Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Are these specs okay?

15 replies to this topic
lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#1

Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:43 PM

Okay here's the PC I'm looking to buy:
http://www.winwin.rs...0-dvd-600w.html

Model: Altos Tsunami Pro
Motherboard: MB AM3+ 970 MSI, 2xPCIe/DDR3/SATA3/USB3.0/GLAN/7.1
Processor: CPU AM3+ AMD FX-8350, BOX, Black Edition 32nm
RAM memory: DDR3 8GB
Hard disc capacity: SSD 120GB + HDD 1TB
Graphics card: AMD Radeon 7950, 3GB/DDR5/DVI/HDMI/DP
Optic devices: DVD+/-RW / SATA/ black, 24XDVD/16xDVD-RAM
Sound card: Integrated
PSU: 600W
Warranty: 2 Years

The price is nearly 900 Euros and 1100 USD.

Now, I'm wondering if it's gonna run GTA IV and Max Payne on highest settings nicely?

Is it worth buying?

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#2

Posted 14 August 2013 - 04:03 PM

Personally, I'd go for i5 instead of FX, and ditch SSD in favor of GTX770. Also they didn't list the brand of the PSu, so it's possibly some crap that'll need replacing.

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#3

Posted 14 August 2013 - 04:13 PM

I'd rather not go with i5, my friend has it and it's pretty crappy.
It's not available on this site anyway.

I might go with GTX 770 though.


Another thing, the PSU is Raidmax 630W.


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#4

Posted 14 August 2013 - 04:42 PM

Raidmax is crap, it'll need replacing.
Also, if you're willing to stick with FX (which will be worse in games than i5, but whatever) go fo the FX8320, much better value than FX8350.

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#5

Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:28 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 18:42)
Raidmax is crap, it'll need replacing.
Also, if you're willing to stick with FX (which will be worse in games than i5, but whatever) go fo the FX8320, much better value than FX8350.

What's the difference? FX8350 has more GHz and is expensive, by what kind of terms is FX8320 better?

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Skål, jævler!

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#6

Posted 14 August 2013 - 06:02 PM

It's cheaper despite being exactly the same chip, and therefore runs at the same clocks as the 8350 all day long.

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#7

Posted 14 August 2013 - 06:06 PM

QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 20:02)
It's cheaper despite being exactly the same chip, and therefore runs at the same clocks as the 8350 all day long.

I'm not very sure about that, 8350 can clock even more than 8320.
AFAIK, 8350 can clock for 4.2 GHz, while 8320 can clock for only 4.0 GHz.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Skål, jævler!

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#8

Posted 14 August 2013 - 07:06 PM

QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 19:06)
QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 20:02)
It's cheaper despite being exactly the same chip, and therefore runs at the same clocks as the 8350 all day long.

I'm not very sure about that, 8350 can clock even more than 8320.
AFAIK, 8350 can clock for 4.2 GHz, while 8320 can clock for only 4.0 GHz.

Both will overclock to 4.6GHz. They're exactly the same underneath. The original clock speeds and turbo boost of the 50 are high than the 20, but the 20 will run 50 speeds and much higher without any issues.

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#9

Posted 14 August 2013 - 08:09 PM Edited by lol232, 14 August 2013 - 08:13 PM.

QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 21:06)
QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 19:06)
QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 20:02)
It's cheaper despite being exactly the same chip, and therefore runs at the same clocks as the 8350 all day long.

I'm not very sure about that, 8350 can clock even more than 8320.
AFAIK, 8350 can clock for 4.2 GHz, while 8320 can clock for only 4.0 GHz.

Both will overclock to 4.6GHz. They're exactly the same underneath. The original clock speeds and turbo boost of the 50 are high than the 20, but the 20 will run 50 speeds and much higher without any issues.

Well, I took a look at the performance differences;
http://www.anandtech...duct/698?vs=697
FX8350 had better results.

I've also checked somewhere and 8350 had higher overclocking averages.

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#10

Posted 14 August 2013 - 08:11 PM

These CPUs overclock similarly, so from the performance standpoint it doesn't really matter which one you choose.

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#11

Posted 14 August 2013 - 08:14 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 22:11)
These CPUs overclock similarly, so from the performance standpoint it doesn't really matter which one you choose.

I'm most likely going to buy that PC and upgrade the PSU.
So, I don't really have a choice between 8320 and 8350, I get 8350 when I buy it..

8350 has slightly higher results, though.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Skål, jævler!

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#12

Posted 14 August 2013 - 09:12 PM

QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 21:09)
QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 21:06)
QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 19:06)
QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Aug 14 2013, 20:02)
It's cheaper despite being exactly the same chip, and therefore runs at the same clocks as the 8350 all day long.

I'm not very sure about that, 8350 can clock even more than 8320.
AFAIK, 8350 can clock for 4.2 GHz, while 8320 can clock for only 4.0 GHz.

Both will overclock to 4.6GHz. They're exactly the same underneath. The original clock speeds and turbo boost of the 50 are high than the 20, but the 20 will run 50 speeds and much higher without any issues.

Well, I took a look at the performance differences;
http://www.anandtech...duct/698?vs=697
FX8350 had better results.

I've also checked somewhere and 8350 had higher overclocking averages.

Yes, of course it does.

Out of the box.

In hardware terms they are identical. Literally identical. They just have different clock speeds. You set the 8320 clock speeds to those of the 8350 and they will be identical.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    I stay mad @ Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#13

Posted 17 August 2013 - 02:12 AM

dude, you are giving the original poster good info. actually, everyone is. i think its wasted though, cause original poster don't understand the simple fact of binning chip yields. and then he trying to play games with a system using a raidmax psu... might as well put one bullet in a revolver and shoot at the PC

lol232
  • lol232

    Got room for one more?

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#14

Posted 27 December 2013 - 01:35 PM Edited by lol232, 27 December 2013 - 01:35 PM.

I'm bumping this to ask again;

I think I will buy the computer with the same specs, but use the i7 4770k CPU and the 750W Seasonic SS-750AM PSU, is that a good idea?


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Skål, jævler!

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#15

Posted 27 December 2013 - 03:15 PM

Yes. You'll need a different motherboard though.

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#16

Posted 27 December 2013 - 03:54 PM Edited by yojo2, 27 December 2013 - 03:54 PM.

As for the PSU - depends for what price and what are the alternatives. There's no denying it's good, but there might always be something better for the price ;)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users