Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|III|VC|SA] Project 2dfx

2,022 replies to this topic
kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1021

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:38 PM Edited by kikiboy95, 02 February 2014 - 11:39 PM.

Not sure what you mean by 'flash'. But spawning in vehicles from further distances is pretty hard right now because of nodes.

By flashes I assume small lights (white or red ones). How about spawning random lights on paths coordinates then? Would that be possible?


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#1022

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:42 PM

Not sure what you mean by 'flash'. But spawning in vehicles from further distances is pretty hard right now because of nodes.

By flashes I assume small lights (white or red ones). How about spawning random lights on paths coordinates then? Would that be possible?


Pretty sure its possible, but it'd be too time consuming.

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1023

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:47 PM Edited by kikiboy95, 02 February 2014 - 11:48 PM.

 

 

Not sure what you mean by 'flash'. But spawning in vehicles from further distances is pretty hard right now because of nodes.

By flashes I assume small lights (white or red ones). How about spawning random lights on paths coordinates then? Would that be possible?

 


Pretty sure its possible, but it'd be too time consuming.

 

Hm. How about limiting the number of the lights then? I assume that on SA spawns approximately 5-6 cars on the street. Taking coordinates of those vehicles would be a good start-point.
So, if a car disappears or is deleted from the streets, the new car appears and its coordinates are taken instead.
Basically, those coordinates could be usfeul when player flies at ~200,300 meters above the ground and that could be the limit of those moving small lights... Sorry if I sounded a bit confusing


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#1024

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:51 PM Edited by TheJAMESGM, 02 February 2014 - 11:52 PM.

Are you talking about actual cars or coronas? Making moving coronas on roads that give you the impression of cars can apparently be done with an opcode, but it'll take too long and it might not look great and making cars spawn at further distances while they're on their paths can't be done right now because of nodes.

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1025

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:54 PM

Spawning coronas, ofc. Coronas which are moving with the car at custom distances. What work would had to be done there exactly, I might be missing something?


aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#1026

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:00 AM

Are you talking about something similar to this?

Script got "pool" of cars it can store, let's say, it can get a handle of 20 different cars. The script will store current speed in XYZ-axis, until it can't find a new car to replace current slot, and then, the script will generate corona at the coordinates the car disappeared at, and then count next position from the XYZ speed we just retrieved?

Because if that's the case, then there are few issues, first one being, that the corona would just keep going in a straight line, and the corona might actually go flying in the air if the car was going uphill before despawning.

  • TJGM likes this

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1027

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:10 AM

Um, not sure if I understood you right. But, here's my idea in briefs:
 

  • trace spawned cars coordinates and their speed
  • limit the number of vehicles, i.e. 20, like you said above
  • attach corona on the moving car and let that corona be visible at high distances only (like 100 meters above the ground or something similar)
  • if the car which was being traced, disappears, the corona is automatically removed aswel, in pursuit of new coordinates
  • and loops, ofc, at night time optional

coolznio
  • coolznio

    Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2011
  • United-States

#1028

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:12 AM

why after installing this mod i get crash everytime i quit my game?

does this mod conflict with something? i only use this mod, colormod.asi,sa_shadows.asi,&streammemfix.asi


Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#1029

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:21 AM

Why would you care if you get a crash when you exit game?

 

See here : http://gtaforums.com...x/?p=1064391036

  • coolznio likes this

coolznio
  • coolznio

    Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2011
  • United-States

#1030

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:39 AM

Why would you care if you get a crash when you exit game?

 

See here : http://gtaforums.com...x/?p=1064391036

thank you very much, sir

i care because every time it crashes, my computer freeze


uokka
  • uokka

    Actually living entity

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2011
  • Red-Cross

#1031

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:56 AM

Alternatively
Spoiler
  • LINK/2012 likes this

Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#1032

Posted 03 February 2014 - 03:12 PM

  • trace spawned cars coordinates and their speed

To begin with, cars don't spawn when far away. Wouldn't work.

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1033

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:04 PM Edited by kikiboy95, 03 February 2014 - 04:05 PM.

 

  • trace spawned cars coordinates and their speed

To begin with, cars don't spawn when far away. Wouldn't work.

 

If they do not exist, they could be created. I suggest making a bmx bike or smt like that which isn't very visible from the sky and make it follow the road randomly. Once it's out of predefined box used for casting car lights, it can be removed and replaced with the new one. Sounds better? :)


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#1034

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:12 PM

Nope. Nodes aren't loaded neither then, so the vehicle would have nothing to drive on.

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1035

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:26 PM

Nope. Nodes aren't loaded neither then, so the vehicle would have nothing to drive on.

With the mod I mentioned few posts above, draw distance of spawned cars and peds can be adjusted manually. It's a CLEO script, check it out :)


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#1036

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:30 PM

Nope. Nodes aren't loaded neither then, so the vehicle would have nothing to drive on.

With the mod I mentioned few posts above, draw distance of spawned cars and peds can be adjusted manually. It's a CLEO script, check it out :)


;-; But that's as far as they'll ever go, and its not enough for what you're asking simply because of nodes.

kikiboy95
  • kikiboy95

    Ol' sql, brah.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2010
  • None

#1037

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:53 PM

 

 

Nope. Nodes aren't loaded neither then, so the vehicle would have nothing to drive on.

With the mod I mentioned few posts above, draw distance of spawned cars and peds can be adjusted manually. It's a CLEO script, check it out :)

 


;-; But that's as far as they'll ever go, and its not enough for what you're asking simply because of nodes.

 

I don't know much about the nodes. But I still think this is somehow doable


aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#1038

Posted 03 February 2014 - 06:26 PM

Well, a lot of things are doable, but taking into consideration that both SilentPL and NTAuthority have been having a hard time trying to increase node distance for VCS PC edition... It might take a while.


McLightning
  • McLightning

    SkaDOOSH

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2008
  • None

#1039

Posted 03 February 2014 - 06:49 PM

Only real issue with this mod is in Vice City during the phenom penh 86 mission - it causes massive model pop in and out issues. Try it, you'll see what I mean. Makes me weary to try it in other helicopter scenarios.


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#1040

Posted 04 February 2014 - 02:26 PM

This mod is broken, it crashes the game when you reload a save.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#1041

Posted 04 February 2014 - 02:42 PM

This mod is broken, it crashes the game when you reload a save.

Can't say how so at the moment, and anyway can't do anything for the next two weeks :)


LINK/2012
  • LINK/2012

    LIVIN' IN CODE

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2011
  • Brazil

#1042

Posted 04 February 2014 - 02:44 PM

This mod is broken, it crashes the game when you reload a save.

Can't say how so at the moment, and anyway can't do anything for the next two weeks :)

It is James fault, don't worry
  • aStiffSausage likes this

TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#1043

Posted 04 February 2014 - 03:57 PM

This mod is broken, it crashes the game when you reload a save.

Can't say how so at the moment, and anyway can't do anything for the next two weeks :)

It is James fault, don't worry


Eat sh*t. :p Temp fix for load game/new game crash.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/mmbib8

Tranquil_Suit
  • Tranquil_Suit

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2012

#1044

Posted 08 February 2014 - 12:19 AM

REQUEST: Eye candy screenshots, please!


Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#1045

Posted 08 February 2014 - 12:37 AM

How about you install the mod, and play with it yourself.

 

And then you can see an eye candy real-time video of it !


format c:
  • format c:

    Supernaut

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#1046

Posted 09 February 2014 - 06:35 PM

I think "patch_lods" don't work if frame limiter is set to on, however I don't have a clean game to test it


Zera
  • Zera

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#1047

Posted 09 February 2014 - 06:52 PM

I think "patch_lods" don't work if frame limiter is set to on, however I don't have a clean game to test it

Works fine with frame limiter on here.


format c:
  • format c:

    Supernaut

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#1048

Posted 09 February 2014 - 06:59 PM

What the f... why I'm still facing holes on map then? There is some known compatibility issue with this mod?


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#1049

Posted 09 February 2014 - 07:15 PM

What the f... why I'm still facing holes on map then? There is some known compatibility issue with this mod?


It's an odd one. Some people are still getting holes in the map and some aren't. I just checked the multiplier and the distance option, both work fine for me. Have you tested on a clean game?

format c:
  • format c:

    Supernaut

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2013
  • Brazil

#1050

Posted 09 February 2014 - 07:19 PM

I have my regular SA game, and I have the ISO. However when I run the installer from the ISO, it's detects my actual installation and asks me to unistall/modify. So yeah, I don't have a clean game.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users