Photo

Custom Radio Stations?

8 replies to this topic
sovietbacon
  • sovietbacon

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 11 August 2013 - 08:01 PM

All right, here's what I want to do. I want to add spotify into GTA IV's car radio system. So instead of having to use independence fm, you can just go to another channel, say spotify fm. After it prompting you for login details you could go into some bootleg menu or something and choose what playlist/songs/internet radio you want it to play.

Spotify has a C library and I see that GTA IV has a C++ script hook thing. I'm brand new to all of this, but I know a TINY bit of C++. Is there a way I could go about adding this? I saw an internet radio mod, but you had to manually add streams from other services with urls and whatnot. I would assume that that would work similarly, but I can't just go peeking at the source code of that, and the mod didn't add/replace car radios. I noticed it used the .net script hook though, and from googling I noticed that the .net is based off the C++ one. So, here's a list of what I would need to know:
  • making a new car radio station
  • Playing a .mp3 or other audio file through that station.

Once I know how to do that, I think I can figure things out on my own. So far, searching hasn't lead me very far.

Libspotify link: https://developer.sp...ies/libspotify/

LuigiPeace
  • LuigiPeace

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:21 PM

Perhaps you can "simply" (using script with C++/.NET ScriptHook) display your menu and choose your playlist/songs/internet radio (with Spotify API) and then stream it in a mp3 file which must be located in the directory of custom music, and so when you go on Independence FM and (if you active Spotify) it would play the streamed mp3 file... But I'm really not sure if it could works or not...

But stream Spotify in mp3 file which should be located in a .rpf file for your custom radio station seems even more difficult (that's what I think)...

sovietbacon