come short by 2GB. (20 GB minus 6.1 GB = 13,9 GB)

  • RedDagger likes this

ArielWinter
  • ArielWinter

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009
  • Germany

#37

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:11 PM

if you install a game it loads faster and it wont have to spin a lot so it reduces disk damage so yes i prefer installing a game

 

Yeah, this basically. I'm going to install the whole thing when I get it.

  • Jordiath likes this

mattfab
  • mattfab

    Pro

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2013

#38

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:14 PM

 

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

a 20gb HDD (like all other HDDs reserves 6.1 GB for the system partition (OS) (Xbox)

You can install the mandatory Disc 1 - 8GB (Install disc)
However if you want to install disc 2 - expected to be around 8GB as well (play disc) for the best performance possible.

Totalling at 16GB meaning you come short by 2GB. (20 GB minus 6.1 GB = 13,9 GB)

 

do you know the average read speed of, let's say, one of the xbox slim hdds on amazon


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#39

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:15 PM Edited by TheRealBars, 07 September 2013 - 02:19 PM.

 

 

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

a 20gb HDD (like all other HDDs reserves 6.1 GB for the system partition (OS) (Xbox)

You can install the mandatory Disc 1 - 8GB (Install disc)
However if you want to install disc 2 - expected to be around 8GB as well (play disc) for the best performance possible.

Totalling at 16GB meaning you come short by 2GB. (20 GB minus 6.1 GB = 13,9 GB)

 

do you know the average read speed of, let's say, one of the xbox slim hdds on amazon

 

Yeah SATA I = 150 MB/s +/- 7200 RPM

Xbox uses a SATA I port which again is ancient in todays hardware, SATA III is capable of 6GB/s

 

Posted all the stats on the first page.


mattfab
  • mattfab

    Pro

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2013

#40

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:16 PM

 

 

 

Wait. How big is the game to install? I know there is the mandatory 8GB download, but how much is the game itself? My Hard Drive has 20GB, and I don't understand how it wouldn't fit?

a 20gb HDD (like all other HDDs reserves 6.1 GB for the system partition (OS) (Xbox)

You can install the mandatory Disc 1 - 8GB (Install disc)
However if you want to install disc 2 - expected to be around 8GB as well (play disc) for the best performance possible.

Totalling at 16GB meaning you come short by 2GB. (20 GB minus 6.1 GB = 13,9 GB)

 

do you know the average read speed of, let's say, one of the xbox slim hdds on amazon

 

Yeah SATA I = 150 MB/s +/-

Xbox uses a SATA I port which again is ancient in todays hardware, SATA III is capable of 6GB/s

 

nice


GUCCI_MANE_PIZZA_PARTY
  • GUCCI_MANE_PIZZA_PARTY

    I'm a little scared of being a slut.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2013

#41

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

S-T-F-U, on 07 Sept 2013 - 09:09 AM, said:

I would install the full game. It can only help with load times and such. Do it.

 
Agreed :^:
Well apparently, there won't be load times. It'll go fluidly from gameplay to cutscene.

high91
  • high91

    Eminem- Infinite-1996-313

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2013
  • United-Kingdom

#42

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

In my opinion when it comes down to flash drives and xbox 360's of whatever year or kind i recommend this http://www.amazon.co...usb flash drive I had this for at least four months before upgrading to a 360 slim 250GB. I had skyrim and farcry 3 installed at the time among other games and never had a problem with it.  With this usb the write times can be slow (saving a game etc) but loading (sometimes slower on certain games) and playing are all normal.  Now a hard drive is always going to be a better option and quicker on the install and loading times reduced...the usb drive however can take anything between 20 to 30 mins to install a 3.9GB game but i think its the same or near with a few competitors.

 

Hope this helped you :)

 

P.S i am now using that usb to run my laptop off using ubuntu (this is with no hard drive too) 


Black Sunshine
  • Black Sunshine

    You made me master of the world where you exist

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2011

#43

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:18 PM

I am probably going to install the mandatory 8GB onto a 16GB flash drive, and then install the actual game onto my 20GB hard drive, think that would be okay?


sanpreet
  • sanpreet

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2013

#44

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:19 PM

install the game imo.


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#45

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:20 PM Edited by TheRealBars, 07 September 2013 - 02:22 PM.

I am probably going to install the mandatory 8GB onto a 16GB flash drive, and then install the actual game onto my 20GB hard drive, think that would be okay?

Is it possible to draw the same game data from 2 sources? don't you have to select default storage when starting a game.

In technical terms it would mean your CPU useage would go trough the roof if both the USB and SATA ports are sending data to process.

I worked in IT for a time, dealing with consoles as well but this is a first.


RedDagger
  • RedDagger

    Crash test dummy

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Draw Contest Grand Prize 2016
    Most Desperate Campaign Poster 2015
    April Fools Winner 2015
    Best General Topic 2015 [GTAForums Newbie Guide 2.0]
    Helpfulness Award

#46

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:23 PM Edited by RedDaggerXL, 07 September 2013 - 02:23 PM.

 

Well apparently, there won't be load times. It'll go fluidly from gameplay to cutscene.

 

 

There may not be load times but things certainly will still be loading, the game only has physics objects and highest-res textures and polys loading in the vicinity around you, it has to load assets when you move around.

 

An example of this is texture popping.

  • TheRealBars likes this

Black Sunshine
  • Black Sunshine

    You made me master of the world where you exist

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2011

#47

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:23 PM

 

I am probably going to install the mandatory 8GB onto a 16GB flash drive, and then install the actual game onto my 20GB hard drive, think that would be okay?

Is it possible to draw the same game data from 2 sources? don't you have to select default storage when starting a game.

In technical terms it would mean your CPU useage would go trough the roof if both the USB and SATA ports are sending data to process.

I worked in IT for a time, dealing with consoles as well but this is a first.

 

Well sh*t. I don't get paid until October 1st, so I won't be able to buy a new hard drive until then. I'm going to have to not install the actual game, and suffer from noisy xbox syndrome.


Loves GTA
  • Loves GTA

    GTAIV > GTAV

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2012
  • None

#48

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:24 PM

No reason not to if you've got the space.


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#49

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:28 PM

Good example of texture pop-in:

 

'Cured' by installing on a HDD and Severely reduced by USB install:

 


Ashbringer45
  • Ashbringer45

    GTA Bodybuilder

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013

#50

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:51 PM

 

 

 

can you use a 32gb flash drive for this (installing and running the game directly from?) - I also have an old white 20gb unit and i've managed to clear down to 9.3gb of drive space, but i won't be able to get close to 15gb. I would like to install the whole game to avoid drive noise etc - the 32gb stick would be a great (cheap) solution if it works.

 

thanx

It does work (as long as its a USB 2.0 or higher)

But like i posted before with the technical details, get an Xbox HDD, they're not expensive and read/write 5 times as fast for the best performance, loading times and practically no pop in at all.

 

Thanks - this may be a better option if the pricing works out and as long as I dont have to buy the data transfer cable (get away with using a USB flash drive to do the transfer?)

 

Transfer cable is just for lazy people.
 

If you download your profile (Option on your dashboard) on your new HHD (Live/Hotmail Email + Password associated with your Gamertag required)

All DLCS, Downloads etc are saved in download history, so you can re-download them free of charge.

 

All you really need is to move over save files with a USB.

 

 

Do you need to upload your profile first?? Or how am I supposed to download my profile on the new HDD? 


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#51

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:53 PM

 

 

 

 

can you use a 32gb flash drive for this (installing and running the game directly from?) - I also have an old white 20gb unit and i've managed to clear down to 9.3gb of drive space, but i won't be able to get close to 15gb. I would like to install the whole game to avoid drive noise etc - the 32gb stick would be a great (cheap) solution if it works.

 

thanx

It does work (as long as its a USB 2.0 or higher)

But like i posted before with the technical details, get an Xbox HDD, they're not expensive and read/write 5 times as fast for the best performance, loading times and practically no pop in at all.

 

Thanks - this may be a better option if the pricing works out and as long as I dont have to buy the data transfer cable (get away with using a USB flash drive to do the transfer?)

 

Transfer cable is just for lazy people.
 

If you download your profile (Option on your dashboard) on your new HHD (Live/Hotmail Email + Password associated with your Gamertag required)

All DLCS, Downloads etc are saved in download history, so you can re-download them free of charge.

 

All you really need is to move over save files with a USB.

 

 

Do you need to upload your profile first?? Or how am I supposed to download my profile on the new HDD? 

 

 

No, its an option MS provides to everyone.

 

Place the new storage unit, start up the console, press the Xbox button on your controller, and it will give you a number of options including download profile.

  • Ashbringer45 likes this

The Dark Passenger
  • The Dark Passenger

    Bay Harbor Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jul 2013

#52

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:54 PM

Hmm.

 

What I'd do if I were you would be to buy a PS3.


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#53

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:55 PM Edited by TheRealBars, 07 September 2013 - 02:55 PM.

Double post.

 

Delete.


Ashbringer45
  • Ashbringer45

    GTA Bodybuilder

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013

#54

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:56 PM

 

 

 

 

 

can you use a 32gb flash drive for this (installing and running the game directly from?) - I also have an old white 20gb unit and i've managed to clear down to 9.3gb of drive space, but i won't be able to get close to 15gb. I would like to install the whole game to avoid drive noise etc - the 32gb stick would be a great (cheap) solution if it works.

 

thanx

It does work (as long as its a USB 2.0 or higher)

But like i posted before with the technical details, get an Xbox HDD, they're not expensive and read/write 5 times as fast for the best performance, loading times and practically no pop in at all.

 

Thanks - this may be a better option if the pricing works out and as long as I dont have to buy the data transfer cable (get away with using a USB flash drive to do the transfer?)

 

Transfer cable is just for lazy people.
 

If you download your profile (Option on your dashboard) on your new HHD (Live/Hotmail Email + Password associated with your Gamertag required)

All DLCS, Downloads etc are saved in download history, so you can re-download them free of charge.

 

All you really need is to move over save files with a USB.

 

 

Do you need to upload your profile first?? Or how am I supposed to download my profile on the new HDD? 

 

 

No, its an option MS provides to everyone.

 

Place the new storage unit, start up the console, press the Xbox button on your controller, and it will give you a number of options including download profile.

 

 

Alright thanks alot! I have a 20gb aswell, I'm buying a 120gb because there is no god damn 60gb anywhere in this country (Netherlands) lol. Its only 40 euros tho. 


TheRealBars
  • TheRealBars

    Getaway Driver

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#55

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:57 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

can you use a 32gb flash drive for this (installing and running the game directly from?) - I also have an old white 20gb unit and i've managed to clear down to 9.3gb of drive space, but i won't be able to get close to 15gb. I would like to install the whole game to avoid drive noise etc - the 32gb stick would be a great (cheap) solution if it works.

 

thanx

It does work (as long as its a USB 2.0 or higher)

But like i posted before with the technical details, get an Xbox HDD, they're not expensive and read/write 5 times as fast for the best performance, loading times and practically no pop in at all.

 

Thanks - this may be a better option if the pricing works out and as long as I dont have to buy the data transfer cable (get away with using a USB flash drive to do the transfer?)

 

Transfer cable is just for lazy people.
 

If you download your profile (Option on your dashboard) on your new HHD (Live/Hotmail Email + Password associated with your Gamertag required)

All DLCS, Downloads etc are saved in download history, so you can re-download them free of charge.

 

All you really need is to move over save files with a USB.

 

 

Do you need to upload your profile first?? Or how am I supposed to download my profile on the new HDD? 

 

 

No, its an option MS provides to everyone.

 

Place the new storage unit, start up the console, press the Xbox button on your controller, and it will give you a number of options including download profile.

 

 

Alright thanks alot! I have a 20gb aswell, I'm buying a 120gb because there is no god damn 60gb anywhere in this country (Netherlands) lol. Its only 40 euros tho. 

 

 

:^:


buxtonbum
  • buxtonbum

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013

#56

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:11 PM

Install full! That's what I am doing. Increase in load times, less stress on xbox, quieter xbox, maybe it even increases graphics like battlefield did!

RedDagger
  • RedDagger

    Crash test dummy

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Draw Contest Grand Prize 2016
    Most Desperate Campaign Poster 2015
    April Fools Winner 2015
    Best General Topic 2015 [GTAForums Newbie Guide 2.0]
    Helpfulness Award

#57

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:19 PM

Install full! That's what I am doing. Increase in load times, less stress on xbox, quieter xbox, maybe it even increases graphics like battlefield did!

 

Slow down there, load times would decrease (I think you were looking for loading speed), and battlefield had a HD texture download, a least on the xbox.

 

The only way this will affect graphics is reducing texture-popping, thus you won't see textures that were meant for viewing further away, and objects won't be invisible so often.


GTA5FAN055
  • GTA5FAN055

    XBOX GT GTA5FAN055

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2013

#58

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:23 PM

I got a 320gb hdd on amazon for$49 US dollars a friggin 32gb sandisk is prolly $30 something right stop being cheap and get a hard drive and install the whole game

temtam
  • temtam

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2013

#59

Posted 07 September 2013 - 07:52 PM

The PS3 version is 18.1 GB I believe. It will most likely be around 17 GB on the Xbox.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users