Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|III|VC|SA] Project 2dfx

2,037 replies to this topic
TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#31

Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:45 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Monday, Sep 2 2013, 21:35)
QUOTE (TheJAMESGM @ Monday, Sep 2 2013, 23:20)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Monday, Sep 2 2013, 21:16)
QUOTE (TheJAMESGM @ Monday, Sep 2 2013, 23:13)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Monday, Sep 2 2013, 21:00)
Ah yeah, those .IDE and .IPL files. Always makes me pull my hairs out of my ass.
Too diffcult.

Well, the mod will gonna be very great if you do the other lights too.
Sure not right now.

Haha, thanks.

Anyway, think I found a possible solution for fixing the holes in the map.
http://gyazo.com/92e...ce98fbd34a14d9b

Can you upload it on mediafire?
It won't load for me.

And I fixed those holes in map myself by reducing the farclip from 1,500 to 1,000
No need to too far distance. It's no fun when having those extended lamp lights but the map is way too far.
It's good to find the balance between the right farclip of the map and the extended lamppostlights.

It's only a screenshot. I would upload it to another site but I'm too lazy to change the image type.. try the link later and it should work. Or try this link. - http://gyazo.com/d64...4ef728faebe054f

Ok, how did you fixed that?? Looks damn nice!

You'll most likely find out tomorrow.. tounge.gif Anyway, just tried it with 10x Draw Distance, and I got a crash after a few minutes of flying. But it looks damn nice.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#32

Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:54 PM

Alright, you better tell/upload the fix, okay? tounge.gif
It looks really. Those holes in the map always frustrates but what frustrates me more is when downloading
a timecyc, no matter which one, there is always some jackass who increase the farclip.
On the ground it's no problem but when fyling, it does.
Always have to fix that jackass's timecyc farclip to make the holes disappear.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#33

Posted 03 September 2013 - 12:08 PM Edited by ThirteenAG, 03 September 2013 - 12:15 PM.

I tried your dff's with IDE_DD_tweaker:
user posted image
Unfortunately i have a crash after a few seconds on that height(0x005534F2), but it might be not related to this at all.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#34

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:52 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 14:08)
I tried your dff's with IDE_DD_tweaker:
user posted image
Unfortunately i have a crash after a few seconds on that height(0x005534F2), but it might be not related to this at all.

It looks nice! Hopefully there will be some progress and fixes.

TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#35

Posted 03 September 2013 - 03:25 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 12:08)
I tried your dff's with IDE_DD_tweaker:
user posted image
Unfortunately i have a crash after a few seconds on that height(0x005534F2), but it might be not related to this at all.

Any chances you could send me your .ini for the IDE tweaker? I messed with mine and I can't remember what you set as the default values.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#36

Posted 03 September 2013 - 03:45 PM

QUOTE (TheJAMESGM @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 19:25)
QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 12:08)
I tried your dff's with IDE_DD_tweaker:
user posted image 
Unfortunately i have a crash after a few seconds on that height(0x005534F2), but it might be not related to this at all.

Any chances you could send me your .ini for the IDE tweaker? I messed with mine and I can't remember what you set as the default values.

This screen was made with
CODE
[MAIN]
patch_lod_distance=0
patch_normal_distance=1
patch_only_tobjs=0

[VALUES]
default_lod_distance=300.0; maximum draw distance for normal objects, defined in IDE files. Don't touch.
lod_distance=1000.0; New draw distance for LOD objects, every object draw distance above 300.0 will be set to this value.
normal_distance=450.0; New draw distance for non-LOD objects, every object draw distance below 300.0 will be set to this value.

[MULTIPLIERS]
all_dist_multiplier=3.0

But i don't recommend to use it, because of the crashes, it seems stable enough only with patch_only_tobjs=1.

TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#37

Posted 03 September 2013 - 04:54 PM Edited by TheJAMESGM, 03 September 2013 - 05:18 PM.

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 15:45)
QUOTE (TheJAMESGM @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 19:25)
QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Tuesday, Sep 3 2013, 12:08)
I tried your dff's with IDE_DD_tweaker:
user posted image 
Unfortunately i have a crash after a few seconds on that height(0x005534F2), but it might be not related to this at all.

Any chances you could send me your .ini for the IDE tweaker? I messed with mine and I can't remember what you set as the default values.

This screen was made with
CODE
[MAIN]
patch_lod_distance=0
patch_normal_distance=1
patch_only_tobjs=0

[VALUES]
default_lod_distance=300.0; maximum draw distance for normal objects, defined in IDE files. Don't touch.
lod_distance=1000.0; New draw distance for LOD objects, every object draw distance above 300.0 will be set to this value.
normal_distance=450.0; New draw distance for non-LOD objects, every object draw distance below 300.0 will be set to this value.

[MULTIPLIERS]
all_dist_multiplier=3.0

But i don't recommend to use it, because of the crashes, it seems stable enough only with patch_only_tobjs=1.

Thanks. I haven't tested it yet but my game is also crashing even without the IDD tweaker. Although, it could just be the fact that I just changed the distance of all the LOD's. I'll keep looking.

EDIT: Weird. The latest version seems to crash on my modded game when I get to a certain height. But on a clean game with the same timecyc and the same time it doesn't..

EDIT2: Okay now it doesn't crash at all.. weird.

TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#38

Posted 14 September 2013 - 05:40 PM

Released the fix for the holes in the map. Can be downloaded on the first post.

 

Also figured a few things out.

ThirteenAG the reason it crashes is because of too many objects on the map. Nothing I can do unless someone increases the limits.

 

SilverRST if you want to increase the draw distance of the objects you can always try using SA Limit Adjuster and increase the "LOD Distance" although, I got plenty of crashes after increasing it only slightly, its up too you.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#39

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:09 PM

Released the fix for the holes in the map. Can be downloaded on the first post.

 

So, you did what, increased draw distance value for every LOD object up to 5000? If so, i think i could try to rewrite ide_dd_tweaker and add this feature.


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#40

Posted 15 September 2013 - 02:41 AM Edited by TheJAMESGM, 15 September 2013 - 04:58 AM.

 

Released the fix for the holes in the map. Can be downloaded on the first post.

 

So, you did what, increased draw distance value for every LOD object up to 5000? If so, i think i could try to rewrite ide_dd_tweaker and add this feature.

 

Please do. But didn't your dist.cs mod do the same thing? I had some problems with alpha textures with it though and some LOD's would go back to normal if you jumped.

 

Also, is the IDE tweaker stable? I remember reading on the 2x object draw distance thread that people had crashes on a certain mission, not sure if you fixed it or not.

 

I also experienced a lot of crashes with high draw distance timecyc's because of too many LOD's.

 

EDIT: Also, I'm pretty sure the maximum LOD distance allowed is 3000. Found that out after I changed them to 5000.


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#41

Posted 15 September 2013 - 03:20 AM Edited by SilverRST, 15 September 2013 - 03:21 AM.

The GTA SA BONUS works good, really nice and finally no more holes!

 

There is some kind of a bug, namely invisible lampposts.

You can 'find' them when you drive on the side of the road, like where grass or dirt is.

 

Here are some spots where the lapposts should be, or I 'found' them:

 

18c5ce276020782.jpg 1b23e2276020783.jpg

  • BlackScout likes this

TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#42

Posted 15 September 2013 - 03:37 AM Edited by TheJAMESGM, 15 September 2013 - 03:37 AM.



The GTA SA BONUS works good, really nice and finally no more holes!

 

There is some kind of a bug, namely invisible lampposts.

You can 'find' them when you drive on the side of the road, like where grass or dirt is.

 

Here are some spots where the lapposts should be, or I 'found' them:

Can't say I have the same issue. Works fine for me.

 

ec81e7276022445.jpg ab443c276022446.jpg 


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#43

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:55 AM

 

 

Released the fix for the holes in the map. Can be downloaded on the first post.

 

So, you did what, increased draw distance value for every LOD object up to 5000? If so, i think i could try to rewrite ide_dd_tweaker and add this feature.

 

Please do. But didn't your dist.cs mod do the same thing? I had some problems with alpha textures with it though and some LOD's would go back to normal if you jumped.

 

Also, is the IDE tweaker stable? I remember reading on the 2x object draw distance thread that people had crashes on a certain mission, not sure if you fixed it or not.

 

I also experienced a lot of crashes with high draw distance timecyc's because of too many LOD's.

 

EDIT: Also, I'm pretty sure the maximum LOD distance allowed is 3000. Found that out after I changed them to 5000.

 

Well, it's stable only with tobjs_only = 1 option. That's how i use it. So i guess if i do what you did to fix the holes, it should be fine too. But it still needs testing.


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#44

Posted 15 September 2013 - 02:20 PM

Well, it's stable only with tobjs_only = 1 option. That's how i use it. So i guess if i do what you did to fix the holes, it should be fine too. But it still needs testing.

 

Could you also add the option to increase the distance before an object gets turned into an LOD? Right now 300 is the limit and SALA is buggy.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#45

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:02 PM Edited by ThirteenAG, 15 September 2013 - 10:05 PM.

Well, i don't know, let's deal with the holes for now. So, i remade IDE_DD_Tweaker plugin, it also open source now.

https://github.com/T...weaker/releases

 

What's the result:

- TOBJS draw distance can be increased by a multiplier.

- LODS distance can be increased by a multiplier or set manually.

 

Ini:



[MAIN]
patch_tobjs=1
patch_lods=0

[TOBJS]
tobjs_draw_distance_multiplier = 3.0

[LODS]
lods_draw_distance_multiplier = 0.0
lods_new_draw_distance = 3000.0 //if multiplier is set, this value will be ignored

I tested it on a clean game now, to avoid any unrelated crashes.

It works fine with patch_tobjs=1, neons and other stuff became visible from a long distance, no crashes seems to be appeared.

 

With patch_lods=1 and lods_new_draw_distance = 3000.0 there is a lot less holes in the map, but i have a constant crash after a minute of flying on a parachute:



Exception At Address: 0x005534F2
Exception Code: 0xc0000005 (EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION)
Registers:
EAX: 0x082F0C48	EBX: 0x00000000
ECX: 0x08010180	EDX: 0x0023FB0C
ESI: 0x082F4250	EDI: 0x042312B0
EBP: 0x0023FC64	ESP: 0x0023FBD0

That's all i can test for now, i will try to do more later.

 

P.S. I don't have this crash with dist.cs btw.


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#46

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:25 PM Edited by TheJAMESGM, 15 September 2013 - 10:55 PM.

So far I've got two random crashes when flying, none when using a parachute though. Everything seems good except that. Have yet to test missions.

 

EDIT: Done some more tests on a modded game. No crashes when flying or using a parachute.

 

EDIT2: Flew around the entire state on a modded game. Not a single crash. So far it seems to be stable.


Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#47

Posted 15 September 2013 - 11:29 PM

Yeah I got the same.

 

I installed it on a default game, it crashed before I even made it to the airport.

 

Tried it on my modded game, got to the airport fine. Managed to fly around the state a few times, but ended up getting shot down. Tried that a few times, and no crashes.

 

What timecyc are you using TheJAMESGM?


TJGM
  • TJGM

    GTA Mods Led-By

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • Ireland

#48

Posted 15 September 2013 - 11:37 PM

Yeah I got the same.

 

I installed it on a default game, it crashed before I even made it to the airport.

 

Tried it on my modded game, got to the airport fine. Managed to fly around the state a few times, but ended up getting shot down. Tried that a few times, and no crashes.

 

What timecyc are you using TheJAMESGM?

Realistic Timecyc (recommended draw distance) by Triangulum.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#49

Posted 16 September 2013 - 02:29 PM

Ok, new version: https://github.com/T...weaker/releases

I added an option patch_generic=1 to use with this mod. It will increase the draw distance in ide files inside generic folder to this - generic_new_draw_distance = 300.0

Didn't tested this much, but i can say it looks good(clean game, comparison):

56d22d422ca55e6f53706b7a66bdd301.jpeg d8393611a4d706e7659ce32af6487dc8.jpeg  

 

 

And screen from my modded game:

d6813acd857b2c14c9ee195b702996a9.jpeg  


Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#50

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:53 PM

Great work ThirteenAG!

 

A few hours ago .. "I don't know how to implement it" .. I think you spoke too soon :p

 

I think yesterday during my tests, that my multiplies were way too high, causing my bugs. Will retest soon and post results.

 

Can you update your lampposts mod as well? I know you have extended the distance that they show, but can you make it configurable, so we can change them to the same as the coronas?

 

I noticed that when I was doing my tests, that the corona on the lamppost will show from a distance, then when driving towards it, the 'spotlight' will eventually show, and then the 'light on the ground' would eventually show. Can all of these be drawn @ the same time?


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#51

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:04 PM

Can you update your lampposts mod as well? I know you have extended the distance that they show, but can you make it configurable, so we can change them to the same as the coronas?
 
I noticed that when I was doing my tests, that the corona on the lamppost will show from a distance, then when driving towards it, the 'spotlight' will eventually show, and then the 'light on the ground' would eventually show. Can all of these be drawn @ the same time?

Well, no idea what to patch to increase these draw distances, so it's very unlikely. And i didn't touched searchlights draw distance, it's default even with lampposts mod.

Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#52

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:30 PM

Well, no idea what to patch to increase these draw distances, so it's very unlikely. And i didn't touched searchlights draw distance, it's default even with lampposts mod.

 

This? http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=24363


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#53

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:58 PM

Well, no idea what to patch to increase these draw distances, so it's very unlikely. And i didn't touched searchlights draw distance, it's default even with lampposts mod.

This? http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=24363

Ah, i thought you referring to improved lampposts lights. I'll see what i can do, i noticed this mod doesn't work for me since i installed new dff files from here, need to check it out too.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#54

Posted 17 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

Tried to increase lod limit, set 2000.0 to generic objects distance:
angd.th.jpg

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#55

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:18 PM Edited by SilverRST, 17 September 2013 - 04:36 PM.

Tried to increase lod limit, set 2000.0 to generic objects distance:
angd.th.jpg

Game crashes immediately after increased the generic distance to 2000.0

 

 

[OBJS]
generic_new_draw_distance = 2000.0

 

 

Can you post your settings? I have no idea what to change as there are many other generic and lods settings.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#56

Posted 17 September 2013 - 05:08 PM

Can you post your settings? I have no idea what to change as there are many other generic and lods settings.

That's because game limit is set to 300.0, i will make a setting to change that in the next version.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#57

Posted 17 September 2013 - 05:16 PM

Ah I see. Silly me :p

The screenshot looks nice btw.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#58

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:31 PM

https://github.com/T...weaker/releases

Sample config to increase draw distance for generic objects:
 
[MAIN]
patch_tobjs=1
patch_lods=0
patch_generic=1

[TOBJS]
tobjs_draw_distance_multiplier = 3.0

[LODS]
lods_draw_distance_multiplier = 2.5
lods_new_draw_distance = 2000.0 //if multiplier is set, this value will be ignored

[OBJS]
max_draw_distance_for_normal_objects = 3000.0
generic_new_draw_distance = 2000.0
You might also need newCoronaLimit.asi to view such amount of coronas like on the screen above.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#59

Posted 17 September 2013 - 07:35 PM Edited by SilverRST, 17 September 2013 - 08:19 PM.

Will test it out.

 

EDIT

It's too unstable. Game crash after leaving the safehouse.

 

EDIT2

2000 seems to be a reasonable setting. Game is stable with that setting.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#60

Posted 17 September 2013 - 10:56 PM

You mean max_draw_distance_for_normal_objects? I'm not sure how increasing that value affects the game, so yeah, it might cause some issues.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users